Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

internet dating

• 28-04-2010 8:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

any thoughts has anyone has any experience is it dodgy or worth takin a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 ballygowan

you'v nothing to loose, plentyoffish.com is free! best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I never thought I would do it, was far beneath me. I don't know what changed my mind but I decided to give it a go ... low and behold I met someone (nice and none-freakish!) and we are getting married next year.

Go for it wrote: »
    I never thought I would do it, was far beneath me. I don't know what changed my mind but I decided to give it a go ... low and behold I met someone (nice and none-freakish!) and we are getting married next year.

thats great best of luck to u both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭greengirl31

It took me a long time to come around to the idea of internet dating too but the way I look at it now is that everyone is doing it.
    I had my first date last week and it while I was sick at the thought of it, it wasn't nearly as bad as i was expecting it to be ...
    Nothing will come of that one i don't think but i'm not giving up :-)
    Best of luck with it

Ive been dating a guy from a site for a few months now - and touch wood going well!!
    My friend and her fiance are getting married in June and met on a dating site 6 years ago!!

any thoughts has anyone has any experience is it dodgy or worth takin a chance

i met my boyfriend on plentyoffish :)

I was unsure when I tried internet dating over two years ago but I thought nothing ventured nothing gained so I gave it a try. I met a great guy and we have been dating for almost two years now. There are a certain percentage of guys who come on very strong but you can find them in your local pub as well. My advice is to give it a go, you never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I know a girl very well who has been with her lad for the past couple of years and they met on the internet they are engaged and have a house now, I wouldn't really try it myself now but they seem very happy with eachother. Just becareful because you never know who is on the other end of the computer screen there is alot of sick people out there. I wish you luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Flarey

Who needs the internet?

Try flirting with women on the bus, on the street, in the supermarket, outside the church after sunday mass, at work, in the park, go to the pub, visit a nightclub, go to the gym, a library, bookshop, swimming pool, the shopping centre, art galleries, museums, college campuses etc etc etc.

Women are literally everywhere. All you have to is strike up a conversation. A simple "Hi" is all it takes.

On a weekend when I'm off work I go for a stroll in St. Stephen's Green or the Phoenix Park. At this time of year there are tourists from all over the world out for a stroll especially at weekends.

My number one tactic is when I see a group of girls with a map trying to find their way around, I come over and become their unofficial tour guide.
    Some times I hang out with them for the rest of the day, show them around, take their pictures for them, have a laugh and joke, then suggest we all go for a drink. I text a friend of mine to turn up and while I talk to the girl I fancy, he keeps her friend or friends busy.

I arrange to meet them the day after if they want to go somewhere else, but usually I take the girl on my arm to another pub while I leave her friends with my mate.

Before she knows it we go to a nightclub and in the early morning take a taxi back to my place or her hotel room.

Who needs the internet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Staceyann

Flarey, I have to say that all seems like very hard work.....Not everyone has the confidence to be approching a group of women!

The internet is the new form of communication so I would say go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭rediguana25

Ok I just went onto Plentyoffish.com and seriously..the thought's of putting up my info and photo etc so the whole world can go and view stuff about you and put a picture to the name etc...I couldn't wait to get off the site...and that was me just having a look to see what it was like...there are all pics of people you can click on and see their profile...I am at the stage of my life when I'd like to meet someone but I don't think I could bring myself to do it...I guess I'm missing out though.....:(
    Mad how I dont mind having a facebook profile and probably all the same info is on that and more..but once you call it a dating site - i run for the hills!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Physically be aware that people will put up photos of them looking their best and from cerrtain angles people can make themselves look much slimmer than they actually are. In college my friend met a girl on myspace, he showed me photos she sent him and she looked drop dead goegeous. She was into all the same music etc and they got on really well. In real life she was overweight, ugly and had serious social interaction problems.

As for the romantic side remember online dating can not replace human interaction. Be careful you don't build up a huge expectation from a few things they've said because there might be no chemistry when you meet them. People can hide their faults and exaggerate their good points online.

Be aware of needy people. about 7 years ago I was on one for a while, one girl became obsessed and wouldn't stop phoning me and going on about how bad she felt about herself and trying to get me to be her boyfriend.

I think you're best off meeting up with someone very quickly after you get chatting(in a safe public place) so you know you're not getting into something that could never work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Flarey wrote: »
    My number one tactic is when I see a group of girls with a map trying to find their way around, I come over and become their unofficial tour guide.
    Some times I hang out with them for the rest of the day, show them around, take their pictures for them, have a laugh and joke, then suggest we all go for a drink. I text a friend of mine to turn up and while I talk to the girl I fancy, he keeps her friend or friends busy.

I arrange to meet them the day after if they want to go somewhere else, but usually I take the girl on my arm to another pub while I leave her friends with my mate.

Before she knows it we go to a nightclub and in the early morning take a taxi back to my place or her hotel room.

Who needs the internet?

But thats how to have a ONS with a tourist. Not how to meet someone to date regularly and possibly start a relationship.

I joined a dating site the other day. I'd tried it before and got a stalker so gave up but decided to give it another go.

Have had a good few emails but nothing jumping out at me yet.
    A new one on me is that a lot of much older men are messaging me. I must be getting old lol.
    I've had the ones looking for sex and the ones who scream neediness. But i'll keep going with it for a while and see what happens.

One guy messaged me a half naked pic and when I politely replied that I didn't think we wanted the same things going by his pic and his profile (looking for fun, open minded girls) he got pretty snotty with me.

It can be a bit overwhelming but feck it, if anyone I know sees me on it, well, they know I'm single and dating so why wouldn't I be on there.

I casually tried internet dating a few years back when it was still very uncool. I was in my mid 20's and not having much luck meeting men that I wanted a relationship with. Over a period of time I went on a number of dates via the site whilst also meeting people through classes I took, work and friends etc. In the end I met the most wonderful guy through a dating site. We're now married and have just had our first child and I couldn't imagine life without him. We sometimes forget how we met, not that it comes up much. We're too busy enjoying ourselves and planning the rest of our lives together. :-)

Seriously, it's really not important how you meet someone. If you find someone and you're blissfully happy then I doubt you're going to care if you met them on the net, in a club or in a supermarket. Even if you don't meet anyone significant, you could still meet some cool people.

What I would say about internet dating is 'trust your instincts'. Just as there are 'offline' there are a lot of chancers and oddballs online but there are also genuinely sincere people and bear in mind that it may take a little bit of time and effort to find them... or for them to find you!

If you do decide to give it a go, when writing your profile, be honest but also try to word it in an interesting way that will grab people attention.

I know it can seem a little bit cringy trying to 'sell yourself' in writing but if you think about it, if we go out at night to a pub or club, we try to sell ourselves by how we act, how we converse and by the way we dress. A dating profile is just another method of putting yourself out there.

I personally included a picture in my profile but my husband didn't. Instead he attached a picture of himself with the first email he sent so that's also an option if you're not comfortable having a picture of yourself on your profile.

Also I wouldn't spend more than a week or two emailing someone before meeting them. You can spend a lot of time corresponding with someone, thinking there's chemistry there only to find out when you meet them that there's no real chemistry at all.

Anyway, best of luck whatever you decide to do!

i tried internet dating and will not be doing it again. I met 3 guys and all they wanted was sex, thats what the majority of them on there are after. The last guy i met was sooo freaked out by internet dating and was totally ashamed of it - that made me feel crap about it and feel im crap also. Plus none of my friends or family approve of it so that was another downer. I also cannot handle the fact of how you send your pic to a guy and they chat for a while and then they are off chatting to other girls - it just wrecked my head but thats me. I prefer being actaully to meet the person like in a pub. I was reading online how to become popular and the guy said 'losers' are great at talking online and in real life they are not. But this is onlu my opinion and yes others love it - and you wont know until you try but it wasnt for me.