Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Duddy v Julio Cesar Chavez Jnr. - June 26 in Texas

• 27-04-2010 9:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭

28969_415544668242_118730428242_5167377_6268762_n.jpg

who and how? 27 votes

JCCJ on Points
    0%
    JCCJ by KO/TKO
    33%
    Big Earsmegadodgedjhaxmanmaxxiemagma69Dirty whore!richierichballsJoe MusashiFeargal as Luimneach 9 votes
    Duddy on Points
    7%
    nacho libreAndrew Flexing 2 votes
    Duddy by KO/TKO
    29%
    dlofnepdjkeoghRoasterunknown13x PyRoVW 1Cypher_soundsSicky 8 votes
    Draw
    29%
    southmaklwhaaamesJayob10Mullickerah,sureVintagekitsHornswoggl 8 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

Draw
    nice one. tough venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭foams

http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=27281
    Chavez looks well dodgy here between the hair and the shirt.
    Hope John can do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

Draw
    foams wrote: »
    Hope John can do it.

can you copy and paste the article/photos because (although I write for boxing scene the odd time) the site is riddled with more viruses than a Nigeran prozzer in Ibiza! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

How unsafe is it? Used to get warnings from macafee but kinda ignored them as i thought it'd be sound, id be on fairly often (Before anyone embarresses themselves im on bout boxing scene :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Was hoping this would be in Vegas, as I'll be there that weekend, oh well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

foams wrote: »

Yer lol ....... A throw-back to the 70's !!!!

No an easy fight for Duddy, he will have to dominate every minute of every round to get a SD, pity it wasnt in a neutral location, he is definitely the opponent in this one and bob arum has been building him up for such a fight. I also read it was no coincidence that arum had him fight mexican fighters in his last few bouts... get a bit of mexi-rage going. Hope he has to power to force a stoppage as id hate to see him robbed of a decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Freddy Roach eyeing up a nice paypacket here, surely that's the only reason he's in Chavez's corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭fernandovargas

chavez looks like a baddy from miami vice:D hes nothing special and opponents have been robbed agaisnt him on occasions, a good training camp for john and he could easilly win this, needs to improve on last performance though

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Duddy by KO/TKO
    Chavez_Jr_Duddy_LA_PC_100427_002a.jpg

Chavez_Jr_Duddy_LA_PC_100427_003a.jpg

Chavez_Jr_Duddy_LA_PC_100427_001a.jpg

Pictures there for people who don't like clicking links.

'Mon Duddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    Before Pavlik was beaten by Martinez, the winner of the JCC jnr and Duddy was to get a crack at Pavlik. What's the prize now for the winner?

Draw
    Before Pavlik was beaten by Martinez, the winner of the JCC jnr and Duddy was to get a crack at Pavlik. What's the prize now for the winner?

Pavlik!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Duddy by KO/TKO
    i saw chavez in his last fight and although he won a decision against a slow over the hill former champ (name escapes) he really didnt impress me, does roach actually see anything in him or is he where he because of the name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Good fight for John his career has stalled big style - if he beats Jnr he will make a lot of boxing fans very happy, if he doesn't it could be curtains on his career.

Yeah he needs a win like this to show everyone he's ahead of the jcc jr's of the world for a title shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The Chavez guy sucked balls on the Pacquaio vs Cotto undercard...

Duddy by KO/TKO
    keane2097 wrote: »
    The Chavez guy sucked balls on the Pacquaio vs Cotto undercard...

Woah, Never knew he was gay tbh.

x PyRo wrote: »
    I'm really, really not hilarious

fyp

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    http://www.irish-boxing.com/stories/may10/may10_duddy_chavez_texas_eliminator.html
    The winner fights for WBC belt which is Martinez, as long as he doesn't vacate and go back down to light middleweight. I think he's trainers want Martinez to do this (correct me if I'm wrong). Easy defense for Martinez whichever fighter he meets.

Last night it was on boxrec as for the wbc silver title. Now its back to an eliminator. Payed no attention to the silver title when it was announced but after seeing a scheduled bout for it....:rolleyes::eek::confused:

Anyway looks to be a great fight. Duddy has only been 12 once and that was with yori boy. Chavez jr has never been 12. I really hope Duddy can stop him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

makl wrote: »
    nice one. tough venue.

Same site that Pernell Whitaker got robbed when fighting his father back in 1993.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    http://www.irish-boxing.com/stories/may10/may10_duddy_chavez_texas_eliminator.html
    The winner fights for WBC belt which is Martinez, as long as he doesn't vacate and go back down to light middleweight. I think he's trainers want Martinez to do this (correct me if I'm wrong). Easy defense for Martinez whichever fighter he meets.

It will be interim WBC champion Sebastian Zbik who they're fighting for the right to challenge, not Martinez.

Martinez has got options at both Middleweight and Light-Middle. It seems like he may want to go back down, but the money is at Middleweight and boxing is a business afterall so we may see him stay up at 160.

It'd be some craic if Martinz went down to 154 vacting the belts. Duddy to face Zbik for the wbc. Macklin to pick up the wbo. Maybe Lee gets his hands on the ebu. Could there possibly be biger fights for Martinez at 154? You have a lot of welters that could come up including Floyd, Manny, Shane, Margo, Cotto is already scheduled to fight there and isnt Martinez a top rank fighter? There is a few excellent fights to be made there. Hardly any marquee names at 160, just loads of contenders.

Draw
    Get in here and vote for Duddy guys.http://boxrec.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121198&start=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Antrim Hotels

Come on John boy i hope ye can do it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    Duddy looked dreadful last time out. When you consider all the factors, location, Duddy's granite chin, Duddy's apparent decline, it all points to a points decision for JCC Jr imo. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Duddy by KO/TKO

Sebastian Zbik, another universum overprotected fighter who somehow holds the WBC interim title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Duddy by KO/TKO
    Big Ears wrote: »
    It will be interim WBC champion Sebastian Zbik who they're fighting for the right to challenge, not Martinez.

Martinez has got options at both Middleweight and Light-Middle. It seems like he may want to go back down, but the money is at Middleweight and boxing is a business afterall so we may see him stay up at 160.

Rumor has it that Martinez could be fighting Mayweather at MW if Mayweather / Pacquiao fall through.

Duddy by KO/TKO
    keane2097 wrote: »
    fyp

:( Some day, some day.

x PyRo wrote: »
    :( Some day, some day.

I wouldn't hold my breath ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Andrew Flexing

Duddy on Points

http://www.boxingnews24.com/2010/06/chavez-jr-and-duddy-fight-for-wbc-silver-middleweight-title-on-june-26th/

What are your predictions for this one??? Duddy has a good chin and I think that he will need it!

I think (and I hope I'm wrong) that Duddy will get destroyed by KO inside 9 rounds...

C'mon Duddy !!!

my URBAN EXPLORATION YouTube channel: https://www.facebook.com/ASMRurbanexploration/

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    This is gonna be a really entertaining night. Can't wait for it. Can't say I'm too confident though to be honest. I'm sure Chavez will have improved a lot under Roach and will have a game plan laid out. I don't see Duddy getting knocked out but I think Chavez will out box Duddy and get a decision over him.

Duddy looked very poor last time out. He seemed less aggressive and tried boxing rather than brawling and it didn't pay off. He also looked very slow and sluggish.

But I am sure he will be back to the brawling Duddy we know and love come June 25th. Hopefully he can drag Chavez into a war and overwhelm him. The only way Duddy is winning this is by stopping Chavez. Duddy does have a chance of winning. Chavez's opponents have been nowhere near the level of Duddy and it's possible he may not rise to the occasion but i'm leaning towards Chavez by decision. :(

This is a prediction I would be delighted to get wrong and look like an arse though!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Andrew Flexing

Duddy on Points
    Me too!

I think it's pay per view but is it on Sky or Setanta?

He has such a good chin and I hope that he can take the power that Chavez has. I agree, maybe dragging him into a messy brawl will be his best chance. Let's hope the Fightin' Irish can come out on top...

I just hope he is not humiliated (an early stoppage or a Calzaghe Vs Lacy one sided affair!)

my URBAN EXPLORATION YouTube channel: https://www.facebook.com/ASMRurbanexploration/

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    Me too!

He has such a good chin and I hope that he can take the power that Chavez has. I agree, maybe dragging him into a messy brawl will be his best chance. Let's hope the Fightin' Irish can come out on top...

I just hope he is not humiliated (an early stoppage or a Calzaghe Vs Lacy one sided affair!)
    x2

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    Me too!

Don't even know if they are doing it. There will be streams available anyway for sure.

If Duddy doesnt stop him i dont hold out much hope due to it being arizona and a latin fury card.
    EDIT: All thigns being equal he should be able to grind out a points win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭bamboozler

magma69 wrote: »
    This is gonna be a really entertaining night. Can't wait for it. Can't say I'm too confident though to be honest. I'm sure Chavez will have improved a lot under Roach and will have a game plan laid out. I don't see Duddy getting knocked out but I think Chavez will out box Duddy and get a decision over him.

Duddy looked very poor last time out. He seemed less aggressive and tried boxing rather than brawling and it didn't pay off. He also looked very slow and sluggish.

But I am sure he will be back to the brawling Duddy we know and love come June 25th. Hopefully he can drag Chavez into a war and overwhelm him. The only way Duddy is winning this is by stopping Chavez. Duddy does have a chance of winning. Chavez's opponents have been nowhere near the level of Duddy and it's possible he may not rise to the occasion but i'm leaning towards Chavez by decision. :(

This is a prediction I would be delighted to get wrong and look like an arse though!! :D

yeah i agreed with everyting said here, hopefully duddy can go against his recent form and pull one out the bag.

chavez seems to have no power and looks fairly basic from what i seen of him on undercards and is prob gettin a lot of protection in his career from matchmakers and the ringside judges

Draw
    Bob Arum came out today and said that if JCCJ beats Duddy then he gets a shot at Cotto!

- gettin ahead of himself in my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    Bob Arum came out today and said that if JCCJ beats Duddy then he gets a shot at Cotto!

- gettin ahead of himself in my opinion!

At what weight ?, there's not a chance in hell Julio could make Light-Middleweight and Cotto is far too small for Middle.

What Arum has said though describes it all, John is going to need a knockout to win this one, there's not a chance in hell he's winning a decision no matter how well he boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭whaaames

Draw
    Big Ears wrote: »
    there's not a chance in hell he's winning a decision no matter how well he boxes.

I keep thinking of the old saying 'he needs a knock him out to get a draw'...

Draw
    Is the fight on the box..??
    Love to see it

Draw

what does he ask don at 1.12? what kinda t-shirt?

Draw
    i can understand why people are backin cesar c but i dunno, i think as irish we should back our own regardless of who they're fightin or playin, have faith in them regardless of what your boxing intelligence might tell ya. seein 6 people backin cesar is disappointin, in my own opinion of course. i could never cast a vote or place a bet against an irishman or team, even if it was the decider for the boards.ie charity competition belt. just me own point of view

come on john duddy.

Draw
    i can understand why people are backin cesar c but i dunno, i think as irish we should back our own regardless of who they're fightin or playin, have faith in them regardless of what your boxing intelligence might tell ya. seein 6 people backin cesar is disappointin, in my own opinion of course. i could never cast a vote or place a bet against an irishman or team, even if it was the decider for the boards.ie charity competition belt. just me own point of view

come on john duddy.

Ive never been the biggest fan of duddy as a boxer, i've my own opinions on him. but still it's blind patriotism, i'm defo shouting for him no question and so will everyone else on the day, i'd shout for him against anyone bar andy lee...

JCCJ by KO/TKO

come on john duddy.

Would you back Shelbourne to beat Barcelona because they are Irish? You're entitled to your opinion but backing someone purely because of their nationality is, in my opinion, completely idiotic.

I'm sure those who voted Chavez want Duddy to win. Being rational doesn't make them any less a fan.

Come on Duddy x2

Draw
    relax. just sayin there's nothing to be gained for an irish person to pick chavez to win.

and although my point is about those representing ireland on a national level, yes to shels v barcelona ;)

would you bet cash on spain v ireland?

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    relax. just sayin there's nothing to be gained for an irish person to pick chavez to win.

and although my point is about those representing ireland on a national level, yes to shels v barcelona ;)

would you bet cash on spain v ireland?

No. I wouldn't back money against Ireland. If a poll came up on boards asking who would win, I would vote Spain because it is the most rational option.

Draw
    well thats our difference. i feel i've nothin to gain from doin that. what if i'm right? wouldnt achieve anything.

JCCJ by KO/TKO
    well thats our difference. i feel i've nothin to gain from doin that. what if i'm right? wouldnt achieve anything.

I don't look at it in terms of gaining/losing. Just being honest and realistic. I respect your view point, I can't say I understand it but you see things your way and I see things my way.