Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the consensus that thus far season 6 has been a major letdown

• 27-04-2010 5:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭

we're more than 2/3 of the way through the final season and we've had very few questions answered, those that have been answered like the whispers have been answered in a ridiculous way....no major characters have been brownbreaded, there have been a lot more plotholes and contradicitons and filler and contrivances, and the alt timeline did sfa until desmond stepped up to the plate

is that the consensus?

are people disappointed up to now?

were our expectations too high for the final season?

will all be forgiven if the finale blows us away?

were the writers making up stuff as they went along or did they have coherent, detailed and fullproof plan the whole way through?

Has Season 6 let you down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Yeah I have to admit I've been mostly let down by season 6, except for a few very good episodes. There is a lot to enjoy but also a lot of bad stuff. There hasn't been many really mindblowing moments this season, I can only hope that the finale will deliver on that. Some of the writing and dialogue is surprisingly really poor this season.

It felt like up until this season that everything would come together and make sense but it's like the whole thing is unravelling now. I guess we have to wait till it's all over to make a final judgement, but with 13 episodes gone now it's obvious so much will not be answered which for me is very disappointing. For me the thrill of Lost was that it was so crazy but you had faith that the writers had something behind it all and they would eventually reveal, but it doesn't look like they have.

My feeling now is that they will pull something like they did in season 6, building up to the Incident all season only to leave us on a horrible cliffhanger and not show what happened when the bomb went off. I think it might end with Locke getting off the island but we won't see what the consequences of that will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I think, as time goes on, we'll all look back and feel as if we didn't actually WANT the mysteries solved.

It's always a lot more enjoyable when the possibilities are endless than when you're left with that "oh...that's it?" feeling. Especially when the show has been dissected to death and a lot of the answers had been theorised by somebody, somewhere...taking the 'big reveal' out of it.

From that standpoint, the writers have been left with an almost impossible task. By showing their hand, you're ALWAYS going to get people who don't like it and are vocal about it.

Plus it is difficult to watch. Though *I* still enjoy the show as much as I ever have, even I struggle at times to not think "TIME IS RUNNING OUT! GET ON WITH IT!" But then I remember how they've delivered in style every time that I've felt that way before so I've faith in them.

When we're given the benefit of time to judge it, though, I genuinely believe that we'll look back on this series fondly. Even though it doesn't feel like it right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I reckon they made some of the reveals, like the whispers, really bad on purpose. So that fans would be more accepting of not getting answers for all the show's mysteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

At this stage I feel that they should have killed the show at the end of season 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

I've enjoyed it so far and the last few episodes have been very good imo.. was quite worried about the last recruit as word was it was rubbish.. The only episode i didn't enjoy was What Kaye Does so for me I've enjoyed it but it's fairly obvious theres a lot more people complaining about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I've enjoyed this season like any other. If I feel let down by anything then I won't dwell on it until the show ends and it can be judged as a whole. Like the sideways stuff, everyone gives it a hard time, and though I know we all feel time would be best spent giving us all out island adventure, it must have a good pay off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭seadnamac

It's been a complete and utter flat note so far for me. The thing that always made me watch Lost week in and week out was that, for all the crazy, unexpected, 'what the f**k' moments in the show, there was always the presumption that there would eventually be a something huge revealed that would make it all worth it. I really can't see this happening at this stage.

The few answers that we've been given have been so anti-climatic, it just feels like they were thrown in there for the sake of it. Questions that were posed in such a typical dramatic fashion are answered in an 'oh yea by the way here's the answer, it didn't really matter in the first place' kind of way.

So much of this season has been just plain wrong in my opinion. Introducing TWO new groups of characters (temple crew and Widmores gang) in the final season of a show that already has an abundance of established characters with unresolved issues and in whom the viewer has invested five seasons in, is blatant overkill. The temple crew didnt add a thing to the story. Did anyone give a sh*t about them?

Wasting hours on showing the old characters in completely different situations from the ones we've invested all our time in. Sawyer and Miles playing cops and robbers? Who gives a f**K? Kate on the run again? We get it. If it turns that that is the real/surviving timeline I still won't care about any of them.

Continuing to be unclear about the motives of people like Ben and Widmore with only a few episodes to go is pointless (the season 4 long battle between the two also now seems irrelavent). If they leave it all for the finale, those one or two possibly great episodes won't make up for the tedious tripe that's gone before for me.

Finally, it looks as if it's all going to boil down to a battle of good versus evil, something that, as someone mentioned here before, we've seen in hundreds of different connotations previously. I always thought Lost could be about anything, but no, it's just another good guy versus bad guy show.

If I knew this is how it would end up, I honestly would have stopped watching after season 1.

Sigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭I_am_LOST

Yeah it's been a let down apart from a few great episodes.

It's not so much the lack of answers that I care about (well obviously, they're important, but I would like the show to end with at least some mystery!) its more, as has been said, some awful writing...it's quite shocking actually. They've always said the show has been character driven but at this stage I feel like they don't care about the characters or their emotions or responses to whats going on.

As for answers, they're just checking things off a list at this stage, and haven't delivered it in any sort of entertaining way.

It's such a shame cos I've enjoyed every season up til now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

I've enjoyed this season like any other. If I feel let down by anything then I won't dwell on it until the show ends and it can be judged as a whole. Like the sideways stuff, everyone gives it a hard time, and though I know we all feel time would be best spent giving us all out island adventure, it must have a good pay off.

Everyone is saying once it all pays off on the end it will be worth it, but does that mean is ok to give us 10-12 average eps once the last few are good. I don't know about you guys but i kinda like it when a show is good thru out the series as well as the end. Obviously the Alt-time was gonna have some kind of tie in with what was going on, on the island, why else wud they have been introduced in the first place. Every Lost viewer in the world wud loss there mind if they just ran alongside the island plot. They've had 6 years to finally write an ep on one of the show's most mysterious characters and Ab Aeterno was average at best and really didn't live up to what it have shud been. The mythology of the show was the biggest reason i watched now and at this stage i fear most of it won't be explained, and to me, giving answers in the podcast and similar output is cheating. If u can't fit an explaination for something in the show why bother to introduce it in the first place.

Leggo posted below "I think, as time goes on, we'll all look back and feel as if we didn't actually WANT the mysteries solved." I think that the only reason anyone wud think that is because the writers cudn't come up with answers that the mysteries deserved. Obviously we don't want everything answered but some good answers wud be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

It still grips me as a programme and from memory most of my ratings for the shows have been in the 8s and 9s. However I don't think there has been any episode that has blown me away. Last season's episode with Locke's death I thought was outstanding. Nothing has matched that this season imo. There was one episode I think with MIB and Jacob this season that people were going crazy about and 10s were given out everywhere, which I found strange as I felt that episode was not up to the great eps of previous seasons.

Personally I don't like the interaction with Jacob and MIB which is a rather recent development in terms of the storyline arc of the show. A lot of this season is about that which bothers me since previous seasons centred around my main man Locke and guys like Jack and Ben. It's almost like these long-term figures have been overlooked in favour of newer figures like UnLocke and Jacob which bugs me (I realise the Monster has been around long-term but I'm talking about as a figure in the series).

I would also say that I've a problem with the answers provided (like with the whispers) which has disappointed me. It seems like some major themes have been sidetracked in flavour of the recent mystery of the flash-sideways. Somewhat related to this, it does irritate me also when the writers make a reference to something, maybe in season 1 for example, and often lots of fans tend to proclaim that this is evidence the writers had everything mapped out from the beginning. It actually is more likely just a retrospective reference that has been added in. I mean if a giant talking bird was introduced in the next episode it is not evidence that they had a plan for the Hurley bird all along. It just means they are referencing it.

I hope I change my mind on this but I get the feeling the writers were making the story up as they went along (something Stephen King advocates in his On Writing book and he's a guy they are a fan of) and that they just made it into something so grandiose and epic that they ultimately couldn't make sense of the tale they had weaved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭redpanda26

yes. If it was a thing that there was another season then I think a lot more people would take the episodes as they came and enjoy them more because what ever new questions would be raised, old ones could be answered more thoroughly now instead of the dismal explanations that have been given so far eg. the whispers are dead people trapped on the island for the bad things they did, and it seems that only hurley knows this fact.

The fact that this is the final season and we're more than half way through it with a lot of the story focused on the flash sideways is very disappointing because as a previous poster said they're just rehashing the character backgrounds with a few changes (eg sawyer being a cop instead of a criminal etc etc) which are details we have known since season one. And i no its going to connect up with the island timeline at some stage but nearly all the time so far has been spent on these with hardly any on the island timeline which for me is the most interesting part of the show and what really bugs me is that it had been known for some time that season 6 was going to be the last one and instead of explaining a lot of the islands mysteries and questions it focuses on stuff we already know. There have been 2 or 3 quite good episodes but for the most part ,for a final series its been poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Loving it so far but I think people are putting far too much pressure on the finale to come down from heaven and save the show. If you don't like whats been happening till now I doubt you'll like the rest of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I_am_LOST wrote: »
    It's not so much the lack of answers that I care about (well obviously, they're important, but I would like the show to end with at least some mystery!) its more, as has been said, some awful writing...it's quite shocking actually. They've always said the show has been character driven but at this stage I feel like they don't care about the characters or their emotions or responses to whats going on.

+1. That is what made Lost great. The character driven plot, with outstanding dialogue etc. They have assembled a fantastic cast but they are getting less and less opportunities to show their skills. IMO they went down the action route with subs, and bombs and mortars etc and this last season especially has really let down the first few. I used to be glued to Lost, watching the characters, realising through flashbacks etc why x person would say or do something, how a minor choice can change your life forever etc it became like a penny dropped moment as well as episodes ending on a cliffhanger.

Now the writing is terrible, the actors seem to be bored of the whole thing and are just delivering lines like they can't wait to be finished. I am not interested in any of them any more tbh. It's all just very, very bland. 'Oh we'll all go over there, we'll all go over here' no one seems even that interested in getting off the island anymore. Death is just greeted with a resigned 'meh' (temple folk, ajira passengers etc). Nobody is looking for answers.
    I_am_LOST wrote: »
    As for answers, they're just checking things off a list at this stage, and haven't delivered it in any sort of entertaining way..

Yup. There used to be an element of creepiness to the show, the whispers, people seeing dead people etc. Now it's just 'oh that was me'.... wtf? Where's the excitement gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭blue_steel

Agree with most of the above. It has clearly been the weakest season of the show. As someone mentioned Ab Aeterno was the first real mythological flashback to predate Dharma and they fluffed it for me. The Temple was built up for ages to be the mysterious focal-point of everything the Others stood for and it ended up being a total non-event. The Others are a good example of the loose ends that are appearing everywhere. Their actions in general and those of Ben in particular make no sense. Why were they kidnapping people? Why did Kluge kill herself at the drop of a hat? Why was Widmore so ruthless about killing baby Alex? Why were they immune to the time-flashes? I could go on.
    Surely the Whispers exposition was worthy an episode to itself? It was a major mystery on the show from day one and its denoument got less air time than cop Sawyer going on a date with Charlotte! I dare anyone to defend decision making like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I haven't really been let down because I knew it was going to be rubbish. Locke seemingly rising from the dead in series five was one of the worst things ever to happen to Lost. When it was revealed it wasn't Locke it was even worse. As far as I'm concerned there's no way I can be any more let down than I already have been.

This rubbish with Claire and Sayid is really annoying me. I know Sayd is supposed to have a darkness inside of him or whatever, but it just looks like he doesn't feel like acting. There's also too many characters with little or no importance. When Ilana turned up as Desmonds lawyer I actually didn't know who she was supposed to be for the entire episode as I had already forgotten about her. I only realised who she was when I read a thread here.

As far as I'm concerned there's no way the finale is going to be any good. The writers have dug themselves into a hole that they can never get out of. It seems like they spent years writing bizarre storylines and had no idea how to explain it all so they just said "let's just make it a battle between good and evil".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Jay Ru wrote: »
    Leggo posted below "I think, as time goes on, we'll all look back and feel as if we didn't actually WANT the mysteries solved." I think that the only reason anyone wud think that is because the writers cudn't come up with answers that the mysteries deserved. Obviously we don't want everything answered but some good answers wud be nice

It's comments like these that deserve multiple 'Thanks'. Well said.

Somewhat related to this, it does irritate me also when the writers make a reference to something, maybe in season 1 for example, and often lots of fans tend to proclaim that this is evidence the writers had everything mapped out from the beginning. It actually is more likely just a retrospective reference that has been added in. I mean if a giant talking bird was introduced in the next episode it is not evidence that they had a plan for the Hurley bird all along. It just means they are referencing it.

I'm willing to bet these individuals don't understand simple logic.

One only has to look towards season 5 (Which I loved) to see that it's complete filler compared to the overall story.

The whole destiny angle in the alt-stories is insulting to the viewer. Am I supposed to gasp in awe that no matter what path these people took in life, they'd still end up meeting...

It's like something some smug teenager would write for his Junior Cert English essay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭seadnamac

nitrogen wrote: »
    I'm willing to bet these individuals don't understand simple logic.

One only has to look towards season 5 (Which I loved) to see that it's complete filler compared to the overall story.

Add to that Season 2 Losties .v. The Others and Season 4 Ben .v. Widmore. It all seems so irrelavant now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

*bites tongue*

must not get banned

bryanjf wrote: »
    *bites tongue*

must not get banned

have at it chief!

no i'll pass, don't want to end up banned i enjoy posting here :D

especially with the finale coming up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

no i'll pass, don't want to end up banned i enjoy posting here :D especially with the finale coming up

If you've any juicy info PM it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I think all seasons pale when compared to season 2.
    When it's all over, gonna rewatch on blu-ray to see how it changes when the end is known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

nitrogen wrote: »
    It's comments like these that deserve multiple 'Thanks'. Well said.

I'm just curious... honestly.

Can someone point me in the direction of a weird and mysterious series that had a good ending? i.e. one that satisfied viewers with the answers?

Everyone is saying once it all pays off on the end it will be worth it, but does that mean is ok to give us 10-12 average eps once the last few are good.

Majority of episodes this season have gotten 7,8 or 9 rating in the episode thread. An average episode gets a 5/6 rating.

There has definitely been a few excellent episodes as well this season. Just because you didn't like them doesn't mean they were poor.

EDIT: Just a note, I'm not arguing with the thread to be honest. I am a little let down... no where near as much as some of ye, but I also didn't have the expectations ye guys had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

jimbling wrote: »
    I'm just curious... honestly.

Can someone point me in the direction of a weird and mysterious series that had a good ending? i.e. one that satisfied viewers with the answers?

Glenroe? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Im only disappointed in the sway of direction in the characters.

As for the mysteries and the Flash-Sideways im just more curios and excited about how it all ends up and im liking the build up and momentum towards answering these questions.

So because it hasn't been done before it ok for Lost to continue on the tradition of mysterious show with bad endings?
    Majority of episodes this season have gotten 7,8 or 9 rating in the episode thread. An average episode gets a 5/6 rating.

There has definitely been a few excellent episodes as well this season. Just because you didn't like them doesn't mean they were poor.

EDIT: Just a note, I'm not arguing with the thread to be honest. I am a little let down... no where near as much as some of ye, but I also didn't have the expectations ye guys had.

Hey look people here gave Ab Aerterno 10/10 if that don't say anything bout the way folks vote round here then nothing does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

I think once the Finale is aired the 2 lads should openb up a thread in the Debate Forum and go at it and we can vote on who wins :p

Some of the ratings are a joke to be honest. Has an episode ever averaged less that 7? Most people will give a 7 or 8 for even the most prosaic installment. In fairness I agree, there has been the odd exception this season. The Substitute would certainly be in my top ten.

blue_steel wrote: »
    Some of the ratings are a joke to be honest. Has an episode ever averaged less that 7? Most people will give a 7 or 8 for even the most prosaic installment. In fairness I agree, there has been the odd exception this season. The Substitute would certainly be in my top ten.

Generalize much?

you're grasping at straws

Generalize much?

you're grasping at straws

So you think every single episode of Lost has been fantastic? If not post a link of one that scored below 7 on any site. The episode most people slate is Stranger in a Strange Land.
    It scored 7.6 on TV.com:

http://www.tv.com/lost/stranger-in-a-strange-land/episode/918577/summary.html?tag=ep_guide;summary

Do you think this is a fair score or is it instead indicitive of an audience desperate to believe in the show?

blue_steel wrote: »
    So you think every single episode of Lost has been fantastic? If not post a link of one that scored below 7 on any site. The episode most people slate is Stranger in a Strange Land.
    It scored 7.6 on TV.com:

http://www.tv.com/lost/stranger-in-a-strange-land/episode/918577/summary.html?tag=ep_guide;summary

Do you think this is a fair score or is it instead indicitive of an audience desperate to believe in the show?

i never said that

i'm just stating that you are generalizing towards the audience based on the bolded part in my above post

and i'll do you one better than SIASL, Expose is top notch viewing

So because it hasn't been done before it ok for Lost to continue on the tradition of mysterious show with bad endings?

Jay Ru, I was merely pointing out that it is an extremely difficult thing to do.

I think once the Finale is aired the 2 lads should openb up a thread in the Debate Forum and go at it and we can vote on who wins :p

I've done enough hair pulling already. I'm almost bald.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

i think the series has been quite enjoyable im loving the man in black and the new sayid. also some of the flash sideways have been good except kates i dont know what it is about her character im just not intrested

Jay Ru, I was merely pointing out that it is an extremely difficult thing to do.

fair nuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

It's been a "good" series, but not a great one. I still can't for the life of me understand why they spent so much time at that Temple introducing the Dogen character, it was soul-crushingly slow. Also while the introduction of Desmond has brought an inkling as to what's going on and a sense of purpose to the flash-sideways, it shouldn't have took the 9 or so episodes before that kind of clarity was provided. It's picking up now, but there was a few duff episodes. For me Series 1,3 and 4 would be superior to 2, 5 and 6

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I think it's suffered from the pressure to be good. I have to say I'm not enjoying it as much as previous seasons.