Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women in Sport

• 27-04-2010 7:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭

Since I started posting in this forum, and even moreso since I became a Mod and was in a position to abuse my powers :D, I've tried to champion resistance training for women. The benefits it has are endless, the pro's are many and better than any fad diet, machine or gimmick on the market, and yet women still seem to be afraid to lift.

Just recently I was elected onto the IAWLA Committee as the New Ladies Development Officer and I'm now working with the Irish Sports Council to try and promote weightlifting for women specifically but also hopefully use this forum (and the Sports Cat in general) to try and promote sports for women.

We advertised last weekend's National Senior's Competition on the Women in Sports website and I'm hoping to write a report on women in weightlifting to submit to the site in the next week or so.

So... obviously I have no issues talking to my female co-competitors but who I'd really like to talk to is the women who weightlift - no matter how casually - for non-competitive reasons i.e. to look better, get fitter, lose weight, etc.

If there are any trainers who'd like to comment that would be fantastic too - at the end of the day what I'm really trying to do is promote weightlifting for women, and by websites like the ISC and Women in Sport one will reach a whole new target audience.

So please share your stories - when did you start weightlifting? Why did you start? What are your main aims and goals? What kind of benefits have you felt from weightlifting? And any other information you might like to pass on.

Cheers gals and guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi g'em

Firstly congrats on your appointment and best wishes for the new position. Hope it goes well for you.

On the women in weight lifting, I think to encourage more women to lift weights would require some sort of a retraining program for a lot of the trainers who work in the commercial gyms.

Time and again I see women getting their inductions in my gym and no matter what their stated goals, they all seem to get pretty much the same routines.

15 minutes on the cross trainer
    15 minutes on the threadmil
    3 x 10 bicep curls with 2kg dumbells
    3 x 10 tricep kick backs with 2kg dumbells
    Ab crunches and sit ups.

I have seen women even after a couple of months in the gym, still doing the same old routines with the same weights. Also I have heard on a number of occasions where the trainers advise women against lifting heavy weights to avoind looking like Arnie. This myth seems to make most women afraid to even look at the weight section of the gym.

The strange thing is that some of the same trainers in my gym also do PT sessions (which must be paid for) and I have seen some women while doing PT sessions encouraged to do things like pull-ups, push-ups, dumbell rows & dumbell squats.

I always think it strange that these instructors don't advise this type of routine at induction.

So I really think that if the gym trainers encouraged women to lift challenging weights instead of the endless cardio they are given and stopped propogating the myth of lifting heavy will bulk them up, you would have more women prepared to lift.

Also if more women got to meet women like yourself, and to see how fabulous you look and see the weight you lift, instead of the preconceived vision of the female body builders who have trained specifically for muscle mass or downed tonnes of steroids to achieve the muscular bodies, this IMHO would also be helpful.

Just my 2 cents worth.

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

g'em wrote: »
    So please share your stories - when did you start weightlifting? Why did you start? What are your main aims and goals? What kind of benefits have you felt from weightlifting? And any other information you might like to pass on.
    Hey g'em,
    Congrats on your appointment, they are lucky to have you!
    This time last year I completed the 10K Bupa run in the park. When I reviewed the photos of me in the race, I saw someone who looked fairly blobby and not particularily fit. As I was getting married later on that year I felt that enough was enough, that running/aerobics was not getting me the results that I wanted so I went to a personal trainer. They then got me into lifting weights and I have continued with this trainer ever since.
    My main aim and priority would be to be healthy and second to that would be to stay in shape/get stronger. I was a complete weakling when I started and have made progress, slowly but surely which I am delighted with:)
    I think that lifting weights in a large, commerical gym can be somewhat intimidating. Unless I had the program that my trainer gives me to do, I wouldn't have a notion as to what I should be doing in the gym!
    Best of luck with your appointment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

B-Builder wrote: »
    I have seen some women while doing PT sessions encouraged to do things like pull-ups, push-ups,....

stopped propogating the myth of lifting heavy will bulk them up, you would have more women prepared to lift.
    The other myth is that bodyweight training will not build mass, and this could be something to actually play on. I remember a few of the lads messing about doing chins on rafters in a mates shed, his missus said she would love to be able to do a chinup and her mate helped her do an assisted negative. Now I don't think there is a chance in hell if that was a bench press they were messing around on that she would have done an assisted bench press!

So I would try and convince women in the opposite way as men who think BW training cannot build mass, i.e. that resistance is resistance, so logically if they think pushups and chinups are OK to do then they should not fear weights will bulk them up. It would also be pointed out celebs/actors, atheltes, fitness models etc who are lifting as heavy. Too many equate weights with bodybuilders and may be oblivious to the fact some women they admire are lifting heavy. I do think they do not fear BW as you only have to see the higher proportion of women than men taking up gymnastics many of whom have incredible strength.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Unless I had the program that my trainer gives me to do, I wouldn't have a notion as to what I should be doing in the gym!
    Best of luck with your appointment!

Do you mind me asking what kinds of lifting your trainer has you doing? Would you ever be interested in finding out about doing the olympic lifts?

As a general question to everyone how are the olympic lifts perceived as a sport and as a training tool? I *think* they might be seen as very complicated and specialised, and not very useful for a 'regular' training program for women or am I completely off the mark there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

rubadub wrote: »
    The other myth is that bodyweight training will not build mass, and this could be something to actually play on. I remember a few of the lads messing about doing chins on rafters in a mates shed, his missus said she would love to be able to do a chinup and her mate helped her do an assisted negative. Now I don't think there is a chance in hell if that was a bench press they were messing around on that she would have done an assisted bench press!

So I would try and convince women in the opposite way as men who think BW training cannot build mass, i.e. that resistance is resistance, so logically if they think pushups and chinups are OK to do then they should not fear weights will bulk them up. It would also be pointed out celebs/actors, atheltes, fitness models etc who are lifting as heavy. Too many equate weights with bodybuilders and may be oblivious to the fact some women they admire are lifting heavy. I do think they do not fear BW as you only have to see the higher proportion of women than men taking up gymnastics many of whom have incredible strength.
    fair play gem and you are always pushing the boat out there.

You know i am a massive fan of weights for women and there are a pile of videos on my blog with women lifting well and looking fab.

I have yet to work with a female client that did not feel, look and even think about themselves in a better light after doing a PROPER weights program.

I am as proud of my client that is in her 50's doing 50kg deadlifts (while needed to drop another 3 stone) that she built up to over the past 10 weeks as i am of the likes of G86 who is a great example of what proper weights can do for women.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I dont lift weights. I did one pt session to see what it was like, found it good but I was pretty weak. I do kettlebells and have raved about them elsewhere here, so theyre my introduction to any kind of weights. I also do bodyweight stuff, chins, pushups etc. I use kbs as crosstraining for the other stuff I do, to give me more upper body and core strength and power in the legs.

Even though my experience therefore is limited, this I now know... Nothing gives you power better than weights. Nothing changes your shape for the better, more than weights. I know when Ive not done enough, my core weakens really quickly. Women fear getting muscular. As if, you wont bulk, even if you really want to. And I really want to. ;)

Yes, I would like to olympic lift, whatever that entails, but resources of time and money are limited, (I train so bloody much already and handout money for events and gear all the time!) and thats what stops me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Assets Model

B-Builder wrote: »
    Hi g'em

Time and again I see women getting their inductions in my gym and no matter what their stated goals, they all seem to get pretty much the same routines.

15 minutes on the cross trainer
    15 minutes on the threadmil
    3 x 10 bicep curls with 2kg dumbells
    3 x 10 tricep kick backs with 2kg dumbells
    Ab crunches and sit ups.

Aaaargh yes I'd tried that along wtih living on rice cakes and diet coke and it didn't seem to be working so when I discovered crossfit I decided I'd nothing to lose. I was pretty damn skeptical inititally and scared of the barbells and worried I'd get arms more like vin diesel than Michelle Obama. But when I saw that everyone else there looked pretty normal I stuck with it and it was great fun. I think the fact that crossfit do proper stuff rather than boring things like bicep curls helps.

I've taken to weightlifting so much that now that i've emigrated I've joined an olympic lifting club in Germany. I'm still ****e but I really enjoy it.

I think to promote weightlifting you need to get rid of the perception that weightlifting is body building and you'll get huge. It's hilarious whenever I talk about hobbies with men they always give me a hugely skeptical once over and say 'YOU lift weights' and then either snigger or take huge offence and get really rude. Totally bizarre but I think they expect anyone who lifts to be massive.

As regards olympic lifts they're fairly difficult to learn and you'd need coachcing so I'd say most people would assume they're not useful as part of a regular training programme. Certainly I haven't convinced my husband to lay off doing 1000 britney spears style crunches and try oly lifting instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

Do you mind me asking what kinds of lifting your trainer has you doing? Would you ever be interested in finding out about doing the olympic lifts?

As a general question to everyone how are the olympic lifts perceived as a sport and as a training tool? I *think* they might be seen as very complicated and specialised, and not very useful for a 'regular' training program for women or am I completely off the mark there?
    The training that I do would be along the lines of squats, split squats, lunges, leg extensions, lat pulldowns, rows, deadlifts, GHRs, tricep extensions, bicep curls etc (I can't do chin ups yet but its not for the want of trying!) but no Olympic lifting. I have done a little of it before and liked it a lot but feel that when you are learning those lifts that you need someone to coach you so that you have the correct form. Do you plan on running another workshop with Transform like you did last year??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Yes pretty much, but in addition I think they are unsuitable to most facilities. Unless you have bumper plates and are on the ground floor its probably not a good idea to be dropping the weight on the way back. Plus unless you have the space/designated oly platform it can be a hazard to other gym users. I've seen one guy attempt power cleans in NUIG since I started here (may be more but I haven't seen them) - his form was atrocious and I would not have moved within a six foot radius of him for fear that a ****ed up jerk attempt would cause the barbell to land on top of me or someone else.
    Having said all that I have been thinking lately of putting high pulls/hang cleans into my training somewhere but full on oly lifts are imo overly technical for someone to try and do without a coach to keep an eye on your form, at least in the beginning. Plus I don't think I could use enough weight for anything other than hp/hc to make them worthwhile. Just some of my muddled thoughts on the issue.

If there were enough women interested I'd definitely be up for doing another coaching course - if any women are interested in doing an olympic lifting workshop (or even a series of coaching days) can you thank this post so that I can get an idea of whether it's viable?

anyone makes a joke about thanks whoring and there'll be bannings :D

Yes pretty much, but in addition I think they are unsuitable to most facilities. Unless you have bumper plates and are on the ground floor its probably not a good idea to be dropping the weight on the way back. Plus unless you have the space/designated oly platform it can be a hazard to other gym users. I've seen one guy attempt power cleans in NUIG since I started here (may be more but I haven't seen them) - his form was atrocious and I would not have moved within a six foot radius of him for fear that a ****ed up jerk attempt would cause the barbell to land on top of me or someone else.
    Having said all that I have been thinking lately of putting high pulls/hang cleans into my training somewhere but full on oly lifts are imo overly technical for someone to try and do without a coach to keep an eye on your form, at least in the beginning. Plus I don't think I could use enough weight for anything other than hp/hc to make them worthwhile. Just some of my muddled thoughts on the issue.

Thanks brian. Just to address some of the things you brought up - by and large when we teach oly lifting, we teach you not to drop. In fact, for the most part as a learner you aren't using any weight at all :) If you were to come to me and ask for help on your lifts we'd start all over againa nd correct teh mistakes that most people make when they self-teach the lifts. Oly lifting is 70% technique, 30% strength - you have to make sure the technique is right before you start adding kgs. In fact I'm going to be so bold as to say here and now that I could improve anyone's lifts without using anything more than the bar. The only equipment you need for that is... well, the bar :pac:

But you're right, having proper facilities is a concern. For the majority of people though weightlifting will be a tool, a means to and end, and not a goal in itself. Most people who oly lift will be doing it to assist other lifts, not to compete, so we can modify workouts around those limitations.

tbh, hang cleans, power cleans, hang snatches and power snatches are the lifts that will have most transference of strength to other lifts becuase those are the lifts that can most easily utilise and develop the second pull, the explosive part of the lift. You only need to develop the lifts to the full versions if you want to compete. So if those are teh only options available, no biggie, you just need to figure out how to use them to maximise output in the rest of your program ;)

But I completely agree about the coaching comments. We are working on coaching development in Ireland and it's something that we're very much focusing on at the moment. We've begun to develop a network of coaches in all four provinces and fingers crossed within a few months we'll have a full list of coaches/ gyms available for olympic weightlifting training. I'll have loooads more news on that very soon, I'm just not allowed to say anything yet :D A full list of Weightlifting Clubs is available on the IAWLA website and we'll be adding to that constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭jakeypooh

Hi Gem

I have been lifting weights for 13 years. I was lucky in that the gym I joined originally had lots of girls competing at the time and it gave me the drive to look like them
    I lost 3.stone with weight watchers that same year and have kept it off and have continued to train since that initial joining of the gym
    Have always lifted and have gone from lifting really heavy to concentrating on running for different events
    I am back lifting heavy as I can again and LOVE it, far prefer to to CV and how it makes me look
    Im lucky in that I have a fairly muscular build (big feckin legs that I hate ) so I see the results hugely
    Asked a trainer in my gym for a new weight lifting programme 4 weeks ago and the difference so far is huge
    I was actually asked yesterday was I ready for the competition...
    Hadn't a clue what that was about and the guy mixed me up with someone called Gwen who competed last week
    Was thrilled

I think the guys hanging round the weights area put women off
    Not the ones actually working out the ones throwing heavy weights on floor and looking to see who looked at them you know those people

ITs funny there is a guy where I train who has competed in many competitions and he actually helps me if Im doing anything wrong

I don't let the tossers intimidate me but they always nudge each other when I enter the weights area and the foreigners spend their time pointing at me and talking in their own language when I bend over for BOSAR or the like
    I just ignore them

I also think that as above women tend to be given weak programmes with pink dumbells
    the gas thing is they all remark on how well I look but wont lift a weight
    Such a pity really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Ah here, you can always make do, especially with power cleans. I've snatched in a college gym at peak times without bumpers. You just have to wait until there's a bit of a lull in the people walkin around, and if someone else is oly lifting, make sure to keep your distance and have your eyes open (should be mandatory in a gym anyway). It's not ideal and can be a pain in the tits, but it's definitely not impossible.

Thanks brian. Just to address some of the things you brought up - by and large when we teach oly lifting, we teach you not to drop. In fact, for the most part as a learner you aren't using any weight at all :) If you were to come to me and ask for help on your lifts we'd start all over againa nd correct teh mistakes that most people make when they self-teach the lifts. Oly lifting is 70% technique, 30% strength - you have to make sure the technique is right before you start adding kgs. In fact I'm going to be so bold as to say here and now that I could improve anyone's lifts without using anything more than the bar. The only equipment you need for that is... well, the bar :pac:
    That's all grand but if you're not competing what's the point in having that technique? That's why I mentioned that I wouldn't be able to use enough weight to make them worthwhile.
    But you're right, having proper facilities is a concern. For the majority of people though weightlifting will be a tool, a means to and end, and not a goal in itself. Most people who oly lift will be doing it to assist other lifts, not to compete, so we can modify workouts around those limitations.

tbh, hang cleans, power cleans, hang snatches and power snatches are the lifts that will have most transference of strength to other lifts becuase those are the lifts that can most easily utilise and develop the second pull, the explosive part of the lift. You only need to develop the lifts to the full versions if you want to compete. So if those are teh only options available, no biggie, you just need to figure out how to use them to maximise output in the rest of your program ;)
    Do you not think that makes the full oly lifts somewhat redundant to the average trainee, or do you see it as an adaptation? If the latter, do you think a certain amount of 'rebranding' will be required when trying to popularise them with women, assuming this is the reason you're asking these questions?
    Dead Ed wrote: »
    Ah here, you can always make do, especially with power cleans. I've snatched in a college gym at peak times without bumpers. You just have to wait until there's a bit of a lull in the people walkin around, and if someone else is oly lifting, make sure to keep your distance and have your eyes open (should be mandatory in a gym anyway). It's not ideal and can be a pain in the tits, but it's definitely not impossible.

Never said it was impossible, only that in most cases they are unsuitable. Its comparable imo to trying to do back squats without any rack to put the bar on. There are ways you can still do back squats, but are they really the way to go?

That's all grand but if you're not competing what's the point in having that technique? That's why I mentioned that I wouldn't be able to use enough weight to make them worthwhile.
    Because as I said the technique develops your explosive power and strength, that's why most people learn those lifts. It has cross-over to other lifts. So what if you can only do hang power versions, they'll still help your squat and dead lift. By technique I mean technique in all versions of the oly lifts.
    Do you not think that makes the full oly lifts somewhat redundant to the average trainee, or do you see it as an adaptation? If the latter, do you think a certain amount of 'rebranding' will be required when trying to popularise them with women, assuming this is the reason you're asking these questions?
    Absolutely not redundant at all. Think of any sport and I can give you a specific variation of an oly lift that can be used as part of an S&C program for that sport. Hockey players can use hangs from above the knee, sprinters and anyone playing tackling sports can use high/ 2nd pulls - the olympic lifts can be adapted to virtually any sport.

For the average Joe Soap who just wants to lift and look good the oly lifts will do that too - they're compound full body movements that give you huge amounts of bang for your buck. They'll build strength and increase energy expenditure, hugely valuable for fat loss.

I don't think Olympic lifting needs to be re-branded, because I don't think it has a brand at all. A lot of the people who frequent this forum will already be aware of what weightlifting is becuase of people like myself and Hanley and wasabi and Colm O'Reilly et al. in Crossfit, even 12 months ago virutally no-one here did it, and most didn't know what it was all about.

Credit where credit is due, the Crossfit Empire has gone a long way towards normalising the olympic lifts for the average Joe. I don't entirely agree with the way they're taught according to Crossfit (:pac:) but at least they're getting the airtime they deserve now.

Personally I think weightlifting is so different, so unique, but so completely applicable to both everyday life and specific sports that it needs to seen as an entity all by itself. Weightlifting, proper Olympic style weightlifting, is still a virtual unknown, and it has more application to women than powerlifting or bodybuilding, again both for everyday life and in sport - quite simply more women of all ages, of all shapes, of all backgrounds should be using it in their Fitness programs and that's something I'd like to try and change. Even just a teeny tiny bit :D
    Never said it was impossible, only that in most cases they are unsuitable. Its comparable imo to trying to do back squats without any rack to put the bar on. There are ways you can still do back squats, but are they really the way to go?
    With the Olympic Lifts, yes. There's always room for technique improvement in the Olympic lifts. The only time when having a weight restriction is important is if you're a competitive lifter.

Absolutely not redundant at all. Think of any sport and I can give you a specific variation of an oly lift that can be used as part of an S&C program for that sport. Hockey players can use hangs from above the knee, sprinters and anyone playing tackling sports can use high/ 2nd pulls - the olympic lifts can be adapted to virtually any sport.

For the average Joe Soap who just wants to lift and look good the oly lifts will do that too - they're compound full body movements that give you huge amounts of bang for your buck. They'll build strength and increase energy expenditure, hugely valuable for fat loss.

I don't think Olympic lifting needs to be re-branded, because I don't think it has a brand at all. A lot of the people who frequent this forum will already be aware of what weightlifting is becuase of people like myself and Hanley and wasabi and Colm O'Reilly et al. in Crossfit, even 12 months ago virutally no-one here did it, and most didn't know what it was all about.

Credit where credit is due, the Crossfit Empire has gone a long way towards normalising the olympic lifts for the average Joe. I don't entirely agree with the way they're taught according to Crossfit (:pac:) but at least they're getting the airtime they deserve now.

Personally I think weightlifting is so different, so unique, but so completely applicable to both everyday life and specific sports that it needs to seen as an entity all by itself. Weightlifting, proper Olympic style weightlifting, is still a virtual unknown, and it has more application to women than powerlifting or bodybuilding, again both for everyday life and in sport - quite simply more women of all ages, of all shapes, of all backgrounds should be using it in their Fitness programs and that's something I'd like to try and change. Even just a teeny tiny bit :D

I think we're crossing wires here, when I said full oly lifts I meant exactly that, the clean and jerk and the snatch, not variants. I absolutely can see that the variants have a role in sports training, however they are (imo and from the way they are referred to by both yourself and others, and done compared to competitive oly lifting) different lifts. This is what I was referring to as needing rebranding, most people will know what the oly lifts are, but not the variants which are the ones you're suggesting are more applicable to the general trainee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I first started weight training because cardio just wasn't working, and I wasn't happy with my shape. I started training with Transform 3 years ago, but I've definitely become far more into it in the past year, I love hitting new PR's the the deadlift is my baby:cool:. My normal training would consist of strength days and metcon days which include Squats, Deadlifts, Push Press, Bench Press and then the likes of one arm rows, lat raises, inverted rows, bicep curls, KB swings, push ups, tri dips and ab work. I love doing crossfit WOD's and they're a huge part of my training now and a major motivational factor in getting my ass to the gym.

At the moment I'm trying to focus on getting the weight up on my lifts and also to learn a bit more about my training in the process, so I've started the Stronglifts 5x5 Program which I'm doing along with metcon days also. My weakness is that if I can't do something it demotivates me, a recent example would be OH Squats and Powercleans! I really am the kind of person that needs someone to stick with me for an hour with the one lift and just go over it again and again til I'm confident that I'm doing it right. Once I have that confidence in it then I'm flying!! I've left these to the side now with Stronglifts but I'm well aware that there are alot of lifts I need to work on still. Transform is well used to me at this stage, our conversations normally go along these lines: 'I can't do it', 'G just do it', 'I can't do it!', 'Just fecking do it!' - til I eventually realise I CAN do it and then decide it's my favourite lift :rolleyes:haha!

My goals have changed alot since I first started; at the start I just wanted to lose weight, I didn't care how and I had no interest in why I was doing certain exercises as long as they got me to that end goal. But now my goals have completely changed, I really get excited about my workouts, I WANT the weight to go up and if it doesn't it pisses me off! I started off at 23% bodyfat and would have been happy to get it down to 20%, now I'm only happy if it's under 15% and I hope to god I never see 20% again! I'm so much more confident now than I was 3 years ago, sure my stomach might still have a bit of a wobble, but I dammit I can deadlift 100kg and run 10k - so I think I'm doing pretty good :) (we'll not reference my OH Squats here:o)

My goals at the moment are:
    • Learn more about the lifts I do and work with Transform to have more input in developing my programming. Basically just to broaden my own knowledge as I've got to the point now where it really interests me.
    • Improve my deadlift form on the heavier weights
    • Hit a 1rm double bodyweight on my deadlift
    • A bodyweight squat (73kg)
    • A Chin Up (yes, even just the one would make my day!)
    • Improve my WOD times
    • Stop being a wuss and sort out the lifts I suck at.
    • Get BF under 14%, especially my subscap - bane of my life.
    With regards to the Oly lifts training, I'd definitely be interested in that, especially something that was run over a few days as opposed to just the one session.

I think we're crossing wires here, when I said full oly lifts I meant exactly that, the clean and jerk and the snatch, not variants.
    Ah, fair enough. But I don't see them that way. It's all oly lifting afaic :)
    I absolutely can see that the variants have a role in sports training, however they are (imo and from the way they are referred to by both yourself and others, and done compared to competitive oly lifting) different lifts.
    Not really, that's the great thing about them. All the variants are still doing the same thing - developing your posterior chain!
    This is what I was referring to as needing rebranding, most people will know what the oly lifts are, but not the variants which are the ones you're suggesting are more applicable to the general trainee.
    Trust me, after spending the last couple of years telling people I weightlift and getting either an "ew" or a "stf?" face, most people haven't a clue what they are :D I don't think there's any need to go down the rebranding route right now - variations and whatnot is too complicated a concept to introduce just yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Not so much to do with women, but with the weightlifting, part of the problem imo is how long it takes to learn the lifts. Spending a couple of weeks using only broomsticks or the bar and working on flexibility etc isn't really enticing for most people.

I know from experience that while people might be interested at the start in learning the lifts, this interest quickly deteriorates because of the lack of actual lifting involved at first. This is also partly down to the lack of facilities and equipment available. Also for most blokes using only the bar is very humbling and i think some just cant accept that.

Im not sure how you'd get around this, maybe teaching the easier lifts like powercleans so people can actually lift some weight might bring more people in.

Id agree with g'em in regards to brians point, I dont think you need so much technique to do a P clean, and its easily taught imo. If you want to compete, yeah constant coaching is necessary but for casual gym goers or people in other sports basic technique is enough and thats not too technical, you just jump with a bar in your hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

With regards to women and weighlifting i think one of the stumbling blocks is the way many gyms today tend to seperate where the men and the women work out. In the gym i go to the so-called mens section has all the squat racks and free weights whereas the womens is loaded with machine weights and the multi-coloured dumbbells. From talking to a few girls i know who go there, they dont like being the only girl surrounded by the lads.

With the oly lifts, id love to learn how to do them and have looked around for people to teach me them, but aside from the odd person who does a powerclean or 2 i cant find someone.(i know this sounds like a cop-out) Id go to the crossfit thing in a few weeks except its in the middle of my exams. The plan is to find someone or somewhere over the summer to learn them.

I think the big problem with the olympic lifts is people dont know the potential benefits of them. They see them overly complicated lifts which have little benefit outside of competitive oly lifting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

cc87 wrote: »
    With regards to women and weighlifting i think one of the stumbling blocks is the way many gyms today tend to seperate where the men and the women work out. In the gym i go to the so-called mens section has all the squat racks and free weights whereas the womens is loaded with machine weights and the multi-coloured dumbbells. From talking to a few girls i know who go there, they dont like being the only girl surrounded by the lads.

With the oly lifts, id love to learn how to do them and have looked around for people to teach me them, but aside from the odd person who does a powerclean or 2 i cant find someone.(i know this sounds like a cop-out) Id go to the crossfit thing in a few weeks except its in the middle of my exams. The plan is to find someone or somewhere over the summer to learn them.

I think the big problem with the olympic lifts is people dont know the potential benefits of them. They see them overly complicated lifts which have little benefit outside of competitive oly lifting.
    the main stumbling block is trainers are too feckin lazy to coach female or male clients in the basic lifts (many do not do them themselves also) and its easier to put someone on a cross trainer and the leg extension than doing it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭smoggy11

Hi G'em,

I started weight training consistently in about February. I had always been unhappy with my shape, it didn't matter how skinny I was, I always had saddlebags and slight love handles. Even whenI was at my smallest I still had them!

I had put on a lot of weight and to be honest was disgusted with how I looked. My boyfriend is big into weight training so he convinced me to go. I had already learnt most of the lifts from previous failed attempts to get in shape so I was able to start upping the weight quite quickly.

I am SO happy that I went! My body is getting there shape wise, the saddlebags are diminishing as we speak and I'm so much more confident in my body. I really can't recommend weight training enough.

I can understand why girls don't really go in for weight training though. Just today I was talking with a collegue about being in the gym and things and she said that I shouldn't lift too much weight, as I would end up huge and muscley. I corrected her, but I think that is the common misconception.

Even in the gym, I sometimes get such strange looks from men when they see me in the 'mens' weight area. Especially when I'm squatting more than some of them :p

I think if more celebrities would say that to get in the shape they are in, they train with weights it would really help. I mean, all you ever see is celebrities running and jogging, so people reading the magazines think, 'well, if I jog, I too can get a body like Jessica Alba!' The media has a big part in peoples fitness routines. Even in magazines, when there is a fitness article, it usually tells you to get on the cross trainer and do sit-ups. Hardly inspiring stuff!

But anyway! Lifting weights is easily the best decision I have made with regards to my body, I look forward to going to the gym to see if I can lift a bit more than I did the last time, or get a few more reps. It is much more inspiring than trying to run for a bit longer on a treadmill (Okay, I'm bias, I hate the treadmill with a passion, it is the instrument of the devil :p)

Sorry for the novel like reply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Like I said g'em we should have another girl lifting in the Leinsters, and maybe a few more for the club championships.

If we can figure out a time to host a CF Open championship that suits the association we'll hopefully have a few more for then.

Anything else we can do, just let us know!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Howcome this has turned into a debate about whether or not to Oly lift? For another day surely.

Congrats G'em and I hope you convince others to go down your path. Having worked a lot with teenagers I can tell you that one of the biggest obstacles to getting young women into sports is the lack of female role models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

smoggy11 wrote: »
    Hi G'em,

I started weight training consistently in about February. I had always been unhappy with my shape, it didn't matter how skinny I was, I always had saddlebags and slight love handles. Even whenI was at my smallest I still had them!

I had put on a lot of weight and to be honest was disgusted with how I looked. My boyfriend is big into weight training so he convinced me to go. I had already learnt most of the lifts from previous failed attempts to get in shape so I was able to start upping the weight quite quickly.

I am SO happy that I went! My body is getting there shape wise, the saddlebags are diminishing as we speak and I'm so much more confident in my body. I really can't recommend weight training enough.

I can understand why girls don't really go in for weight training though. Just today I was talking with a collegue about being in the gym and things and she said that I shouldn't lift too much weight, as I would end up huge and muscley. I corrected her, but I think that is the common misconception.

Even in the gym, I sometimes get such strange looks from men when they see me in the 'mens' weight area. Especially when I'm squatting more than some of them :p

I think if more celebrities would say that to get in the shape they are in, they train with weights it would really help. I mean, all you ever see is celebrities running and jogging, so people reading the magazines think, 'well, if I jog, I too can get a body like Jessica Alba!' The media has a big part in peoples fitness routines. Even in magazines, when there is a fitness article, it usually tells you to get on the cross trainer and do sit-ups. Hardly inspiring stuff!

But anyway! Lifting weights is easily the best decision I have made with regards to my body, I look forward to going to the gym to see if I can lift a bit more than I did the last time, or get a few more reps. It is much more inspiring than trying to run for a bit longer on a treadmill (Okay, I'm bias, I hate the treadmill with a passion, it is the instrument of the devil :p)

Sorry for the novel like reply!

+ 1 to that, especially the misconseption that lifting weights will make you huge if you're a woman, it does'nt, just makes you nice and toned.

Thanks SO much everyone for all the personal experiences and feedback, I LOVE reading about all these successes with lifting!
    Having worked a lot with teenagers I can tell you that one of the biggest obstacles to getting young women into sports is the lack of female role models.
    The above points are exactly what I'd been thinking myself, you've both hit the nail on the head there. It's all very well for us to waffle away on an internet forum about how great weights are for girls (which we know they are) but seeing is believing, and the lack of great female sports role models is making it very hard to shift the many misconceptions about girls who lift.

This is giving me great food for thought though, I really appreciate everyone taking the time to reply - there's loads here for me to work with :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Just today I was talking with a collegue about being in the gym and things and she said that I shouldn't lift too much weight, as I would end up huge and muscley. I corrected her, but I think that is the common misconception.
    Before correcting them people should pretend to be really concerned, and ask in a genuine way "really, I didn't know that, who do you know who ended up huge & all muscley, do you know how long they were lifting for?" no doubt they will not be able to mention a single woman they know or even mention a famous woman. The only one who lifted that springs to mind would be Demi Moore as GI Jane, who looked in great shape. (of course people here might be able to name large women, but the person warning against getting too big obviously doesn't have a clue)

Most people would not even personally know a single man they consider "too big" and would have to resort to naming a wrestler or Schwarzenegger -to which the response would be "oh right, I do nowhere near the time & effort he does/did, it took him years to get like that, and a truck load of steroids"
    the lack of great female sports role models is making it very hard to shift the many misconceptions about girls who lift.
    There could be interviews with female athletes listing what they do, and pictures of them, like sprinters or swimmers etc, if it was them actually saying they do many hours a week and are visibly "not too big" they might believe it. 95%+ of people I know equate lifting with bodybuilders, and do not even realise track & field athletes would be lifting too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Not going to fill out the survey because it's not applicable to me but I just thought I'd post this here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

rubadub wrote: »
    Before correcting them people should pretend to be really concerned, and ask in a genuine way "really, I didn't know that, who do you know who ended up huge & all muscley, do you know how long they were lifting for?" no doubt they will not be able to mention a single woman they know or even mention a famous woman.

Good idea, I get it all the time too from friends and work colleagues and it seriously winds me up. I mean it's actually pretty insulting when a woman turns around and tells me she doesn't want to lift heavy weights as she'll bulk up - I mean what does that say about me and what I do?! I try to respond diplomatically but they all just think I'm mad in the head for going near a barbell and not counting how many points/cals are in every morsel of food I put in my mouth. Patience is a virtue I don't always have with those people.... I actually had a chick talking to me the last day refer to barbells as 'boy weights'. Oh dear god....:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭StudentC

Not a fitness forum regular, but was browsing and saw this thread. Some random thoughts that sprung to mind, mainly echoing what others have said but sure i'll throw them down anyway...

- I fully agree with the lack of role-models being a stumbling block, but I think it's not just public faces, it's the lack of 'normal' women doing decent lifting in your average gym. Any girl who joins a gym and gets a program from an instructor there will probably be told to do some machines, some light dumbbells etc - if she doesn't know any better then she will just accept this. She'll then see other women in the gym doing the same, and see men using the free weights area, and this reinforces the preconception that she already had.

- So I think some of the 'blame' if that's not too harsh should be directed towards the big chain gyms and their instructors. The instructors need to do some more courses, read some literature, get onto forums like this and inform themselves that they can and should be giving women decent weights programs. Doesn't have to be olympic lifts, just less reliance on pink dumbbells. The gyms themselves could make a massive contribution simply by chnaging their marketing materials - instead of having photos of men lifitng and women doing classes, put some pictures of healthy/slim/not bulky women lifting. I realise that the priority in these gyms is never going to be olympic lifting, but given that this is where most women will start out, it's the place where preconceptions of women and weights are reinforced.

- I think alot of women see 'weightlifting' as a competitive sport only, or maybe at a stretch, something that women who play other sports do as part of their training. There is a lack of awareness of the health/general fitness/aesthetics benefits of a resistance training program.

- If (when :D ) I win the lotto, I will spend some of it on a "no, weightlifting will not make you masculine and horrible bulky" ad campaign. In fact, if I had a euro for everytime I explained this to people, I probably wouldn't need to win the lotto.

Cheers gals and guys :)

I joined a gym when I went to college and played around a bit with machine weights - never had the confidence to go to the freeweights area because of the usual story - all blokes, cramped and smelly, and most importantly, no interest from the 'instructors' in the place.

I was playing alot of football at the time and wanted to get a bit stronger for that, but mainly I just enjoyed designing different routines for myself, trying different things, experimenting with different programs - no real goals, just for fun.

Didn't do much for a while, and then starting working in a place where there was a a really, really good gym with great S&C coaches, so that reignited my interest. Again, I didn't have any particualr goals, I just learnt some new ideas and started to learn a bit about olympic lifting.

At the moment i do a fair bit of weight training for my sport (rowing), and am really enjoying it. Partly because it's helping me row better (the main aim) but i also just enjoy training - I like numbers, i like routine, and i just like feeling stronger. In the off season from rowing i'm planning to spend a bit of timer learning some olympic lifts - no reason other than fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭fiona-f

I've always been pretty active and muddled through my teens and twenties doing a fair bit of cardio - mostly long-distance running including marathons, some cycling and more recently have gotten into using the gym. I have always been slim (size 8 - 10 hovering between the two over the years) but have never had particularly defined muscles; and probably look slightly "softer" than I would ideally want.

From browsing on this forum and other sources, I've recently come to appreciate the value to women of heavy lifting but I haven't actually started doing it yet. Why? I'm not sure. I use the weights machines at the gym, as heavy as possible with low reps for three sets but I find the free weights area a bit intimidating because (a) I don't fully know what I'm doing and (b) because in my gym it's usually very crowded and so there's not a lot of time to muddle along and figure it out myself. I probably should book a personal training session but the gym membership itself was already a big financial indulgence for me and I can't prioritise many extra expense right now. So for those reasons, if there were a class specifically to teach women how to get into lifting weights, where presumably the cost would be less than an individual session, I would love to attend. At this stage, I've learned the benefits from lurking on here and would love to give it a bash, but for reasons I don't fully understand myself, I just haven't managed to make myself do it yet.

In PR terms, I think the word "weightlifting" can be offputting - possibly to men as well as women. Resistence training or other such terms are probably more female-friendly. I think focusing on amazing looking bodies like Michelle Obama and explaining how they achieve it would be a powerful incentive.

In terms of my female circle of friends, I don't think there is anyone who believes the "women bulk up massively liftinf weights" myth but at the same time they don't know about the opposite side of that - heavy weights will make you look amazing. I'm not really sure how you can address that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

fiona-f wrote: »
    In terms of my female circle of friends, I don't think there is anyone who believes the "women bulk up massively liftinf weights" myth but at the same time they don't know about the opposite side of that - heavy weights will make you look amazing. I'm not really sure how you can address that one!

I think it has to be addressed through the same medium that girls currently get their info from, via magazines like Cosmo, Heat etc. They just seem to ingrain these "light weights, high reps = toned arms" and "heavy weights = look like Brumhilda the 120kg female rugby player".

If only some women could see that even hard work, with heavy weights can't even do that. My girlfriend recently mentioned that I've gotten bigger shoulders, and then said "I'm glad you don't work out too hard, I don't think you'd look good with a rugby players body"... I ****ing wish, love!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Gavin Henson (Welsh Rugby Player)

Gavin-Henson.jpg

I would willingly donate a kidney and half my liver for a body like this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

discus wrote: »
    I think it has to be addressed through the same medium that girls currently get their info from, via magazines like Cosmo, Heat etc.

This is what I'd imagine to be a large part of that. I agree with the sentiments that "Big box" ought to shoulder a lot of the blame, everyday I see the trainers shuffling herds of new female members toward a treadmill, and aerobic class type prescription. It seems to suit them to leave the guys in the weights room and women on the cardio merry-go-round.

Programmes like xpose and their 'magic fat burning' machine really don't help either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

cmyk wrote: »
    Programmes like xpose and their 'magic fat burning' machine really don't help either.

Urban chique indeed! And the problem is that for a lot of girls, programmes like this are the only xposure (eh!) to information on fitness, health, weight management.

Including these sources in any campaign for change on this front would be necessary. Media such as magazines/tv programmes tend to jump on whatever is currently in the news, so a move by a few magazines to cover new ground in this area would naturally be mimiced by others.