Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nuclear power in your back yard, yea or nea?

• 26-04-2010 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Posting this here to reach a wide audience compared to more specialised forums (no insult intended!).

Just watching Frontline (I lie, not really paying attention, it's just on) and they're mentioning Nuclear power amongst other things. What I would like to find out is, how many people in Ireland would be prepared to accept a properly built, properly run, modern Nuclear power plant withing 25 miles of their home?

On purpose I have not said, in Co. Galway, in Co. Wexford as a resident of Connemara, a plant in Wexford would have minimal impact on me here. So instead I say the plant is to be located within 25 miles of where you live, where ever that may be.

Over to ye :)

ATB,

John

Would you be prepared to accept a Nuclear power plant withing 25 miles of your home? 164 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 164 votes
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Of course! Haven't you read any comics, radioactive waste gives you awesome superpowers don't you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

I'll go with the former head of Greenpeace on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Yes.

However, to say we lack expertise in the area may rank as an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Would Homer Simpson be working in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

johngalway wrote: »
    Hi folks,

Just watching Frontline (I lie, not really paying attention, it's just on) and they're mentioning Nuclear power amongst other things. What I would like to find out is, how many people in Ireland would be prepared to accept a properly built, properly run, modern Nuclear power plant withing 25 miles of their home?

The reality is...in this current economic climate...looking forward...not a chance Ireland will have a properly run, well built, Modern nuclear power station...in the for-seeable future...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The government are already looking seriously into this & plan to advertise their wish to seek out suitable locations in tomorrow's newspapers, with the tagline..

"Would you like to sell a field?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Up and atom.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I wouldn't mind, I still have my iodine tablets they sent!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Better check the sell by date on those in case..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Yep. A cheaper longer lasting resource. Also more importantly, will piss off the greens.

Posy wrote: »
    Better check the sell by date on those in case..

They don't degrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind, I still have my iodine tablets they sent!

They're out of date!!! :eek:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

If they throw in some weapons grade plutonium and TNT, ratio 2:1 I have no problems. Otherwise, I don't want some three eyed children.

I wouldn't mind it being close.. As long as I can't see it, I don't care about it being beside me.
    Ye do realize that's steam that comes out the stacks? Not cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭seithon

As long as it is a modern design, built properly and run correctly I'd have no problem living within 10 miles of a nuclear power plant.

On the other hand I wouldn't want to be within 50 miles of a coal power plant.

Caco wrote: »
    They're out of date!!! :eek:

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

djhunter30 wrote: »
    I don't want some three eyed children.

They'd be safer if they'd an eye in the back of their head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

since it was discussed on the frontline, maybe pat kenny could give his field for the site for the nuclear plant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I wouldn't mind it being close.. As long as I can't see it, I don't care about it being beside me.
    Ye do realize that's steam that comes out the stacks? Not cancer.

Don't you read the newspaper? everything gives you cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

It's already in our back yard, Sellafield is closer to us than it is to London. And they're building another plant just north of Holyhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 C1ancy

sure yeah safe nuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

The hydrocarbons present in newspaper ink gives you cancer.

Probably...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Up and atom.

Up and AT THEM!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

urs
    Kim Jong il

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Lifelike

Let's just build them all in Iceland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'd be ok with it as long as it was of a safe, modern design.

Lifelike wrote: »
    Let's just build them all in Iceland

Or in one of Kerry Catona's bra cups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spudmonkey17

johngalway wrote: »
    Posting this here to reach a wide audience compared to more specialised forums

You calling us fat?

And after hours is "specialised". We have the art of talking sh1te down to a fine art. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Nuclear power is obviously the way forward. But the politicians would have to fight to get it past the people. Fight like they did for Lisbon 2. I can't see them risking their arses like that again.

Furthermore, there is the security issues. You can't have some ****wit from mayo standing outside saying 'move along there lads' to some one who wants to wreak havoc. We'd need to invest in the army and get an airforce with more than two kites in it. The initial costs would be high, but the benefits more than make up for it.

At the moment, we can barely afford to pay for our TDs holidays, their meals, their fuel, their drinks, their foreign homes, etc, so we could be a long way off this sensible energy solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You calling us fat?

And after hours is "specialised". We have the art of talking sh1te down to a fine art. :pac:

More big boned than fat.

That's true, it was a shocking oversight on my part, please accept my humblest apologies Jumbo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I wouldnt mind having one so long as it was heavily guarded. If it pisses off the greens and the crusties, I say go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Nulcear power...............think of the POWER a man could possess!!

I hope they get on it.............I need to aqquire.........*cough*........certain materials to make use of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Just put it in Limerick. Nobody will care.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

Nuclear fuel will be one of the only alternative methods in the future of producing energy (along with maybe coal - yes, the earth still has huge coal supplies). Also there have been major safety upgrades to nuclear power facilities since Chernobyl. Chernobyl had major design flaws anyway which resulted in it being a greater disaster then what it should have been if it was designed properly. Another possibility is nuclear fusion which is in its development stage. If nuclear fusion is used with the helium isotope called 'helium-3', then it should be perfectly safe and produce more energy than nuclear fission reactions.

K-9 wrote: »
    Just put it in Limerick. Nobody will care.

As long as they don't use lead on the roofs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Chillaxe wrote: »
    Yep. A cheaper longer lasting resource. Also more importantly, will piss off the greens.
    Or give us all green piss? :D

Seriously, no thanks. The biggest problem with nuclear energy isn't the technology, it's the human factor: error, negligence, the cover-it-up-to-cover-my-ass factor, etc.

We live in a country which for years apparently believed that we could fuel our economy for ever by building houses ... where people were publicly upbraided by our Taoiseach for "talking the economy down" by daring to suggest that it couldn't last forever ... where blindness to shenanigans and corruption is a way of life for our politicians.

Do we REALLY want to give them a nuclear toy to play with?!

I'm pretty sure that the nuclear plants will be run by people who know what they are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Iceland doesn't need nuclear power, they've got energy coming out of the ground (geothermal). I wonder of that could work in Ireland? It would require some extremely deep holes, so this could be something for all those unemployed folk. Dig? :p

A nuclear reactor doesn't necessarily mean a big building that glows in the dark. There's interesting stuff coming out of Japan, such as the Toshiba 4S: a 10MW sealed reactor the size of a container, to power neighbourhoods or city blocks - or the whole of Connemara.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

I'm pretty sure that the nuclear plants will be run by people who know what they are doing.
    I'm pretty sure that the people of Canada (Chalk River plant); UK (Windscale / Sellafield; Chapelcross); Russia (Kyshtym; Chernobyl; Sosnovy Bor; Tomsk); U.S (Three Mile Island; Idaho Falls; Detroit; Sequoyah; Monroe; Braidwood; Erwin); Germany (Lubmin; Hamm-Uentrop); Japan (Tsuruga; Tokaimura; Shika); France (Forbach; Saint Laurens); Yugoslavia (Jaslovské Bohunice); Hungary (Paks); etc. thought that too.

Many of these were the subject of cover-ups or attempted cover-ups.

Which begs the question: how many others were successfully covered up?

I'm pretty sure that the people of Canada (Chalk River plant); England (Windscale / Sellafield); Russia (Kyshtym; Chernobyl; Sosnovy Bor; Tomsk); U.S (Three Mile Island; Idaho Falls; Detroit; Sequoyah; Monroe; Braidwood; Erwin); Germany (Lubmin; Hamm-Uentrop); Japan (Tsuruga; Tokaimura; Shika); France (Forbach; Saint Laurens); Yugoslavia (Jaslovské Bohunice); Hungary (Paks); etc. thought that too.

Many of these were the subject of cover-ups or attempted cover-ups.

Which begs the question: how many others were successfully covered up?

We've moved on from that technology. There's always going to be accidents in the formative years of a new energy source (or anything else for that matter) Unfortunately, with nuclear reactors, accidents can be devastating.But, I take your point.

Paks was 2003, Erwin 2006.

I suppose my point is really that while the technology moves on, people don't ... they still come in feeling under the weather with the 'flu one morning, or they have done the same thing so often over 20 years that they take a little shortcut because, sure, nothing will happen, and 99,999 times out of a 100,000 it won't happen ... but with nuclear fission, once in a hundred thousand can have catastrophic consequences.

In Shika (1999 ... not that long ago) workers neglected the safety procedures and withdrew 3 control rods at once during an inspection setting off a 15 minutes sustained reaction.

The company (a) did not report the incident and (b) falsified records to cover it up until 2007.

Chernobyl would seem to have triggered by a mishandled safety drill, albeit construction / equipment was probably sub-par as well.

That's what I mean by saying it's the human factor that scares me, rather than necessarily the technology itself. The "inanimate carbon rod" in the Simpsons probably deserved its award ... it's generally reliable, it doesn't get tired or take short cuts or cover its own ass when it stuffs things up.

That takes humans.

So, while I reckon that eventually we will develop a nuclear-based method of power generation that doesn't have the same potential for destruction if something goes wrong, I really don't want to see a nuclear plant in Ireland until that happens ... especially not in good ol' brown envelope, stroke the egos and pretend everything's rosy until you're found out Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

whats this "chernobyl heart" disease that yer one Adi Roche is talking about on new radio ad i heard today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

Seriously, I wouldn't trust the powers that be in this country to safely organise a nuclear power plant. Let's face it, if they can't find a competent company to design a system for computerised voting.........

When you see a government minister, with responsibility for energy, completely disregard the opinions of 2 energy experts - be careful, be very careful.......

On the other hand, this "Spirit of Ireland" idea could well have some merit.

Noreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

@people who voted yes... I don't think you actually realise how dangerous it is to be near a nuclear plant.

No - It's not just a myth or a scare - You can/probably will end up with all sorts of ****ed up diseases / deformities if someone makes a small mistake while your out playing with your kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Taking a nocturnal pee will give you cancer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

no problem watsoever with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

The "inanimate carbon rod" in the Simpsons probably deserved its award

Indeed ! Let us appease the carbon rod Gods, for they shall keep us safe !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

works perfectly in Germany, France & Japan, so why not here too?