Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stay away, because if you dont I'll spray mace in yer face!!!

• 23-04-2010 3:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭

was talkin to the american Wife the other day and she tells me that in america while out walking she can defend herself with mace, is it legal here in Ireland I wonder? I personally would hate to be sprayed with the stuff as it looks awful painful. has anyone ever been sprayed with it? if so, what was it like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I assume its legal here as my old boss bought a can for himself for when he was doing bank runs. Opened it up and did the classic 'its not working so ill look into the nozzle as I spray' routine. From what I saw, it doesnt appear to be too pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Its illegal here as far as I know.
    You can probably buy it online without an issue but if you ever used it on someone, you would probably be up for assault and charged with having an illegal weapon.

Dont see why its illegal myself... but hey, the government knows whats best for us right? and we should never question that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I've been sprayed in the eyes with pepper spray..

It sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    Its illegal here as far as I know.
    You can probably buy it online without an issue but if you ever used it on someone, you would probably be up for assault and charged with having an illegal weapon.

Dont see why its illegal myself... but hey, the government knows whats best for us right? and we should never question that.

I suppose there is a danger of kids getting hold of it and spraying each other with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I suppose there is a danger of kids getting hold of it and spraying each other with it.

Kinda like farting gas! :D That stuff was rancid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

A old flat mate of mine in Galway brought some back from Spain years ago, dont know if its legal here in Ireland, someone stole it from the house during a house party one weekend, a few week latter some D!ck let some off in a night club also in Galway, dont know if it was the same can or not and never heard if they caught the D!ck in the club either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

I picked up a couple cans of it when I was in Andorra a few years ago... Mate wanted to try it out so he sprayed it in his hands.. Got a bit tearful but not too bad... He then decided to wipe his hand off using my face!!

Very painful..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

It's illegal in Ireland. I think pepper spray and mace are different. One of them stings your eyes and is a minor inconvenience to disable you. The other stings your skin and eyes and burns like feck.

Someone near me got mugged the other day, some fella sprayed them with the stuff as he was passing them on the street, then knicked their stuff while they were squirming on the ground. If it was some Irish scumbag he'd probably kick you in the head while he was at it, keep it illegal I say!!

Kinda like farting gas! :D That stuff was rancid!

and the stink bombs, wonder if they still sell those?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Stee wrote: »
    I assume its legal here as my old boss bought a can for himself for when he was doing bank runs. Opened it up and did the classic 'its not working so ill look into the nozzle as I spray' routine. From what I saw, it doesnt appear to be too pleasant.

This man is the boss?
    Bankruptcy beckons :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Wazdakka wrote: »

It sucks.

that explains the avatar

But the samething can be said for kitchen knifes! doesn't mean we should go banning them. I REALLY hate the nanny state attidute towards banning anything and using the "wont someone think of the children" as an excuse.

They should be legal, sold only to over 18s. If someone dicks around with one they should be prosecuted appropriately.
    Exact same logic for dealing with some fool who is driving dangerously "just for a laugh", should we ban cars or just deal with that asshole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

was talkin to the american Wife the other day ...
    How many wives do you have?

spideog7 wrote: »
    Someone near me got mugged the other day, some fella sprayed them with the stuff as he was passing them on the street, then knicked their stuff while they were squirming on the ground. If it was some Irish scumbag he'd probably kick you in the head while he was at it, keep it illegal I say!!

Thats fairly bad alright, but they are already illegal and that happened anyway. Just shows scumbags are never going to care either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

and the stink bombs, wonder if they still sell those?

you can buy them in thejoke shop near the Stephans Green Shopping Centre. and smoke bombs. great fun when you were a kid. used to roll them under phone boxes when people were on the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

You get used to it after the 18th or 19th time. Now I use it to flavour my steaks.

*The above may be complete and utter lies, but hey, its AH, why should I let that stop me*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Pepper spray or any aerosol noxious chemical is legally a firearm in ireland, and subject to all firearms laws.

Good luck with that one lads.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

dvpower wrote: »

And from how many different countries?

Do you double up in any of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Irish people are not allowed to defend themselves from scum. So it's probably illegal.

Remember...the criminals have more rights than their victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Wazdakka wrote: »

It sucks.

I'll ask. Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Irish people are not allowed to defend themselves from scum. So it's probably illegal.

BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Mark200 wrote: »
    BS

I'm talking from personal experience. I defended myself and got into more trouble that the scum who were attacking me for no reason.

dvpower wrote: »

fortunetly for me? just the one :P

I can see though how that could of been read lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

was talkin to the american Wife the other day and she tells me that in america while out walking she can defend herself with mace, is it legal here in Ireland I wonder? I personally would hate to be sprayed with the stuff as it looks awful painful. has anyone ever been sprayed with it? if so, what was it like?

please dont give any to your Irish wife.. irish women would be likely to spray every passer by if they didnt like the look of him:P

But the samething can be said for kitchen knifes! doesn't mean we should go banning them. I REALLY hate the nanny state attidute towards banning anything and using the "wont someone think of the children" as an excuse.

They should be legal, sold only to over 18s. If someone dicks around with one they should be prosecuted appropriately.
    Exact same logic for dealing with some fool who is driving dangerously "just for a laugh", should we ban cars or just deal with that asshole?

you raise some good points nollaig, but my theory at the moment is that the statistics for kids spraying and damaging each other with mace would be far higher than that of kids stabbing each other with knives, which every kid knows ''kills''.

corkcomp wrote: »
    please dont give any to your Irish wife.. irish women would be likely to spray every passer by if they didnt like the look of him:P

yep, welcome to Ireland, where the men...are men...and the women...are also men. :P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I personally would hate to be sprayed with the stuff as it looks awful painful. has anyone ever been sprayed with it? if so, what was it like?

That implies you deserve to be sprayed with mace only no one here uses it here.... steps back slowly

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Nulty wrote: »
    you can buy them in thejoke shop near the Stephans Green Shopping Centre. and smoke bombs. great fun when you were a kid. used to roll them under phone boxes when people were on the phone

we used to let them off in school, so the joke shop here stop selling them because the schools gave out stink to them :pac:

That implies you deserve to be sprayed with mace only no one here uses it here.... steps back slowly

silverharps theory is that everyone who has not been sprayed with mace should be, hmmm thats a rather morbid outlook dont you think? :confused::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Pepper spray or any aerosol noxious chemical is legally a firearm in ireland, and subject to all firearms laws.

Bizzaro world. They should classify knives as firearms too, why not. How about baseball bats as well?

Being sprayed in the face with Spring Glade Air Freshner would be pretty noxious, does that mean its a firearm also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

InTheTrees wrote: »
    How about baseball bats as well?

Someone told me a while ago that there is not even a baseball club in Munster, but they sell Baseball Bats in all the sports stores, what do they think they are being used for at the counter???

The Aussie wrote: »
    Someone told me a while ago that there is not even a baseball club in Munster, but they sell Baseball Bats in all the sports stores, what do they think they are being used for at the counter???

LOL!

yeah whatever happened to good old pick axe handles? I blame hollywood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i bought some online from germany before and it was delivered no problem but i've heard about people doing the same and getting in trouble for attempting to import firearms since then, so not sure i'd do it again. was glad i had it - was living in a bit of a sketchy area at the time, and though i never had to use it there were a few times i felt a lot safer knowing i had that up my sleeve.

i think in canada mace/pepper spray was technically illegal for use on humans, but you could buy "bear deterrant spray" in the army store which was the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Yeah its illegal. Classed as a firearm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

InTheTrees wrote: »

Bizzaro world. They should classify knives as firearms too, why not. How about baseball bats as well?

Being sprayed in the face with Spring Glade Air Freshner would be pretty noxious, does that mean its a firearm also?

If it projects a noxious chemical, it is.

It is the letter of the law, just be aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

k_mac wrote: »

Source?

I love how Irish people repeat things about the legality of stuff with questioning where it came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Source?

I love how Irish people repeat things about the legality of stuff with questioning where it came from.

Look up the Criminal Justice 2009. Its there, they have been classed as illegal for over 10 years. I can't remember exactly when they where named, but they hace been illegal for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

But the samething can be said for kitchen knifes!

Not even close to being the same thing.

Again, not the same thing. Cars and kitchen knives aren't designed solely to injure and incapacitate people. They can be used for that (and worse) but that's not their primary or intended use.

I hate "think of the children" as much as anyone but if you're going to argue a point, at least get it right.

Classed as a firearm.

I'm guessing this actually means something like Noxious chemical sprays used as a weapon fall under the same category as most firearms.

Noxious sprays as covered by the term "prohibited weapon" http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1925/en/act/pub/0017/sec0001.html#zza17y1925s1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Pepper spray is a bastard.

Takes an age for the pain to go away.

BAN IT!

Source?

Section 4(e) Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act 1990

I'll go with option b ted..

Its an offensive weapon?

snyper wrote: »

Its an offensive weapon?

Prohibited is the correct term. The following is a sirect quote:

"the expression “prohibited weapon” means and includes any weapon of whatever description designed for the discharge of any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing, and also any ammunition (whether for any such weapon as aforesaid or for any other weapon) which contains or is designed or adapted to contain any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing;"

snyper wrote: »

Its an offensive weapon?

The 1990 act included it under the definition of a firearm. Offensive weapons are knives and the like. Read the act before you try and be smart.

The 1990 act included it under the definition of a firearm. .

really?

link plz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I guess you're married to someone of every nationality then :pac:

lol we've already been through this *points you to a few pages back* lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act 1990 designated it a prohibited weapon within the meaning of the Firearms Act 1925-2009. Whether it is in fact a firearm (it's not) is irrelevant, as the same legislation specifies crossbows as firearms also. It's a point of legislation, not fact. However, as a prohibited weapon, it is not possible to obtain a firearm certificate for it, unlike the other items mentioned under the various definitions within the firearms acts.