Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New licencing laws

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

to quote des bishop: 'now i can actually die'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Nanny state FTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

No way it's happening.

We would have heard something about it.

Absolutely no way it's on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

kraggy wrote: »
    No way it's happening.

We would have heard something about it.

Absolutely no way it's on.

Yeah was thinking that. Where did Dubliner get it from though ?

No idea. Unless it was that edition was released on April Fool's Day?

Thread may as well be closed. It's only going to tease people when they log on in the morning.

Edit: it's not the april 1st edition so not sure what they hell they're playing with fúcking with people's minds like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

Whatever it is, it'll be in today's Evening Herald.

From their Facebook page:
    in The Dubliner tomorrow...meet Dublin's club kids as we find out if the city's nightclubs are about to go supernova. Also, we ask what Dublin has done for the world, go bowling with lovely ladies, give you listings, reviews and previews, and reveal our Crush of the Month.

"....if the clubs are to go supernova"

Publicity stunt on the front page.

Rag.

kraggy wrote: »
    "....if the clubs are to go supernova"

Publicity stunt on the front page.

Rag.

If they are just pulling it out of their arse then shame on them. Although its always been a rag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The Evening Herald - read by taxi drivers & used to mop up the sick of inner city, junk food reared, fatherless babies of skanked out mothers.

Or so I read, in the Evening Herald.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Looks like we won't need such licensing laws, we are already number 1. on the EU binge drinking poll............

*probably worthy of a thread in itself but ah I'm tired*

Well done everyone, keep up the good work :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

*Bends to bow*

*Faceplant.*

*slo-mo high five*

where did your hand go? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Dunno about 24 hour drinking but the current laws are a joke. 10 o clock off licence closing times and night clubs closing early on Sundays are the ones that piss me off...it just makes no sense at all.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Dunno about 24 hour drinking but the current laws are a joke. 10 o clock off licence closing times and night clubs closing early on Sundays are the ones that piss me off...it just makes no sense at all.

aye, the 10 o'clock thing is bollox, almost makes us more obsessed with alcohol if we have to commit to memory to make it to the off-license before 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Opium led greed

Is the girl open all hours too?

Cos I'd give her one any time of the day! Hiiiooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Is the girl open all hours too?

Cos I'd give her one any time of the day! Hiiiooooooooooooooo

Really? She has a fat crooked nose and a chin like an arse.

24 hour licensing you say??
    Sounds promising,
    Which is exactly why it's prob bullshít. Our government actually do something to move away from nanny stateism?

HA, not bloody likely.

So did anyone read the article ?

No, still waiting on some eejit to buy the evening herald and tell us about it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Anyone else noticed that the 2.30am rule isn't really adhered to any more. I have been served booze well after 3.00am in loads of places lately. Or is my watch just very fast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

I had a quick glance at the magazine in the newsagent's today. It was something to do with apparent (:rolleyes:) government proposals to grant a new "nightclub licence" that would allow them to open longer, though I'm not sure about 24 hours.

That's what I remember, anyway.
    Lux23 wrote: »
    Anyone else noticed that the 2.30am rule isn't really adhered to any more. I have been served booze well after 3.00am in loads of places lately. Or is my watch just very fast?

I'm not sure if they still sell alcohol after 02:30, but plenty of the ones I've been in recently have stayed open until well after 03:00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,064 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

A nightclub licence is badly needed, as it is they're only officially glorified late-bars. Legally seperating them from late-bars would be an excellent idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

--LOS-- wrote: »
    *slo-mo high five*

where did your hand go? :confused:

here it is -- LOS-- hang in there ;)

so. near. and. yet. so. far.
    Wazdakka wrote: »
    Really? She has a fat crooked nose and a chin like an arse.

Can I just say that was well harsh :eek:

So basically they made up a news story :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

It was 4am Tuesday morning, when Cleeo and pals were in the 24hr Tesco, buying vodka and pizza... Good times in Essex :)

From my experience though, even with 24 hour off-licences, with 4 jager bombs for £5, and 2 for £1 sambucca shots, I've only ever seen one fight. That was between girls. There is a real air of fun, and friendliness after a night out, never seen people puking at the side of the street, or any of that stuff.

Makes me wonder why we're so different in Ireland... I've never been out in Galway with out seeing all the effects of too much booze! Yes our measurements are 10mls more, but that's not a reason! Hmmm. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

--LOS-- wrote: »
    So basically they made up a news story :confused:

Irish newspaper in made - up **** shocker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cleeo wrote: »
    It was 4am Tuesday morning, when Cleeo and pals were in the 24hr Tesco, buying vodka and pizza... Good times in Essex :)

From my experience though, even with 24 hour off-licences, with 4 jager bombs for £5, and 2 for £1 sambucca shots, I've only ever seen one fight. That was between girls. There is a real air of fun, and friendliness after a night out, never seen people puking at the side of the street, or any of that stuff.

Makes me wonder why we're so different in Ireland... I've never been out in Galway with out seeing all the effects of too much booze! Yes our measurements are 10mls more, but that's not a reason! Hmmm. :confused:

You live in England and have never seen a drunken fight or anyone puking on the side of the street? :confused:

I find that hard to believe, I only go to the UK occassionally and I see it as much as in Ireland. Do you live in the most well-behaved city in all of England or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You live in England and have never seen a drunken fight or anyone puking on the side of the street? :confused:

I find that hard to believe, I only go to the UK occassionally and I see it as much as in Ireland. Do you live in the most well-behaved city in all of England or something?

Not at all. There's just an incredible police presence, all the time. Street Crime 2, Road Wars and all that had set my expectations so high/low for Essex which I was quite disappointed by... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

After talking to someone who skimmed over the article, apparently it was just talking to club owners and drink retailers who were saying the laws at the moment are suffocating the night industry. Didn't seem to be about any changes to the law, and no amount of googling brings up any proposals to change them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

After talking to someone who skimmed over the article, apparently it was just talking to club owners and drink retailers who were saying the laws at the moment are suffocating the night industry. Didn't seem to be about any changes to the law, and no amount of googling brings up any proposals to change them.

So basically this entire thread is a pile of poop?

TheZohan wrote: »
    So basically this entire thread is a pile of poop?

It would seem so, but I haven't read the article, so don't close it until someone who has turns it. Maybe it's based on something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

This 10 o clock closing thing wasn't really though out by the government

The law says you CANNOT buy alcohol in an off licence and enjoy it in the privacy and safety of your own home, but you CAN continue to drink until 2.30 am in public, where you will be either beat up, stabbed, or urinate in someone garden.

Where is the sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

This 10 o clock closing thing wasn't really though out by the government

The law says you CANNOT buy alcohol in an off licence and enjoy it in the privacy and safety of your own home, but you CAN continue to drink until 2.30 am in public, where you will be either beat up, stabbed, or urinate in someone garden.

Where is the sense?

Its since been revealed the it was the publicans who pushed that particular law through. (No Source, look it up your self). They thought it would make people go to the pub more to raise their turnover/profits et.

I don't know if anyone's read this issue of the Dubliner, but there was a piece taking about a proposed Sale Of Alcohol Bill. The piece talked about how the Government were planning to introduce a new bill allowing a special nighclub license, which would extend nightclub hours, 4am seemed to be the likely time. It said it would probably be introduced this summer, with the Minister saying 'in the second half of 2010'.

This is the only place I've heard of this, anyone else heard anything?

A quick Google brought up this on the Department of Taoiseach site:
    "Sale of Alcohol Bill To codify the law relating to the sale and consumption of alcohol

Publication Expected - Late 2010"
    And this, from the INIA:
    Sale of Alcohol Bill
    2010 is set to be the most important year for licensing legislation for the past decade, and will influence your business for the coming decade.

The Sale of Alcohol Bill, has been keenly awaited since the final report of the Commission on Liquor Licensing in 2003. This Bill is set to modernise and streamline liquor licensing in Ireland, in all of it's forms.

The INIA are focussed on having a positive influence on this Bill, in relation to our industry. With that in mind, we have focussed on four key elements :

NIGHTCLUB PERMIT
    The INIA are seeking the Introduction of a Nightclub Permit. This Permit will be an annual application, and we propose the fees will be set at less than the current SEO system. The INIA will be setting a high standard of trading in order to attain this Permit.

Better Trading Hours
    We are seeking better trading hours for our members. The terminal trading hour of Nightclubs has always been a sore topic, as has been the application of the law. We are keen to ensure that our proposals satisfy the needs of the industry nationwide.

Sunday Closing Time
    Under the current SEO system, trading on Sundays must finish 1.5 hours earlier than every other night of the week, at 1am. We are seeking that Sunday be treated the same as every other night of the week. The age old argument of absenteeism on Mondays does not reflect current work patterns and trends.

Entertainment
    Uniquely, Nightclubs primary function, and core unique selling point, is the provision of entertainment through music, performances and dancing. The sale of alcohol for consumption on the premises is secondary. We are seeking that Nightclubs should be allowed entertain their customers while they are legally on the premises, up to and including finishing their drinks.

The Nightclub Permit will for the first time in Irish Law define the attributes of a Nightclub. If you would like more information on the above, please feel free to contact us.

If you would like to give your Nightclub Business a voice, and Play your Part in bringing about the above changes, please contact us about membership, details below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

Oh no.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

About time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I don't know if anyone's read this issue of the Dubliner

I doubt people in Cork have. :p

I agree with this idea. In Ireland there's very much a "drink, drink, drink, gotta drink now, hurry up before it closes" attitude. Just look at off licences the day before any non-drinking day.

Of course there will be some people who abuse it. There are pretty much always people around to ruin things for the rational, sane, happy individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

Great news.

Now lets hope they do the same with the ridiculous off-licence hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

i doubt too many people need nightclubs to serve till 4am,

What i'd like to see if off liscences opening till 11.30-midnight.
    feckin retarded having them close at 10pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

phasers wrote: »
    About time gentlemen please!
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Merge with previous thread

biko wrote: »
    Merge with previous thread

Sorry, forgot about that thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Personally I would like to see clubs and stuff be able to stay open later and without some sort of gimmicky license. My local niteclub brings things to a halt at about 3am and to be honest, I kind of wish it would go on for another few hours. I suppose there'd be less of a mad dash for taxi's and buses if people could leave at any time, rather than clubs all emptying their customers out at 3am or whatever time it is at the weekend.

I suppose some could argue that it might encourage people to drink more excessively or whatever but I don't know if that is true. If I want to go out and get drunk, I will. If someone wants to go out and get wasted they can still do that now as is. So I don't know if I believe that extending opening hours is going to lead to a surge in binge drinking. This is Ireland after all, it's not like we've just discovered drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Personally I would like to see clubs and stuff be able to stay open later and without some sort of gimmicky license. My local niteclub brings things to a halt at about 3am and to be honest, I kind of wish it would go on for another few hours. I suppose there'd be less of a mad dash for taxi's and buses if people could leave at any time, rather than clubs all emptying their customers out at 3am or whatever time it is at the weekend.

I suppose some could argue that it might encourage people to drink more excessively or whatever but I don't know if that is true. If I want to go out and get drunk, I will. If someone wants to go out and get wasted they can still do that now as is. So I don't know if I believe that extending opening hours is going to lead to a surge in binge drinking. This is Ireland after all, it's not like we've just discovered drink!

I think it's New Zealand where they have an incredibly clever form of legislation. There is no cap on opening hours other than you can't open for more than 12 hours in a 24 hour period and your opening hours must be registered with the local authority.

This means a family restaurant may open from say 12am till 12pm, while a nightclub might be open from 8pm till 8 am the following morning, or a sports bar might open from 2pm till 2am etc etc. This means there is staggered closing times so there isn't a huge rush for taxis and buses at 3am, but there isn't also a sudden rush of drunken and sometimes drugged up people for the police to deal with. It also often stops half-assed attempts by businesses trying to be a restaurant pub during the day and a nightclub at night, if you can only open for a certain period the place will usually be dedicated to a certain age group and crowd.

I'd really like to that implemented here, it makes perfect sense. The current legislation isn't working, IMO it just causes a huge rush to the bar once last orders are announced or before club closing time.