Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHORUS NTL/UPC complain / never-ever

• 21-04-2010 6:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

well, i would not ever advise anyone to order any service from chorus NTL, that company completely f**ed me up.
    The story started last Friday when i decided order broadband service from UPC, i'm from Carlow so i checked on they website if is broadband available in my area, the map says CARLOW - broadband, TV and phone service available. Right, i went ahead and online ordered broadband only 15Mb. In 20min someone rang me because they needed proof of address and identity. So i send it back and they confirmed my order. But i decided Saturday go ahead and move to them from SKY with television and take the biggest deal they have for 110euro a month. So i rang there and change my order and they were happy for it even gave me 30mb broadband with it. And i booked my installation for Tuesday morning, that was grand and i was happy. I wasn't sure about that if HD is available in my area so i rang again and the said no there is no HD, so i said ok and they confirmed my order again and also confirmed my installation day. And that was why i rang SKY and IMAGINE BROADBAND and i canceled my services with them. I was charged with cancellation fee 150euro but i did not mind that.
    And here we are technician came to my house Tuesday morning and said there is no internet because we have some filter on the line but house cross road of my house have internet available. After 3 times someone did confirm my order i was left without internet and telly because technician did not bother to do anything about my connection just went off.
    So, i started my complain calling the customer service, they was just promising calls back but they never did. So, i rang every 2 hours and they always told me that they have to wait for the technician. And then i rang 5pm and some smart b**tch just said if technician said no internet available then what i'm even calling for. And she hung up. So i'm left without telly, phone, internet and i got email of them there is an complain in department and i have to wait 5 days. But i don't know for what because nobody is going give me back 150euro and they won't connect me aswel.
    And they are winners of awards customer services 2008 and broadband services 2009.

All is ****ing bull****.

Peter from Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

kovo_one wrote: »
    And they are winners of awards customer services 2008 and broadband services 2009.

:eek: customer service and chorus they really do not go together. How in the hell did they win. Must have been the only ones entered.
    kovo_one wrote: »

All is ****ing bull****.

Yep!

Sounds like your stuck in a rut op ring and ask for a manager(not a supervisor) and lay out your problem see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 kovo_one

i tell that i don't care any more because i rang today SKY to cancel my cancellation and they accepted it and even gave me better offer i had so i ordered HD box and i will have it next Tuesday, and i can really trust them. The customer service SKY providing is terrific not like ''UPC cowboys''.
    I just need better broadband nut i will wait for a while maybe something comes along. But there is no doubt about that i would even click on www.upc.ie.

And everyone else should think about that aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

Don't take this the wrong way, but I take it from reading your title and posts that english is not your first language. That should not excuse bad customer service but it is possible that they didn't understand what the problem was! I'm still not clear whether you had a problem with your t.v or broadband. Is Carlow cable or mmds.? If mmds., It could never have provided broadband.

well, two houses beside me have broadband alright, and they understand aswel just have nothing to say because they know they are wrong and they got my order online so hardly they didn't check if the broadband is not available and just went ahead and confirmed it. And second think, my partner is Irish but you are right there is half of them staff Indian or from another countries, so at the end maybe they don't even understand English. But anyway i am just after talking to our solicitor and he is going find out who is right here.

please don't take me wrong about the Indian i don't mean anything bad by that, i'm not racist. What i mean is that if they didn't understand me they should make sure that we're talking about the same thing and ask again, not hung up on me. Because if you don't know you should ask that is a good manor.

And that still didn't change anything on fact i was left without telly and broadband and fact nobody is going to pay for me the cancellation fees which i have already paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭who is this

UPC's services are generally quite good, but yeah, some of the CS staff have MAJOR attitude problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭Cupart

deanh wrote: »
    Don't take this the wrong way, but I take it from reading your title and posts that english is not your first language.

Irrelevant. If the OP is not a native English speaker or is having difficulties with the language which I hardly believe he/she has, CS should be even more on their toes or ask for the query in writing so no misunderstandings would arise...

I have, in all fairness, never had any very bad experiences with UPC's CS but only with UPC as a company...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Shower of ****. Waste of time complaining. I went without service for a two month period where they kept saying it was fixed, or a technician called out and no one was home ( I was home at the time).... I could go on for days about this.

i had television of them before, and it just kept freezing like a freezer. And they sent technician to my house and he said that my home cinema causing the freezing because there is hot chassis on home cinema. So, tell me who was technician, he must been car mechanic before or something. I went with the receiver to the shop and laughed with me like with an eejit.
    So, i don't know what i was even thinking about this time when i was going order something of them again.
    Like someone said before, it is easy to win awards if they were only the one who was nominated.

chorus complains department is just after ringing me, they apologized to me. And i got finally answer for my question.
    There is over 200 houses in my estate. But only 6 houses can't be connected to the internet because they did not renew the cables yet, reason was that would not make enough money. But the fact is that is not true. Because 2 of them 6 houses wanted internet connection already.
    And here we are again, the technician told me that there is some filter because someone was cutting them cable over here. Again he was telling lies.
    That is how chorus treating customer, i did think they need customers but obviously not.

Well that is end of this story, i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

Is this thread a wind up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Sounds like it alright.

Why cancel your other service providers BEFORE your installed with another?
    Thats just silly for want of a better word.

I'd imagine UPC would check and see if an area or estate is available for a service over the phone with you and not an individual house .... thats up to a call out tech like any other service like SKY or eircom.

oh, yeah you are right send technician to check the house but before they confirmed that everything is available. That what they should do.
    And about canceling before i was connected with upc?
    Silly would be if i pay another full month to sky and irishbroadband for services i would not be using. Because my direct debits would go out the bank Monday. And my upc installation was set for Tuesday.
    That is what i call perfect planing. Well, obviously not with chorus.