Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mount Wolsey

• 21-04-2010 3:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭

Any good?

Difficult?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Daithio9

Gophur wrote: »
    Any good?
    It's alright.
    Difficult?
    Not really no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Gophur wrote: »
    Any good?

Difficult?

It's defo better than alright i can guarantee that,it's difficult enough once you're not playing off the society tees.
    Some of the par 4's are quite long but that was me playing last month with not much run
    it's a very enjoyable course,if you're a big hitter the par 5's are all reachable off the front sticks and probably 2 are reachable off the whites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

Mount Wolseley is a good test and nearly always in good nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

heavyballs wrote: »
    It's defo better than alright i can guarantee that,it's difficult enough once you're not playing off the society tees.

+1 to that, much better than alright IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Tends to play long, but depends on the tee. It's a modern course and is good quality re fairways/greens etc. Plenty of water features and doglegs. Not my favourite course (another of these 'let's build the houses on the edge of the course' lark) but some good holes stand out through all the mounding. If you can, play the 11th (par three) from the back tees as it's a much better hole (all water).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭brianrcarney

1967 wrote: »
    Mount Wolseley is a good test and nearly always in good nick.

+1 yet to play this course and not enjoy it!! Good test of your skills imo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Not my favourite course (another of these 'let's build the houses on the edge of the course' lark)

yes there are houses there but i think it was well designed,there are not that many holes if any that i felt houses encroched on the course,in fact apart from the walk to the 10th i didn't notice a house

about that type of course the worst i've come across is Seafield,urban golf at it's best:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

I am getting married there next March and have yet to play the course !! Looking forward to playing it and any of my mates who are all low single figure handicappers who have played this course all agree its a tough test for anyone. I guess like anything else depends on which tee box you hit from.

Either way I love the whole feel to the place hence us deciding to have our wedding reception there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tom francy

great course havent played in years tho.anyone remenber the old par 3 9th before the hotel was put in its place,thought it was a cool little par 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jonas7

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    I am getting married there next March and have yet to play the course !! Looking forward to playing it and any of my mates who are all low single figure handicappers who have played this course all agree its a tough test for anyone. I guess like anything else depends on which tee box you hit from.

Either way I love the whole feel to the place hence us deciding to have our wedding reception there.
    Getting married there next year myself and like you have yet to play the course. Got ten free green fee's as part of the wedding package so really looking forward to playing it.

jonas7 wrote: »
    Getting married there next year myself and like you have yet to play the course. Got ten free green fee's as part of the wedding package so really looking forward to playing it.

ha you better be winding me up ??? I never even thought to ask about green fees , dammit :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jonas7

ha you better be winding me up ??? I never even thought to ask about green fees , dammit :mad::mad::mad:
    Yeah seriously. Getting married in november next year and signed the contract two months ago. The green fees were not supposed to be part of our package (just included in summer package i think) but a little bit of negotiating and hey presto ten free green fees. You should get onto them about it

yeah I most definately will
    In fairness to them they said they would look after me on the golfing front but never said anything about free green fee's !!

Cheers for the heads up !!

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

tom francy wrote: »
    great course havent played in years tho.anyone remenber the old par 3 9th before the hotel was put in its place,thought it was a cool little par 3
    That original 9th was a smashing hole.
    I used to be a member there - joined before it opened.
    Houses and stuff are yuck... design of the course is pretty good... quality of maintenance is very good. One that you'll certainly enjoy but is too much fur coat to be 'great' in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

yeah I most definately will
    In fairness to them they said they would look after me on the golfing front but never said anything about free green fee's !!

Cheers for the heads up !!

Do it, quick.

And then bring ten boardsie "Wedding Consultants" down for a little outing, I haven't been down there in waay too long.

I await my invitation.

On topic, lovely course, well worth a visit, I've always enjoyed it and will definitley be back (other than with buachaill on our little junket.)

JCDUB wrote: »
    Do it, quick.

And then bring ten boardsie "Wedding Consultants" down for a little outing, I haven't been down there in waay too long.

I await my invitation.

On topic, lovely course, well worth a visit, I've always enjoyed it and will definitley be back (other than with buachaill on our little junket.)

Thats a great idea,

In all fairness I will ring them over the next few days and if I can swindle green fee's I will put them out there for a Boards outing !! Would need to get 10 or so at least to make it worth our while. Maybe we could get numbers on how many people would go and we can divide the balance of green fee's amongst us all ???

Thats a great idea,

In all fairness I will ring them over the next few days and if I can swindle green fee's I will put them out there for a Boards outing !! Would need to get 10 or so at least to make it worth our while. Maybe we could get numbers on how many people would go and we can divide the balance of green fee's amongst us all ???

Yeah, great call.

I was actually only messing though, obviously.

Maybe you'd be better off using them for a stag day out or maybe as a thank you to people who've helped put with your wedding arrangements?

But if you're willing to put them out there then fair play, it'd be a great idea and a good (and cheap;)) day out!!

Now, did somebody else say they had 10 green fees to use up????We could make it a whopper day out:p

JCDUB wrote: »
    Yeah, great call.

I was actually only messing though, obviously.

Maybe you'd be better off using them for a stag day out or maybe as a thank you to people who've helped put with your wedding arrangements?

But if you're willing to put them out there then fair play, it'd be a great idea and a good (and cheap;)) day out!!

Now, did somebody else say they had 10 green fees to use up????We could make it a whopper day out:p

I would have no problem putting the green fee's out there if I got them. My family will all be playing either way and I am sure I will wriggle a few more out at the time :):)

So who would be up for it if I could get them ???

Count me in:D

Bumpity bump bump.

Lads there is potentially 10 free rounds on a nice track like MW going here, and the chance for a group of us to have a game of golf and a bit of craic.

Any news Buachaill?

Have put in the call, girl we originally booked wedding with down there has moved on so have spoken with someone else and aasked the question.

Sure by the looks of it nobody wants a game anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Have put in the call, girl we originally booked wedding with down there has moved on so have spoken with someone else and aasked the question.

Sure by the looks of it nobody wants a game anyway.

Did you book it through annmarie Hayes? She was very generous with green fees and buggies when we booked an event with her. Very nice women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

I'm always willing to be a 'wedding consultant' - count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

anyone play here recently,how is it
    will be working up this way next week or so,might give it a shot
    any open day midweek.
    or anywhere closeby for a midweek open

i'll be checking the gui site anyway but on the off-chance someone here is a little wiser

sound,

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Haven't played it recently but it's usually very well presented.
    Bunclody is not far south of Tullow and has an open every Wednesday for 35 bucks... well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PGL

Licksy wrote: »
    Haven't played it recently but it's usually very well presented.
    Bunclody is not far south of Tullow and has an open every Wednesday for 35 bucks... well worth it.

Played Mount Wolesley last Friday. Nice course, but not as good as I was expecting. I got a "knock-down" green fee price of €40, which is still a bit steep in my opinion. One big black mark against them is that their maps on the scorecard are badly in need of an update e.g. existing bunkers not marked on map; scale way off on some of the hole maps etc