Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Denman

• 21-04-2010 11:23am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Can he do it? he is 2.72 on Betfair, im thinking of putting a large lump on him but im a bit worried about his price, should he not be odds on if he was a cert?
    Good bet or a mug bet folks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

no such thing as a cert;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

Positives: Probably the best horse.

Negatives: Ground not ideal, not best going right-handed, hard race in the Gold Cup, no Ruby.

All only my opinion of course. I've gone for the Mullins pair myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

Like Verance said, the ground is his biggest problem.
    I donlt think Ruby will make any difference to the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

He is great price but i could not be having him in this race,the mullins yard is flyin at the moment so hard to look past his two runners but im havin a small e/w on hobbs horse planet of sound if dickie johnson gets him around im sure he'll be in the money at a nice price but its not a race id hugely get involved in and alway remember dont bet what ya cant afford to lose! Good Luck guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He'll either romp it or flop completly. Every horse that ran in the Gold Cup has done terribly since at the price I'd give him a big swerve and go e/w on J'Y Vole at least he can finnish in any of 3 places to get a return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

The consensus seems to be that the race is his to lose. The trainer is on record as saying that he's in better form than he was before Cheltenham and that he'll have come on from the Gold Cup run based on the way he's working at home.

Strictly on form he should be good enough to win the race if he's anything near his Gold Cup run.

As other have said the ground is not perfect for him. I think his main worry will be the form of Cooldine. If he's better than his gold cup run then he could be a serious threat.

I'll still side with Denman.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Ive decided 200 on the nose lads, thats my dole money for the week:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Joncol a n/r now so an even greater chance to the tank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Kod-box wrote: »
    Joncol a n/r now so an even greater chance to the tank.

FFS.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Chriskavo

He is the best horse in the rest by a country mile. He really ought to win this race easily..and I think his price - 6/4f will look very generous if he (and i think he will) wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭aflib

had a few winners today so i lumped 50 on him at 6-5

fingers crossed

Come on Denman my son 200 on at 2.64 to win 328 on Betfair to make my evening. Its either Steak or Sardines for dinner and its all on your shoulders Denman:D.

it over he has lost:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

it over he has lost:(

Sardines it is, unlucky man!

A SICK SICK SICK SICK SICK SICK JOKE
    DIGUSTING RIDE DIGUSTING RIDE WHAT A FING CON

Horse didn't want to know...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

What the hell are you talking about? the horse wants to turn left! McCoy did brilliantly IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

He is great price but i could not be having him in this race,the mullins yard is flyin at the moment so hard to look past his two runners but im havin a small e/w on hobbs horse planet of sound if dickie johnson gets him around im sure he'll be in the money at a nice price but its not a race id hugely get involved in and alway remember dont bet what ya cant afford to lose! Good Luck guys

feckin delighted hard luck on Denman mate really looked like he did not want to be there,even at the start he was acting up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

ap done his best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

Shocking run from Denman. Ap didn't have much of a chance.

Wasn't the ride. It was the horse. Did you not see AP with both hands on the right rain trying to turn him?

Denman just decided he didn't fancy going that way and that was the end of the story.

If they'd been going the other way round you'd be toasting the jockey now. It was some achievement for him to finish 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭aflib

disaster.

right mods,delete this thread

Verance wrote: »
    Negatives: Ground not ideal, not best going right-handed, hard race in the Gold Cup, no Ruby.

Take your pick, I guess. Hated going right-handed, hated ground and just wasn't up for it today.

Shane732 wrote: »
    It was some achievement for him to finish 4th.

No it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The curse of the Gold Cup strikes again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

You obviously don't have a clue of horse-racing...typical armchair jockey. AP did his best and managed to get him in 4th,another jockey wouldnt have come near that.

Dont blame others for your own mistake.

he lost 10-15 lengths by hanging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

You havn't a clue and are talking absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

The only joke is your comment !!

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Lol, Classic.

I had money on him too. AP was the only reason he wasn't further away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Nulty wrote: »
    he lost 10-15 lengths by hanging

i would probably even double that,i didn't have a bet in the race and didn't have the balls to lay him which was the bet i was considering

can't beleive people are so stupid to blame AP,fing joke
    COME ON IN COMPLIANCE

heavyballs wrote: »
    i would probably even double that,i didn't have a bet in the race and didn't have the balls to lay him which was the bet i was considering

can't beleive people are so stupid to blame AP,fing joke
    COME ON IN COMPLIANCE

well yeah, im trying to be conservative ;)

Verance wrote: »
    No it wasn't.

Seriously? Maybe you were watching a different race.

Shane732 wrote: »
    Seriously? Maybe you were watching a different race.
    Watching the same race differently I'd imagine.

Only Siegemaster, Tranquil Sea and Follow the Plan finished behind him, I wouldn't call it an achievement.
    He ran a very poor race due to unsuitable ground conditions, track and a tough race at Cheltenham imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Denners

OP comments are understandable considering he lost €200

Denman wanted nothing to do with it and he must have given away at least 20 lenghts with the width he was turning at. AP was probably the right man for him today but Denners was away with himself, never seen him as disobedient.

Nicholls would want to get his act together though, lost €40 on twist at the track yesterday and didn't even get a f'ing run off him. Not his fault but whatever he is doing at the moment isn't working.

Mullins horses for the week for me i'd say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

feckin delighted hard luck on Denman mate really looked like he did not want to be there,even at the start he was acting up

Delighted myself. Got Planet of Sound at 20/1 in PP at lunchtime.
    I thought McCoy did as well as he could with a horse that wanted to run the opposite way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

If thats true im delighted he lost.!

Proof of why this country is fucked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

yeah the country is in a recession because some one put their dole on a horse :rolleyes:

SRFC wrote: »
    yeah the country is in a recession because some one put their dole on a horse :rolleyes:

Roll your eyes all you want, I never said that.

Not going to bother getting into this discussion but you clearly aren't able to grasp what i meant.

how is it proof of why the country is f*ucked though? dont be making smart comments at people

The dole is to live off, not to lump on a horse. Simple as.

x PyRo wrote: »
    The dole is to live off, not to lump on a horse. Simple as.

he took a gamble probably to make money to improve his lifestyle im guessing by trying to lump on a 'good thing'..didnt happen..get over it..ya live once man

I lumped on Denman too, I'm not on the dole though. :pac:

I'm over it, just don't like the way he responded to the horse losing. That annoys me!

Proof of why this country is ****ed.

Is it so....? do you not think that anger would not be more suitably directed towards the like of Sean FitzPatrick - head honcho of Anglo Irish bank - a man who only gambled a mere 150 Billion of your and our tax payers money which subsequently f**ked up celtic tiger economy!?

Proof why the economy is ****ede - when we have mal- informed a***oles like yourself apologizing for economical treachery and too easily scapegoating a guy who is trying to make ends meet.

I'm sorry your bet did'nt come in pal.

Maybe next time... I take you didn't gamble 150 billion. ;-)

x PyRo wrote: »
    I was only messing about the wasting the dole comment, relax!.

Don't want to get into an economy debate here, i do business in college and i know all about that idiot Fitzpatrick. I was just merely trying to have a go at the OP for gambling away dole given to him by the government then blown on a horse, then he goes mental blaming the jockey for having a bad ride, infact it was a great ride by McCoy.

Don't worry about my bet. I'm not talking through my pocket. I win some, I lose some. That's the life of a Gambler.

Fair comment pal but at least put a wager on a horse in perspective with criminal white collar workers who gambled our economy away.!

I know your on the good side now.

Peace.

Chriskavo wrote: »
    Fair comment pal but at least put a wager on a horse in perspective with criminal white collar workers who gambled our economy away.!

I know your on the good side now.

Peace.

I deleted my comment as i had replied to your original post also. Now i've confused myself!

I wasn't comparing him to that clown (Fitzpatrick) at all, If i was on the dole and stuck for money i'd probably do the same thing. Was only having a go at him for criticizing AP McCoys ride on the horse he backed, which was infact a very good one! The horse let the OP down, not the jockey. Which annoys me that people go blaming others (wrongly) when they lose money. I blame the horse and myself as to why i lost my money.

Best of luck Sir! I see the angle you're coming from now. Ignore my other post if you did see it. :pac: