Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US/IRL] 6x13 - "The Last Recruit" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 21-04-2010 12:25am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "THE LAST RECRUIT" -

Episode Title: "The Last Recruit"
    Airdate: April 20th 2010

Synopsis (from TV.Com):
    Alliances are forged and broken as the Locke and Jack camps merge.

Next New Episode: 6x14 - May 4th 2010

SPOILER WARNING:

From now on, this thread shall reveal details of the episode mentioned above. If you have not yet seen this episode, please do not move any further down the thread.

A REMINDER ABOUT USE OF SPOILERS:

No discussion of future episode spoilers. That includes anything the writers may have revealed in interviews, podcasts, etc. Even behind spoiler tags they don't belong in this thread. Promos for next week shouldn't be posted in here either.

And out of respect for those following the show on RTE, this episode should NOT be discussed outside of this thread until it has aired on RTE.

What did you think of "The Last Recruit"? 162 votes

0%
    6%
    sprinkleswesfrancie BradyIIBlazerAlso Starring LeVar BurtonBazBoxsilvervixen84niginatorClosed acstevveyg 10 votes
    17%
    JTManPsychedelicBacchusDiddy KongkavsmdfqzMadPatricklíreacándemanlittlejpCarroller16Double CMr. Incognitomurpho999AldebaranPartizandgalacticoRushdieKettle316Mackman 29 votes
    32%
    mewsoSir Digby Chicken CaesarBardHugh_Cfjonmatrimslave1Stephen PquazzyBrando_ieMr.Nice GuyDonkeyStyle \o/The Gnomejohnny_ultimateeasgustavojimbob_jonesfrinkJelloMr. K 53 votes
    21%
    totoalnothingV9pickarooney[Deleted User]stakeyMick Shrimptonleggome-skywalkeranotherlostieAgamemnonhickMargeSbazwaldoJay RushakeydudeTragamin2k2AORKoolKidbrick tamland 35 votes
    11%
    CreatureDempseyDrag00n79LizardKinghomerzeroyoucancallmealchickenpoograsscutterThe guycarlopOisintarrantprivateBeavislizardfudgeMr Freezeblue_steelLionelNashePirateShampoodonfers 18 votes
    8%
    ZombrexEKRIUQthe_barfly1Baby4FreudianSlippersBenny Cakebigdogbarkingnkay1985PetKingSimpleLogicLiathroidi DanaDarrenMSPthe_monkeynehpets10 14 votes
    0%
    izzy93 1 vote
    1%
    damnyanksdonnacha 2 votes
    0%

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

There's no early Canadian broadcast tonight, so I'm putting this up now and going to bed.

Also, just to remind everyone, there's a 1 week break after this episode. So no Lost next week.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Stream is driving me crazy. But both timelines are shaping up VERY nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Can ya link to stream cos I am dead on my feet waiting up?....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Music-and-booze

sidereel usually has it up by now but there isn't one link yet, so bored waiting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

jasus, u'll get banned for requests like that

I'd rather watch it on the big screen...but sitting up till 5am drunk has become a tradition this season....and given I've about 6 more chances to turn tradition in to lore I wanna keep it going!......eztv is a slow b*stard.

caught the last five and it looked f*cking mental.....need to see the 30 minutes before that to understand how they got where they did!!Sun and Jin....Awwwwww...I'm gay for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

Nice. Downloaded it there. Great Episode. Starting to think. Sun jin, sawyer hurley kate etc will free leaving Jack as guardian of the island trapping MIB. I though Sawyers " It would never work between us, I'm a cop and you are a murderer" was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

Wasn't the most eventful episode but REALLY set things up nicely for next week.

Am I the only one who thought Jin and Sun were going to run into the supersonic pylon things and get their heads exploded?

nice to finally have an answer for Christian, but it doesn't explain how he appeared to Jack in the hospital. Not a bad ep, Claire almost seemed sane when she was first talking to Jack on the island. Wonder why Widmore turned on Sawyer and co, maybe he thinks they're under Locke's spell. One thing that annoyed me though, u think Jack wud of asked Locke who or what he was? Maybe even get some more info out of Claire, he has been with him for quite some time. With the exception of the Christian reveal the whole conversation was pretty under whelming. Something is also happening with Sayid, he's definitely not Lockes lap dog any more. I'd reckon Des is still alive anyway.

And surely Widmore knows that mortars won't hurt Locke?

Looks like Des did indeed run Locke over so Jack wud operate on him.

Gitb1 wrote: »
    Am I the only one who thought Jin and Sun were going to run into the supersonic pylon things and get their heads exploded?

was thinking the same thing myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Nothing massive really happened but I guess it was a good bridge episode for the next set. Its a week break until the next one, ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭shineon23

Jay Ru wrote: »
    was thinking the same thing myself

I was really shoutin at the screen for Sun to get zapped! twisted humour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I gave it an 8/10. I was underwhelmed with the Jack & Locke conversation since the teaser promised much but still it was good to hear MIB say he posed as Christian.
    Darlton mentioned this conversation would be happening in a previous podcast and they made it sound like more would be revealed, especially in terms of MIB listing everyone he pretended to be. This was in response to someone asked if Dave (Hurley's imaginary friend from the mental hospital) was actually MIB trying to get Hurley to kill himself.

Have to agree I though Sun or Jin was gonna froth at the mouth and keel over. I thought it would have been a bad joke after this long wait for them to be back together.
    Desmond's sideways role was interesting again. I thought the lawyer was gonna have Charlie with her, then the surprise that it was Ilana (who seemed to have an inkling as to what was going on) and then her client was Jack. forgot that was a possibility.

Sayid definitely didn't kill Des. There's no way they'd kill a big, important character like Des off screen. There's no drama in that. Wonder what Sayid's new gameplan is or is he just letting Des off the hook and continuing to be MIB's lapdog. I'd say he may be set for another change against the dark side.

I liked Sawyer being civil to Jack only to kick him off he boat once he learned he wasn't fully accepting of his plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

A good solid episode, a lot better than previous one's in this series. Things seem to be heading for a purpose. The show also confirms to me the writers didn't have enough material for a full series so they devised the flash sideways and they did there best to pad out the whole series.

Other points I noticed;
    At least we don't have to hear, "Have you seen my husband", or "Where is Sun".
    That well wasn't as deep as last week.
    Calling in air strikes! WTF?
    Bit of a spoiler here
    I don't think Sayid killed Desmond
    Why was Widmore's sonic fence turned off?
    Ilana in the FS bit of a bit of a waste, kill her last week for a new role this week.
    Sun not being able to speak what was the point in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

That was good enough, if a bit formulaic. It had the feel of the writers crossing a few things off their list (Sun/Jin reunion, truth about Christian, Jack/Claire siblings) before the endgame begins.

LOL at Sawyer's line that Lapidus is like something "out of a Burt Reynolds movie".

Who is "The Last Recruit" of the title? Jack, finally deciding to stay on the island? Claire, joining Sawyer and the rest on the boat? Sayid, starting to regain his humanity?

Weird ending too. Seeing Locke carry Jack like that made me wonder if maybe the explosion paralysed Jack. Is Locke's old wheelchair still lying around on the main island?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

Dymo wrote: »
    Other points I noticed;
    Hurray!!
    True maybe, but it was dark and the little bit of water would have extinguished the flame of the torch
    Bit of a spoiler here
    An opinion isn't a spoiler
    To let the Losties get through the fence
    Ilana in the FS bit of a bit of a waste, kill her last week for a new role this week.
    It's not a waste, her character may still have an important function in the flash sideways but like her on island character, she could just be filler
    I thought her not being able to talk would come of some importance, like not being able to warn a character about their imminant death in a future episode. Not to be.

Glad to see that I was right when I spotted that Sawyer let Kate go because he didn't want to let his trip to Oz be known by his fellow cops. Everyone else had a field day giving out about the writers in the thread that week once it was revealed he was a cop and let a criminal go.

Forgot to add - in agreement with the above, who is the last recruit? I presume that it refers to Jack since he returned and is still stuck with Locke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

9/10.

I really enjoyed this episode even though there was nothing drastic in it, there wasn't a scene I didn't enjoy, probably because it encompassed so many of the characters. Nice to see the characters in the Alt time line converging at last. I have to admit though I'm getting tired of Widmore's presence on the island, particularly his goons. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭MrMojoRisin'

better episode than last couple anyway gave it an eight, thank god the sunjin thing cleared up quickly and didnt take up the whole episode

sometimes though i think this show is always just about a group of people on an island who keep splitting up and going different ways, then joining up again and repeat. kinda like survivor with guns and question marks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,726 ✭✭✭✭Penn

kinda like survivor with guns and question marks

I believe that is how they pitched the show to ABC 6 years ago

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Good episode. A lot happened plot-wise.

A few points:

- The Christian that Jack saw in the hospital was not MIB, that was the ghost of the real Christian. We probably aren't going to see John Terry again, so all of his other appearances on the island were almost certainly MIB. How did he appear on the freighter? I dunno, he must be able to project himself, this is why he couldn't help Locke in the FDW cavern. Tbh though I don't really care.

- The sonic fence WAS turned on. But after Zoe realised MIB wasn't with them, she spoke into her radio and told them to turn the fences off. You can hear this just as Jin appears. That's why Sun and Jin didn't get their brains fried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭privateBeavis

Maybe its the Island not letting her speak so once of the Island can speak again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Thought it a pretty good episode. Not great, but a fair amount happened to bring the plot along.

Sayid didn't kill Desmond. No way.
    Thought the Jin/Sun reunion was bit crap, but always knew it was going to be.

Presume Widmore put guns to losties as he probably knows a lot about Sawyer.
    And anyway, I don't really get Sawyer thinking he was good. Wasn't the deal that he bring Locke to Widmore unsuspecting? He hasnt delivered on his side of the bargain (in fact... he's left locke stranded over on the other island) , why should Widmore?

I'm also confused as to who the last recruit is supposed to be. From the storyline it appears to be Claire. So does recruit actually mean anything? Or are they literally just talking about the recruits to take the boat trip. Seems a bit meaningless.

Ya, was wondering about that myself. I can only assume that it has some sort of significance. Maybe it relates to the FST. Sun couldn't speak english in that. Maybe the knock on her head caused some mix up in the brain pattern and she picked it up from the FST. And seeing Jin (love aspect) brought it back. Dunno really, just rambling.
    Jay Ru wrote: »
    Looks like Des did indeed run Locke over so Jack wud operate on him.

Yep, looks like my fears have come to fruition. I can only hope that Desmond knows more than is portrayed on screen. i.e. he knew he woudn't kill locke, and he knew he was going to go to Jack. If it was guesswork then it's just ridiculous to a whole new level.

Glad to see that I was right when I spotted that Sawyer let Kate go because he didn't want to let his trip to Oz be known by his fellow cops. Everyone else had a field day giving out about the writers in the thread that week once it was revealed he was a cop and let a criminal go.

I was one of the guys that thought it was out of character. I hadn't realised that that was the situation though. Had forgotten that it had happened in LAX. Good call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

what sh1te, 1/10
    im getting very worried now, with such little time left,
    i think love will be the answer to everything instead of the scientific scifi stuff i was hoping form, bollox to that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Good episode. A lot happened plot-wise.

A few points:

- The Christian that Jack saw in the hospital was not MIB, that was the ghost of the real Christian. We probably aren't going to see John Terry again, so all of his other appearances on the island were almost certainly MIB. How did he appear on the freighter? I dunno, he must be able to project himself, this is why he couldn't help Locke in the FDW cavern. Tbh though I don't really care.

But I presumed the fact that the smoke alarm was going off was a nod to the fact that Christian was the smoke monster. I imagine back when they wrote that episode, they hadn't fully decided what/who the monster was. It doesn't make sense for him to be a ghost. Also in a podcast the writers said that Christian was Not the smoke monster and fell into the category of undead. It is very inconsistant, and leads me to believe the writers really weren't sure what they were doing even in season 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

A good solid episode, a lot better than previous one's in this series. Things seem to be heading for a purpose. The show also confirms to me the writers didn't have enough material for a full series so they devised the flash sideways and they did there best to pad out the whole series.

Other points I noticed;
    Calling in air strikes! WTF?
    Bit of a spoiler here

Obviously Widdmore built up a killstreak from killing all those folk on the airplane. I expect he'll call in chopper gunner next and who knows - maybe even a nuke :D

haha, good one :D

Seriously though, they're just mortars or whatever, it's no big deal really.

yekahs wrote: »
    It doesn't make sense for him to be a ghost.
    Yes it does. Hurley can see the ghosts of dead people, right? He saw Charlie's ghost off-island, who later told him that "someone" would be coming to visit Jack soon. Then Jack saw Christian. This was all in the same episode. Once it was established that Hurley wasn't crazy, the Christian in the hospital had to be real.

Island-Christian being MIB makes a lot of sense. The only issues with it are due to the rather awkward way the writers limited MIB's abilities this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Not impressed.

The revealing of mysteries like they are doing seems to be a mistake by the writers imo, has their been one long awaited reveal that excited the audience? I dont think so and some of the Q & A between characters to reveal stuff was very disappointing and feel like afterthoughts from writers.

The only reveal I liked is Claire saying that once you talk to MiB, you have agreed to go with him, not any handshake or promises unless her preception of his power is warped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,726 ✭✭✭✭Penn

jimbling wrote: »
    Ya, was wondering about that myself. I can only assume that it has some sort of significance. Maybe it relates to the FST. Sun couldn't speak english in that. Maybe the knock on her head caused some mix up in the brain pattern and she picked it up from the FST. And seeing Jin (love aspect) brought it back. Dunno really, just rambling.

I still don't agree with that (other people have said it previously). Even though she could no longer speak English, she could understand it and write it. If it was linking to the FST, she shouldn't have been able to understand or write it either. Maybe it was just as simple as Jack said, that condition that meant she couldn't speak English for a while.

Dempsey wrote: »
    The only reveal I liked is Claire saying that once you talk to MiB, you have agreed to go with him, not any handshake or promises unless her preception of his power is warped.

Only for her to do the opposite and leave MiB and get on the boat......only for her to be right again when Jack jumped off the boat.It hurts my brain.

Anyone else think maybe Jack has self-selected himself to be the new Jacob?

Also interesting that Sayid thinks MIB brought him back to life. Anyone else think that ? I don't

I still don't agree with that (other people have said it previously). Even though she could no longer speak English, she could understand it and write it. If it was linking to the FST, she shouldn't have been able to understand or write it either. Maybe it was just as simple as Jack said, that condition that meant she couldn't speak English for a while.

meh, as I said, just rambling. But just because she could still understand it doesn't matter. Perhaps the knock only damaged the speech part of the brain. Either way it's weird and doesn't really seem to have any purpose at this point.

On a topical side note: Anyone hear that about English girl who woke up with a Chinese accent?? She was on the radio yesterday.... I know it shouldn't be funny, but come on..... Foreign Accent Syndrome...that's hilarious.
    Maybe she grew up in China in our Sideways timeline :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

I thought it was obvious that Jack was "The Last Recruit". First with Claire hinting that Jack was under Locke's control just from speaking to him, and then from the final words of the episode, Locke speaking to Jack: "You're with me now."

Loved this episode. The lack of centric character is a nice format.

Also interesting that Sayid thinks MIB brought him back to life. Anyone else think that ? I don't

Yep, that line caught me too. Why does he think that? Don't recall anyone saying as such on screen.

Didn't someone tell him a few episodes back that Dogen and The Others were just as surprised to see him come to life as anyone else? Sayid must have turned to the only alternative and decided it was Locke.

A Neurotic wrote: »
    I thought it was obvious that Jack was "The Last Recruit". First with Claire hinting that Jack was under Locke's control just from speaking to him, and then from the final words of the episode, Locke speaking to Jack: "You're with me now."

Loved this episode. The lack of centric character is a nice format.

I know you're right and Jack is "The Last Recruit". It would be pretty silly if it was claire joining a group that was literally only just created. But I guess I just don't know what he is a recruit for.

We've been talking about Candidates for so long now..... what the hell is a Recruit?? Candidate is replacement for Jacob, Recruit replacement for MiB?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭pkumohideeile

Looks like Jack is the last recruit left for MIB.

And just to note, MIB is a cool guy. We know that because he didn't look at the explosion at the beginning in the camp. Cool guys don't look at explosions.

I know you're right and Jack is "The Last Recruit". It would be pretty silly if it was claire joining a group that was literally only just created. But I guess I just don't know what he is a recruit for.

We've been talking about Candidates for so long now..... what the hell is a Recruit?? Candidate is replacement for Jacob, Recruit replacement for MiB?

I don't think "Recruit" is as concrete a term as "Candidate". I think it's just referring to the fact that MiB has had the chatz with Kate, Claire, Sawyer, Sun, Sayid, Ben, perhaps subtly manipulating them all in the long run, and maybe Jack is his last play before his plan falls into place.

Whatever it is. Maybe.

Looks like Jack is the last recruit left for MIB.

And just to note, MIB is a cool guy. We know that because he didn't look at the explosion at the beginning in the camp. Cool guys don't look at explosions.

i think the point of that is that he was not afraid of the shells. i.e. they can't hurt him

So Widdmore has evilled it up again pointing guns at the losties. What does this mean for the Jacob = good, MIB = bad debate.

Personally I'm still going with they're all a shower of bastards

So Widdmore has evilled it up again pointing guns at the losties. What does this mean for the Jacob = good, MIB = bad debate.
    Nothing. Because we still don't know if Widmore has taken sides in this conflict. I suspect he's in this for his own selfish reasons. He may be against MIB, but I doubt he's with Jacob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Good episode, it has set the bar nicely for the final few episodes.

I don't think Sayid murdered Desmond, that being said I'd be a bit disappointed that Sayid could regain his humanity so easily. He said to Flocke a few episodes ago that he felt nothing. So what happened? A few telling words from Des and all of a sudden he's back to normal again?

I'm glad that Jack said "Hold on, what the ****, we came back here only to leave again?" That was something that has been annoying me over the last few episodes in the sense that everybody wants to leave while having no interest in finding out more about their own purpose as candidates, Jacob and MIB. So I'm glad that we're somewhat back on track.

Regards Sayid and his change of heart. Hmmmm I don't know. I tihnk we maybe all were too gullible with this - ooooo he's been taken thing. In fact I tihnk being dead and then coming alive again - its just gonna mess you up. Confuse you at the least. So yes I tihnk maybe Des could influence him if Des was the one offering him sensible answers when before he had none

i think the point of that is that he was not afraid of the shells. i.e. they can't hurt him

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sqz5dbs5zmo

So anybody who thinks JJ Abrams doesn't have a hand to play in Lost is nuts. I'm awaiting Charlie to give a keyboard solo in the finale..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I think the series has taken a step back here which happens after a run of great episodes from Richards episode. While alot moved forward plot-wise i felt the tension, danger, mystery and good vs. evil to be lacking here. Its a 7 from me.

The flashsideways, while excellent last week had very little suprises. Jin and Sun go to ER, baby survives. Lockes goes to ER operated on by Jack, Ben at his side. Kate interrogated by Sawyer, Sayid arrested by Sawyer, Claire and Jack meet, all build-ups to next week episode.The only suprise here was Illana became a lawyer.

While i understand this is necessary for the story, i felt at least one character getting a blast from the past would have been nice just before the closing credits.

I expected more anger and hatred between Jack and MiB, the conversation was dull. Sawyers plan was simplistic, does he not realise that getting off the island is exactly what MiB wants. Widmore doesnt trust Sawyer and vice versa, fair enuf i doubt Tina Fey is going to execute them.

Sun and Jin meeting after being seperated could have been much more emotional (soppy i know but they have a kid, its been what 3 years, 2 different timelines, they should be talking crazy in Korea talk, not English).

As for Claire, a bullet in the side of the head please i really don't care for her. MiB villiany wasn't present at all, the audience knows hes the bad guy, do something bad, go smokey, put his hands around Sayid's neck and ask him if hes lying.

The most intense scene was the Desmond/Sayid scene. A scene which i hope they flashback to later. What was said there must have been very important. Des could have made him feel for the first time, make him remember Nadia (or Shannon), breakdown whatever power Mib had over him The guy cut the throat of an defenceless other and now he disobeys orders to put Des's lights out. Why did they skip this, we know Des isnt dead, the audience ain't that gulible.

Things have now greatly shifted around and I look forward to next weeks episode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

enjoyed that

one thing that really got me was:

they were sailing a boat without the sails up how does that work? :confused:

bryanjf wrote: »
    enjoyed that

one thing that really got me was:

they were sailing a boat without the sails up how does that work? :confused:

There was an propellor of course. When Jack jumped off i thought he didn't jump far enough and would get too close to the blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

There was an propellor of course. When Jack jumped off i thought he didn't jump far enough and would get too close to the blades.

you sure?

i thought desmond went on a sailing race around the world, trivial i know but it was glaringly obvious

No i haven't seen the propeller. And i'm not boating expert. But there was of course an engine and propeller moving that boat. Unless you think it was Jacob?? Or Desmond!?!?!

Haha no of course it was a propeller moving them along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Many "pure" sailing yachts are also equipped with a low-power internal-combustion engine for use in conditions of calm and when entering or leaving difficult anchorages.

They werent going far, plus what would a hillbillie like Sawyer know bout sailing.:D