Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Puns

• 17-04-2010 1:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

I kinda like the Puns on After Hours, some posters can come up with some cracking ones.

I particularly like this one from the Child mistaking a Gun for a Wii Remote control thread:
    Yeah but she did'nintendon the child mistaking the remote for the gun :rolleyes:

So, do you like puns on AH?

If so, which have been your favourite ones?

Or do they bug the feck out of you and you wish people woul give it rest.

Putting up a Poll, without an "I only like the good ones option..".

Do you like Puns on After Hours? 75 votes

Yes, hope people continue to try and come up with some cracking puns.
    0%
    No, hate them .. which people would stop posting them tbh.
    100%
    --Kaiser--entropiPsychedelicseanybikerbad2daboneorourkedaInnervisionNewaglishDudessParsleytolosencSomnusGLaDOSSinfoniabluto63stovelidPaparazzodr.bollockoPosyRuen 75 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I wish Sharpshooter would do more puns. She was rather good at 'em.

This is my favourite.
    chin_grin wrote: »
    I KIMBERLEY'VE IT!

SORRY
    Out of context, it makes no sense. Actually, even in context it makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Neither poll options suit me. Alot of people try good puns but they actually suck.

But I do love some of the good ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I <3 all puns really - good or bad, very few exceptions.

I have no opinion on this matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Why did you vote "No" then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I've got no opunion either

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

I love them regardless of how bad they are just a bit of cheesy humour.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Neither poll options suit me.
    Yeah, the options are apolling

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

big hairy punny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

This is my favourite.

Out of context, it makes no sense. Actually, even in context it makes no sense.

I missed that one, a classic for sure :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Personally I don't give a fuck what ye think.
    A good pun is its own reword.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Its good to laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

mikom wrote: »
    Personally I don't give a fuck what ye think.
    A good pun is its own reword.

and here ladies and gentlemen is the king of the AH pun,

mikom I salute you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I've got no opunion either

sorry
    ha ha ha that was awesome.

Puns rule. If we didnt have puns we would have nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

bazmaiden wrote: »
    and here ladies and gentlemen is the king of the AH pun,

mikom I salute you

Jaysus, don't make me the poster boy.
    I'll have a the pun/thanks-whore haters after me.
    Haters who coincidentally are often the most boring and self righteous posters out there.

Jaysus, don't make me the poster boy.
    I'll have a the pun/thanks-whore haters after me.
    Haters who coincidentally are often the most boring and self righteous posters out there.

Yeah, that tends to happen pretty quip-ly around here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

there was a thread sometime about that french soccerball player who touched the ball with his hand against ireland.

one user said somehting along the lines of

"i'm tired of this talk, i have Thierry Ennui"

Now that, my friends, is a fcuking pun.

genericguy wrote: »
    there was a thread sometime about that french soccerball player who touched the ball with his hand against ireland.

genericguy wrote: »

If he meant he was bored of the talk about Henry, then yes, savage pun.

Harsh, but kinda true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I clicked the wrong one. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I pun when one comes into my head depending on what I am reading.

I like to make up my own rather than post something I saw elsewhere, that's when Puns become tedious.

I remember those days Batman, javaboy would usually come along with one of his followed by one of yours.

The thanks button was on fire.

/ those were the days my friend...:pac:

Show me a piano falling down a mineshaft and I’ll show you A-flat minor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The good pun is like glue , the sticky that holds Boards together

oh gawd ...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I love puns. Post the odd decent one and post far more shockingly bad ones, to share my pain.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

All of those people out there that dont appreciate puns, go jump off a ****ing bridge and make room for more people who do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AH has spoken.

/bow followed by mystical gong-crash

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Puntingtons disease- a terrible affliction causing the sufferer to keep making puns. You poor people. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Imagine AH without witty quips :O

It'd be quite punimaginable tbh!

/Leaving

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Posters vocal about word-play generally have polarised opinions. Half are coated black and half are shiny white.

Rehashed spoonerisms FTW.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A bad pun is hard to swallow, even in jest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭artvandulet

If you like good (read: bad) puns, you should have a listen to the Dave Gorman podcasts of his radio show. The last 10mins or so is usually dedicated to 'Pun Street', where they try and get the best pun named shops they can find.

Highlights include a flower shop called 'Back to the Fuschia', a Plumbers called 'Napolean Boiler Parts' and a Carribean restaurant called 'Jamaican Me Hungry'!
    :D:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

I must say, I am surprised. I always thought u were a dude :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

The joys of internet anonymity :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Ah the joys of writing letters to each other across the internet...i have so many punpals now i can't keep up.

on another note, I was putting a roof on a house last week for the first time, it was tough, but i got there in the end through tile and error....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I took some pictures of my memory

I really do have a photographic memory -- I just haven't developed it yet.

There was great cameraderie at the Irish photographers society conference last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

If you like good (read: bad) puns, you should have a listen to the Dave Gorman podcasts of his radio show. The last 10mins or so is usually dedicated to 'Pun Street', where they try and get the best pun named shops they can find.

Highlights include a flower shop called 'Back to the Fuschia', a Plumbers called 'Napolean Boiler Parts' and a Carribean restaurant called 'Jamaican Me Hungry'!

I've seen a van around Dublin belonging to 'The Bonny Tiler' too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Beanstalk wrote: »
    There was great cameraderie at the Irish photographers society conference last week.

Were there any developments concerning the previous conference, where the chairperson was arrested for indecent exposure? :confused:There was a court case but it was held In camera.

I don't know, it was mental though and there were lots of people flashing. People got angry and attacked the string quartet who were providing the music, bloody scenes of violins were posted in the paper the next day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Were there any developments concerning the previous conference, where the chairperson was arrested for indecent exposure? :confused:There was a court case but it was held In camera.

You overdid it here, shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I love the puns. Some are incredibly clever. My favourite one I've seen on boards, can't remember who posted it, it was in a thread about smoking:
    wrote:
    Sure how can smoking be bad for you? It cures bacon and salmon

The best shop name I've ever heard was a tanning salon in St Andrews up in Scotland. It was called Sun Tan Drews.

bluto63 wrote: »
    The best shop name I've ever heard was a tanning salon in St Andrews up in Scotland. It was called Sun Tan Drews.

There's a hairdressers on James St called Hairsay :rolleyes:

OutlawPete wrote: »
    There's a hairdressers on James St called Hairsay :rolleyes:

Is is not on the Strand? ;)

m@cc@ wrote: »

for a lot people, going there is the highlight of their week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Or the Chinese takeaway called "The Rice Paddy".

Beanstalk wrote: »
    for a lot people, going there is the highlight of their week

Except when it's time toupee.

m@cc@ wrote: »

Maybe it's both, defo one beside St James's Hospital.

There's also one called Scissorhands :)

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Maybe it's both, defo one beside St James's Hospital.

Have yourself a *facepalm* my good man. :)