Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht V Leinster

• 16-04-2010 8:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭

might as well put this up,as the irfu/magers have decided that its ok for us to have 4 games in such as short space of time.
    thanks for understanding IRFU!
    another example of how much distain they have for us!
    Only one answer for that!
    slan
    sean:mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Leinster have two away games in three days so it's far from ideal for them either. There were very few gaps left in the calendar where this game could be accomodated.

Indeed, a Sunday-Wednesday-Sunday turnaround is far from the worst outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

shoulda been played during the 6 nations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Ospreys had to play Ulster away 3 days after a Heineken cup 1/4 final match, then have us (Leinster) 3 days later again.

I know Connacht do get sidelined by the IRFU at times, but I think this isn't the case here. It's simply that the calendar is so tight now that any cancellations means games have to be squeezed in at bad times.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Isnt it the ML that sets these not the IRFU??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

wixfjord wrote: »
    Isnt it the ML that sets these not the IRFU??

We'll have no common sense out of you. This is a poor Connacht thread , expressions of sympathy only.

don't take the bait. don't take the bait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

seanin4711 wrote: »
    might as well put this up,as the irfu/magers have decided that its ok for us to have 4 games in such as short space of time.
    thanks for understanding IRFU!
    Fixtures are scheduled not by the IRFU but the Celtic Rugby organisation who run the competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭nerophis

They didn't give a lot of notice to people who already had tickets- not even a week. Especially since its on during the working week. A lot of those won't make a 1945 kick off for various reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

We'll have no common sense out of you. This is a poor Connacht thread , expressions of sympathy only.

very easy supporting a winning province like you do,be it leinster or munster fair play to you!
    but we do feed off scraps from the IRFU table and that is a fact.
    slan
    sean

very easy supporting a winning province like you do,be it leinster or munster fair play to you!
    slan
    sean

Try getting your own house in order first. Whats the average attendance in the SG less the 1500? How much interest is there outside Galway and what are the Connacht branch doing to promote the game.

BTW Connacht has recieved just over €34 million in funding from the IRFU in the past 10 years hardly scraps. If you response is well how much do all the others get you might include a few lines as to why Connacht deserve more.

This constant us against everyone else without offering any solutions is getting boring

I think the big issue here is that originally after the postponed fixture the ML put it into the hands of the two teams to find an appropriate date as the Connacht Branch did with the Dragons game on Patrick's Day. Connacht proposed a number of dates but Leinster wouldn't agree due to the B&I Cup. Certainly this shouldn't have been allowed where an A competition was taking precedence, Leinster have a more than adequate squad to cover both competitions even with international callups.

The fixture date now benefits neither team and neither set of supporters but Leinster know a win tonight will give them a home s/f and that really was their plan all along to drag this fixture out until near the end of the season as a kind of insurance policy. If they had the job done in the ML they could use it to give fringe players a run and if there were struggling in the ML they had this game in hand to fall back on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

slan
    sean

Both teams should be thankful it doesn't interfere with preparations for their European semi-finals. I'd be annoyed if I was a Connacht supporter at the short notice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

I think the big issue here is that originally after the postponed fixture the ML put it into the hands of the two teams to find an appropriate date as the Connacht Branch did with the Dragons game on Patrick's Day. Connacht proposed a number of dates but Leinster wouldn't agree due to the B&I Cup. Certainly this shouldn't have been allowed where an A competition was taking precedence, Leinster have a more than adequate squad to cover both competitions even with international callups.

The fixture date now benefits neither team and neither set of supporters but Leinster know a win tonight will give them a home s/f and that really was their plan all along to drag this fixture out until near the end of the season as a kind of insurance policy. If they had the job done in the ML they could use it to give fringe players a run and if there were struggling in the ML they had this game in hand to fall back on.
    Well done BN2 for bringing some sense to this. :)

Leinster have a more than adequate squad to cover both competitions even with international callups.

They really, really don't.

Besides, Leinster already played one rearranged fixture during the 6N period. Ultimately Celtic Rugby pick the date not the IRFU. Ospreys and Leinster both have similar schedules so it's not as if Connacht are being singled out.

These ridiculous conspiracy theories are a bit silly. It's a clogged calendar and there were a number of games to make up and eventually teams would suffer because of it. That's all that's happening here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Surprised at this. If you look at the team that Leinster are putting out against the Ospreys, it is clear a shadow academy team will be playing against Connacht mid week. You can really target this as a home game you could win, and thus move over Leinster.

If the fixture wasn't falling like this, you would be less likely to get points out of the game. Frankly, top vs bottom club could not be better for you here.

The only people who deserve to be annoyed are Ulster.

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »
    Surprised at this. If you look at the team that Leinster are putting out against the Ospreys, it is clear a shadow academy team will be playing against Connacht mid week. You can really target this as a home game you could win, and thus move over Leinster.

I presume you mean move over Ulster. Chances are they'll move ahead after this weekend.

Leinster could fairly easily put out a full side against Connacht, but would then have to sacrifice the Glasgow game. That or mix and match the squad for the two of them. Hard to know what Cheika will actually do.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I presume you mean move over Ulster. Chances are they'll move ahead after this weekend.

Leinster could fairly easily put out a full side against Connacht, but would then have to sacrifice the Glasgow game. That or mix and match the squad for the two of them. Hard to know what Cheika will actually do.

Sorry, Ulster, yes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

How much interest is there outside Galway and what are the Connacht branch doing to promote the game.

Well while people may be tired hearing us Connacht supporters giving out about the poor treatment in general by the IRFU, I'm well tired of hearing the above gem. What do you know of with regards to this? Very little I'd say. Because we've seen how well Connacht do against the other provinces at all levels while I've seen a lot of junvenile fixtures this year and not only was the standard impressive BUT they were teams from all over contesting Connacht finals. Ballina V Westport at U13, Corinthians V Sligo at U14, Corinthians V Ballina at U15, Galwegians made it to an All Ireland semi final at U17, Corinthians V Sligo U17 Plate, Monivea V Bucs at U17/19's and Ballinasloe V Corinthians U19 Plate. I think thats a fair indicator that there IS A LOT OF ACTIVITY throughout the province:mad:

Finally, the fixtures clog annoys us because we don't have the same depth of panel as some of the other teams!!! As a matter of interest why don't you give the 10yr figures for the other provinces?????

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    Well while people may be tired hearing us Connacht supporters giving out about the poor treatment in general by the IRFU, I'm well tired of hearing the above gem. What do you know of with regards to this? Very little I'd say. Because we've seen how well Connacht do against the other provinces at all levels while I've seen a lot of junvenile fixtures this year and not only was the standard impressive BUT they were teams from all over contesting Connacht finals. Ballina V Westport at U13, Corinthians V Sligo at U14, Corinthians V Ballina at U15, Galwegians made it to an All Ireland semi final at U17, Corinthians V Sligo U17 Plate, Monivea V Bucs at U17/19's and Ballinasloe V Corinthians U19 Plate. I think thats a fair indicator that there IS A LOT OF ACTIVITY throughout the province:mad:

Finally, the fixtures clog annoys us because we don't have the same depth of panel as some of the other teams!!! As a matter of interest why don't you give the 10yr figures for the other provinces?????

Of course no one understands your problems but you . I went protesting with the Corinthians lads in Dublin last time there was talk of shutting Connacht down. There were rallies and meetings and lots of talk about reform. What do we have ten years later? The same shambolic Connacht branch and the same fans claiming to be victims while holding out the begging cap.

What does it matter what the other provinces get, the real question is what are Connacht contributing to Irish rugby to deserve more

Of course no one understands your problems but you . I went protesting with the Corinthians lads in Dublin last time there was talk of shutting Connacht down. There were rallies and meetings and lots of talk about reform. What do we have ten years later? The same shambolic Connacht branch and the same fans claiming to be victims while holding out the begging cap.

What does it matter what the other provinces get, the real question is what are Connacht contributing to Irish rugby to deserve more

I won't pretend that Connacht Rugby has been run as well as it should over the years but finally now we are starting to see the benefits Connacht can offer Irish Rugby. Brett Wilkinson, Sean Cronin, Jamie Hagan, Ian Keatley, Fionn Carr, John Muldoon, Gavin Duffy etc. are all players capable of being in extended Irish squads.

Others like Keith Matthews, Frank Murphy, Johnny O'Conner etc. also. Connacht underage is thriving and in the next few years you will see Connacht having to recruit less as players come through the underage system. That is where good work has been done and Connacht underage can hold their head up against anyone now.

I'm as unhappy as anyone about how the pro game has been run for many years and there is still major problems there, there is still too much kronieism there. We must deal with a lot of internal issues first and start to generate more of our own income and do more for ourselves no doubt, hopefully this European run and late ml push can be a driving force.

There has been money wasted in the past on journeymen signings etc. but this is the case for all the provinces and where we need to be looking now is towards 2011 and 2015 world cups and aiming to get more Connacht and former Connacht players in the Irish squads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'd expect a really weak side to go down to Connacht, Leinster have 3 games remaining to secure a home semi-final, no need to burn out the frontliners by playing 2 games in 5 days. Therefore, I'd fancy Connacht.

I'd expect something like:

McCormack
    Strauss
    CJ VDL
    Toner
    MOK
    Ruddock
    Ryan
    Keogh
    POD
    Madigan (He's a 10 isn't he?)
    Keogh/D Kearney
    ?
    O'Malley
    Conway
    Dempsey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

Personally I'd rather see him mix and match for the two games and aim to win both. Perhaps run with:

15. Morris
    14. Horgan
    13. BOD
    12. McFadden
    11. Keogh
    10. McKinley
    9. POD
    8. Heaslip
    7. Ryan
    6. Ruddock
    5. Cullen(c)
    4. Toner
    3. Van der Linde
    2. Jackman
    1.Stan wright(is he still injured?)

and then for glasgow:
    15. Dempsey
    14. Kearney
    13. O'Malley
    12. D'arcy
    11. Nacewa
    10. Berne
    9. Reddan
    8. Keogh
    7. Jennings (c)
    6. McLoughlin
    5. Hines
    4. O'Kelly
    3. Ross
    2. Fogarty
    1. Healy

Basically run with a mix of youth and experience in both games rather than fielding an academy side and then a full side. I haven't heard too much on the injury front so some of those players could still be injured (Bod, Mckinley, stan..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'm with Phat really, its hard to feel sorry for a province that has, for years, failed to capture the imagination of it's target audience.

Orizio wrote: »
    I'm with Phat really, its hard to feel sorry for a province that has, for years, failed to capture the imagination of it's target audience.

I can see that changing with HEC rugby and hence more media exposure.

Even if they make the Heineken Cup next year they'll do well to make it the year after. Ulster have a better squad than Connacht, and will finish ahead of them most of the time. And with Muller and possibly Pienaar coming in, the gap looks set to widen.

This is a win or bust game for Connacht now with regards to the ML. Lose it and itd be really hard to see us bringing it down to the final game, win it and it'd almost certainly go down to the final game barring a shock Ulster win away to Edinburgh, Bradley needs to freshen up the side after tonight. A side minus about seven regulars went up to the RDS and should have won so the hope is that the likes of Flavin, Andrew Browne, McComish, Nikora, Wynne,Tuohy can come in and do a job. Crucial that Robbie Morris is fit for this one, hopefully Bibo and Ofisa will return as well. It might be a time to unleash Griffin or O'Halloran as well.

For momentum, its important we put in a strong performance as tonight was really a major step backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Agree on all points Borders No 2. Thought Ronan Loughney contributed and played well enough tonight and should be included too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

Leinster team named:

LEINSTER (team v Connacht):

15: Girvan Dempsey
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Brian O'Driscoll
    12: Eoin O'Malley
    11: Isa Nacewa
    10: Shaun Berne
    9: Eoin Reddan

1: Stan Wright
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: CJ van der Linde
    4: Nathan Hines
    5: Malcolm O'Kelly
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
    8: Stephen Keogh

REPLACEMENTS:

16: John Fogarty
    17: Cian Healy
    18: Leo Cullen
    19: Jamie Heaslip
    20: Paul O'Donohoe
    21: Ian Madigan
    22: Simon Keogh

Cheika deciding to target this game instead of Glasgow. Not a surprise with the ash cloud making travel to Glasgow a bit of a trek. Tough on Connacht though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Reckon he wants to get the league done and dusted and give the players a good rest going into the run into the toulouse game.

Still, its great to see the likes of conway getting a game while surrounded by players who can 'mind' him like bod, isa, girve etc.

The team for the glasgow game has 'lambs to the slaughter' written all over it.

durkadurka wrote: »
    Reckon he wants to get the league done and dusted and give the players a good rest going into the run into the toulouse game.

Still, its great to see the likes of conway getting a game while surrounded by players who can 'mind' him like bod, isa, girve etc.

The team for the glasgow game has 'lambs to the slaughter' written all over it.

Lambs to the slaughter indeed, a better team than that lost in December to Newport by a margin.

Yeah, nice to see Conway getting a run in a pretty full team. The pack is only 2nd choice at 2 and 8. The backs are pretty solid. Good for O'malley too to play beside BOD.

If Leinster get the win in Galway (never easy), They might even have the luxury of resting players against Edinburgh in the final league game on 7/8/9 May.

crisco10 wrote: »
    Lambs to the slaughter indeed, a better team than that lost in December to Newport by a margin.

Yeah, nice to see Conway getting a run in a pretty full team. The pack is only 2nd choice at 2 and 8. The backs are pretty solid. Good for O'malley too to play beside BOD.

If Leinster get the win in Galway (never easy), They might even have the luxury of resting players against Edinburgh in the final league game on 7/8/9 May.

Yeah it would be a huge achievment to have first place wrapped up with two rounds to go.

What's interesting for Munster and the Ospreys is that Leinster have virtually handed Glasgow a playoff spot, and if they win against the Scarlets (I'm assuming a bonus point against Leinster), a home semi-final.

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »

If the fixture wasn't falling like this, you would be less likely to get points out of the game. Frankly, top vs bottom club could not be better for you here.

The only people who deserve to be annoyed are Ulster.

How wrong was I, eh?

I wonder if this is partly due to trouble traveling to Glasgow making the decision for Cheika.

LEINSTER (team v Connacht):

15: Girvan Dempsey
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Brian O'Driscoll
    12: Eoin O'Malley
    11: Isa Nacewa
    10: Shaun Berne
    9: Eoin Reddan

1: Stan Wright
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: CJ van der Linde
    4: Nathan Hines
    5: Malcolm O'Kelly
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN

REPLACEMENTS:

16: John Fogarty
    17: Cian Healy
    18: Leo Cullen
    19: Jamie Heaslip
    20: Paul O'Donohoe
    21: Ian Madigan
    22: Simon Keogh

LEINSTER (team v Glasgow Warriors):

15: Ian Madigan
    14: Simon Keogh
    13: Eoin O'Malley
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Michael Keating
    10: Paul O'Donohoe
    9: Chris Keane

1: Ronan McCormack
    2: Bernard Jackman CAPTAIN
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Trevor Hogan
    5: Ciaran Ruddock
    6: Rhys Ruddock
    7: Paul Ryan

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Mark Flanagan
    19: Dominic Ryan
    20: David Moore
    21: Kyle Tonetti / Brendan Macken
    22: Andrew Conway

Interesting that they have named the Glasgow lineup before the Connacht game is played.

On the Connacht lineup, BOD back is a massive boost is what is a strong side. They are obviously looking to wrap up a home SF before Glasgow.

On the Glasgow lineup, Keane at 9 and POD at 10 is interesting...

http://www.magnersleague.com/news/5087.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I would MUCH rather be playing the team they've named for the Glasgow game! :eek:

Zzippy wrote: »
    I would MUCH rather be playing the team they've named for the Glasgow game! :eek:

I joked yesterday about Leinster sending the transition year students to Glasgow on the boat, i didnt think that Cheika was going to take me seriously.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

LEINSTER (team v Glasgow Warriors):

15: Ian Madigan
    14: Simon Keogh
    13: Eoin O'Malley
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Michael Keating
    10: Paul O'Donohoe
    9: Chris Keane

1: Ronan McCormack
    2: Bernard Jackman CAPTAIN
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Trevor Hogan
    5: Ciaran Ruddock
    6: Rhys Ruddock
    7: Paul Ryan

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Mark Flanagan
    19: Dominic Ryan
    20: David Moore
    21: Kyle Tonetti / Brendan Macken
    22: Andrew Conway

I wonder how many players in that team would connacht take? A lot of these guys should really try and make it somewhere else. Both the ruddocks and o'malley/conway/madigan would come on leaps and bounds playing for the likes of connacht. If Fionn Carr and Keatley isn't enough inspiration then I don't know what is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Am I still the only person that thinks Fergus McFadden should be given a shot at 10? Especially in a line up like that.

With the injuries that Leinster have this would have been the perfect game to see if he has it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭nosco

subfreq wrote: »
    Am I still the only person that thinks Fergus McFadden should be given a shot at 10? Especially in a line up like that.

With the injuries that Leinster have this would have been the perfect game to see if he has it.

What makes you think he's a 10?

Being a good goalkicker doesn''t make you an outhalf. Lots more to it.

Personally, I haven't seen a lot of FmcF passing but what I have seen, I don't think his distribution would be up to 10. Also, never seen him punt, he could be awful!

crisco10 wrote: »
    Personally, I haven't seen a lot of FmcF passing but what I have seen, I don't think his distribution would be up to 10. Also, never seen him punt, he could be awful!

Positional and tactical kicking, decision making, playmaking, passing, becoming incredibly arrogant....there's a lot to it.

Obviously, I was just listing the things I defo would be sure FmcF may struggle with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Well put it this way. He's not a 13. He doesn't have the raw pace to out run people passed 20 yards. I've seen him chased down in games.

I actually don't believe that the 10 has to be the goal kicker. I think teams should share the kicking across the talents of the back line. It's certainly a plus that he can though.

Fergus has fantastic defense, great pace over about 15-20 yards and the ability run intelligent breaking lines. His kicking out of hand from what I have seen is good and his game temperament is superb, probably the best of any young player.

What I haven't seen is the variation of his passing game or ability to run a game and make key decisions under pressure but he seems to have all the other equipment.

IMHO Irish provinces should be looking to develop a continuity game and I think he really fits that bill.

Without seeing him get a go we will never know and I guess if Gafney and Cheika haven't given him a chance then maybe that speaks volumes.

He just seems to have so much talent that suits a position of great need but never gets a go.

If mcfadden sticks out another year he'll get loadsa chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Bumper gate or not,points on the board is all that matters!
    We fall short of our own expectations when its games that we "should" win a la munster.
    DO the players really believe the hype about being slight favorites?
    I think they looked a wee bit jaded and lacked imagination especially frank murphy who took an age to get anything moving and was subsequently telegraphed by munster.
    Need to be a lot snappier!
    a win against leinster and really depending on the team sent to scarlets we could have a chance at a win there too!
    if that comes to pass then we will be 4 points ahead of ulster going into the final game(big if)
    Really depends on injuries and the coaches attitude to what we can achieve.
    heres hoping!!!
    slan
    sean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Should be a gimme for Glasgow, but I suppose this stage of the season, being in two comps. etc. (as Connacht and Leinster are) you're going to get mismatches. Throw in a volcano and backlog games from coldest winter in 20 years and hey presto, managerial hell.

Think Leinster should secure home semi tomorrow night, feel for Connacht their players / fans deserve to be up with Ulster, given the run they've had in the Challenge (hopefully tbc!)

Very interesting to see how the academy and bench play out. Plenty of opportunities as weary bodies take toll on teamsheet.

The Connacht team to play Leinster at the Sportsground on Wednesday evening (7.45pm) has been selected.

It shows eight changes from that which played Munster on Sunday evening.

Brian Tuohy, Aidan Wynne, Conor O'Loughlin and Miah Nikora come into the backline.

Up front, Ronan Loughney, Robbie Morris, Mike McCarthy and Mike McComish return to the starting fifteen.

CONNACHT (v Leinster)

15 Gavin Duffy

14 Brian Tuohy

13 Troy Nathan

12 Aidan Wynne

11 Fionn Carr

10 Miah Nikora

9 Conor O’Loughlin

1 Ronan Loughney

2 Sean Cronin

3 Robbie Morris

4 Michael Swift

5 Mike McCarthy

6 John Muldoon (captain)

7 Mike McComish

8 George Naoupu

REPLACEMENTS:

16 Adrian Flavin

17 Brett Wilkinson

18 Bernie Upton

19 Andrew Browne

20 Johnny O’Connor

21 Kieran Campbell

22 Ian Keatley

If O Loughlin continues like he finished against Munster and Nikora gets the backline flowing again Connacht have a real shot at winning.

If they lose this one I can see them losing the remaining games this season :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

There's only one way I can see our scrum going, and thats backwards. Morris vs Wright is a non-contest. Interesting to see how Nikora does without go forward ball from his pack, but O'Loughlin has been in decent form anytime I've seen him this season and can get the ball away quicker than Murphy hopefully. Slightly disappointed not to see O'Halloran get a run, I'd rate him ahead of Tuohy anyway.
    BTW, Mike McComish at 7?? :confused:

Zzippy wrote: »
    There's only one way I can see our scrum going, and thats backwards. Morris vs Wright is a non-contest. Interesting to see how Nikora does without go forward ball from his pack, but O'Loughlin has been in decent form anytime I've seen him this season and can get the ball away quicker than Murphy hopefully. Slightly disappointed not to see O'Halloran get a run, I'd rate him ahead of Tuohy anyway.
    BTW, Mike McComish at 7?? :confused:

Yeah I thought he'd make the bench at least but seeing as they've gone for a 4-2 split I'm not surprised to see him out of the 22.