Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

designer vagina

• 15-04-2010 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭jellybeans

Hi there i was wondering what you all thought of designer vaginas? is it something that you would ever consider getting done? I watched a documentary on it there a while back and it got me thinking...part of me thinks its ok but the other part thinks its an insane notion! :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If it was like throwing a sausage down the South Mall (I love localising that :D) due to childbirth maybe I'd consider getting it tightened all right. But why would any woman want to be "re-virginised"? Most women's first experience of penetration seems to range from a bit uncomfortable to very painful, but hardly ever totally enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Just out of curiosity ......what are you talking about ?

Is this a procedure that is done ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Just out of curiosity ......what are you talking about ?

Is this a procedure that is done ?
    It sure is. A procedure to tighten yer woohoo. Seen it on telly before. You can also get your beef curtain trimmed. Its crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It's more like desginer Vulvas then vaginas.
    It's plastic surgery to make the inner and outer labia conform to a certain look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Ah, an operation to 'tidy up' a vagina, lovely. No, I'd never consider it. It actually makes me really angry.
    I was watching an episode of Embarrassing Illnesses on 4oD a few weeks ago and there was a woman on it, really young, about twenty, who was so embarrassed by her vagina that she even hated going to the bathroom. I mean, seriously? She actually had an operation to remove excess skin. Who decided it was excess?! It wasn't causing any problems, it just didn't look like a porn stars vagina. Yeah, it really bothered me. I have to admit I'd never even thought about it before and suddenly I found myself off to have a look, do I have an untidy vagina!

I dunno, I think it's pretty messed up. Editing body parts because they don't look pretty. It's ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

If I hated how my vagina/vulva looked to the point it was making me miserable then I might consider it. If it was just cosmetics over functionality then definitely not. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

things like this make me sad, we are all built differently our flaws make us who we are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i'd never get it done. i don't care how my vulva looks, i care how it feeeeels.

i can see why some women might *think* there is something wrong with them, because in most mainstream porn, the women have quite small labia. i'm 25 years old, and have never seen another woman's vulva in real life. but i would imagine that before actually deciding to undergo such an extreme procedure, they would do a little research online and realise that vulvas vary.

is there also a procedure that manages to 'tighten' the vagina as someone mentioned?! i hadn't heard of it.
    if it ain't broke don't fix it. especially when the fixing would involve a scalpel anywhere near my clit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭jellybeans

well I watched the same programme and when pixie said "ye this is the clincher for me" when the labia were protruding I thought oh my god is that not normal, it's not too often you ever think about something like that or look at other vaginas!!! it suddenly brought it to my attention and since then ive felt pretty aware of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Oh God. I really shouldn't have clicked into this thread :(:eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I just clicked this thread to find out what a designer vagina was. I really worry about some of my fellow females. Why would anyone want to get this done? :confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I'm going to ask at this point if people don't have anything to add to the discussion, then please don't post.

Thank you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

is there also a procedure that manages to 'tighten' the vagina as someone mentioned?! i hadn't heard of it.
    if it ain't broke don't fix it. especially when the fixing would involve a scalpel anywhere near my clit.

This is a procedure I've heard of, they inject something into it - botox or collagen or something like that to tighten things up... :rolleyes:

I just clicked this thread to find out what a designer vagina was. I really worry about some of my fellow females. Why would anyone want to get this done? :confused:

I suppose it's a confidence thing really, but i see where you are coming from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

i know what you mean, jellybean.
    these two links are for galleries of normal women's breasts and vulvas respectively. its quite interesting, as i'm sure i'm not the only woman who doesn't really know what other women look like.

not sure if this is against the rules? but the pictures are not of a sexual nature. if it's inappropriate, please delete mods.

http://www.007b.com/breast_gallery.php
    http://www.channel4embarrassingillnesses.com/galleries/vulva-gallery/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭mig mag

I've had two kids and that definately changed things for me, not just appearance-wise but functionally too and I actually went for a consultation to have it done after seeing the programme on tv. I wanted to get everything done and tidied :D
    Anyway turns out to be really expensive, just to get tightened was over 6 grand so I didn't even ask the price for aesthetic proceedures.

mig mag wrote: »
    I've had two kids and that definately changed things for me, not just appearance-wise but functionally too and I actually went for a consultation to have it done after seeing the programme on tv. I wanted to get everything done and tidied :D
    Anyway turns out to be really expensive, just to get tightened was over 6 grand so I didn't even ask the price for aesthetic proceedures.

no way?? 6K OMG well that rules that one out, what about in the states?? probably cheaper over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I think people need to realise that they are never, ever going to be pretty. Ever.

EDIT: Even the waxed ones from the vulva gallery up there look like plucked chickens.

http://www.channel4embarrassingillnesses.com/video/embarrassing-bodies/consultation-enlarged-labia/

"Its not horrible, but definitely there is too much tissue there"

fecking hell!!!

I found this though which I can relate to http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100407144937AAzmQi5

I have no idea but I reckon everyone deserves to be able to enjoy great sex and it def shouldn't cost THAT much!;)

Haha, did they really have to use "Alison is all in a flap about her vagina". Nice choice of words!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yeah I remember seeing this before. I recall a woman had lopsided labia or something.
    I guess if you like to wear tight trousers and don't want the camel toe to be a focal point to where you feel uncomfortable, you may consider a surgery like this. It's like any cosmetic surgery really. May seem something that may seem trivial to one, is big deal for another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Some women with longer-than-average labia feel actual physical discomfort when walking or cycling though. For them it may not be purely cosmetic.

(I've actually accidentally shifted on my bike seat and pinched myself and oh holy god but I did not ever want to repeat that... now I don't exactly "hang low" so to speak but if I did and if sitting on a bike seat ALWAYS resulted in that pain? screw that.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Xiney wrote: »
    Some women with longer-than-average labia feel actual physical discomfort when walking or cycling though. For them it may not be purely cosmetic.

(I've actually accidentally shifted on my bike seat and pinched myself and oh holy god but I did not ever want to repeat that... now I don't exactly "hang low" so to speak but if I did and if sitting on a bike seat ALWAYS resulted in that pain? screw that.)

Oh, gods. The "pinch"! I fully sympathise with you there, Xiney. Whilst I wouldn't go so far as to have a procedure to 'tighten" me up (Kegal exercises FTW), I would consider getting my "curtains" neatened up, largely due to what Xiney mentioned but also because it's actually caused some discomfort during sexual activity for me.

I would consider getting my bits trimmed if only to make my (sex)life a little easier and without all the "rooting around" and stop the unholy shock of getting "zippered" at least once a week.

Also, from reading that BBC article, it seems thrush is more prevalant with those of use who have "extra folds". So yes, it would be a health issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

McChubbin wrote: »
    unholy shock of getting "zippered" at least once a week.

I just died a little inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Oh my sweet lord and I thought a smear test you had very little dignity left! Then theres childbirth to think about and then possibly this?? :eek:

Ok even if I had flaps down to my knees I dont think I could go through with this! Never mind justify the possible cost of it because it probably wouldnt be covered as an actual health issue and instead be a vanity thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Piste wrote: »
    I think people need to realise that they are never, ever going to be pretty. Ever.

EDIT: Even the waxed ones from the vulva gallery up there look like plucked chickens.

This is a bit sad to me. I think my lady area is quite pretty. Definitely sensual and sexy.

The 'abnormal' aspect of the whole thing is what bothers me... women feeling that because their vulva are different, they're ugly. Just yet another example of the myriad ways in which we learn to hate ourselves :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

shellyboo wrote: »
    This is a bit sad to me. I think my lady area is quite pretty. Definitely sensual and sexy.

The 'abnormal' aspect of the whole thing is what bothers me... women feeling that because their vulva are different, they're ugly. Just yet another example of the myriad ways in which we learn to hate ourselves :(

I didn't wanna say I think vaginas are lovely in case that sounded a bit odd, but yeah, I'm with shellyboo. I don't think vaginas are not pretty at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I know someone who had an op to repair part of the vaginal entrance after a botched episiotomy from years ago.

Other than that I'd like to know what the criteria is to judge a vulva pretty or not.

And am I the only one reading this thread with my legs crossed very tightly?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Giselle wrote: »

Nope! :)

shellyboo wrote: »

Well I just don't find them particularly nice to look at. No more so than the heart or lung or any other "inner" bits.

Giselle wrote: »
    I know someone who had an op to repair part of the vaginal entrance after a botched episiotomy from years ago.

Other than that I'd like to know what the criteria is to judge a vulva pretty or not.

Well, a certain part of me wishes I'd kept my legs legs crossed! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Well I just don't find them particularly nice to look at. No more so than the heart or lung or any other "inner" bits.

Different strokes :) I think they're lovely to look at! Wouldn't say that internal organs are unpleasant either... But I think my admiration is also to do with what they can do as well as plain aesthetics. Kinda like the difference between being able to appreciate that someone is attractive and actually fancying them!

Oh I kinda get what you mean, like there are a lot of body parts that I think are exquisite because of how they do their function, but it's more like how you'd appreciate the design of a car rather than the colour and shape.

For vaginal tightening there is nothing like kegel exercises and thats free.

As for not finding them aesthetically pleasing, that is a matter of taste but some of that could be due to lack of exposure. Phallic symbols are everywhere.

Personally I love the shape of this mouse.
    http://www.yankodesign.com/2010/02/11/you-mouse-around-here-often/

gspotmouse021.jpggspotmouse04.jpg

That's a pretty rockin' mouse!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And I still couldnt make it work..... :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

No because my vagina is perfect. Please thanks bye bye.

WHAT?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I remember watching that embarrassing bodies episode, it had never crossed my mind before then. I don't think I'd go down that route, once everything is functioning well down there I'm not too concerned about aesthetics. I can see why some woman would get the procedure done though if chafing was a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

jellybeans wrote: »
    no way?? 6K OMG well that rules that one out, what about in the states?? probably cheaper over there

Yeah this is a point. That surgeon in the beeb video does 250 of these a year. At 6k each thats some serious cash.
    Remember Anna Nolan had a tv show a few years back where she went to America ? Anyhow she did an episode on this topic. If I recall correctly the charge was a bit higher. apparently 're-virgination' is a big deal over there - mainly for religious types who needed to appear virginal when getting married so they didn't get stoned or something, but also there were some weirdo non-religious types doing it for well reasons i can't remember beyond the fact they were kinda mental.....anyhow....I digress.....

But guess how long this operation takes ??? About 20 mins. Yes thats 6k for 20 mins op!!! And its an easy twenty minutes at that - its quite straightforward. The surgeons in California were f-r-i-g-g-i-n m-i-n-t-i-n-g it like you would not believe!

Which brings me to my point. Whilst there are some people who may genuinely need this kind of operation like those who suffer pain from labia hanging down awkwardly......the surgeons who specialise in this have a very vested interest in creating a market for themselves. It benefits them to create the concept of a 'perfect' vagina or having too much tissue and whatever other buzzwords they are using.

In short there are genuine cases where this may be beneficial for someone, but there's also an awful lot of marketing at play to try and take in others because its one of those things - if you manage to make someone self-conscious about this particular body part - it becomes much, much easier to part them from their money.

I saw the documentary presented by Lisa Rogers a while back. TBH, excess labia can apparently be really uncomfortable. If you had to pull them back to have sex, couldn't wear tight jeans, couldn't horseride, I think that's a valid reason to want to do something. And no matter what anyone says, I can see why having a visible lump in your bikini bottoms would make you self conscious. What really bothered me was when in the documentary, the presenter went to a plastic surgeon, he said her labia were very thin and neat. So how the hell did she have the right to criticise women whose labia hung down 3 inches and got in the way of everything? Or even made said women embarrassed? It would be like me criticising someone for removing a facial birthmark when I don't have one, or getting a breast reduction when I have B cups. It's very bloody easy to look at someone and say 'oh, that's awful, how vain' when you don't have to put up with it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

[quote=[Deleted User];65432243]TBH, excess labia can apparently be really uncomfortable. If you had to pull them back to have sex, couldn't wear tight jeans, couldn't horseride, I think that's a valid reason to want to do something.[/QUOTE]

What percentage of women would have that problem? Very small, I would imagine. I wonder if pornography is to blame for women feeling like they're not "normal" down there. We all know that pornography's version of "normal" :rolleyes: is totally unrealistic.

It's ironic that women in the Western world are spending 6K on an operation to reduce their labia/make their vaginal openings smaller when young girls in third world countries are still being subjected to FGM (female genital mutilation) and sometimes dying as a result of these brutal procedures. If the designer vagina operation isn't really necessary surely it would be better to do Kegel exercises or buy a Kegel exercise device for around €100 and give the 6K to a charity which tries to stop FGM, rehabilitates victims of FGM, and helps FGM victims lead better lives. Waris Dirie (former model) is a campaigner against FGM because she was a victim herself.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

That's a pretty rockin' mouse!

Gives the phrase "double clicking your mouse" a whole new meaning:D

Its interesting how women view their own bits, men do the same though, lets be honest vaginas and penises arent the prettiest looking things at times, thats why trimming/shaving and keeping it as clean as possible is essential imo.

Out of interest, how many women here prefer a circumcised penis? the majority of the time this is done for no medical reason other than to enure its a bit cleaner in later years, there are obviously medical reasons for it as well but a lot of the time its just for appearance and cleanliness,but its more accepted that men can have their privates mutilated for the sake of appearances than women. Any girl I've ever been with has said they prefered a cut one as they "looked nicer" (at least thats what they told me:o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

krudler wrote: »
    Out of interest, how many women here prefer a circumcised penis? the majority of the time this is done for no medical reason other than to enure its a bit cleaner in later years, there are obviously medical reasons for it as well but a lot of the time its just for appearance and cleanliness,but its more accepted that men can have their privates mutilated for the sake of appearances than women. Any girl I've ever been with has said they prefered a cut one as they "looked nicer" (at least thats what they told me:o)

My ex had it done and by god he was in pain when he got it done, couldn't see me for 3 weeks!!!! He had to have it done due to some condition that caused the urine to go back into the urethera!!! I liked it both ways, not very fussy!!!!

I may have to get an operation similar to the above mentioned, and it sure as IS NOT FOR ASTHETICS!!! When the gyne told me about the operation I was sitting there with my legs so so so tightly crossed I stopped the blood flow!!!!

Why one would chosse and pay to have it done is beyond me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Out of interest, how many women here prefer a circumcised penis? ...Any girl I've ever been with has said they prefered a cut one as they "looked nicer" (at least thats what they told me:o)

They taste nicer too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Emme wrote: »

Tee hee yes they do :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

[quote=[Deleted User];65432243]What really bothered me was when in the documentary, the presenter went to a plastic surgeon, he said her labia were very thin and neat. So how the hell did she have the right to criticise women whose labia hung down 3 inches and got in the way of everything? Or even made said women embarrassed?[/QUOTE]

See that exactly what I was talking about. Thats the surgeon using language to induce insecurity and create him/her-self a market, simply because there is alot of money in it.
    Gives the phrase "double clicking your mouse" a whole new meaning:D
    :D:D
    Emme wrote: »
    :eek: How so ? Your exes with foreskins not kept things clean or something?
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Vulva not vagina, you can't see what your vaginal looks like as it's up in side you.

Yes porn has had effects which no one would have dreamed of.
    Did you know that there is labia dye? Seriously they have created a product to change the colour of the vulva.

My New Pink Button, a new “Genital Cosmetic Colorant” that “restores the ‘pink’ back to a Woman’s genitals”.

main_image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

although this is not about men I have never heard off or met a man who has said.

Nice chest

Nice hips

Shame about the vagina...

In fact I have only every met men who love vaginas....

Now before I get jumped on by a mod the reason I say this is i doubt many women compare notes or bear all so unless the majority of women on this site are virgin/lesbien then more men have seen there vagina

In this case I imagine they are very happy men.

As for loose vagina's my other half has had a horrific birth which over streached her "vagina" the kegal exercises above have restored her confidence. In fact she seems to be always doing them.

The reason I discuss this is i imagine like young men wondering about circumcision(shudders) many young women are looking in here.

From this perspective I would not worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭F.A.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Did you know that there is labia dye? Seriously they have created a product to change the colour of the vulva.

My New Pink Button, a new “Genital Cosmetic Colorant” that “restores the ‘pink’ back to a Woman’s genitals”.

main_image.jpg

Dear me. Yeah, more pink is *really* what women need...

After breast, vulva, knee, and toe "modification", I am just waiting for another groundbreaking new operation to reduce the size of the hip bones... :rolleyes: