Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bill Cullen on TodayFM yesterday

• 14-04-2010 11:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

Hi, Did anyone hear Bill Cullen on the Matt Cooper show yesterday evening? He was encouraging young people to emigrate to America and do waiter/waitressing- does he realise that you are illegal doing this? you can only get a 3 month visa? what is he talking about? I know people doing this in the US and they cannot come home to visit family or go anywhere..He seems to be spouting aload of rubbish lately and being heeded by us..not any more by me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭rasper

thats the government policy too, according to Coughlan its great our young people have the fantastic oppurtunities of no jobs and 50% less social welfare to help them on their way.
    "We don't want ya time to go" what a pathetic country we've made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭bored and fussy

rasper wrote: »
    thats the government policy too, according to Coughlan its great our young people have the fantastic oppurtunities of no jobs and 50% less social welfare to help them on their way.
    "We don't want ya time to go" what a pathetic country we've made

my brother is doing it and loving he will be home soon and he will go back again he is having a ball :D

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Irish illegals can come home anytime they want. They just won't get back in to America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Bill Cullen is interested in one person: Bill Cullen.

Remember that before taking any of his suggestions seriously. Unfortunately Mr Lenihan forgot this while agreeing to help support the German, Japanese, Korean and (in Mr Cullen's situation) French motor industries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Remember Bill Cullen was slagging off Michael O'Leary.
    Taking some below-the-belt type shots.
    Then it transpired that Bill Cullen sits on the BOD at the DAA.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/millionaires-row-as-cullen-slates-cynical-oleary-in-verbal-volley-2083544.html
    "I'm on the authority because I thought I could make a difference. We've got Terminal 2 built and Michael says it's a joke, because, while he puts up sheds, we put up something that the country can be proud of. We have huge plans for the whole thing which maybe he might want to disrupt."

Something the country can't even afford, not to mind being proud of.
    Originally priced at €200m and came in somewhere around €1.2bn, now everyone in the country will have to pay extra taxes to pay for a stupid terminal which nobody can afford to fly out of, except when they are emigrating.

Bill Cullen is a gombeen of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

Yeah, I heard the aggressive tripe he was spewing and it only increased the hatred I have for that man.
    Okay, he has done well for himself and made a packet from owning the Renault franchise here, but apart being a car salesman, what has he actually done?

I was aching to punch him in the face when I heard the crap he was coming out with telling people to leave the country for good.
    Then having the gaul to look down his nose at anyone who ever claimed the dole, suggesting that he is a better type of person.

His defence of his comments on the Frontline as well was so two faced.
    Oh god I hate him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Emigration - Fianna Fail's best hope of sorting out the job crisis. They're delighted people are leaving. It's a wonder they don't send Brian Cowen over to Departures at Dublin Airport to sing people off:

(A song about emigration, ironically.)

P.

my brother is doing it and loving he will be home soon and he will go back again he is having a ball :D

Good for him Ms Coughlan coz theres F**k all for him back here thanks to FF, I spent 7 years abroad myself , left during the latter half of the last FF brought on recession had a great time but was happy to come home, your brother may not have that chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

MaceFace wrote: »
    Yeah, I heard the aggressive tripe he was spewing and it only increased the hatred I have for that man.
    Okay, he has done well for himself and made a packet from owning the Renault franchise here, but apart being a car salesman, what has he actually done?

I was aching to punch him in the face when I heard the crap he was coming out with telling people to leave the country for good.
    Then having the gaul to look down his nose at anyone who ever claimed the dole, suggesting that he is a better type of person.

His defence of his comments on the Frontline as well was so two faced.
    Oh god I hate him!

he asked matt cooper last night had he ever been on the dole cooper said yes i would have liked to see the face on cullen.
    this is also the same man telling people to work for nothing,and that he works 60hrs+ a week(never heard of the WTD bill) i wonder will he source his next apprentie from the FAS wpp scheme:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Come on! Bill is one of our greatest entrepreneurs. Without him there wouldn't be any Renault cars in Ireland :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    Remember Bill Cullen was slagging off Michael O'Leary.
    Taking some below-the-belt type shots.
    Then it transpired that Bill Cullen sits on the BOD at the DAA.

Something the country can't even afford, not to mind being proud of.
    Originally priced at €200m and came in somewhere around €1.2bn, now everyone in the country will have to pay extra taxes to pay for a stupid terminal which nobody can afford to fly out of, except when they are emigrating.

Bill Cullen is a gombeen of the highest order.

Also what a "coincidence", a decent amount of the DAA off site meetings are held at...you guessed it BILL CULLEN's conference centre in Swords, whats the chances !

The same Bill Cullen who was losing his bollix on all his businesses before the recession yet he likes to pretend "de recession is killing de motor trade". So why was your business losing money before hand bill :confused: very easy to blame the recession on a failing business.

The same Bill Cullen also heralded O'Leary as one of Irelands best entrepreneurs in one of his booooooook's, ah but this was before he got the DAA gig strangely enough:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Irish illegals can come home anytime they want. They just won't get back in to America.

Nonsense. I came back over the Canadian border three times whilst working in the states off the books. The American/Canadian border is vast and once you know the right people getting over is a piece of cake. Actually you don't even need to know the right people only a guy who's willing to meet you on the American side with a car. I actually know a guy who got refused entry into New York via La Guardia and got sent back to Shannon. He was back in New York working within the week although he was mighty pissed off at the price he had to pay for the flight to Toronto.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,934 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

To be fair, emigration was a fact of life in Ireland since the state was founded. The only times it really stopped was during the boom. So really, people emigrating is normal.

Unfortunately, only the good ones will emigrate. The wasters and dole artists will stay behind.

Normal for a basketcase of country , yes I agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

that clown was on marian finnucane some months back with the pure genius suggestion

'if people are not happy with their homes they should just hand the keys back to the banks and rent, renting is much cheaper than paying a mortgage'

i actually didnt realise how daft he was, pure narcissist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

RTE have paid him a wad of cash to sit down and talk bollox with Gerry Ryan for an hour tonight :rolleyes:

Wonder what the likes of John Magnier / Michael O'Leary / Dermot Desmond think when this clown is heralded as "one of Irelands finest entrepreneurs", I doubt they would lose any sleep over it but still...........its farcical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,095 ✭✭✭doc_17

Did anyone see him on the front line a few weeks back? He was telling young people to get their finger out and go and make it happen for themself and stop relying on the governemt to do something for them. But this past 2 years he's been everywhere begging for car scrappage etc to get people buying the overpriced cars he sells in this country. He's a muppet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

oceanclub wrote: »
    Emigration - Fianna Fail's best hope of sorting out the job crisis. They're delighted people are leaving. It's a wonder they don't send Brian Cowen over to Departures at Dublin Airport to sing people off:

(A song about emigration, ironically.)

P.

and it was the same in the 1980s , they massaged the figures but actively encouraged people to leave . on morning ireland yesterday it said that 55000 people are waiting on a desision on whether they will receive unemployment assistance or not , the wait is up to 17 weeks , why ? , probably you will just get fed up and leave the country , that 55000 is not included in the 430,000 already unemployed not to mention the 100000 who have emigrated already , so mr cowen will have lot more sad laments to sing about , but as always it will not bother the elite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Idiot. My answer to him is I already did that.Put in my time. Spent the summers here working in shops and bars and one in the States doing the same. And I'm now working hard here. So if I end up on the dole it's my fault???What an idiot.He's got the typical attitude of "well sure I never got an education etcetc and I'm fine. Look where I got to". What people like him tend to forget is that there's often an element of the right place and the right time to where they end up...ie luck, something they've no control over. Of course, he'd never agree with that.
    Yes there are some young people who have an entitled attitude. But that doesn't explain the huge dole queues and unemployment rates. If life was according to Bill Cullen, those would be explained away by a "bad attitude..it's their own fault they're on the dole".
    What a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Cullens a chancer, I reckon.

I don't believe half of the rubbish the comes out of his mouth.

All his b/s about paying taxes etc - Cullen needs to remember that the current car scrappage scheme is being underwritten by the taxpayer.
    So going on and on about him never taking hand outs is more lies on his part.

Incidentally where does most of the revenue from each car sale go?
    Abroad, that's where.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Sleepy wrote: »
    Bill Cullen is interested in one person: Bill Cullen.

Remember that before taking any of his suggestions seriously. Unfortunately Mr Lenihan forgot this while agreeing to help support the German, Japanese, Korean and (in Mr Cullen's situation) French motor industries.

Bill Cullen is a used car sales man. If he is a voice for Irish business it does more damage than a religious fanatic ringing his bell shouting "bring out your dead". Probably contributes less to our society too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I'll be honest, I don't watch much if any Irish TV apart from the news so I've never seen that show he did on TV3 or TG4 or wherever it was and hence I'm only vaguely aware of who he is - to be honest, as the thread is, it wouldn't matter who, RTE and other stations cycle their external commentary people roughly once a season or two, depending on who gets mass recognition for a while. Personality flavour of the month one year, ignored the next.

As this thread has primarily been about Bill Cullen by the looks of things as opposed to using his remarks as a basis for an Irish economy discussion, it's not going anywhere. Locked accordingly.