Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US/IRL] 6x12 - "Everybody Loves Hugo" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 13-04-2010 11:22pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "EVERYBODY LOVES HUGO" -

Episode Title: "Everybody Loves Hugo"
    Airdate: April 13th 2010

Synopsis (from TV.Com):
    Hurley agonizes over what the group should do next, and Locke is curious about the new arrival to his camp.

Next New Episode: 6x13 - April 20th 2010

SPOILER WARNING:

From now on, this thread shall reveal details of the episode mentioned above. If you have not yet seen this episode, please do not move any further down the thread.

A REMINDER ABOUT USE OF SPOILERS:

No discussion of future episode spoilers. That includes anything the writers may have revealed in interviews, podcasts, etc. Even behind spoiler tags they don't belong in this thread. Promos for next week shouldn't be posted in here either.

And out of respect for those following the show on RTE, this episode should NOT be discussed outside of this thread until it has aired on RTE.

What did you think of "Everybody Loves Hugo"? 186 votes

0%
    9%
    damnyanksBrian?IrishstabberNewaglishheebusjeebusmurpho999Aldebaranrobby^5BazBoxnkay1985Resi12KevtherevmarkflawaltersobchakCactus ColmColumcBoom_Boom 17 votes
    27%
    YakuzaSir Digby Chicken CaesarnothingJTManV9Drag00n79pickarooneyPsychedelicFaithfjonCatsmokinpotDiddy Kongyom 1SherifustakeykavsmdfMr.Nice GuymicksTonyD79doriansmith 52 votes
    31%
    WashoutCreatureHelixLFCFanhomerzerobindybandywesKiithqzStuxnetleggojimbling[Deleted User]djkeoghAgamemnonjimbob_jonesRob30888shakeydudeMr. KAOR 58 votes
    16%
    whitetrashBardAnimaDempseyLizardKingslave1the_barfly1AntiRipSad ProfessorTristramBorat_SagdiyevchickenpooeasMcDermotXNabyLadisthemanlizardfudgeMr. Guappabrick tamlandadamski8Nuri Sahin 31 votes
    7%
    EoinoprDonkeyStyle \o/niemadThe guyDiddler82claivaBenny CakeGrim.Mr FreezeSimpleLogicprunudotwitch1984Yitzhak Rabin 14 votes
    2%
    HavermeyerAuversMick Shrimptonme-skywalker 4 votes
    3%
    [Deleted User]EKRIUQJay RuMrMojoRisin'cli2931Dymo 6 votes
    0%
    genericguy 1 vote
    1%
    phantom_lordAlanstrainormegapixel 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I've been afraid to post in these ep threads this season because I have no idea what is going on...however I think I'll stay up tonight to watch the late version......I might even vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

When will it be up around? :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I've been afraid to post in these ep threads this season because I have no idea what is going on...
    It's Lost - nobody knows what's going on. ;)

In fact, I think that's what I'm going to miss most about the show: the sense of bewilderment that follows watching an episode. I know everyone wants answers - I do too - but there's a part of me that hopes they might end the show on a complete mind-f**k of a twist that will leave us scratching our heads for years to come. It would be infuriating, but fitting at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

When will it be up around? :)

Ill be watching it in less than 10 minutes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

just about to press play now

lol did that death was totally unexpected!!

Loving the sideways so far

I think the answer to the whispers is a bit crappy tbh.

The whole scene seemed so scripted and forced, kinda broke the 4th wall for me

At least it was an answer! Two major mysteries cleared up. Plus the whole Libby thing shows that the producers knew what they were doing! :eek:

Yeah actually when was it libby was first shown in the mental hospital. Early season 2?

Just thinkin now after the well scene, why doesnt flock just jump down and turn the wheel, get sent to the desert andnever come back to the island?

For **** sake, they build the whole ep towards the meeting between Locke and Hurleys crew then they just cut to the flash sideways for the shock ending. Poor tv if u ask me. Locke will obviously survive, he didn't love anyone on the island so the only way he'd remember it is by a near death experience.

We get an explanation of the whispers. GREAT!

I enjoyed the previous to 2 eps but this was was just boring! I wont use the "f" word but cud someone please tell me what we learned from this ep. Besides the whispers

I guess for the rest of the flash sideways we can look forward to Des either playing Cilla Black or dude from the Jackel.

At least it was an answer! Two major mysteries cleared up. Plus the whole Libby thing shows that the producers knew what they were doing! :eek:

It did, how, that just a nice way to tie up the story. Proves nothing to me!

I was in stitches at that ending haha, twisted mind I think.

For all the reveals and things that happened in that episode it hasnt made me excited or dyin to see next week ep. as the previous few have

Great episode! Good to see Hurley reuniting with Libby and asserting more authority. Though I still don't see why they needed to meet with Flocke? Ending was fairly shocking alright...did he do it in the hope that Locke would remember the Island through a near death experience?

Thats what it seems like to me. A bit extreme though all the same as it could have just downright killed him. He could have just snook up behind him and put him in a sleeper hold for a while or something

Gitb1 wrote: »
    Thats what it seems like to me. A bit extreme though all the same as it could have just downright killed him. He could have just snook up behind him and put him in a sleeper hold for a while or something

whats the worst thing that cud happen, he won't be able to walk!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Good ep, not as good as Des or Richard's eps this season, but solid enough.

Whispers reveal was lame.

Who the hell was that kid?

And is it just me or is it possible that Des off-island and on-island are now linked bceause of the electromagnetism and MRI machine? Perhaps he tried to kill Locke because he got pushed down a well by him?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I didn't like what happened to Ilana, but it was worth it for Ben's reaction afterwards. Emerson rules. I don't know what the point of her character was though. She did nothing that Richard couldn't have done. Smokey should have ate her in the premiere.

Desmond is acting very Jacob-like in the sideways. And as with Jacob, there seems to be a twisted method to his madness. The sideways are going well though and are probably more interesting than the island-stuff right now - quite a reversal on a few weeks ago.

Some great stuff with Hurley on the island. But Jack's passiveness is growing tiresome. He's already had several false starts this season after spending all of last season mopping floors. It feels like he should have reached this point (confronting Locke) in the premiere.

The answer to the whispers was probably as good as possible. We talked about this before - they've been used too inconsistently to be anything else. But I wish they hadn't spoon-fed us the answer. They should had given hints earlier in the season and left it that.

All in all, another good episode. I could complain more about the lethargic plot but there's really no point. People are literally blowing up or nor blowing up because the island wants them to. Focus on the characters, guys, because everything else is going to get resolved with Deus Ex Machina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

No idea what to make of that. Flocke is amazing though.

"Just ignore him."

Brilliant line and I don't even have a clue why.

Could Desmond have run over Locke to ensure that Jack has to operate on him now? Whatever Desmond's plans are, I love the new character arc. But on-island Desmond BETTER not be dead now. Especially after last week's episode.

Illana will go down in the annals of Arzt, Nikki, Paolo and Frogurt for cool, shocking deaths. Great way to kick off the episode.

I'm feeling the usual end-of-season buzz now. I'm gonna miss that. You spend most of the series, looking at the screen blankly, thinking "What the hell am I watching?", then it all starts to come together and you care...even though you've still no idea why.

An 8 from me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Didn't like this episode at all. The whispers reveal was completely lame. A ten year old could have come up with as simple an answer as that. There wasn't even any funny moments for a Hurley centric episode. I knew before Illana blew up, that that was going to happen, which made her character all the more pointless.

Perhaps its just the let down after last weeks episode, but I really did not enjoy this one at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

if ever there was an episode to turn everything on its head, this was the one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Whispers "reveal" was completely shoehorned in for the sake of ticking another answer off the list. Really cheapened an otherwise decent episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Completely agree with everyones opinion about the whispers, complete anticlimatic scene with Hurley and Michael.. Its good to get the answers but id prefare not just for the sake of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Yeah the whispers reveal was a bit shit but I really enjoyed the rest of the episode. Delighted to see Hurley and Libby again. And I agree with SP that I had thoughts of Jacob while seeing sideways Desmond. He's some legend. Thought the final scene was brilliant!

Just don't like having to wait another week now. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Tragamin2k2

Pierre Chang doesnt age so? :pac::pac::pac::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 silsean

Not a bad ep.

I was thinking to myself when Ilyana was packing the bag, i wondered if she was using two bags because if not she was packing the water very forcefully. And then kablamo. Ben gets his balls back. Who knows whats to see from Ben now.

Ron DMC wrote: »
    Perhaps he tried to kill Locke because he got pushed down a well by him?

Yeah could be. He might be using the manifest to "show" them something but a little bit of revenge on the side isn't going a miss for him.
    Some great stuff with Hurley on the island. But Jack's passiveness is growing tiresome. He's already had several false starts this season after spending all of last season mopping floors. It feels like he should have reached this point (confronting Locke) in the premiere.

You know that Lighthouse smashing extreme Jack? The kind of Jack people started disliking by season 4? I think he's only good in drips and drabs. So i welcome a more calmer version of Jack because everyone knows he'll go ape**** at the end of this. Or even if he doesn't, i'd welcome a calm Jack after his childish behaviour at the Lighthouse. What a p***k.

So is the well that MIB threw Desmond down the same well that led to the Orchid cavern? I thought that was filled-in the last time we saw it, but with all the time-jumping it's hard to say. Maybe it's another well leading to the same place? Ugh, no more time travel, please.

didn't flocke say there was a load of them on the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

I thought the look on Desmond's face when he ran Locke over was priceless.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

yekahs wrote: »
    There wasn't even any funny moments for a Hurley centric episode.

"How do you break the ice with the smoke monster?" I liked that one

I enjoyed the episode but there was definitely something that left a sour taste..
    Ilana's death, Desmond being thrown into the well or the answer with the whispers.

I'm fine with the answer but ya the way it was done was poor.. surely they could have done something like Hurley asking what are you doing here and Michael going crazy telling him he can't leave kind of thing.. Instead we get Hurley :so your dead guys stuck here?
    Michael : Ah ya

Liked the ending though and Des seriously better not be dead...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I thought it was a gripping episode. The shock of Ilana's death throws all Jacob's plan and what he is supposed to stand for into disorder, especially given Richard's crisis for knowing what to do. Jacob it seems is getting fishier, not that Locke is coming off any better.

I really liked Michael's final scene. It was nicely acted by Harold Perrineau and quite sad for his character. I was sure he'd also say "If you ever see Walt again...".

I wasn't expecting going in to this episode to see the Losties join Locke. I don't trust that the characters are at all safe now.
    I had it in mind that the outrigger scene would play out in this episode (the one where as they time travelled Locke, Sawyer & co got shot at) since I saw the youtube preview of Ilana stating the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

It's Lost - nobody knows what's going on. ;)

In fact, I think that's what I'm going to miss most about the show: the sense of bewilderment that follows watching an episode. I know everyone wants answers - I do too - but there's a part of me that hopes they might end the show on a complete mind-f**k of a twist that will leave us scratching our heads for years to come. It would be infuriating, but fitting at the same time.

I totally agree. A lot of people I know that have given up on the show keep telling me I'm going to be disappointed because the end wont explain things. They dont understand that I'd be perfectly happy to still not know what is going on at the end! I care a bit about answers, but I enjoy the mind f*ck too much to really be bothered if everything isnt answered.

Case in point, I'd have preferred to never know what the whispers were than to have such a random shoe horned scene as we got in this episode. It was distractingly bad. We had a general idea what they were before this, and I was content with that. I dont need everything completely spelled out. I think it'll do a disservice to the show if they do that for everything.

I did enjoy this episode though. I love all things Desmond, so I really enjoyed him going around the sideways world. His face when he knocked over Locke was priceless. I love Hurley too, and was happy to see him and Libby get a chance, even if it is in the sideways world.

Cant wait to see what happens now the two groups have come together. Flocke has everyone he needs to leave, and handily a pilot, so I'm interested to know what he'll do next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I didn't have a big issue with the whispers scene. Sure it was random, unnecessary, kinda cheesy and whatnot...but at this late stage, I think they're just looking for ways to tick off as many answers as they can afford to give us.

Look what The Matrix had to resort to when they threw up too many complicated questions that they couldn't answer naturally, for example. I'd rather have a couple of clunky scenes than that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Apart from the horribly forced revelation about the whispers, I thought it was a great episode. That look between Jack and Flocke at the end just gave me the feeling that things are really about to kick off.

Poor Sun though, she finally gets to Flocke's camp and Jin isn't even there anymore, that reunion must be being saved for the finale.

Oh and how is Des gonna get out of that well? Couldn't help but think of this song when that happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

So is the well that MIB threw Desmond down the same well that led to the Orchid cavern? I thought that was filled-in the last time we saw it, but with all the time-jumping it's hard to say. Maybe it's another well leading to the same place? Ugh, no more time travel, please.

It couldn't be the same well because the Orchid station is in it's place.

Best thing about this episode was post-epiphany powerDesmond creeping the f*ck out of MiB.

"Why aren't you afraid?" - he almost sounded afraid himself. Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Really enjoyed the episode to be honest, give me Hurley/Libby anyday over the Sawyer/Jack/Kate ****e.

The ending was comical, Des probably did do it just so he could get Locke to cross paths with Jack again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Best line was Sayer'so you talk to wood now to' :D

Also what if Desmond does no what to do but its in the sideways and he's doing a bit of a Sam from quantum leap, fixing situations that have gone wrong because the evil got off the island.

Though I do think he tried to kill Locke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Liked the episode. Didn't see that ending coming at all.

I'd like to know who the kid in the jungle was though. Was he the same kid as before? And how come Sawyer and Desmond could see him as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I reckon the kid is Jacob from BC times and he is in his original form as the body he was in was killed

orla wrote: »
    I'd like to know who the kid in the jungle was though. Was he the same kid as before?
    No, definitely a different kid. The previous kid had blond hair. The kid in this episode had dark hair. They must be manifestations of the island. They can't really be anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

I wonder did they make this episode because people were giving out about Libby's story being unfinished?

It was a decent episode but there were a few silly moments alright. I like Desmond's role as a Jacob like figure in the flash-sideways. He was always a special character and I thought they'd just relegate him to the background until a few episodes ago. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭mackthefinger

Enjoyed this episode, but have always enjoyed the Hurley episodes. Good to see him and libby getting it together. After last weeks build up, I'd be peeved if that's the end of Desmond. Hopefully he'll be able to crawl and push the big wheel. He seemed very docile, so perhaps he seen this coming and it's all part of the plan.

The whispers reveal seemed slightly anti-climatic. But I guess the writers are starting to feel the pressure for reveals in every episode. Like others have said previously, I won't be too unhappy if they keep some things mysterious. It'll just be in keeping with overall mystique of the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 silsean

I think Desmond is dead on the island! No maybes about it. I mean we didn't think Locke would be killed off but he was. I'm guessing Desmond is gone from the island but he'll still be doing some work on the parallell timeline.

Anima wrote: »
    I wonder did they make this episode because people were giving out about Libby's story being unfinished?

Yeah of course. But also it was easy to fit in as it was building on a theme about seeing people you love that Desmond and Charlie started off with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I think the writers should save some reveals for a podcast because the way they revealed the whispers looked very forced when you compare to how the character normally react to supernatural things happening.

A good episode and the flash sideways are getting interesting.

Desmond knew he would have to make a sacifice, maybe Widmore knew that Flocke would show him a well and dump him down it. Maybe this is part of Widmore's plan as Flocke definately finds Desmond too unpredictable for his liking and maybe Widmore has forced an error from Flocke that he'll be able to exploit.

Cant wait for the next one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SimpleLogic

If Lock gets a flash I wonder what will happen, could he possibly see Flockes memories? I hope so :D

If anyone saw the promo for next week
    it shows that Des is alive down the well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I really enjoyed this episode. All characters bar Widmores featured, loads of twists, deaths, attempted murders, good flashsideways, a reveal, explosions, Ben Locke Sawyer Desmonds and Hurleys dialogue in the show was excellent, and the dude from Xmen was in! It's a 9 from me!

Firstly Illane, Good ridance, Bens right her purpose was finished, she wasnt even that hot.
    Sawyers sounding like a petulant child, hope he turns it around.

I found the Desmond aspect miles more interesting than Hurleys. Hes seen almost like a fairy godmother entering peoples lives and making them see the 'light' so to speak.
    Flashsideways are now better for one feature alone: Desmond!
    Desmond ran over Locke to a....
    A) Kill him, to sumhow stop Flocke
    B) Give him a near death experience to see the flashes
    aside
    ( i really felt sorry for Locke, he gets an awful beating through the series)

The little boy they saw is the same character but is has gotten older perhaps indicating to Locke that time is running out and Jacob will return.
    Lockes conversation to Desmond was different from his with Sawyers as they walked together. It seems Des wasnt really questioning Locke but challenging him and making some great points.
    'the island has it in for us all'

Flocke doesnt know why he is here or what Des is capable of, hes knows hes Widmore secret weapon and that alone is why he threw him down the well, even though Desmond never once resisted or questioned his motives.
    Des knows what he has to do, he knew he had to make a sacrifice but getting drowned in a well was not it (i hope). Hes far from dead. He wasnt afraid of Flocke and that worried Flocke more than anything, his face went from concern, to fear, to disbelief and then to the look of a guy who wants to kill you.

The only thing that worried me was Des called Flocke John Locke, i hope this was part of the plan, i doubt he walk willingly with Sayid to Locke only to be murdered.

Hoping Ben and Widmore clash next week. I like Richards determination also.

Michael could have played a better part but at least he didn't mention his son for a change. I dont know what Hurleys thinking, giving Locke exactly what he wants but he cant kill them i guess and itl make for a interesting start to next weeks episode.

Whispers: Grand answer, too simple for some but an answer all the same. I'd appreciate one of these in every episode but i dont want the writers to answer everythin, leave something for us to debate and argue about until this show is just a dusty boxset under our beds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Another great episode. The only part I didn't like was the whispers explanation..... it's obviously just thrown in there to satisfy all the answer hunters.
    It wouldn't put me off the episode in any way though, I mean, who cares really. The whispers were never that important anyway, just something weird that went on.

ilana's death was definitely a shock to me, although I was kind of expecting her to die sometime soon. Her role was pretty complete, she didnt know what to do anymore.

Desmond was absolutely brilliant, on island and off. Not sure if he's dead on island, but I hope not. Even if he is, I'm sure he'll still play his part..... it's certainly not the end of Desmond :)

My initial thought on the final scene was that Desmond is fully aware of what is going on on the island. He knows Lockes body is being used by MiB. I guess he's hoping that killing him off island will do some damage on island or something to that effect.

There is no way he did it to cause a near death experience, that would be way too fcked up. :eek:

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Best thing about this episode was post-epiphany powerDesmond creeping the f*ck out of MiB.

"Why aren't you afraid?" - he almost sounded afraid himself. Brilliant.

To me this was the best as well. This is the reason I cant seem to believe that he's dead. He just seemed to know what was going on. Perhaps, as someone mentioned, he knew that that was his sacrifice and by letting Flocke do that it will somehow lead to his undoing.

anyway, all in all I thought it was up there with Desmonds and Richards this year.... a close 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Firstly Illane, Good ridance, Bens right her purpose was finished, she wasnt even that hot.

Actually that's something I wanted to mention as well. Never liked the character. Not sure if it was the script or the way the actress delivered it, but she wasn't believable and I never liked her.

Whispers: Grand answer, too simple for some but an answer all the same.

Stop me if I'm wrong (I could well be), but weren't the whispers associated with appearances of The Others in the first couple of seasons? And if Hugo's the only one who can communicate with the dead, why can everyone else hear them? It makes no sense to me.