Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Report someone for no insurance, tax, NCT?

• 13-04-2010 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

Just reading through this thread about not having a license...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055882608

Does anyone know if the Gardaí entertain reports of someone driving around with no tax, insurance, NCT? (I'm not sure if he has a license!)

Basically, the neighbour is a bit of an dangerous evil ba$tard and has just threatened me for asking his equally evil little children to stop drawing on the walls of the apartment complex... it would seem that this is normal enough behaviour for him and he is cool with that. He also mentioned that he wouldn't look favourably on a letter of complaint from the Management Company so I don't want to provoke him into doing anything to me!

But... this muppet drives around every day with an insurance disc that expired in June 2008, tax that expired in January 2009 and no NCT. Ideally I'd like to see him dragged away in tears by the Gardaí and then his children can go and write all over his prison cell but I'd settle for a substantial fine or seeing his car impounded or something along them lines.

Anyone know if the Gardaí will entertain me or would they have to actually catch him driving the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Just reading through this thread about not having a license...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055882608

Does anyone know if the Gardaí entertain reports of someone driving around with no tax, insurance, NCT? (I'm not sure if he has a license!)

Basically, the neighbour is a bit of an dangerous evil ba$tard and has just threatened me for asking his equally evil little children to stop drawing on the walls of the apartment complex... it would seem that this is normal enough behaviour for him and he is cool with that. He also mentioned that he wouldn't look favourably on a letter of complaint from the Management Company so I don't want to provoke him into doing anything to me!

But... this muppet drives around every day with an insurance disc that expired in June 2008, tax that expired in January 2009 and no NCT. Ideally I'd like to see him dragged away in tears by the Gardaí and then his children can go and write all over his prison cell but I'd settle for a substantial fine or seeing his car impounded or something along them lines.

Anyone know if the Gardaí will entertain me or would they have to actually catch him driving the car?

Write a letter to your local Traffic Corps office addressed to the Sergeant In Charge.

Include details of the car, the driver and their work patterns etc. You can be sure they will be caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Talk about dodging the issue. It's about his kids. Not anything to do with his car in reality. He's bullying you into not complaining, is he going to do anything in reality?
    I don't even know if this is the right place for this. I'll leave it here for the time being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Robxxx7

Can you do the same for somebody who drives around on their own with just a provisional licence ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Robxxx7 wrote: »
    Can you do the same for somebody who drives around on their own with just a provisional licence ?
    from experience, AGS tend not to enforce that rule unless there is a reason to.

EDIT:Not personal experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

Talk about dodging the issue. It's about his kids. Not anything to do with his car in reality. He's bullying you into not complaining, is he going to do anything in reality?
    I don't even know if this is the right place for this. I'll leave it here for the time being.

think youre right there,think the way is to have them evicted maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Make sure you do it

i'm forking out the guts of 2k next month for tax and insurance, why the hell should we be paying and feckers like that not paying and if he crashed into me I'd get nothing

I could go an a Carribean cruise with the 2k if i was like him, these guys are scum and need to be treated as such

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Your right it is about his kids.......the fact they travel in an un-insured vehicle. And everyones kids for that matter.....and you....and I.

Un-insured driving has no excuse whatsoever. The O/P may be wrong about the insurance....however (s)he may be right......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Your right it is about his kids.......the fact they travel in an un-insured vehicle. And everyones kids for that matter.....and you....and I.

Un-insured driving has no excuse whatsoever. The O/P may be wrong about the insurance....however (s)he may be right......

Most definitely, completely agree. It's just the way the OP was bringing the other issue into the equation as if it was a way to get back at this eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I can't blame the OP for wanting to get back at the gob****e. Society these days tends to allow these people to do what they like and get away with it, so if the OP can gain even a little victory over this person while also getting an uninsured driver off the road.....fair play to him I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Well, we had serious issues with a neighbour in the last couple of weeks, Guards called then my housemates tyres slashed, all you can do is get on to your management company and if he threatens or harms you then report it to the Gardai. Also I wouldn't recommend speaking to a trying to scold his children, that is not your place, but that's not for this forum to discuss this.

As for reporting him about his car, follow the advice given by Nice Guy Always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

Quick phone call with car description, reg number and work patterns and he will be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Take a snap or two of the discs if you can. Or a video paning from the reg plate to the discs. Mail in to the station, or whatever you're supposed to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭TurkeyBurger

Write a letter to your local Traffic Corps office addressed to the Sergeant In Charge.

Include details of the car, the driver and their work patterns etc. You can be sure they will be caught.

Excellent suggestion, thanks for this, I will let you know of the outcome (if any).

Dodging the underlying issue but addressing another important issue. You're right though, not really anything to do with his car. It is about him, his general behaviour and his complete lack of respect for everyone else on the road. And Yes, I do believe he will actually do something, he is not a very nice bloke.
    think youre right there,think the way is to have them evicted maybe

That will be the longer term plan but if I follow up on that today, he will know it was me and I would expect repurcussions. If I can get one up on him until then, it is a little victory. Petty? Yes. Worthwhile? Yes.

He is right, he has seen this go on for the past few months.
    biko wrote: »
    Take a snap or two of the discs if you can. Or a video paning from the reg plate to the discs. Mail in to the station, or whatever you're supposed to do.

Excellent suggestion, I'll do this as some sort of covert operation. I'll need some beer and the cover of darkness. Thanks for all the suggestions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

biko wrote: »

Dont do this do what nice guy suggest,he might see you looking at his car and think nothing of it,but then if he gets pulled and done a few weeks later even the thickest of gobsheens would put 2 + 2 together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭TurkeyBurger

tossy wrote: »
    Dont do this do what nice guy suggest,he might see you looking at his car and think nothing of it,but then if he gets pulled and done a few weeks later even the thickest of gobsheens would put 2 + 2 together.

I see your point. Especially if I've had a few beers and have my face painted with camouflage stripes, it will all look a bit suspicious. I'll give this option a miss and leave it to the experts. Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Max Power1 wrote: »
    from experience, AGS tend not to enforce that rule unless there is a reason to.

EDIT:Not personal experience

Sure they made a whole program on how they dont enforce it and put it on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Stekelly wrote: »
    Sure they made a whole program on how they dont enforce it and put it on RTE.

I think any member of AGS that posts here will tell you that show was a load of codswallop produced to depict the members as decent fellas who'll let you away with anything once you're sound