Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heathers

• 13-04-2010 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Their songs are catchy but samey (if you know what i mean).
    Is it them who has a song in a tourism ireland advert?
    They've obviously been listening to some Luka Bloom albums. Good luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

That song in the advert was doing my head in before I finished watching it for the first time. Why? A combination of reasons, it was grating and I immediately knew it was going to get played to death by Ray D'arcy and his kind.

I do like their song with Super Extra Bonus Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I got their album based on the strength of the SEBP song, and the album isn't as good.
    It really is very samey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

i cant stand them. They so desperatly want to sound like tegan and sara. Their word pronunciation does my nut in and their lyrics - dont get me started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

I like the tourism ad song, but that's really the only song by them I can remember, and I keep looking at their stuff trying to find more catchy numbers but... no joy so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

I don't care what age they are, i just think it's very bland....a good producer would help...they sound too "Irishy" for my tastes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I do like their song with Super Extra Bonus Party.

Yeah that's the only thing they've done that I've liked. I've never really listened to SEBP though so not sure where the catchiness is coming from on that one, the girls or the mask-wearing lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

red_ice wrote: »
    They so desperatly want to sound like tegan and sara.

Actually, I know the girls and they'd never heard of Tegan and Sara until someone said just that. I've still never listened to T&S so I'll take yer word! :)

The album is, as someone said, good but a little samey. Individually, some of the songs are great but it's not an album I listen to all the way through. I have a couple fav tracks but their names escape me. The song they did with SEBP is fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

I quite like them. Funny that someone above said "they sound too Irishy", I've seen other people say the opposite.

They're young and they've got some good tracks. I'll definitely keep an eye for their new stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I was playing that song off the tv 2 years ago on a southern radio station and nobody gave a sh*te!!!!:rolleyes:

Actually, I know the girls and they'd never heard of Tegan and Sara until someone said just that. I've still never listened to T&S so I'll take yer word! :)

Fair play, and well done to them for doing so well.

As for Tegan and Sarah

Have a gander

Heres another which i think is just a fantastic song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I always loved the song in the Irish tourism advert. My best friend and I spent days hanging out together and youtube-ing loads of music. That song would come on as an ad at the start and so many times I said, "Ohhh wow, what's this song?" ... "Yeah, that's that ad you love again!".
    Then one day he googled the name of the song and actually put it on for me and I fell in love! :)

Give me Heathers over "all these highs and lows" any day though.

Jaysus - The Laundry Shop are woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

AnonoBoy wrote: »

I'll take neither, ta.

Ah yeah but if you had to choose.....

Hello Rock, meet Hard Place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Jaysus - The Laundry Shop are woeful.

Agreed! That song was absolute balls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Lornen

Fair play, and well done to them for doing so well.

As for Tegan and Sarah

Have a gander

Heres another which i think is just a fantastic song.

It's funny that you say they said they have never heard of Tegan and Sara, but they managed in 2008 to do a cover of one of their songs called "Nineteen"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60SzGffP0fg

That's a queer one that..

Also, one of them has the exact same hair cut as T&S.
    I personally think they are really un-original and I can't stand them.
    I think using a fellow band as an inspiration is fine, but completely mimicing their vocal style is absolutely criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

One of the girls does have the exact same hair as Tegan & Sara, just noticed that a few days ago when I was watching the video for Remember When!

I don't know, I think they're pretty good. Their songs are catchy for definite anyway :) Don't think they sound exactly like T&S though, maybe a bit on some songs, but on others I can't hear it at all.

I think the thing I dislike most is that a few moments ago I asked one of the twins, Louise if they had inspiration from Tegan and Sara and she denied it completely.
    Seemed like a flat out lie to me, but what else could I say? She's denying ever hearing of Tegan and Sara while recording their album, but it seems so far fetched!

I mean they did a tour with the former Mould Peaches lead vocal back in 2008 when I first heard of Heathers, and i'm sure they stumbled upon some Tegan and Sara while in the states, considering they were also doing covers of their songs at the time..

Hmm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 hiccups

I saw them yesterday in HMV, at least they were good live.
    I think they're pretty great, however, they're a little bit...shouty? And their songs do tend to sound the same. But it is just the two of 'em and a guitar, so I guess the songs sounding the same is a given?
    I just love them for Remember When.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Lornen wrote: »
    I think the thing I dislike most is that a few moments ago I asked one of the twins, Louise if they had inspiration from Tegan and Sara and she denied it completely.

You asked her a few moments ago? Do you mean a few months ago?

Of course they've heard of them, that doesn't mean however that they consciously drew inspiration from them, which is what she denied to you, is it not?

They have a facebook fan page. I asked her why she denied knowing who Tegan and Sara were when it was very obvious they had heard some of their songs, and Louise replied relatively quick, signing her name, stating that at the time of the recording of the album which took place in feb 2008, she had no idea who they were at that stage. I had to delete the comment as it was very negative and I didn't want a load of crazed fans bashing me. But I have it saved into my computer where I print screened the conversation if you wish me to publish it here or sent it to you via mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

They have a facebook fan page. I asked her why she denied knowing who Tegan and Sara were when it was very obvious they had heard some of their songs, and Louise replied relatively quick, signing her name, stating that at the time of the recording of the album which took place in feb 2008, she had no idea who they were at that stage. I had to delete the comment as it was very negative and I didn't want a load of crazed fans bashing me. But I have it saved into my computer where I print screened the conversation if you wish me to publish it here or sent it to you via mail.

So perhaps they hadn't heard of them until they'd finished recording the album. More unlikely things have happened.

I'm sure there has been. I'll stick with my theory that they decided to rip off the look and sound of a band that isn't very well known here in Ireland and seem to be succeeding. Anyway, I came to Boards.ie not to troll, or to slate a band without rhyme or reason. Hopefully my opinion will be as welcomed as much as the positive ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Skidmcmarx

I gotta say i'm definitly a fan. My girlfriend heard "Waiter" on the radio about a year ago. I googled them and found their myspace page and some youtube videos and loved them. I'm a big fan of Tegan and Sarah too and dont see why them being similar is such a big deal.

Seriously love Margie as gaeilge. Great song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

I'm sure there has been. I'll stick with my theory that they decided to rip off the look and sound of a band that isn't very well known here in Ireland and seem to be succeeding. Anyway, I came to Boards.ie not to troll, or to slate a band without rhyme or reason. Hopefully my opinion will be as welcomed as much as the positive ones.
    Saw their interview with Darragh. They come across as being very grounded. And their single is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

Whatever about the T&S thing, I really like the album. I booked them to do a show in DIT last year and as well as being great performers, they're incredibly down to earth. Glad to see them getting a good bit of notice :)

If I had to chose the two bands I'd defintely chose Heathers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Joe_Dull

i cant stand them. They so desperatly want to sound like tegan and sara. Their word pronunciation does my nut in and their lyrics - dont get me started.

Could not agree more. And that bloody tourism ad plays before every second video I try to watch on YouTube ... their voices are constantly strained and the irritating harmonies are always slightly off as far as I can hear. Awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I don't like them, mainly because they sing so harshly :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    they sound too "Irishy" for my tastes...

****ing christ. :rolleyes:

The debut had potential. The fact that they sing off-kilter is a love/hate thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

I would just say that anoyone who has seen them live recently will tell you their voices have come on leaps and bounds in the years since the album was recorded, everything has been smoothed out and their timing is far better. Developing as musicians and performers, who'd a thunk it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

Orizio wrote: »
    ****ing christ. :rolleyes:

The debut had potential. The fact that they sing off-kilter is a love/hate thing.

Check out their sometime touring partners Ghost Mice... now there is an off-kilter band that make it work, and I adore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Is their album worth getting. I love the single

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭eire1

Yes, it's definately worth getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭louloumc89

I really like this band. I like the 'Irishy' sound. I'm so sick of Irish bands who emulate the American accent, or worse, the English accent. I think fair play. As for the Tegan and Sara thing, and denying whatever, I would be sickened to death by now with that. They're twins, singing and harmonising to an acoustic guitar, people are always going to compare them to a similar set up. It's a great album, whether or not you take into account they we're 17 year olds, and released it independently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

louloumc89 wrote: »
    As for the Tegan and Sara thing, and denying whatever, I would be sickened to death by now with that. They're twins, singing and harmonising to an acoustic guitar, people are always going to compare them to a similar set up.

To be fair it is more than them having a similar set up. They completely ripped off and watered down their sound. I know it happens all the time in music but at least most bands have the decency to admit who inspired them rather than say they were unaware of them.

Anyone any idea what the next single is going to be or any other strong tracks of the album??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭sarah+1

I'm a pretty big Tegan and Sara fan and I wouldn't even compare the two acts. Tegan and Sara have very different writing styles to each others and whoever writes the song sings lead vocals, whereas Heathers harmonize and their voices compliment each other.
    They have a good few strong tracks on the album, I'd definitely recommend buying it. They're also class live :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

I met them a while ago.. Before the Tourism Ireland ad..
    Didn't manage to hear them, then a mate showed me them and I love the music!
    Does anyone know what kind of guitar Louise plays? I love the sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

Acoustic:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

thesultan wrote: »
    Acoustic:P
    I got that much! :P
    I mean make and model like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭GirlOfGlass

Tegan & Sara wannabes. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

I just can't believe Heathers, Adebisi, Enemies and yer man off rté are all so big these days. Anarchist DIY punks one minute, fame and fortune the next.

Heathers' album is alright, their vocal harmonising is really impressive but the guitar playing and lyricism are pretty weak. They can go down two paths...improvement creatively, which they're surely capable of, or take 'remember when' and just repeat ad nauseum, making loads and loads of money.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Pretty much think Tegan & Sara but not as good when I hear them

<3 tegan & sara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 T.O.Recs

Playing with Good Luck in Katie Gallagher's, Bray next Wednesday for anyone interested! 6 euro in.

Gig thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055989095

Facebook Event:http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=140236462659474&ref=ts

I just can't believe Heathers, Adebisi, Enemies and yer man off rté are all so big these days. Anarchist DIY punks one minute, fame and fortune the next.

Are you kidding me?! Adebisi arent getting 1/5th the recognition they deserve! Have to say tho, my opinion might swagger a smidge from the one song i've heard from their new material

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Are you kidding me?! Adebisi arent getting 1/5th the recognition they deserve! Have to say tho, my opinion might swagger a smidge from the one song i've heard from their new material

It's not a criticism at all. Adebisi and Enemies are incredible bands, it's just a shock (a good one) to see them doing well. They might not be getting the recognition they deserve, but where they are is still a huge leap up from skate parks and scout dens.