Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Marathon, One day a week, for a year, Advice wanted

• 13-04-2010 9:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

I would like to run one marathon, one day a week, for a year, for charity. Im just a little worried about the effects on my knees. Any advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

How many marathons have you run so far this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Udai

Ive run the full distance twice. But Ive been running half maraton distances three times a week for the last while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭BJohnson

There's a guy in Canada that is attempting 250 marathons in 2010, so anything is possible. You should check out his site:

http://www.marathonquest250.com/

He has a daily email that you can subscribe to - it will give you a good idea of what he's been going through with his runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Udai wrote: »
    I would like to run one marathon, one day a week, for a year, for charity. Im just a little worried about the effects on my knees. Any advice

if you are worried about your joints loose weight. Less weight, less forces on joints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

Im just a little worried about the effects on my knees. Any advice

cod liver oil (yum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

WUM... :rolleyes:

Why is this a wind up?

A 42.5km long run once a week does not mean its a wind up. Before Christmas I'd cover 50km on a long run day.

Also depends on his definition of "run" - it could be very very slow and thats not going to take much out of you.

The amount of people getting shot down and labelled WUMs is getting a bit much. Okay alot of things may seem impossible to you but that does not make them impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

tunney wrote: »
    Why is this a wind up?

A 42.5km long run once a week does not mean its a wind up. Before Christmas I'd cover 50km on a long run day.

Also depends on his definition of "run" - it could be very very slow and thats not going to take much out of you.

The amount of people getting shot down and labelled WUMs is getting a bit much. Okay alot of things may seem impossible to you but that does not make them impossible.

So someone comes on here to run 26.2miles 1 day a week for a year and asks advice about their knees. Don't you think thats a bit naive if its not a wind up.

Oh come on, Tunney, any sane person wouldn't even think about it, apart from Dean Karnazes!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Again, it's all about the beer and ice creams.

gerard65 wrote: »
    So someone comes on here to run 26.2miles 1 day a week for a year and asks advice about their knees. Don't you think thats a bit naive if its not a wind up.

No, Im not just looking for advice on my kkness. Im looking for advice on nutrition, training and any other health issues which might arise.

Everything really

robinph wrote: »
    Again, it's all about the beer and ice creams.
    ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

No, Im not just looking for advice on my kkness. Im looking for advice on nutrition, training and any other health issues which might arise.

Think it all comes down to how much you have been running, if you have been on high mileage then you might not havemuch of a problem getting around a marathon a week. All depends on how fast you want to run, are you setting a cut of time for each marathon, how well you recover etc.

I knew a few guys who did 22 miles runs almost all year round and this was fine for them all depends on your training todate.

Do you know eddie izzard;)

shels4ever wrote: »
    Think it all comes down to how much you have been running, if you have been on high mileage then you might not havemuch of a problem getting around a marathon a week. All depends on how fast you want to run, are you setting a cut of time for each marathon, how well you recover etc.

I knew a few guys who did 22 miles runs almost all year round and this was fine for them all depends on your training todate.

Do you know eddie izzard;)

So everyone else can slag Eddie except me.

I know guys whose long easy run is 42.5km at 4:15km pace - different stroke, different folks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I know guys whose long easy run is 42.5km at 4:15km pace - different stroke, different folks.

But do they attempt that easy run every day of the week?

They would though be more likely to be able to attempt to do so than someone doing 30'ish miles a week at the moment.

Think I agreed with you there ... I've no problem with the izzard slagging at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I would like to run one marathon, one day a week, for a year, for charity.

You're not being clear here. Do you mean run a marathon every week? Every day? On the same day every week?
    52 marathons a year - difficult, but possible.
    365 marathons a year - wind-up

Now I see why people are talking as if it was possible, I'd read it as 365 of them.

Only looking to run 52 marathons in 12 months. Im happy with anytime under 8 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Only looking to run 52 marathons in 12 months. Im happy with anytime under 8 hours

You shouldn't need to worry about your knees if you're walking a marathon once a week.
    But seriously if you want intelligent responses you need to provide more information.
    What's your current fitness levels (quantity / quality), age, weight, when do you plan to start, etc, it wouldn't be prudent for anyone on here to offer advise with very little information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I met a guy at the Connemara ultra who was in his autumn years, who was running his 17th marathon of the year (that works out at just over 1 per week). This guy (who Abhainn met in Cyprus) is running one marathon race per week, for the year.

Yes, it's possible. If you want advice on how to do it, there's no point in asking here, as it is unlikely that anyone here has undertaken this goal. Contact the guy in the url above, or talk to the guys in the 100 marathon clubs. You'll get your advice there. Catch ya later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭Enduro

I've probably done it as part of my training routine. There is nothing magical about the marathon distance. Its just another distance. If you were asking could you run a ten miler weekly for a year you wouldn't be getting the same degree of sceptism. There's no reason why someone with a reasonable amount of ability couldn't run one as a LSR on a weekly basis.
    Oh come on, Tunney, any sane person wouldn't even think about it, apart from Dean Karnazes!

You do realise that DK is not a very good or accomplished ultrarunner. He was 2nd last in the world 24hour champs 2 years ago (if you count the ladies as well), which is a reasonable reflection of his abilities when he dares to actually race other athletes. There are several runners on this forum who are more capable than him. Don't be setting the bar so low!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

Enduro is right there
    I was doing 30miles nice and easy every saturday morning last summer (10-14weeks) in about 4hrs45mins, without any problems.
    Once you have some running ability and do a bit of training in between the marathons it should be doable..
    But its hard to say specifically til we know what your able to do - the more training you do the easier it is!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Enduro wrote: »

You do realise that DK is not a very good or accomplished ultrarunner. He was 2nd last in the world 24hour champs 2 years ago (if you count the ladies as well), which is a reasonable reflection of his abilities when he dares to actually race other athletes. There are several runners on this forum who are more capable than him. Don't be setting the bar so low!

+1 a bit off topic but I read this guys autobiography without knowing who he was at the time. It's a nice story but I really got the impression he was hyping his abilities. I think the fact he is ripped and reasonably good looking (I sound soooooooo gay) probably helps him become the medias face for Ultra running, because lets be honest most ultrarunners are ugly as sin ................. (that was a joke :))

I love the fact he is ripped and reasonably good looking

There, fixed that for you! :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

+1 a bit off topic but I read this guys autobiography without knowing who he was at the time. It's a nice story but I really got the impression he was hyping his abilities. I think the fact he is ripped and reasonably good looking (I sound soooooooo gay) probably helps him become the medias face for Ultra running, because lets be honest most ultrarunners are ugly as sin ................. (that was a joke :))
    If I'm not mistaken (And I may well be!) he is from a Marketing background...so no surprise he's managed to place himself where he is. However, until Enduro's autobiography gets through the publishers this will have to do for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

colblimp wrote: »
    There, fixed that for you! :D;)

Damn I've been outed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Magnet wrote: »
    Enduro is right there
    I was doing 30miles nice and easy every saturday morning last summer (10-14weeks) in about 4hrs45mins, without any problems.
    Once you have some running ability and do a bit of training in between the marathons it should be doable..
    But its hard to say specifically til we know what your able to do - the more training you do the easier it is!!

Awww now you have me thinking about 100 milers again by saying that. :rolleyes:

I was going to direct you to runlikecrazy but I see Krusty has already done that. Here's the 'official' site anyway http://www.everydayhero.com.au/runlikecrazy
    Any reasonably fit long distance athlete(I say athlete as a cyclist who does longish runs occasionally could probably do it too) could run 26.2 miles every week if they did it at a very easy pace for them. I bet the majority of long distance runners on this forum could do it many would be doing a long run every week anyway. It would also depend on what you classify as a day - one 13 mile run starting at 1pm on Saturday a 5 mile run at 8pm on the same day and 8.2 at 11am the next day. 26.2 in a 'day'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭Enduro

belcarra wrote: »
    If I'm not mistaken (And I may well be!) he is from a Marketing background...so no surprise he's managed to place himself where he is. However, until Enduro's autobiography gets through the publishers this will have to do for me!

Sadly, it's ever so slightly delayed ;)

You lads are dead right about DK though. It's very much a marketing thing (and, it has to be said, it's the one thing that he genuinely is extremely good at). The looks definitely play a role (as is evidenced by some of the hilariously OTT publicity shots).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Awww now you have me thinking about 100 milers again by saying that. :rolleyes:

I was going to direct you to runlikecrazy but I see Krusty has already done that. Here's the 'official' site anyway http://www.runlikecrazy.com

Heh but what a way seeing the world doing what you love .. Running marathons. Every week he's in a different place. From places like Two Oceans in SA to Paris , from Great Wall to Rwanda and also all 5 marathon majors. When I met him in Cyprus he was asked "Well how are the legs holding out?" He replied "My legs are fine, its the jet lag that's is the problem"

And the finish times he is posting are very respectable too

Abhainn wrote: »
    Heh but what a way seeing the world doing what you love .. Running marathons. Every week he's in a different place. From places like Two Oceans in SA to Paris , from Great Wall to Rwanda and also all 5 marathon majors. When I met him in Cyprus he was asked "Well how are the legs holding out?" He replied "My legs are fine, its the jet lag that's is the problem"

And the finish times he is posting are very respectable too
    It would be a dream for me to do something like that (or closer to one marathon per month), but sadly, it'll have to wait until such time as a huge bundle of money lands on my lap (I don't do the lottery, so I'm screwed), or I reach an age when I have the time and money (but not the energy or inclination).

I dont know about that, the way its going you will have more then 12 marathons very soon in Ireland. Ever week there seems to be a new one. Thinks there were 8 or 9 last time I counted... another 3 and you will be sorted but you might have to do them in 6 months ;)

Well you see it's the travelling and seeing new countries and cultures part of the deal that I like, and no better way to do it, than while running a marathon (in my view). The runlikecrazy guy is living the dream. I just don't know if I would want to do it at that level of frequency (one per week), which might detract from the whole experience. Running marathons around Ireland is attractive in it's own right, but doesn't quite fit the bill of world travel.

shels4ever wrote: »
    I dont know about that, the way its going you will have more then 12 marathons very soon in Ireland. Ever week there seems to be a new one. Thinks there were 8 or 9 last time I counted... another 3 and you will be sorted but you might have to do them in 6 months ;)

We have 11 listed on the biki, but there must be 12 now with Limerick as well. Unless some of those don't exist?

Edit: There is a Galway one as well isn't there?

Also the new Portumna (though it's based on a 5k loop).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

There's one in roscommon too (popped up as an ad on Facebook the other day). I haven't seen it mentioned on here at all (or anywhere else for that matter).
    http://thebogtrottersmarathon.ie/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

littlebug wrote: »
    There's one in roscommon too (popped up as an ad on Facebook the other day). I haven't seen it mentioned on here at all (or anywhere else for that matter).
    http://thebogtrottersmarathon.ie/

Pfft I put in in events about a week ago. :pac:
    There's cliffs of moher aswell.

Pfft I put in in events about a week ago. :pac:
    There's cliffs of moher aswell.
    Cliffs is only a half this year. Bogtrotters sounds dreadful, but I may be tempted, given it's local appeal.
    A course that is generally flat or undulating and on tarmacked roads, one bog road and some grassy tracks. It is well-drained so there is little danger of getting wet feet!