Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tea @ Father Ted's House (Co. Clare) - Saturday 15 May

• 11-04-2010 2:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭

roseym wrote: »
    Would love to find someone up for doing random stuff at the weekend, or even someone just up for going to Lees Road or Dromore for a walk/run, meeting up for a coffee in Father Teds house (I'm mad to go and have no-one to go with me!), or taking some sort of class together.

Any takers?

I so wanna do that! :D

Come to the chat from friends thread and we can arrange it :D Im Laura btw

When should we go? Select as many dates as you are available. 29 votes

Saturday 24 April
    0% 0 votes
    Saturday 1 May (Bank Holiday w/e)
    20% 6 votes
    Saturday 15 May
    31% 9 votes
    Saturday 22 May
    48% 14 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Ruby-J

id love to go to father teds house!! i didnt know we could!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ERR!

Ruby-J wrote: »

you serious???? where is it?? i wanna go.....

so guys this sat night i want a head count on whos defo going and i think we should meet up in TGIs before hand for a drinkies... say 7 - 730???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

Me too. Would be the BEST cup of tea EVER EVER EVER. We could have a weekend get together in Clare. :eek::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

We could have a weekend get together in Clare. :eek::D

Im there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

You can have tea in Ted's house?? I've been to see it twice but never knew you could go in! :eek:

Im there :D
    Imagine how fantasic Clare would be with weather like this.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Muffin top

Oh my God, I love tea!

Can we have jumper cake??

Muffin top wrote: »
    Oh my God, I love tea!

Can we have jumper cake??

Will I regret asking? What on earth is jumper cake:o

Ha,

Well let me tell you a tale...

Mrs. Doyle was a big fan of this singer in one of the episodes; the singer was a big fan of Jumpers and cake; so when he visited Craggy Island Mrs. Doyle couldn't decide whether to make a cake or kknit a jumper....hence jumper cake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭roseym

ERR! wrote: »
    you serious???? where is it?? i wanna go.....
    Yup, the house used for the exterior shots of Father Ted is in the Burren, about 10 mins from Corofin, Co. Clare.
    Spadina wrote: »
    You can have tea in Ted's house?? I've been to see it twice but never knew you could go in! :eek:
    Yeah, I've been to see the outside a few times too but never went in. It's not a cafe all the time, and is open for tea by appointment only. I have the mobile number for the lady doing it, now all I need is an excuse to use it!
    I so wanna do that! :D

Come to the chat from friends thread and we can arrange it :D Im Laura btw
    Yay! So tea in teds is ON! :D Heading over to the chat from friends thread (if I can find it) now. Looks like a Clare meet is on ladies - I'm so pleasantly surprised!

Yup, the house used for the exterior shots of Father Ted is in the Burren, about 10 mins from Corofin, Co. Clare.

Yeah, I've been to see the outside a few times too but never went in. It's not a cafe all the time, and is open for tea by appointment only. I have the mobile number for the lady doing it, now all I need is an excuse to use it!

Yay! So tea in teds is ON! :D Heading over to the chat from friends thread (if I can find it) now. Looks like a Clare meet is on ladies - I'm so pleasantly surprised![/QUOTE]

Now all we need to decide is when??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Hi ladies, just trying to keep chaos a bit more organized - when there's too much chat it's not so inviting for others to post up their bits you see!

I might go along for this as well, never been to see Father Ted's house and sure, Clare is only a few miles down the road :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 emmahugs

Id be up for this aswell....my family live in Ennis and I lived there myself for about 10 years....big fan of Father Ted but never went to see the house...(shame on me, I know!!)

Sounds like a great idea!

This is a legend idea!

In terms of the date, what about sometime on the weekend of the 23rd? Or the May Bank hol wkend? That would give people a little advance notice then to plan around it. I gave a ring to the lady and she said May 8th is booked out but other than that seemed free enough.
    A bit of extra info about it - it's €10 per head and what she does is a casual buffet style tea with scones, home made jams and selection of cakes, and she said it's perfect for people to mingle. She also mentioned that there are lots of nice walks in the area (it's in the Burren National Park) so maybe some people would like to take in a bit of a stroll before/after?
    *edit* I asked about her max numbers (thinking it might be like, 10 or 15 or something). Her max is 40 though, so way more than I thought. I've never been at a meet before so I've no idea what kind of numbers turn up, but it's hardly more than 40 is it?

It's not likely to be more than 40 - this isn't Dublin!

Still, it is Father Ted's house, so that's quite a draw :P

Any of those dates work for me and I'd prefer the May Bank Holiday but I don't know if others already have plans, etc.

hehehe yeah I thought that alright! :D

Any dates suit me really as I live pretty close to it and don't have plans for either of those weekends yet. Is there some way we can set up a poll on these threads to figure out the best date for people?

Added the poll!

I opoted for May 8th but can go on the 24th either. The b/hol weekend is out for me tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 emmahugs

I thought it was booked out for the 8th May?!

emmahugs wrote: »
    I thought it was booked out for the 8th May?!

whoops - I changed it to the 15th and changed the votes on that one to 1 - if anyone else has already voted and wants me to add them to the 15th let me know and I'll change the number. Anyone else who hasn't voted can just vote as normal.

Xiney wrote: »
    whoops - I changed it to the 15th and changed the votes on that one to 1 - if anyone else has already voted and wants me to add them to the 15th let me know and I'll change the number. Anyone else who hasn't voted can just vote as normal.

You can add me to the 15th please:)

done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Ruby_Woo

I actually passed by the house there 2 weeks ago, and later on that day was talking to some friends who live in Clare and they told me that they had tea in it a few years ago - was news to me at the time too, never knew it was open to the public!

Apparently it's an American lady and her husband that own the place now?

Oooh oooh oooh, I think I just may have to jump aboard the Father Ted wagon for this outing!!

Q; is this a ladies only thang or would it be ok to bring along a male friend or two? I know some peeps who'd never forgive me if I went along and didn't bring them too..!

Buuut... on saying that, ladies day out sounds good too! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Great only down the road.
    Im probably going to be mental busy around the time so I will say yes provisonally that I will go for a day trip...can probably give lifts from Galway or pick up on the way down if I do go but again don't count on me just yet!

Ruby_Woo wrote: »

Yep, it was an American lady on the phone anyway, she was very nice.
    Q; is this a ladies only thang or would it be ok to bring along a male friend or two? I know some peeps who'd never forgive me if I went along and didn't bring them too..!

I wouldn't mind anyway, the more the merrier in my opinion, but then and again I'm new to this so what would I know! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Ruby_Woo

Me too Rosey, only a noob, so don't want to be upsetting the apple cart, so to speak, here in Le Ladies Lounge!

It's a great idea though, Clares a lovely spot, weather should be good, and Father Ted's Parochial house, what more could a gal want?!

I actually passed by the house there 2 weeks ago, and later on that day was talking to some friends who live in Clare and they told me that they had tea in it a few years ago - was news to me at the time too, never knew it was open to the public!

Oooh oooh oooh, I think I just may have to jump aboard the Father Ted wagon for this outing!!

Buuut... on saying that, ladies day out sounds good too! ;)

Have no issue with a few boys coming out to play too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Galadriel

I only went there for tea last week, pretty cool to be able to walk right up to the door and knock on it! Cheryl is the name of the lady who lives there, her family have lived there for 23 years.

She is very nice made us some really nice tea and cake, she sat at the kitchen table with us and had we had a good ole chat!

Ha I just came home to see this with my name starting it :D

Im free any weekend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭brainyneuron

Would love to go too!! My cousin went last summer and said that she had a great time! The house inside is a bit ramshackle with damp and stuff everywhere but the lady who lives there is lovely!
    I've got exams the 2nd week of May so may not be able to go to those dates but will see closer to the time. Drink! Feck! :D

Ha I just came home to see this with my name starting it :D

Im free any weekend :D

Yeah sorry about that, quirk of the boards...

Anyway, if we're allowed to bring boys I know Mr. Xiney would absolutely love to come. But a ladies only thing is also cool with me.

I'd be coming from Galway and could also offer lifts - 2 or 3 people

Tis grand just spotted my name :D

I can offer lifts a bit of the way too :D

I'm coming from Dublin and its quite a drive for one day so will be staying over night somewhere. Can anyone from the general area recommend somewhere for me to lay my head for the night??

Ill be staying too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ERR!

me 3:D

Good
    ERR! wrote: »
    me 3:D

Good again.

Poor Clare, all the women (and some of the men) of Ireland seem to be descending on it in May. 6 O'Clock News and Charlie Bird will be there too at ths rate. :D

Good

Good again.

Poor Clare, all the women (and some of the men) of Ireland seem to be descending on it in May. 6 O'Clock News and Charlie Bird will be there too at ths rate. :D

Haha noooo Ciaran Mallllllllloooooooooolllllllleeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyy R T E news Athalone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

mrsdoyle.jpg

Aaaaw pity Mrs Doyle left Ireland to go get naked in Shameless :(

Hussy.

Hussy.

I so thought that too :D

and how poor Dougle would cope with the new found hussy version of Mrs. Doyle. Remember how upset he was when the singer who was meant to be like Sinead O'Connor came to the island.........he even invited her to take off her bra to get comfortable. Poor Dougle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 neecie_r

hi all
    i was just there last weekend and got my picture outside.
    I was hoping to super impose the picture of the holy mary statue outside the gate on to my photo but I can't seem to find it anywhere on the net.
    anyone have a link to a picture of the house from the gate that has this in it?
    thanks a mill!

For the ladies planning on staying down for the night, what would ye be looking for?
    The nearest big village to the house is Corofin, which has a few B&Bs and a hostel so if ye don't want to stir far and would be happy with village type pubs/restaurants etc in the evening they would be ideal (this is on the tourist route which has kicked into gear the last two weeks so it would still have a bit of a buzz although small). No shopping or anything like that though.
    If you want the whole sea-side thing Ballyvaughan and other coastal towns/villages are close by too (I'd say maybe 15 - 20 mins away from the house) and if you want seaside with nightlife then aim for Lahinch.
    Ennis would be by far the best bet if you're looking for a bigger choice of shopping/nightlife/eating out and would probably work out at around 25 mins from the house.
    That's my tuppence worth as a blow-in in Clare anyway! :rolleyes: If I knew which area ye were happy with then I could find out a bit more from my other half about where's good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭ruthiepie

Oh tea at father teds house??? Im so in!!! Think the bank holiday is the only weekend that might not suit but il put my vote in now anyway and see what the results comes out as!!

For the ladies planning on staying down for the night, what would ye be looking for?
    The nearest big village to the house is Corofin, which has a few B&Bs and a hostel so if ye don't want to stir far and would be happy with village type pubs/restaurants etc in the evening they would be ideal (this is on the tourist route which has kicked into gear the last two weeks so it would still have a bit of a buzz although small). No shopping or anything like that though.
    If you want the whole sea-side thing Ballyvaughan and other coastal towns/villages are close by too (I'd say maybe 15 - 20 mins away from the house) and if you want seaside with nightlife then aim for Lahinch.
    Ennis would be by far the best bet if you're looking for a bigger choice of shopping/nightlife/eating out and would probably work out at around 25 mins from the house.
    That's my tuppence worth as a blow-in in Clare anyway! :rolleyes: If I knew which area ye were happy with then I could find out a bit more from my other half about where's good.

As its just for one night and I'm pretty broke which ever is the cheapest really. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Oh I am finished my Exams then and would love to go, sad to say I am from Clare and have never been there :eek:

Also I could taxi to Ennis if I do go!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Carolyyn

Count me in too, this is a brilliant idea and should be great craic !!

Careful now !

Yeah, I'll be staying over aswell, check out the 'ol Clare nightlife. Their might be a lovely girls competition we can all enter