Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rabbits

• 12-04-2010 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭

Out and about the last few days and can't get over the lack of rabbits fields that always had a few,not even one now anyone else in the same boat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭theirishguy

Out and about the last few days and can't get over the lack of rabbits fields that always had a few,not even one now anyone else in the same boat?
    yup i think everyone is in the same boat i think there is already a thread about this in the hunting section

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

just in for lunch and there is 9 on the head land beside the house .

i dont shoot them hear and no one else dares ,there making a small come back but noting like the numbers they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭jolter

would have to agree with you that they are fairly scare. i know of a few lads locally that use ferrets to hunt them and they dont stop till they have cleaned out the whole field . killing the sport for themselves true their immaturity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

what part of cork are you in, im seeing a lot of them down but not quite as much as last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭leupold90

Similar to Kenmonu's comment. I know of a small shoot that was cleaned out of Hares by a###oles hunting and killing everything including the leverets in spring and early summer. Ruining the sport for themselves and everybody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

I have had similar experiences with people seriously over hunting rabbits. Lads will go out in a jeep, devastate a population in a couple of hours and not even bring a single one back for the pot; not even for the dog!:eek:
    Then you get those who think this is the norm and find it strange when I come back with a handful of rabbits and make use of them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Beretta man

what part of cork are you in, im seeing a lot of them down but not quite as much as last year

Hi Mate I'm leaving close to Youghal on the border of Waterford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Seeing a good few up here in pockets. But only in tight pockets. Might travel miles and not see a one and then dozens in a couple of fields. Haven't shot any this year yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

The coldest winter in over 30 years and the slowest spring since 79' is another factor in many areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

was out today one two of my permissions,first one usual full of rabbits not one on one side of road the other side wasn't much better just see there arses hopping into cover.I think the ground is lamped with dogs
    second place was ok its a bit off the beaten track good numbers, pic in photo thread:D

Birdnuts wrote: »
    The coldest winter in over 30 years and the slowest spring since 79' is another factor in many areas.

that can work against them Birdnuts ,as mixo is passed by fleas in the borrow and by contact.

last year a field next to me some rabbits got it ,i shot the shxt out of it ,a few rabbits by the house got it i shot them and the ones on the same head land . stopped it for luck.

dont shoot the big scruffy ones that are well out in the field and lie down when spotted there mostly feeding or pregnant .

one reason i like a very powerfull scope on my .22.

we would be lost with out rabbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

leupold90 wrote: »
    Similar to Kenmonu's comment. I know of a small shoot that was cleaned out of Hares by a###oles hunting and killing everything including the leverets in spring and early summer. Ruining the sport for themselves and everybody else.

If you have any idea who it was you should already have been to your local Garda station recording a statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Starting to see plenty of young rabbits the last two weeks! Should make a good recovery by september or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

i no many of you may not agree with this but you cannot say ferreters do all the damage to rabbit numbers as a rifle at night can wipe out everything in one night. I currently own 5 ferrets and have 60 acres of land and i ferret rabbits in areas where they are thriving and relase them on my land to try and help the numbers rise again ad never over ferret an area as i like to see them in the countryside and enjoy eating them on occassions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Moving rabbits from one area to another would be illegal BTW.

As for who does most damage it really depends if you do it for sport or profit.

Moving rabbits from one area to another would be illegal BTW.

As for who does most damage it really depends if you do it for sport or profit.
    I don't think the whole selling of live rabbits by ferreters is as common as you think bunny! I only know of one lad around here that does it allegedly!
    Maybe im wrong, but i don't here much of it going on these days.

Should come down my way ! It's big business.

Unfortunately, very hard to catch those doing it in the act :(

i cant see how relasing rabbits on my own farm is illegal it is the same as someone relasing a fox in a different area if it is causing a problem and this is what a lot of people do. As for it being illegal under what act does it prohibit this as there are also bussards etc on my lands and i find this will also provide a source of food for them by keeping the rabbit numbers manageable. and i never ferret my own lands in areas as i have relased rabbits as i believe having caught them once is enough

I will have to find relevant legislation BUT as rabbits are an agricultural pest I think it comes under this.

I'll be back ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Thread pruned back to where the scrapping started. Folks, if you report a post, it does take us a few minutes to sort it out, so just hit the report post button and then leave the thread alone please. Don't go trying to put out a fire with petrol, y'know?

a few years ago i lived just under the blackstairs mountain ,there was always a lot hares in the area along with rabbits .

this guy started to turn up every now and again walking his dog ,no one put much pass on him .
    one nite i spotted his van parked up a lane ,he had no right to be where he was .i rang the land owner.we went down .the baxxxxd had sacks with live rabbits and long nets for hares .
    the dog was catching the rabbits live on the lamp and he was netting hares to sell to who ever .

50e a hare and 10e a rabbit i heard later and he could not keep orders filled.

he tried to be the hard man that nite ,until it was put to him.he was going to clean out the area and move on .

keep the knxxxxxs off your rabbit ground .

jwshooter wrote: »
    a few years ago i lived just under the blackstairs mountain ,there was always a lot hares in the area along with rabbits .

this guy started to turn up every now and again walking his dog ,no one put much pass on him .
    one nite i spotted his van parked up a lane ,he had no right to be where he was .i rang the land owner.we went down .the baxxxxd had sacks with live rabbits and long nets for hares .
    the dog was catching the rabbits live on the lamp and he was netting hares to sell to who ever .

50e a hare and 10e a rabbit i heard later and he could not keep orders filled.

he tried to be the hard man that nite ,until it was put to him.he was going to clean out the area and move on .

keep the knxxxxxs off your rabbit ground .
    well said! the majority of people hunting hare's are the guys from the halting site,seen it with my own two eye's they hunt the one piece of land till they get everything and move on to the next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

well said! the majority of people hunting hare's are the guys from the halting site,seen it with my own two eye's they hunt the one piece of land till they get everything and move on to the next!

Most farmers don't want Lurchers on the land in case they worry sheep.
    Or the latter but I won't mention the latter.

Getting back to Rabbits, Anybody got any today or yesterday?

dont start shooting until the young ones are half grown .

there bloody lovely . boiled slow for a hour then BBQ or fried .brush them with some of the chinese sauces first if you fancie some thing different .

+1 JW

Too early to start now.

Another 5-6 weeks at least before I'll start

Lads with lurchers in my area are mainly after hares but take the rabbits too. Think there was an incidence of them hunting deer last year also.

Lads with ferrets have cages for the bunnies they catch. Don't need cages if your eating them.

All the lads I know who shot bunnies are doing so to eat them or pass them on to someone to eat them.

Lots of farmers in my area don't want lurcher and ferret lads on their land as they know what's happening. They are happy to see shooters though.

Numbers in my area are down on previous years but seem to be improving. Had 3 x bad years tbh. Weather didn't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭yog1

Lads with lurchers in my area are mainly after hares but take the rabbits too. Think there was an incidence of them hunting deer last year also.

Lads with ferrets have cages for the bunnies they catch. Don't need cages if your eating them.

All the lads I know who shot bunnies are doing so to eat them or pass them on to someone to eat them.

Lots of farmers in my area don't want lurcher and ferret lads on their land as they know what's happening. They are happy to see shooters though.

Numbers in my area are down on previous years but seem to be improving. Had 3 x bad years tbh. Weather didn't help.

what are they doing with the live one's i know its prob a stupid question but i've got to ask as i've never heard of it being done before:confused:

yog1 wrote: »
    what are they doing with the live one's i know its prob a stupid question but i've got to ask as i've never heard of it being done before:confused:
    well down here they are selling them to people with greyhounds for them to chase and kill.

Same here :mad:

Used to "blood" the greyhounds

yog1 wrote: »
    coursing then,, (thinks thats the right name for it, but willing to be corrected)

it would not be for us to assume what they do with the rabbits and hares

jwshooter wrote: »
    it would not be for us to assume what they do with the rabbits and hares

well i dont have to assume as i met a guy from another town out one day two and yes they do use cages for i asked him what he needed a cage for and what did he do with them and he told me he get £8 per rabbit and has a lurcher for hare for which he gets €70 what a joke these people should be stopped.

You don't need a lurcher or ferret to catch live rabbits! long netting at night is a very popular and legal form of rabbit control, of course selling live rabbits isn't!

Now there's plenty of lads in my area that shoot rabbits and fuc* them in the ditch! but im not gonna say that lads with guns are a shower of knacke** because they have no respect for their quarry! I know theres the odd gob**** that will go out of his way to abuse the sport, but that the majority of lads have respect for the countryside!

By the way! I have ferrets and i don't have, never had, and never will have cages! so i think you can stick that one back in whatever hat you pulled it from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

My friend of mines father had a lurcher some years ago and used to hunt with ferrets aswell.

He had no cages and anything he caught was for the pot.

Please do not tar all with the one brush!

Where exactly did I tar all with one brush ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Whenever you reply to any thread on this forum.
    You types are always the same , jumping in talking bullsh!te without any knowledge of guns or shooting. :rolleyes:

Here's one example!

There's plenty more examples of this sort of crap on other threads!:mad:

I wonder is there a bit of begrudgery on your behalf there bunny! Maybe you want all the rabbits for yourself!:(

Big difference between "lads with ferrets" and "everyone with ferrets" :P

I have a problem with lads selling them alive for money !

Actually there isn't much difference at all, and well you know it!
    Now if you put the word some in front of lads with ferrets then that would make a big difference wouldn't it!:P

Now your word for today is some! A little practice and you'll soon get the hang of it!:D:D

I think most of us agree with you on the selling of live rabbits!;)

donniedarko_wideweb__470x2990.jpg

Some people see what they want to see in some posts :P

Hows that ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

What about people charging money if they were dead?

OR

People who charge money to bring people shooting?

Oh and do you have a issue with ferrets in general or just their use in the capture of live rabbits for sale.

There is a serious anti ferret vibe in the thread alright

Vegeta wrote: »

OR

Oh and do you have a issue with ferrets in general or just their use in the capture of live rabbits for sale.

I wouldn't mind being taken out to go Ferreting.
    I have seen this on a DVD where they also take shotguns to shoot the vermin rabbits as they make a run for it.

clivej wrote: »
    You types are always the same , jumping in talking bullsh!te without any knowledge of guns or shooting. :rolleyes:

Pot & kettle :P

You types are always the same , jumping in talking bullsh!te without any knowledge of guns or shooting. added OR HUNTING:rolleyes:
    Pot & kettle :P

Oh so true or should that be:

"Run with the Hare and hunt with the Hounds"

Eddie B you should get to know me better or read my other posts :eek:

Oh so true or should that be:

"Run with the Hare and hunt with the Hounds"

Another description would be

****e Stirrer

I don't.

I give them free to anyone who wants my surplus as to charge I would need a game dealers licence
    OR

I don't

No issue with ferrets or their use unless as stated it's to capture live rabbits for sale

Not anti ferret. Anti people using ferrets to capture live rabbits for resale. Ferrets are/would be just doing what comes naturally to them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I don't.

I don't
    But I never said you did or accused you of it.

Legality aside and dealing with morality I was just wondering about your position on both things

"What about people charging money if they were dead?" I worded that question poorly

It should have read
    Are you against people selling dead rabbits to game dealers?

And again I'm not accusing you of the following I am interested on your opinion on "People who charge money to bring people shooting"

Legality aside and dealing with morality I was just wondering about your position on both things

"What about people charging money if they were dead?" I worded that question poorly

It should have read

And again I'm not accusing you of the following I am interested on your opinion on "People who charge money to bring people shooting"

as far as some one paying for shooting ,i have for stalking and bird shooting .

it suits a lot of people to but a few days hear and there .i would think the vast majority of posters have payed for shooting in one form or another.

It should have read

Don't do morality.

I wouldn't or don't sell to game dealers. I don't or wouldn't charge someone to shoot with me BUT that is not to say I wouldn't buy game from a game dealer or pay to shoot game, as long as it it legally supplied.

I have stated I am against selling live rabbits as it is ILLEGAL, a concept I presume you understand ;) I have no problems with any activity as long as it is LEGAL despite what some (getting great practice with my new word :)) people here keep seeing in some (there it is again :)) of my posts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Fallow

Bunny Shooter, your a sad man. :(
    Very narrow minded too, when it comes to lads with ferrets and lurchers.
    Lads with lurchers and ferrets, are actually on the increase, lads with guns, have gone right down in my area (Killkenny), due to the new regulations ect.
    Bunny shooter, the greyhound industry, would not be what it is now, due to lads with ferrets..;)
    One more thing, you referd to earlier, not all lads with ferrets and lurchers are on the doll and out of work.
    Happy shooting, try not to shoot them all for your self sir.. :rolleyes: