Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Its for another thread, I'll agree there. All I wanted to do was to get you to see that you're getting miiiiiiiles ahead of yourself and to calm down with the "Jones is the Bestest 15 in Ireland" craic.

Thats what the gossip part of the Munster thread is about. Whats the point in thinking a young player is good if you can't let fans from the other provinces know that your young players are waaaaay better than theirs. :P

Despite the largely held view that Kidney is the most conservative coach in the world, he will make give players a chance if he feels like they are better than those in contention for the same jersey i.e. Hurley in the HC, starting TOL ahead of Stringer. He also has little place for sentimentality i.e. dropping Foley for the '08 HC final.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭Sin a bhfuil

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Shaun Berne isn't eligible for Ireland. Rhys Ruddock's mam is Irish, hardly counts as a foreign national? Not that any of this has to do with Munster..

Rhys Ruddock was born in Dublin as well as his mother being Irish. Ciaran did post 'or brought up abroad' which would cover his situation in the listing he made.

Anyway, Adam D'Arcy's fine season will be a bit tarnished for the knock on that finished that fine move from Pienaar which could have got Ulster closer to a semi.

Thats what the gossip part of the Munster thread is about. Whats the point in thinking a young player is good if you can't let fans from the other provinces know that your young players are waaaaay better than theirs. :P

So what we're saying is, we need an Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread too, because that way people can filter out the OTT stuff that's said about Irish Players that play for their provinces in the provincial Threads?

Not a bad idea actually...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

So what we're saying is, we need an Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread too, because that way people can filter out the OTT stuff that's said about Irish Players that play for their provinces in the provincial Threads?

*Cough http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=66481616

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

No, what I'm saying is: Jones >> Nacewa :pac:

But seriously, there really should be an Ireland Team thread. The match threads get dragged out way too long and loads of stupid little threads pop up that would be better dealt with in the one thread; The Ireland v Wales thread is still going FFS!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭Sin a bhfuil

Interview with Anthony Foley. Some interesting comments about Munster's lack of representation in under age teams.
    It was levelled at the organisation that it wasn’t producing young players near the calibre of Leinster. ...................

"That perception has nearly always been there," he says, over a ham and salad panini in the Cork IT canteen, minutes after coming off the training ground. "Go through the underage Irish teams I played with and there was always a hell of a lot more Ulster and Leinster players than Munster players.

"We probably don’t do ourselves any favours down here. A lot of our better young players are playing hurling and football coming up, whereas in other provinces they’re playing just rugby. But when players decide what code they want to specialise in, they’re much more skilled for having played other sports. So, it might lead us to being a bit behind the ball in how our underage system is viewed, but what counts is that there’s a steady flow of players to come through at senior level and I feel we have that."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

match report by munster manager
    http://www.munsterrugby.ie/domestic/news/8929.php
    Narrow Defeat For Munster U20 Development Squad
    11 April 2011, 10:56 am
    By Cliona Quaid

Munster U20 development squad took their first steps on what will be a long season, when they took on the Leicester Tigers academy last Friday night in Naas RFC.
    Match Report By: Graham Burns, Manager U20 Squad

Leicester Academy 23 - Munster U20 Development Squad 20
    Munster started brightly with a try from Cian O’Donnell after just 3 minutes. Leicester were penalised at a scrum and after good work from Luke Cahill who took the penalty quickly, O’Donnell scored under the posts which then saw JJ Hanrahan easily tap over the conversion.
    Leicester however soon got back into the game through their physical pack and the pressure they generated took its toll with their centre scoring after chipping through the Munster defence.
    With two more penalties added in quick succession, Munster found themselves 13 points to 7 down and in a spot of trouble as Leicester took a firm control of the game.
    However, showing great character, Munster through wing Paul Curtis struck back with an excellent try after Munster retained the ball through a number of phases. After drawing in the Leicester cover, Curtis ran in from 30 yards. JJ Hanrahan’s conversion struck the post leaving the half time score Leicester 13 Munster 12.
    Right from the off in the second half, Leicester controlled territory and possession and added a further penalty and a converted try after some closed in work by their forwards. This made the score 23 points to 12 for the visitors with 12 minutes remaining on the clock.
    With both sides making full use of rolling substitutions, the game opened up and again after retaining the ball for several phases, Luke Cahill crossed the line for a well worked try.
    Hanrahan was just wide with his attempted conversion, however soon after added a 35 yard penalty to make the score Leicester 23 Munster 20 at the final whistle.
    Munster Scorers;
    Tries; Cian O’Donnell, Paul Curtis and Luke Cahill, Conversions; JJ Hanrahan (1), Pens; JJ Hanrahan (1)
    Munster U20s Development: Garrett O’Suillebhain; Steve Dinan, Kevin Slater, JJ Hanrahan, Paul Curtis; Eamonn Mills, Neil Cronin; Cian O’Donnell, Niall Scannell, Jake Considine; Sean Monaghan, Jack Donovan; Ben Crumplin, Miah Cronin, Luke Cahill. Replacements: James Rael, David Canny, Niall Horan, Jamie Kind, Brian Haugh, Shaun Horgan, James Kiernan, Tom Ryan.
    Leicester Tigers Academy: Alex Lewington; George Catchpole, Joe Cobden, Javiah Pohe, Stephen Macauley; Rory Lynn, Luix Roussarie; Harry Rudkin, Charlie Clare, Fraser Balmain; Dave Markham, Rob Conquest; Joe Cousens, Jethro Rawling, Joe Clowes. Replacements From: James Thraves, Michael McNamara, Hamish Watson, George Oliver, Harry Wells, Ash Cooper, Liam Holder, Christophe Ridley, Harrison Lee-Everton, Tahir El Mahdi, Luke Veebe.
    A well worthwhile exercise, with all squad member getting game time. Particularly pleasing was to outscore Leicester by 3 tries to 2.
    On behalf of the Munster U20 Development Squad, we would like to pass on our thanks to Naas for organising the game and especially for some excellent post match hospitality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,591 ✭✭✭✭phog

Sammy off to Sale.

phog wrote: »

Best of luck to him. Didn't quite work out but you can't question his commitment and effort

John Hayes played his 100th game in European rugby on Saturday, 99 times capped in the H/C and he came on for his 1st cap in the Amlin Cup.

That's some achievement, fair play to The Bull.

Some other players catching up on him are:

ROG 97 +1
    Stringer 90 + 1
    Shane Horgan 96 (I credited him the cap for Saturday but not sure if the ERC has already credited him with it as well)
    David Wallace 95 + 1

The +1s are the Amlin Cup caps.

Ticket news for the Amlin S/F
    MUNSTER V HARLEQUINS, AMLIN CHALLENGE CUP SEMI-FINAL - TICKET DETAILS
    11 Apr 2011
    Munster v Harlequins, Amlin Challenge Cup Semi-Final, Thomond Park Stadium, Saturday 30th April at 1pm.

Presently the Supporters Club have an allocation of 4,700 tickets for this match. Additional tickets may become available later this week from returns from Harlequins. Please read on for all details.

Full Members

Full Members can purchase their same ticket as they have for the Heineken Cup pool matches for the Amlin semi-final. This option is available from today Monday 11th April at 10am to Thursday 14th April at 10am.

Full Members please note if you do not purchase your same ticket (HC) by 14th April it will be released on sale to other members. If you have nominated a Lead Purchaser then this member must log in to purchase for you.

Associate Members with Combined Season Tickets

Associate Members with combined season tickets can choose a ticket from what is available. This option is available from Tuesday 12th April at 10am to Thursday 14th April at 10am.

Associate Members with Single Venue Season Tickets and Associate Members with No Season Ticket

We expect Harlequins to release more tickets from their allocation later in the week and hope to have these available for Associate Members with Single Venue and with No Season Ticket to purchase from Thursday 14th up to Monday 18th April. Please refer to website for further details on Thursday.

If tickets remain following the above allocations on Monday next 18th April, we will make the remaining tickets available for All Full and Associate Members of the Supporters Club to purchase on a first come first served basis.

It may be the case that tickets returned later may be of a better quality than early returns.

It may also occur that we may be able to offer more than 1 ticket per member next week.

These occurances are outside our control and we will not be in a position to cancel any tickets purchased this week.

Tickets are priced as follows;

Category A Stand - 40 euro
    Category B Stand - 30 euro
    Terrace - 20 euro
    A standard 2.50 euro transaction fee will apply.
    All tickets will be paper tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

I know this had been covered before but has it been confirmed where the ML final will be played if Munster are in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

I know this had been covered before but has it been confirmed where the ML final will be played if Munster are in it?

No confirmation but in the Magners rules it states it is their choice i.e. it can be played in Thomond but the IRFU might intervene if there's a chance of making a decent profit by moving it to the Aviva. Hopefully it'll be Thomond as they deserve home advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

CouchSmart wrote: »
    No confirmation but in the Magners rules it states it is their choice i.e. it can be played in Thomond but the IRFU might intervene if there's a chance of making a decent profit by moving it to the Aviva. Hopefully it'll be Thomond as they deserve home advantage.
    It would be up to Munster branch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

in the event of an all-ireland final I imagine a bigger venue will be sought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Assuming that Munster take top spot and assuming they win their semi then they have the choice. If both teams are still involved in Europe and make the final maybe the Aviva wouldn't sell out?
    Realistically Ulster, the Ospreys still have a big say where the final might be played! Wouldn't count my chickens yet.

Quinlan Calls It A Day
    13 April 2011, 11:15 am
    By The Editor

It was officially confirmed today that Munster's Alan Quinlan will retire from professional rugby at the end of the current season.
    Quinlan, who will shortly celebrate his 37th birthday, confirmed the news today at Munsters weekly media briefing at the University of Limerick ahead of their Magners League game against Scarlets.

The Clanwilliam clubman, named in the squad for the Scarlets game, has played 210 competitive games for Munster since making his debut in November 1996 and in addition to that was capped 27 times for Ireland. He has been a part of all Munsters successes, Celtic League, Celtic Cup, Magners League and both Heineken Cup winning titles.
    In the 2006 campaign he suffered an injury in the opening round against Sale Sharks that kept him out for most of the season, recovering in time to play a part in Munsters inaugural Heineken success.
    Commenting on the news Tony McGahan said today Alan Quinlan has been an integral part of the success of Munster Rugby for the past 15 years. His longevity in what is a highly attritional profession is a tribute to his dedication, application and durability. Alan was a players player whose impact in big games and ability to turn a negative situation into a positive action made him a great player to have on your side and a crowd favorite."
    "His decision to call it a day at the end of this season of course evokes a sense of poignancy for all of us who have worked with him but it's balanced by the knowledge that he can look back on a great career with pride at what he's achieved. He's leaves us with our thanks and very best wishes for the future.
    from http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/8943.php

Hope to see him against Connacht in May so we can send him off with a proper goodbye. Unlikely to feature much more this year. Up there with Wally and RoG as Munster's best ever players.

Wow. Never realised he had so few Ireland caps. One of the guys you could always rely on.

Put his body on the line for Munster countless times.

What a player :D He'll be sorely missed by all the Red Army.

I hope he goes into coaching at some stage, it would be a waste to lose the experience that he has.

Cheers Quinny and thanks for all those great days, in Shannon, Munster and Ireland.

injury update of sorts from Munsterrugby
    On the injury front Tomás O’Leary (eye) has made a return to training and is hoping to be available for selection for the Ospreys game, and Paul O’Connell (ankle) will undergo further re-assessment later today.

The Munster squad for Saturday night
    Munster Squad: F Jones, D Hurley, K Earls, P Warwick, D Howlett, L Mafi, S Tuitupou, J Murphy, D Barnes, S Zebo, C Murray, P Stringer, D Williams, D Cusack, R O’Gara, M Horan, D Hurley, W du Preez, T Buckley, J Hayes, S Archer, M Sherry, D Fogs, D Varley, D Ryan, M O’Driscoll, A Quinlan, P Butler, D O’Callaghan, D Wallace, J Coughlan, T O’Donnell, N Ronan, D Leamy.

The Munster 23 will be named on Friday at midday.

phog wrote: »
    The Munster squad for Saturday night

F Jones, D Hurley, K Earls, P Warwick, D Howlett, L Mafi, S Tuitupou, J Murphy, D Barnes, S Zebo, C Murray, P Stringer, D Williams, D Cusack, R O’Gara, M Horan, D Hurley, W du Preez, T Buckley, J Hayes, S Archer, M Sherry, D Fogs, D Varley, D Ryan, M O’Driscoll, A Quinlan, P Butler, D O’Callaghan, D Wallace, J Coughlan, T O’Donnell, N Ronan, D Leamy.
    The Munster 23 will be named on Friday at midday.
    What exactly is the point in naming a 34 man squad? :confused:

Stops them going on the beer I'd say.

ormond lad wrote: »

Keeps Scarlets guessing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Keep the intensity levels up and everyone's mind sharp. If 11 lads know they'll be putting their feet up at the weekend not only will they take the foot off the gas and slack off in relation to their own training but their lack of focus will hinder the starting team's preparation. If you have an environment where a third of those involved are having a laugh that will lower the overall performance levels of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

GerM wrote: »
    Keep the intensity levels up and everyone's mind sharp. If 11 lads know they'll be putting their feet up at the weekend not only will they take the foot off the gas and slack off in relation to their own training but their lack of focus will hinder the starting team's preparation. If you have an environment where a third of those involved are having a laugh that will lower the overall performance levels of others.

Cheika used to be a bollocks for it. He'd name absolutely everyone in his squads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

A mate of mine claims that players not in the squad are made available to the clubs for AIL duty while provinces hold onto all players in the squad for the weekend.

I have no real idea about whether that is in anyway true though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

I'd like to see:

1. Du Preez
    2. Sherry
    3. Archer
    4. Micko
    5. Ryan
    6. Quinny
    7. Ronan
    8. Leamy
    9. Murray
    10. Warwick
    11. Zebo
    12. Murphy
    13. Mafi
    14. Hurley
    15. Jones

I think the International players need a rest at this stage, would like to see Butler, Hurley and Cusack get some game time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

But thats 11 guys with no game. Seems a waste to me. By all means keep 25 or so.