Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name this piece of plumbing pipe?

• 11-04-2010 11:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭

Hi,what type of plumbing pipe is this plastic bit of pipe?

Would it give off as much heat as a normal copper plumbing pipe?

Does it need to have pipe insulation araound it or is it allready insulated as in being made of plastic?

And is it safe to use with no insulation close to electrical cables running under floorboards?

Thanks.:)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Looks like a Paul to me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's called Qualplex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Very poor form
    It's called Qualplex.

As stated. Its called qualpex. There is many different brand versions and 2 different types.

basically the 2 types are barrier and non barrier.

Barrier is used for heating and non barrier for everything else. Most plumbers only use one type so as to avoid confusion.

There is a new version of this out that is white. Its called john ghest fittings. Its a far superior product.

The most important thinh about using pex is

1. Use insulation sleeves, especially under the floor.

2. Use plubing inserts. Brass/Copper if available.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Thanks for your stupid and moronic answer.:rolleyes:

Thanks micky and joey for the link and advice.:)

The plastic pipe has what looks like another inner layer/core in it.

Is this type of plastic pipe ok to use for rads and hot water then?

Also there are what look to be like brass push on tube connectors on the piping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Lads, if ye have a problem with a post please report it. No more silliness please.

paddy, the pipe sounds like double barrier alright. Should be ok to use with hot/heating water.

paddy147 wrote: »
    Thanks micky and joey for the link and advice.:)

The plastic pipe has what looks like another inner layer/core in it.

Is this type of plastic pipe ok to use for rads and hot water then?

Also there are what look to be like brass push on tube connectors on the piping.

The type you have is barrier pex. If you kink a peice about 8 or nine times you should see the inner layer. Its usually foil.

If its barrier its what you need for heating.

The sequence of fittings for pex is slightly different than copper.

with copper its

Nut olive

with pex its

Nut olive then insert.

Brass inserts that look like spent bullits~(Thats what they thought mine were in gatwick airport london :rolleyes:) are the norm or plastic if you use qualpex brand.

Note. You do not use pex within 1 mtr of boilers or cylinders. i actually go 2 mtrs.

Lads, if ye have a problem with a post please report it. No more silliness please.

paddy, the pipe sounds like double barrier alright. Should be ok to use with hot/heating water.

Thanks,thats 1 less thing to worry about.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

paddy147 wrote: »

Those elbows in the picture are techtite push on fittings ye. You push down the green ring to release the pipe. Their is a tool for it, but many things will do like those nail clips above them

Davy wrote: »
    Those elbows in the picture are techtite push on fittings ye. You push down the green ring to release the pipe. Their is a tool for it, but many things will do like those nail clips above them

Does that look right to you then,as in the pipe and fitting and it being ok for a radiator?

Thanks.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Ye, as the lads said once its the barrier stuff its grand for heating.

Personally for aesthetics I use the surefast (white) straight lengths for rad connections as no need for painting, and because its not off a roll it just bend terrible when the heat comes on it

Davy wrote: »
    Ye, as the lads said once its the barrier stuff its grand for heating.

Personally for aesthetics I use the surefast (white) straight lengths for rad connections as no need for painting, and because its not off a roll it just bend terrible when the heat comes on it

All the plastic piping used was straight lengths,and not off a roll or drum.

Thanks for the help and for putting my mind at ease over this.:)

Paddy with due respect. I get the feeling a plumber started this and either you agreed to differ or you just got rid of him :D

With copper tails and decent straight its not what a novice like yourself asks about.

Be very careful.

A mistake with pex and tectite can be very costly.

Only use tectite green fittings. a lot of the others have failed.

do not seal any walls up until a plumber connects the boiler and has a look at your work

If i am wrong I apologise.