Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht V Toulon, Amlin SF, The Sportsground,30 Apr. 19:45, SS3.*Mod Warning Post#1*

• 11-04-2010 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

*Mod Warning*
    Great weekend in prospect, so lets enjoy it. Bear in mind that each of the specific match threads are just that, match threads, and not occasions for inter-pro crap. Keep them OT. There will be zero-tolerance for Inter-pro rubbish on all these threads.

Hi all!
    onwards and upwards(ulster watch out!)
    munster next week lets see what sort of team mcgahan puts out!
    Saw some of the Toulon scarlets match and we have to keep our infringements to a minimum as johny boy has his radar on!
    Great win over Bougoin but boy did we have to work for it!
    I hope thats our bad game (performance wise) out of the way(in the ECC) and we start to click a touch more in the back row.
    Is this defo on in the sportsground?
    Hope so!
    slan
    Sean

GWAN CONNACHT!!!:D;););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭damselnat

I hope this isn't scheduled for the same day as the Leinster semi, hoped to take my mother to it...! Best of luck to Connacht though, really hope they go all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

seanin4711 wrote: »
    Hi all!
    onwards and upwards(ulster watch out!)
    munster next week lets see what sort of team mcgahan puts out!
    Saw some of the Toulon scarlets match and we have to keep our infringements to a minimum as johny boy has his radar on!
    Great win over Bougoin but boy did we have to work for it!
    I hope thats our bad game (performance wise) out of the way(in the ECC) and we start to click a touch more in the back row.
    Is this defo on in the sportsground?
    Hope so!
    slan
    Sean

GWAN CONNACHT!!!:D;););)

Were we at the same match?? The back row was our standout unit, Muldoon, JOC and Naoupu were fantastic, both in attack and defence. Naoupu was man of the match, but it could easily have been one of the other 2. If thats a bad performance, bring on the good ones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

Any idea where this match will be on?

If can't make the trip to Toulouse, might travel to this one...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

great result hope ye make it count , onwards and upwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Zzippy wrote: »
    Were we at the same match?? The back row was our standout unit, Muldoon, JOC and Naoupu were fantastic, both in attack and defence. Naoupu was man of the match, but it could easily have been one of the other 2. If thats a bad performance, bring on the good ones!

Keatley or Nikora who would you start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Fair play to Naoupu, having watched him at Thomond I thought he was another journeyman, but he has really stepped up since.

Well Keatley to start with Nikora coming off the bench seems to have worked well the last two weeks and the other way around didn't work against Leinster. I suppose give them each a start in the next two Magners games and see from there. Keatley had a mixed bag yesterday, it was probably the right decision to make the change when Bradley made it in fairness to him.

I thought Nikora was going to join the likes of Venter, Van Myburgh, Gallagher etc. as one of our worst signing ever for a lot of this season but he seems to have turned it around in recent times, not just with his goal kicking but his ability to get the backline moving has been impressive, earlier in the season he wasn't stamping his authority on the game and he wasn't getting the backline moving, now he's stepping up and beginning to justify the reputation he had when he came here first. He needs to maintain this form and keep improving and we have an exciting battle for out-half on our hands which tbh can only be good for Keatley as well.

I can't see Ofisa breaking into the team with JOC is such outstanding form.

A word on Sean Cronin, what a fantastic player he is going to be for Ireland (and Munster when he comes home ;)).

Not sure why a Toulon thread is being started now, let's not forget the big game this weekend coming. :D

Fair play to Naoupu, having watched him at Thomond I thought he was another journeyman, but he has really stepped up since.

Ya I think that was his only real poor display since coming. By all accounts he was impressive away to Worcester and he was very good at home to Worcester. He's done a fine job since Stephen's Day but yesterday he seemed to step up another level bar one handy catch he dropped on the half way line so only 9.5/10:D

I do believe you were calling him a journeyman before he'd even touched a ball for Connacht but fair play for admitting your mistake none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,458 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

They mite play this match at Thomond Park. Limerick is Not that far from Galway,Mayo,Sligo,Leitrim and Roscommon.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

PTH2009 wrote: »
    They mite play this match at Thomond Park. Limerick is Not that far from Galway,Mayo,Sligo,Leitrim and Roscommon.

Heard someone mention the RDS as well. Would also make sense with regards expat support. Dublin is potentially easier to get to from Connacht as well, especially with public transport, despite TP being closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Zzippy wrote: »

I meant the back line!
    sorry

I can't see Ofisa breaking into the team with JOC is such outstanding form.

A word on Sean Cronin, what a fantastic player he is going to be for Ireland (and Munster when he comes home ;)).

Not sure why a Toulon thread is being started now, let's not forget the big game this weekend coming. :D

ok i got excited!
    you cant blame us as we dont have much to shout about west of the shannon!
    great that we should have no injury worries really ahead of this game and people vying for the starting IV,great to have competition for places!
    BRING ON JOHNY!!!

slan
    sean:D

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Heard someone mention the RDS as well. Would also make sense with regards expat support. Dublin is potentially easier to get to from Connacht as well, especially with public transport, despite TP being closer.

If at all possible they should play it in the SG. Winning should be their main priority. What'll they get by moving it , 2/3 thousand more wont seem like such a windfall if they dont make the final and miss out on the HC. But as always I expect Irishmen to only think of the short term gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭techdiver

If at all possible they should play it in the SG. Winning should be their main priority. What'll they get by moving it , 2/3 thousand more wont seem like such a windfall if they dont make the final and miss out on the HC. But as always I expect Irishmen to only think of the short term gain.

Are they allowed to play it at the SG though? Is it not the same the the Heineken Cup whereby the first team has home country semi-final, but they cannot use their designated home ground as the venue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

They should have it in pearse stadium, highly unlikely tho

I agree. I don't doubt they'll play it in the SG if they have the option.

Keatley, every time. He's a class act, and I've only seen Nikora play one good game, he's been absolutely dreadful for others. Plus I'd rather see the Irish player getting games against better opposition for experience.
    seanin4711 wrote: »
    I meant the back line!
    sorry

Ah, thought there was something amiss! ;)

Absolutely. We've made the Sportsground a bit of a fortress the last few months, and its clear the team play better there. Connacht branch have come out this morning and stated their preference is for the SG, and discussions with ERC will take place this week.

http://www.connachtrugby.ie/news-centre
    Every effort will be made to ensure that the Amlin Challenge Cup semi-final against Toulon will take place at the Sportsground, according to Connacht CEO Gerry Kelly.

He said that they would discuss the matter early this week with the ERC but staging the game at the Sportsground was the desired option.

“We want to reward our fans and have the game in Galway. We also want to support the business community who support Connacht rugby.

“There will be a number of things to be considered, such as the erection of temporary stands, but we did that against Harlequins some years ago and it worked well.

“It is a great opportunity for Connacht and every effort will be made to stage this game at the Sportsground,” said Kelly.

Also, John Muldoon says it will be at the SG: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0412/1224268142473.html
    In theory, this is a home game but it remains to be seen if the IRFU elect to move it to a roomier venue, with Thomond Park the obvious choice. Muldoon, displaying a purple eye as a souvenir of his afternoon’s work, poured cold water on the idea afterwards.

“Won’t happen,” he predicted.

“The game will be played here. We will sit on the field in protest if we have to. Nobody likes coming here, we know that. So why would we give them the advantage of a nice big ground, dressingrooms, all that?” But regardless of where the match is played, there is a sense that Connacht fancy their chances against any side just now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

nikora coming of the bench is the best option. keatly better at playing a controlled game. nikora is an attackiing 10. himself and troy were magnificent in the last min og the game and nealry got a try.
    he has player very well in the last few games.

they should keep it the sportsground. we havent lost there since ulster in september. if they have to move, they should try pearse.

itt would spit in the faces on connacht supporter if it was moved to dublin or limerick.

1500 diehards have been going there all year, and im one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

Nikora should start IMO, he deserves a chance to prove that he can control a game from the start. Also it would allow the management to rest Keats. Keats to come on at 55 or before if needed.

Diom wrote: »
    Nikora should start IMO, he deserves a chance to prove that he can control a game from the start. Also it would allow the management to rest Keats. Keats to come on at 55 or before if needed.

I've mixed opinions. Nikora can get more out of the backline and they'll need to be at their best to win. Keatley for me is more of a percentage player then Nikora but has shown a distinct lack of bottle this year.

Nikora is as mad as a bag of cats though and I'd rather use him as an impact player for the mo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

We played in the Sportsground for the Parker-Pen before. We played Sale there and had a massive crowd by Connacht standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

I cant wait for this! Absolutely cant wait id love to see us put one over on Munster! Any ideas what kind of a side Munster will field for this?? I reckon a big crowd at the SG for this too!

Steyr wrote: »
    I cant wait for this! Absolutely cant wait id love to see us put one over on Munster! Any ideas what kind of a side Munster will field for this?? I reckon a big crowd at the SG for this too!

What an odd way to spell Toulon :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭tiernanmul_gos

i could see alot fo munster fans cheering on connacht if it was on in thomond park..youd nearly get 15000 or 20000 imo

Depending on ticket prices of course but I agree, at least 15,000 is achievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Sorry but this has to be kept in the Sportsground, just has to. Obviously they'd need temporary stands or whatever but even with 7-8000 in there it'd be some atmosphere. Roll on poncey Jonny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

itt would spit in the faces on connacht supporter if it was moved to dublin or limerick.

1500 diehards have been going there all year, and im one of them

FFS, the match HAS to be played in Galway and like Outwest says, if not the Sportsground, then maybe Pearse Stadium.

I'd also go with Neeks as an impact player and start with Keats.

I know it may seem like I'm caught up in the whole atmosphere of last Saturday but Christ, there were definately people from a lot further afield than Galway city and I think there would be a much better chance of retaining SOME of them if Magners games were played on a Saturday or even Sunday rather than that crappy Friday evening start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Sorry but this has to be kept in the Sportsground, just has to. Obviously they'd need temporary stands or whatever but even with 7-8000 in there it'd be some atmosphere. Roll on poncey Jonny!

Ya poncey Jonny indeed the man has gone through an unatural amount of pain from rugby if he was a ponce hed have retired many years ago.
    His defence is awesome for a outhalf and if hes on song with his kicking could be along night for connacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    FFS, the match HAS to be played in Galway and like Outwest says, if not the Sportsground, then maybe Pearse Stadium.

I'd also go with Neeks as an impact player and start with Keats.

I know it may seem like I'm caught up in the whole atmosphere of last Saturday but Christ, there were definately people from a lot further afield than Galway city and I think there would be a much better chance of retaining SOME of them if Magners games were played on a Saturday or even Sunday rather than that crappy Friday evening start.

with galways nightlife, having a game on saturdays would get more numbers in.

i hope that it is not moved. and money isnt an option.

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Ya poncey Jonny indeed the man has gone through an unatural amount of pain from rugby if he was a ponce hed have retired many years ago.
    His defence is awesome for a outhalf and if hes on song with his kicking could be along night for connacht

I respect Wilkinson more than any other English player, he is no ponce.

/Awaits Judgement Day's Wilkinson worshipping post :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

WallyGUFC wrote: »

Yeah, I think it should stay in the Sportsground for the local fans sake but money talks. As for 'roll on poncey Jonny', careful what you wish for, as Jonno is one of the greatest players to ever pull on a rugby jersey and he'll punish any indiscipline from Connacht! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

/Awaits Judgement Day's Wilkinson worshipping post :D.
    As for 'roll on poncey Jonny', careful what you wish for...

Didn't have to wait long!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭fatguy2k1

Expect an announcement on this fixture in the next hour or two.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

friday the 30th in the Sportsground at 7.30pm !

gcgirl wrote: »
    friday the 30th in the Sportsground at 7.30pm !

Friday? Ah here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

Maybe St Andre will rest Wilko and play Contepomi ... Toulon have Play off to go through. Team management will be crucial and i don't think St andre is considering this game as vital TBH.

Ticket arrangements have not yet been made.

DO NOT E-MAIL OR CALL THE CONNACHT BRANCH FOR TICKETS YET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

fatguy2k1 wrote: »
    Ticket arrangements have not yet been made.

DO NOT E-MAIL OR CALL THE CONNACHT BRANCH FOR TICKETS YET.

Not sure I understand.... do you mean call straight away asking for group discounts? I certainly will! :)

Friday? Ah here...

I would hazard a guess that the timing is decided by TV coverage. Same as Munster-Leinster was on Good Friday.

Well that will teach me to go and open my fecking big mouth:eek: Who the fuvk made this ****ty decision?? To play it the bloody Friday of a bank holiday weekend is absolute BULL****E:mad: and I think it could affect the "potential" attendance. Regular fans will obviously attend (well those that aren't too far from Galway) but it MAY not suit others.
    Roll on poncey Jonny!

Whatever about ANY of the other English players:), I think this is one thing you can't accuse Jonny of. In fact, I reckon if he was down in friggin Galway docks he'ed still be putting them over. He's my son's (who plays 10 too:cool:) idol and tbh I don't think you could find a better role model. One of the OLBC lads was telling me when Connacht played Falcons, Jonny stayed on for ages signing autographs well after most of the other players had gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭dromdrom

PTH2009 wrote: »

Up to 3 hours from Sligo and at least 2hrs 15 mins from Leitrim and Roscommon on bad roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Whatever about ANY of the other English players:), I think this is one thing you can't accuse Jonny of. In fact, I reckon if he was down in friggin Galway docks he'ed still be putting them over. He's my son's (who plays 10 too:cool:) idol and tbh I don't think you could find a better role model. One of the OLBC lads was telling me when Connacht played Falcons, Jonny stayed on for ages signing autographs well after most of the other players had gone.

True, I just couldn't think of any other word that sort of rhymes with Jonny at the time! Great player I know, but we have to hope for a fierce gusty evening on the 30th.:P Wonder will they get temporary seating or what? Or will they need it? I dunno, I'd be confident enough of getting a good crowd in, and confident enough of a result! Hopefully we'll have another magical night in the Sportsground!:D

Well that will teach me to go and open my fecking big mouth:eek: Who the fuvk made this ****ty decision?? To play it the bloody Friday of a bank holiday weekend is absolute BULL****E:mad: and I think it could affect the "potential" attendance. Regular fans will obviously attend (well those that aren't too far from Galway) but it MAY not suit others.

I dont think our frequency of national holidays determine the ERC when there games are to be played.
    Its on when its on (i have to take time off work!) and we need to be 110% behind our lads as the take on what is a huge task in knocking the chelsea of the french top14 off their perch!
    gwan connacht!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Would be very interesting to see Keatley v Wilkinson.

Season ticket holders will be getting a letter tomorrow about arrangements for this match.

tickets will go on sale to the general public on the match on sunday (v munster) and then again on monday through ticketmaster and the branch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

may get to ticketmaster monday !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Here's (poncey) Jonny - again! 23 points out of 33 as Toulon beat Perpignan. :D
    http://www.scrum.com/scrum/rugby/story/114279.html

Jesus with his boot on song and the way we've giving away penalties at the moment, we're facing an uphill battle:(