Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Floyd Mayweather-Shane Mosley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭mr.mayo

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Mayweather - What a legend, He just never fails to disappoint!
    He just always comes off as such an asshole, I was pissing myself at the way he treated those Drug testing guys. He kept them waiting for like 5 hours, he was there shouting at the TV because some guy missed a 3 pointer and they're just sitting there thinking "Hurry up ffs"

On the subject of drug testing, it does seem to really interfere with fight preparations so I can see why Roach didn't want anything to do with it. At the same time though, it's so comprehensive that nobody will be able to get away with anything and that is good for the sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Really enjoyed that - it's gonna be a great fight imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

Draw, No Contest, Other
    I actually think it was one of the best episodes of 24/7 aka the Flomo Show since this concept started.

Also my flip flopping love/hate/respect/disrespect relationship with Floyd (its purely a one way feeling he loves and respects me) just went back into the black. I did think the whole Olympic drug testing thing was a ploy by Floyd but now I can see it is something he is really serious and passionate about - even if he is using it as a tool to bash Sugar Shane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Draw, No Contest, Other
    This should be up there with pacman v clottey; marquez v mayweather;
    khan v mallinaggi, the hype machine is in full swing.
    Enjoy the circus girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

I can see it is something he is really serious and passionate about - even if he is using it as a tool to bash Sugar Shane.

I didn't get that from watching the vid at all, I honestly don't know what his opinion in it is but when he's making his "serious" points like on drug testing/charity work/his father etc .. he always comes across as being very insincere to me, so either I can't read him or I read him very well
    digme wrote: »
    Enjoy the circus girls.

I always enjoy watching Mosley fight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Draw, No Contest, Other
    That ''charity'' event looked completely staged! There was about 20 people there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭colly10

That ''charity'' event looked completely staged! There was about 20 people there!!

Wouldn't surprise me, did ye see the last time he was on 24/7 when he was handing food out the back of his truck, "giving back to the community" etc.. I was cringing it was that bad.
    Maybe the guy in genuine but I just don't see it, if he gives anything i'd see it as a business decision (giving will increase his popularity causing an increase in income more than what he gave)

Draw, No Contest, Other
    This should be up there with pacman v clottey; marquez v mayweather;
    khan v mallinaggi, the hype machine is in full swing.
    Enjoy the circus girls.

I love the hype and gladly buy into it every time. I suppose this is what a 10 year old girl feels like during the build in to the X-Factor final. :)

Draw, No Contest, Other

it was hilarious - "I am blessed, and I want to share my blessing" - aye right ya are Floyd! ;)

And the gear he was wearing - brilliant - like a little dressed monkey (nothing racial meant there either)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

Floyd Mayweather Points
    justin.tv station playing several shane/pbf fights at the moment.

playlist = playlist shane-collazo / floyd-castillo 1 / shane-forrest 1 / floyd-castillo 2 / shane-hoya 2 / floyd-hatton

website = http://www.justin.tv/abcdefgh54321#r=SBY0Y94~

Draw, No Contest, Other
    makl wrote: »
    justin.tv station playing several shane/pbf fights at the moment.

playlist = playlist shane-collazo / floyd-castillo 1 / shane-forrest 1 / floyd-castillo 2 / shane-hoya 2 / floyd-hatton

website = http://www.justin.tv/abcdefgh54321#r=SBY0Y94~
    Have you seen shane mosely v winky ?
    Floyd will do what winky did many years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

HARD WORK

DEDICATION

I'm no big PBF fan but that was quality :pac:

Draw, No Contest, Other
    ragg wrote: »
    HARD WORK

DEDICATION

I'm no big PBF fan but that was quality :pac:

with ya on that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Ahh Floyd baby, you are not Ali, you never will be. Give it up.

I'm actually really looking forward to this one now, 24/7 know thier business and god damn they are the best at it. If only Shane was 3 or 4 years younger (and man is he looking his age in those vids) we would have a real super fight on our hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Have you seen shane mosely v winky ?
    Floyd will do what winky did many years ago

If Floyd fought anything like Wright I "might" agree. Here's the thing. Wright was an offensively minded defensive fighter. He employed a high and tight guard and pumped the jab a hell of a lot. Floyd's jab is good, but he doesn't use it near as much as Wright.

Floyd is also a deal smaller than Wright. Remember, it was Wright's size and talent that
    did Shane in. He was bigger than Shane; Floyd is smaller than Shane.

Wright relied on the size and jab and tight guard. Floyd relies on ducks, dives, reflexes and lateral and backward movement.

strobe wrote: »
    Ahh Floyd baby, you are not Ali, you never will be. Give it up.

I noticed that too - he was trying totalk like ali did about fraizer. talking about gorrilas etc...

Give it up, or at least get your own material...

I love watching him train though, the man is usper dedicated and its a joy to watch someone enjoy training the way he does.
    I'm actually really looking forward to this one now, 24/7 know thier business and god damn they are the best at it. If only Shane was 3 or 4 years younger (and man is he looking his age in those vids) we would have a real super fight on our hands.

Shane is unreal shape though, the guy is a freak. He is still a 12 round fighter.

Do i think he will win? no, it will go the distance and floyds style will win him the fight, but i think it will be a good fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

any idea if sky will show this or will it be a sky boxoffice event?

Draw, No Contest, Other
    walshb wrote: »
    If Floyd fought anything like Wright I "might" agree. Here's the thing. Wright was an offensively minded defensive fighter. He employed a high and tight guard and pumped the jab a hell of a lot. Floyd's jab is good, but he doesn't use it near as much as Wright.

Floyd is also a deal smaller than Wright. Remember, it was Wright's size and talent that
    did Shane in. He was bigger than Shane; Floyd is smaller than Shane.

Wright relied on the size and jab and tight guard. Floyd relies on ducks, dives, reflexes and lateral and backward movement.

Nice to see you nearly copied that reply word for word from another person on a site.
    :p

You read a little too much into my reply.

Nice to see you nearly copied that reply word for word from another person on a site.
    :p

You read a little too much into my reply.

No, not word for word, in my words. Isn't that what learning and education
    is all about. We gotta' get our information and learning from somewhere.
    I just happen to agree fully with the Wright analogy. It was just so obvious.

For anyone interested in a good read and a very good argument for
    a Mosley win, please read.

http://www.eastsideboxing.com/news.php?p=23475&more=1

Draw, No Contest, Other
    No, not word for word, in my words. Isn't that what learning and education
    is all about. We gotta' get our information and learning from somewhere.
    I just happen to agree fully with the Wright analogy. It was just so obvious.

For anyone interested in a good read and a very good argument for
    a Mosley win, please read.

http://www.eastsideboxing.com/news.php?p=23475&more=1

Yes next time just copy and paste without changing 1 word as opposed to 2 and tell everyone your source. :p It's nice to have your own opinion on on such "obvious" matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Brad Goodman

Draw, No Contest, Other
    If Cotto could outbox Mosley for long spells in their fight, I see no reason why Mayweather won't outbox Mosley all night long. For me Mayweather wins by a clear points decision. 8 rounds to 4 would be my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

woodyg wrote: »
    any idea if sky will show this or will it be a sky boxoffice event?

It will be on Sky, not Sky Box Office.

Only British fighters are deemed PPV worthy in Britain today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Mayweather will have to dig deep to get his victory here. I can see him dominating the latter part of the fight and taking a UD. But I expect Mosley to fly out of the traps and scrape the earlier rounds, maybe even buzz Mayweather, something the guy is not used to. I do think Mosley will wilt and Mayweather's conditioning will come into play (similar to ODLH). Mosley will need a KO to win this. I would be shocked if either got KO'd to be honest. Floyd will be too careful and pot shot him, whilst Mayweather doesn't have to power to seriously hurt the granite chinned Mosley.

I can see it going 8-4 in rounds to Mayweather (give or take a round).

I'm torn between loyalties here because I want to see Mayweather's massive ego shattered by a loss but I also want the biggest fight in decades to happen at the end of the year against Pac and if he loses that won't happen.

Draw, No Contest, Other
    magma69 wrote: »
    Mayweather will have to dig deep to get his victory here. I can see him dominating the latter part of the fight and taking a UD. But I expect Mosley to fly out of the traps and scrape the earlier rounds, maybe even buzz Mayweather, something the guy is not used to. I do think Mosley will wilt and Mayweather's conditioning will come into play (similar to ODLH). Mosley will need a KO to win this. I would be shocked if either got KO'd to be honest. Floyd will be too careful and pot shot him, whilst Mayweather doesn't have to power to seriously hurt the granite chinned Mosley.

I can see it going 8-4 in rounds to Mayweather (give or take a round).

I'm torn between loyalties here because I want to see Mayweather's massive ego shattered by a loss but I also want the biggest fight in decades to happen at the end of the year against Pac and if he loses that won't happen.

Agree with everything thing here except for the last part. Floyd losing would be terrible for boxing - Yes he's an arrogant bollix but come on, he is still the #1 guy. Nobody can deny he puts on a show, the buildup to a Mayweather fight is usually more exciting than 99% of actual fights! Him running his mouth and flashing his cash generates hate, the haters want to see him losing so they buy his fights. Just look at the stats, PBF owns all the ppv records, he brings boxing into the public eye, giving it exposure to a wider audience and ultimately making the sport more popular. If you'll allow me use wrestling terminology, Mayweather is Boxings #1 heel, his job is to be hated. He is actually more interesting and more entertaining than the good guys but he's such an ass that you want to see him lose. In wrestling, eventually the good guys always triumph and the bad guy gets whats coming to him but it's not like that in Boxing, Boxing is real and there's no rule which says the bad guy has to lose. I still find it hard to envisage Mayweather ever losing, he's so well rounded - Ultra talented, Very intelligent in the ring, Great movement, Great Speed, Reflexes etc. I have Mayweather winning this by UD, it won't be easy by an means, Mosley will provide stern opposition but Mayweather should still have enough to carve out the win here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Shane Mosley Points
    Can't wait for this.:D
    Setting up a lovely Sunday of football and drink.

Mayweather TKO in rounds 7-9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

Floyd Mayweather Points
    Mosley is a class act, everytime mayweather opens his mouth its embarassing.

Anyone else fed up with Floyd's pad work sessions?

For once I'd just like to see him doing a 'proper' session on the pads.
    I seem to remember a clip of Floyd doing pads where he was letting the shots
    go naturally without all that crap from Roger. It looked a damn sight more impressive.

cash flow was awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Shane Mosley Points
    Anyone else fed up with Floyd's pad work sessions?

For once I'd just like to see him doing a 'proper' session on the pads.
    I seem to remember a clip of Floyd doing pads where he was letting the shots
    go naturally without all that crap from Roger. It looked a damn sight more impressive.

Yeah, that cant be his real pad sessions, if it is its pointless as the pad man is the 1 hitting and mayweather is the 1 getting hit!!!

I think its embarrising at best, he does not even have to look at the pads!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Draw, No Contest, Other
    mr.mayo wrote: »
    Nobody can deny he puts on a show, the buildup to a Mayweather fight is usually more exciting than 99% of Mayweather's actual fights!

Just had to fyp there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

LIVE ON SKY SPORTS
    WBA Super World Welterweight title
    Shane Mosley v Floyd Mayweather
    2am, May 2, Sky Sports 1

So 3am start dam that could be a late one :o

He's turned down the WBA belt now as well, doesn't want it even if he wins.

Mayweather-Mosley will not be in the ring until at least 0430 hrs...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Draw, No Contest, Other
    I think I'll catch the repeat on Sunday morning. (I assume it'll be on at 9?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Draw, No Contest, Other
    ragg wrote: »
    cash flow was awesome
    His hand speed was feckin' unreal and he's only six.:eek:

Draw, No Contest, Other
    I actually had a dream last night that Mosley KO'd Floyd, not kidding. I'm still sticking with Floyd though:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Thought I might beat Vintagekits to it, here is episode 3 of the Mayweather/Mosley 24/7.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Te4W_7MdRVA Part 1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozLWnvbvREc Part 2
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iRLYEV0hLn0 Part 3

Draw, No Contest, Other
    I stayed up till 4am on Saturday night cos I got the date wrong :facepalm:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭laois gael

Shane Mosley Points
    I think mayweather will destroy him in 4 rounds!

keane2097 wrote: »

I don't believe you; maybe back in the pre internet and mobile phone days, and even pre TV mag days that could happen.

There had to be drink involved!:)

Draw, No Contest, Other
    I don't believe you; maybe back in the pre internet and mobile phone days, and even pre TV mag days that could happen.

There had to be drink involved!:)

I was humming and hawing all evening about whether or not I'd stay up, haivng just assumed it was on.

I found myself still playing online poker at about half two then and said sure fcuk it I'll stay up.

Wandered out to the sitting room about half four then followed by super-facepalm :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Could have been worse, ya could have stayed up for it the sarurday after!!!

Looking forward to this one. The 24/7 has been a really good show, it was getting a bit stale but this one has been good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Mayweather - "I'm better than Ali, Sugar Ray"

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/8646125.stm
    Floyd Mayweather has claimed he is better than Muhammad Ali and Sugar Ray Robinson ahead of his super-fight with Shane Mosley in Las Vegas on Saturday.

Mayweather, 33, is unbeaten in 40 fights but 38-year-old Mosley's WBA welterweight title is not at stake.

"What makes them [Ali and Robinson] any better than I am?" said Mayweather.

"Muhammad Ali is one hell of a fighter but Floyd Mayweather is the best. Sugar Ray Robinson is one hell of a fighter but Floyd Mayweather is the best."

Mosley is widely expected to give five-weight world champion Mayweather - regarded by many as the best pound-for-pound boxer fighting today - one of his toughest fights.

Mayweather has not paid the World Boxing Association in order to sanction the encounter as a world title bout and his manager Leonard Ellerbe said: "Floyd's already the best fighter in the world, why does he need to fight for a belt to prove that?"

Mayweather added that, while a victory over three-weight world champion Mosley would enhance his legacy, he rated his rival as merely "a solid welterweight".

"I can't see how a guy like Mosley can even call himself great. I can't see how Mosley can talk about putting himself as a future Hall of Famer," stated Mayweather, who is only fighting Mosley because a match with Philippine superstar Manny Pacquiao fell through.

"I know what I have to go out and do. Everyone is trying to solve the problem, 'how to beat Floyd Mayweather?' I'm like a difficult math problem that no-one can solve."

The build-up to Saturday's fight at the MGM Grand has been overshadowed somewhat by a row between Mosley and Victor Conte, the founder of the notorious Bay Area Laboratory Co-Operative (Balco).

In 2003, Mosley admitted at a grand jury investigating Balco that he used performance-enhancing drugs before his victory over Oscar de la Hoya that same year.

But Mosley is now suing Conte, arguing that he was unaware the 'designer steroids' and the energy-boosting EPO he used were banned.

Conte claims Mosley knew what he was taking and two weeks ago posted excerpts of Mosley's recent videotaped deposition on YouTube, in which Mosley admits to using EPO.

However, the row has since taken a new twist, with Mosley claiming he has "always been a clean fighter" and that he "never did that stuff".

Mayweather and Mosley agreed to undergo Olympic-style drug testing ahead of their eagerly-awaited bout, with the programme including random blood tests before and after.

Mayweather's proposed fight with Pacquiao collapsed in January after Pacquiao refused to yield to his rival's demands for random testing.

Regarding his clash with Mayweather, Mosley said his rival had yet to fight "another top welterweight" and that he expects to have the edge in terms of speed.

"There are a lot of great welterweights out there he could have chosen to fight instead of fighting the ones he fought," added Mosley, who has 46 wins (39 knockouts) and five defeats.

"I believe I'm faster, I believe I'm going to have the advantage in speed but we'll see."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Look forward to this one. I think Mayweather will win on points. I will watch 24/7 later in the week to warm up for it. One of the best programmes on TV. HBO do a great job making it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Roar wrote: »
    Mayweather - "I'm better than Ali, Sugar Ray"

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/8646125.stm

He doesnt promote the sport that well when he disrespects great fighters. PBF record is padded up with some truly average fighters. I suppose whatever feeds that ego of his. I'd love for Mosley to floor him but he's an above average fighter whose best fight is surrounded in drug taking allegations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Dempsey wrote: »
    He doesnt promote the sport that well when he disrespects great fighters. PBF record is padded up with some truly average fighters. I suppose whatever feeds that ego of his. I'd love for Mosley to floor him but he's an above average fighter whose best fight is surrounded in drug taking allegations.

as much as id love to see him lose because of his "wanker factor"

i want to see him win, then fight Paquiao and beat him to,

for the simple reason being, is i belive he IS better than all those mentioned above, i want to see the best ever boxer in my time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

Draw, No Contest, Other

haha , sorry man :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Draw, No Contest, Other
    Floyd by Split Decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Gettin excited now haha i always buy into these buildups!
    I really fancy Mayweather to take Mosley on Unanimous points but the price is a terrible 8/15 so i had a look on betfair where Mosley is 10-1 to win on points, had to have a little bet as that price is massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Floyd Mayweather KO
    I'll be having a small go on Mosley by KO , 10'er or so .

Mayweather to win on points is twice as likely to happen as all other possible results put together !!:eek:

Well , the only question for me is how much Shane has lost in the last 16 months ?????

who knows - Ill tell you on Sunday .