Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how much is a house worth

• 11-04-2010 2:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭

in your area? where i am i think its about the 290k mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

drdeadlift wrote: »

Pfffft! In this climate? Where are you living? Did your mother send you from Phily to live with your Auntie and Uncle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Anything from 120k to 200k depending on how ignorant the seller is.

I can see prices going around 100k for a 3 bed Semi here.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

That's fresh, prince.

I don't want to say how much houses in my area are worth.
    People might try to rob me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

about a tenner............. and a bag of chips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Icould sell 4beds in Sligo for ninety grand and makes profit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

€540,000 easily :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Are you asking cost, value or what they are actually worth, there is a difference in all three.

The cost of houses where I live, standard 3 bed, is around €200,000.
    The net value is probably around €150,000
    they are worth around €20,000 in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Because I live in the most beautiful part of the country the values vary significantly :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

About three fiddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Absolutely nothing, in much of the country.
    An estate agent or anyone else can put any price they want on a property; it's utterly meaningless.
    If there is no potential buyer, it's worthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

anything from 50,000 to 7,500,000 depending on what you are looking for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

In Dun Laoghaire they are doing buy one get one free on apartments because there are so many. Hasn't stopped them building more though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

it depends what kind of property u have, house/appartment/land/shoebox, says drumcondra on you profile, 260-290k for a 3-4 bed house id say is about right, but its no time to be sellin imo and if anyones buying there prob lookin for a deal, its a tug o war between seller and buyer, u show me urs ill show u mine all that crap:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

so if i show u my cock, you'll give me a house in drumcondra?

PM sent! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭mono_mac

Are you asking cost, value or what they are actually worth, there is a difference in all three.

The cost of houses where I live, standard 3 bed, is around 200,000.
    The net value is probably around 150,000
    they are worth around 20,000 in my opinion.
    20k ah cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

The_B_Man wrote: »
    so if i show u my cock, you'll give me a house in drumcondra?

PM sent! ;)

Now now.... your doctor told you that its not the size of the cock but the bird your width ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

mono_mac wrote: »
    20k ah cop on

for anyone around in the 1980s thats not far off the truth, 4-5 bedroom houses were going for IR£20-30k back in the mid 80s in the west, just did a quick calcuation and inflation from 1987-2010 is running at approx 100% :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭aoboa

rossie1977 wrote: »
    for anyone around in the 1980s thats not far off the truth, 4-5 bedroom houses were going for IR£20-30k back in the mid 80s in the west, just did a quick calcuation and inflation from 1987-2010 is running at approx 100% :eek:

I reckon the average industrial wage in 1987 was about 9-10K

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

IMHO a house's value is based on the following.

10% the bricks and mortar
    11% the land/footprint
    79% the neighbours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Tigger wrote: »
    Icould sell 4beds in Sligo for ninety grand and makes profit

Expensive beds...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Where i live in the country at the moment, houses are worth around 350,000 to 600,000 but they dont come on the market that often, most people have lived here all there lives and we dont take kindly to blow inns and people who will lower the tone of the neighorhood:D.
    None of your riff raff around here i tells ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

20k ah cop on

Giving the apallingly low standards of construction in a lot of cases 20,000 Euro Turkish Lira could actually be quite generous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

TheZohan wrote: »
    Expensive beds...

That's a mattress of opinion.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Giving the apallingly low standards of construction in a lot of cases 20,000 Euro Turkish Lira could actually be quite generous.
    Im a brick block layer , thats impossible not even with everyone workin free

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    That's fresh, prince.

I don't want to say how much houses in my area are worth.
    People might try to rob me.

What, like steal your entire house?
    The value of your house says nothing about it's contents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

lol, brick block.

I'm such a child :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

That's a load of blocks.

im still drunk

give that man a can of coke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The price of something is what someone's willing to pay for it, of course. With houses, you see lots of talk about factors such as location, scarcity, and neighbourhoods as influences on the price, but none of that matters if you can't pay for it.

You could pay for it a few years ago, when banks were giving out 100% mortgages with minimal checks. The sellers charged more because the buyers could pay more. That's not happening any more: now you need a larger deposit to get a mortgage linked to your verified income. Potential buyers will have less money, so sellers will have to charge less, or there will be no sale. (Yes, I know there will be exceptions, but I'm talking statistically here.)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭ricman

IF someone wants to live in area x its what you will pay and what the bank will lend you,ie most of what you pay is for the right to live in area x close to shops ,bus service, dart etc Thats why a house in drumcondra is worth more than a house in tallaght .you can get into city center in 15 minutes, as opposed to 50 minutes from tallaght.
    You can buy a house for 30k in ireland if you are willing to live in the middle of nowhere.
    Theres an article on times online uk today, an architect says he built a new house for 25k in leitrim out of cheap materials.He,s setting up a blog to to publish the house plans free to download and print out.
    HE advocates self building for persons and communitys.
    And you will have a certain standard of living living there ,thats what you are paying for.
    From a technical point of view the bricks ,mortar,roof, walls of a semi d are
    prbly worth 50k, not counting the cost of the site.IE cost of materials,construction, minus stamp duty.
    Just try and buy a site to build a semi d in drumcondra ,its practically impossible, to find a site there.
    See here http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/visual_arts/architecture_and_design/article7090211.e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The market has changed now; there was a time when 150k wouldn't buy you a crevice big enough to pitch a dome tent on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

No, you only think it is because you're overpaid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

The whole is often < The sum of the parts

How much is your car worth ?
    bnt wrote: »
    You could pay for it a few years ago, when banks were giving out 100% mortgages with minimal checks.

And were stupid enough to take out a mortgage when you hadnt a hope in hell of meeting the repayments -especially when interest rates go back up........

People seem to assume what they can afford = what the bank is willing to lend them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

priceless if it's a home for your family. We have to forget about financial value unless buying or selling and NOT borrowing on the strenght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Some of the houses are only around £300k; our is £500k, and would be one of the more expensive houses in the city.

So - just my area, not the ex-council houses - it'd be from about €344,000 - €573,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

priceless if it's a home for your family. We have to forget about financial value unless buying or selling and NOT borrowing on the strenght.

exactly! unless planning to sell the negative equity isnt an issue. yes it is a bitter pill and all that but ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

our is £500k

Thats the Birmingham mansion!!!

All bow!

QUOTE=SV;65351857]No, you only think it is because you're overpaid[/QUOTE]

Yeah yeah talk to the hand

QUOTE=SV;65351857]No, you only think it is because you're overpaid[/QUOTE]

Yeah yeah talk to the hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

The cost of houses where I live, standard 3 bed, is around €200,000.
    The net value is probably around €150,000
    they are worth around €20,000 in my opinion.

That would be an ecumenical matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 hughkane

How long is a peice of string?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

TheZohan wrote: »
    The market has changed now; there was a time when 150k wouldn't buy you a crevice big enough to pitch a dome tent on.
    Ah the infamous €90k (iirc) beach huts, standing room only. You couldn't make it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Where I am in Galway City, the cheapest 3 bed semi-detached is about 270,000.

That's what's being paid, not the asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

If you're ever going to buy a house, buy one before the year is out.

kraggy wrote: »
    Where I am in Galway City, the cheapest 3 bed semi-detached is about 270,000.
    Four bed semi detached houses are going for aroud €200k in Rahoon, in some fairly nice spots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Four bed semi detached houses are going for aroud €200k in Rahoon, in some fairly nice spots.

Really? Whereabouts? Gort Greine?

kraggy wrote: »
    Really? Whereabouts? Gort Greine?
    Take a wander up Gleann Dara past the interesting looking villa on the corner, as you go up its the first turn left, two properties for sale there, I called up to get a quotation on asking for the craic and was surprised to be told €200k. It's probably a ruse to get it to auction, but I'd say if you wandered in with €200k cash, they'd take your hand off.

Prices have a long way down to go yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

biko wrote: »

Perfect example of how the housing market went, this is a 6 bed house. Look at the size of the kitchen and the sitting room FFS. same as an average 3 bed semi. If you need 6 beds you need a sitting room and a kitchen for minimum 6 people, barely fit 5 in that sitting room. Maximum amount of bedrooms into the smallest space possible,

well done Galway planners, take a bow