Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland "cool"?

• 09-04-2010 11:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

A foreign mate of mine said something interesting to me the other day. He said Ireland was "cool".....he said it's primarilly because we "fcuk everything up" - he said foreigners think it's kind of "cute"....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Was he under influence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

hes being a prick just knee him in the nuts the next timee you see him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Well it aint warm anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Where was he from so we can bad mouth it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Darkman, you could analyse a trivial, barely substantiated comment by someone you don't even know for traces of anti Irishness... or alternatively you could just... let it go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Yep, we're cool. You must live in France! Sorry to hear that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

6C?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

darkman2 wrote: »
    A foreign mate of mine said something interesting to me the other day. He said Ireland was "cool".....he said it's primarilly because we "fcuk everything up" - he said foreigners think it's kind of "cute"....:confused:
    American? Late Teens? Early Twenties? Yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Ireland has a very "cool" reputation, like we don't give a **** kinda thing and we don't really do we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

We're like that drunk uncle everyone smiles at but really pities.

And we've certainly got the drunk part down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Definitely been pretty nippy recently...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Well yeah he was being a prick about us BUT is there an element of truth there? I mean....come on.....some of the stuff that goes on in this country would be funny if it were not so serious. FYI I did actually get a bit annoyed but really had no comment substantial enough to counter his Germanous....:( And you know what the Germans are like....perfect in every way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Yeah we're cool. I'd rather be Irish than any other nationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

forcast for the mid teens this weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    We're like that drunk uncle everyone smiles at but really pities.

The paedo one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Ireland is cool.

Darkman, caring what someone else thinks about you is anathema to being cool. (also using the word anathema is anathema to being cool, but hell if I'm going down that circular road)

You are not cool.

Leave Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Ieland is the greatest country in the world.

Well yeah he was being a prick about us BUT is there an element of truth there? I mean....come on.....some of the stuff that goes on in this country would be funny if it were not so serious. FYI I did actually get a bit annoyed but really had no comment substantial enough to counter his Germanous....:( And you know what the Germans are like....perfect in every way.

You could try mentioning the war.

strobe wrote: »
    Ireland is cool.

Darkman, caring what someone else thinks about you is anathema to being cool. (also using the word anathema is anathema to being cool, but hell if I'm going down that circular road)

You are not cool.

Leave Ireland.

Homer: So, I realized that being with my family is more important than being cool.
    Bart: Dad, what you just said was powerfully uncool.
    Homer: You know what the song says: "It's hip to be square".
    Lisa: That song is so lame.
    Homer: So lame that it's... cool?
    Bart+Lisa: No.
    Marge: Am I cool, kids?
    Marge: Good. I'm glad. And that's what makes me cool, not caring, right?
    Marge: Well, how the hell do you be cool? I feel like we've tried everything here.
    Homer: Wait, Marge. Maybe if you're truly cool, you don't need to be told you're cool.
    Bart: Well, sure you do.
    Lisa: How else would you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Dear god if you can't insult the Germans then who can you insult?

You should get him to sign up here so AH can have a go at him. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

he said foreigners think it's kind of "cute"

When is having his final procedure to complete his change to an American teenage girl?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You could try mentioning the war.

Is that not uncool? He could lose the rag and insult us further before kicking my (Irish) ass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

lonad wrote: »
    All other countries are run by little girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Recession got the dibs on the letter R, I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

doesn't mean its cool though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

And you know what the Germans are like....perfect in every way.

Perfect in everyway...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

So f*cking subjective, I think, for instance, that getting guinness drunk and making racial comments are cool. Lots of others may disagree
    Threads have shown that some think Australia is cool and other will beg to differ
    I like Ireland and I think it's cool. If you don't well thats yer opinion!

But yer wrong, and you really can't say that I'm wrong cos I've never been wrong. I thought I was wrong one time but it turned out I was right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Ireland still cool, you pay later!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

I lived in teh US with a few other Irish lads for a few years, we were friendly with another group of Austrians & Germans, we always got on great, and contrary to popular opinion they do have a grand sense of humour.

Are you cool? Your mam might say so, but I'd say you're not. Depends on who you talk to. But you're definitely not cool.
    Ireland is though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Given that middle aged Irish men don't wander around in shorts, dress socks and birkenstocks in the summertime, I'd say you've got a leg up in the coolness department. :rolleyes:

...or worse yet, wander around naked (shudder)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭nehpets10

Once I still here, Ireland is pretty cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

Is Ireland "Cool"?? Compared to Europe, and many countries in the rest of the world this country is a joke in terms of politicians, the health service, transport, justice, corruption... and the fact that irish people talk about all of this, and do nothing about it. The french people would not accept living in a country like this, and would rise up against their government, protest, and get it sorted out. Irish people talk, and do nothing about any of this. All talk, and no action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭mooman

nicegirl wrote: »
    Is Ireland "Cool"?? Compared to Europe, and many countries in the rest of the world this country is a joke in terms of politicians, the health service, transport, justice, corruption... and the fact that irish people talk about all of this, and do nothing about it. The french people would not accept living in a country like this, and would rise up against their government, protest, and get it sorted out. Irish people talk, and do nothing about any of this. All talk, and no action

That's what makes us cool, all the Frenchies are running around with their knickers in a twist while we sit back and enjoy the ride:cool:

You're a nice girl so you go first and I'll follow you ;)

Seriously though, its an international media and you dont wanna give signs of turmoil in my opinion. Especially because we are cut away from everything, need to attract investors to a stable market.
    We can and should lobby our local politicians, of which we have plenty, and punish those who failed us in our elections. There's nothing stopping any of us standing up and running if we feel so strongly, thats a proper protest, a street protest just make us seem on a knife edge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Please give examples as to how Ireland has inferior standards of 'politicians, the health service, transport, justice, corruption' compared to the rest of the world.

PS, the French have more then enough problems of their own (their education system for a start), which you would realise if you ever conversed with one.

PSS, Ireland is statistically one of the least corrupt nations in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

When Bono is still viewed around the world as your coolest export you know you're not cool. You are my brothers and sisters and i love you dearly but you are definitely not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Frenchie No.1 ; "Ooooh, dees eeez not guuud"

Frenchie No.2 ; "Wat eeez it mon ami?"

Frenchie No.1 ; "La baguetee - eeet eez stale"

Frenchie No.2 ; "Sacre Blue - we must hav zeee proootest"

(An Irishman would just toast it)

Orizio wrote: »
    Please give examples as to how Ireland has inferior standards of 'politicians, the health service, transport, justice, corruption' compared to the rest of the world.

PS, the French have more then enough problems of their own (their education system for a start), which you would realise if you ever conversed with one.

Did you see Brian Cowen standing next to Obama during Paddys day? The fúcking head on the man! I know this isn't quite what you were looking for but on the topic of cool it's' worth mentioning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    When Bono is still viewed around the world as your coolest export you know you're not cool.

Only by uncool people buddy...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GisforGrenade

There is only one national day that is celebrated all over the world and that is Paddy's Day, could you honestly see another country celebrating St.George's day or even the 4th of July?

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    Did you see Brian Cowen standing next to Obama during Paddys day? The fúcking head on the man! I know this isn't quite what you were looking for but on the topic of cool it's' worth mentioning.

I know you're being tongue in cheek b Ireland,but thats what is wrong in politics in Ireland, and the world, today.
    We shouldn't really give a damn how people look as long as they can run a country. If I had a business i wouldnt care less if my manager was socially retatrded as long as he could run it efficiently.

And (this is gonna get shot down) but i have to say, for all the **** Kenny gets, his party are still behind him all the way because he can organise and they will all say so. Not much of a revolt happening there.
    Thats actually good quality for Govt but he seems like he sneers and has a real bogger accent and so is undesirable(as opposed to Bertie in his anorak with his soft talk who was the most cunning and devious of them all)

Ffs, when are we gonna realise that it's not Pop Idol, it's business!

There is only one national day that is celebrated all over the world and that is Paddy's Day, could you honestly see another country celebrating St.George's day or even the 4th of July?

I'm struggling to think of anything more uncool than a St Patricks day parade.

Mardi Gras = Cool

St Patricks Day = Not Cool

I know you're being tongue in cheek b Ireland,but thats what is wrong in politics in Ireland, and the world, today.
    We shouldn't really give a damn how people look as long as they can run a country. If I had a business i wouldnt care less if my manager was socially retatrded as long as he could run it efficiently.

And (this is gonna get shot down) but i have to say, for all the **** Kenny gets, his party are still behind him all the way because he can organise and they will all say so. Not much of a revolt happening there.
    Thats actually good quality for Govt but he seems like he sneers and has a real bogger accent and so is undesirable(as opposed to Bertie in his anorak with his soft talk who was the most cunning and devious of them all)

Ffs, when are we gonna realise that it's not Pop Idol, it's business!

I can't really disagree with anything you have said but cool as i understand it cares little for right or wrong on political matters. Cool can be a shallow business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Condi wrote: »

Cowen has less crap to deal with than Obama, gets much longer holidays, doesn't have to care about looking like an "ideal candidate" 24/7 in that he can look like a scrotum with a sad face drawn on it & can be seen in his local pub getting hammered & joining in on sing-songs AND he gets paid around the same... I'd say that's pretty cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

Well, I will state first of all, I am NO expert with all of these issues I stated above, but on an overall basis...
    Politicians....what or how since the last election have they made a really GOOD difference in each of their constituencies (AS PROMISED????!!!!), or the Taoiseach, Tanaiste, Minister for Health, the Minister for Justice, the Minister for Transport, the Minister for Enterprise, Trade, and Employment etc.

The Taoiseach cannot, and does not know how to sort out the current economic crisis. The Taoiseach can bail out banks, and corrupt rich people, but CANNOT bail out the normal working person, or protect, and bail on people with difficulties with mortages repayments etc???????

The Minister for Health needs to spend 12 to 15 hours in A & E in MANY hospitals around the country, get through to A&E (Eventually) to witness that doctors and nurses are NOT rushed off their feet, and it is the fault of hospital management who cannot organise staff to efficiently, and effectively do their jobs correctly, or even be able to organise patients scans/xrays/outpatient appointments etc, because there is lack of communication, incompetant doctors, consultants, and it is the individual hospital that cannot run the hospitals effectively. Mary Harney, and the HSE are alot alone to blame, but is it her fault that doctors/consultants failed to misdiagnose breast cancer scans, is it her fault that there were 57,000 unread xrays in Tallaght hospital?????.....no it wasn't. Mary Harney, and Professor Drum are NOT doctors or consultants or hospital management, BUT it is her job to ensure that things like this do not happen, with which in her years of being Minister for Health, she has failed to deal with.
    Minister for Justice....sure if someone robs a bank, the guards won't really be able to do anything about it/investigate it, and a robber will get away with it. Example being the ATM's robbed by using a JCB in Kilkenny or in the midlands, not so long ago, correct me if I am incorrect of the location. If someone is raped, they get a custodial sentance and are out in a few years (I'm not exactly sure of the exact facts of this, but they are out within a few years, I believe, and have heard within the media) If someone is murdered, it goes to court, and the person may not be convicted or again are out in a few years (I'm sure there are a good few examples of this???) Where is the legitimate justice in this country????????

Minister for Transport....traffic is horrific in most cities in Ireland, and I will mention the 30KM/Hr speed limit around Dublin city centre????? There are country roads in Ireland where there are dangerous roads/surfaces that are responsible for accident black spots, and there would have been accidents, so why not invest money in improving the road structure or whatever is needed to reduce an "Accident black spot?????" Constant delays in and out of Dublin aerport (I will state I'm not sure if this is under the Minister for Transport, or the DAA??) The train service...always delays, never arriving to the destination on time.. terrible service, overall responsibilty, correct me if I'm wrong Minister for Transport??

Minister for Enterprise, Trade, and Employment....how these days is this Minister helping/assisting people in small business's, starting up business's, or even trying to retain/save jobs in this country??? This is the job of the Minister and what have they REALLY done to help small business's/start up business's or retain jobs in this country, and to assist them in the current economic crisis??????
    Again, I wish to state I am NO expert on the above issues but this is how is looks to me following media coverage etc. At the moment, I believe it is very very difficult to live in this country, because if you loose your job, or go into ill health, cannot protect your own business, your own house/mortage, where exactly can a person turn to for help?????? And if this happens it is NOT an individuals fault, but the question remains, who can the turn to for help???? If you are a rich person it will be ok for you, but the normal working class person in this country is SCREWED left, right, and centre, and due to the incompetance of government ministers, government departments that is why this country is in the state we are currently in. This country was a rich country a few years ago, and I GUARENTEE the french people would not ALLOW/ACCEPT their country to go into the state that our country is currently in.

So that in my opinion this is why Ireland is definately NOT cool, but is currently a very corrupt, and difficult country to live in. And who will do anything about any of this??????? No one, all talk, and no action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Dear god, have you taken Dublin Bus? Or lived in a city with a real metro system? Dublin is the first capital city I have ever been to (outside of extremely poor countries) without a metro/rapid transit system. And don't even get me started on inter-city transport.

From Transparency International: "Significantly however, Ireland is regarded by domestic and international observers as suffering high levels of ‘legal corruption’. While no laws may be broken, personal relationships, patronage, political favours, and political donations are believed to influence political decisions and policy to a considerable degree. The situation is compounded by a lack of transparency in political funding and lobbying." Ireland isn't Louisiana cash-in-the-freezer dirty, but it ain't clean either (ahem, Galway tents, ahem).