Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone here actually think David Haye would beat either Klitschko?

• 09-04-2010 5:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭

well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

He has a very slim puncher's chance against Wlad and I cannot see him beating Vitali (not any time soon anyhow).

Haye's chin is just too bad. For him to get past their jab (which is powerful enough to hurt him) he has to take a few shots. There is no possible way for Haye to outbox them. Wlad's chin isn't granite so if Haye lands one he will hurt him. I just can't see him getting past the jab without getting hurt. Also, Wlad says he will KO him but I have no doubt in my mind he will be extra cautious because he knows if he is reckless he could end up on his bum.

I give him a 10% chance against Wlad. 5% chance against Vitali. Haye looks good against average opposition, people are overrating him because of this. I hope the fight is made soon. Haye needs to back up all his thrash talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭wireless101

Haye has a reasonable chance a against both.

Vitali has slowed down an awful lot, its pretty obvious from the Johnson fight. Haye would land a lot on Vitali, and although Vitali has granite in his chin you would be worried about a cut stoppage or points win. All the same Vitali would give him trouble as well, pawing with the jab, and if he lands a nice right Haye's chin might not hold up.

Haye's only chance against Wlad is to rush him, but I dont think he has the balls to do this. If he stands off we would see Wlad jab, jab and grab his way to a a points decision. If he actually rushed him he could heard Wlad, who tends to panic after a big punch and whose chin isnt the best.

In short I think Wlad beats him, but the Vitali fight could go either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Looking at both brothers in recent fights. I think he has a very good chance against both brothers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

No, none at all, especially with Vitali-he will get beat bad.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Agree with Cowzerp. Vitali would dismantle and stop Haye in the first half of the fight. Vitali is too big, too strong and way too durable for Haye. Vitali moves a lot better than many give him credit for. With Vitali having stated that he intends to retire at the end of this year, Haye may decide to wait to go after the WBC belt once Vitali is gone.

I think Haye would last longer against Wlad, mainly due to Wlad's style of jab,jab,jab, hold, jab, jab, jab then after eight rounds of that a booming right ends it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

i dont think he has that big a chance but he has thrown some bombs and when can we remember either of them getting seriously hurt.If he started one of his fights agains them like he did Ruiz it would at least give them something to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I'm in the minority when i say he has the beatings of vitali. Unless his chin is really bad. This is me basing vitali on his last fight.

Also he can only beat wlad if he can get inside his head and make him fight his fight.

I give him a chance in either but if the k-bro's were watching last week i'm sure they were thinking easy money.

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I think he'll beat both to be honest. He'll only improve too and has a sick amount of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Nope - but after his recent performances he has more of a chance.

Vitali would go to prison after the Haye fight.
    Wlad would jab him into retirement.

Haye should fight two more top HW's before he goes near a Klitscho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Where the hell do people get this sh!te from about Haye's chin being that bad? I mean seriously lads, he was put down by a monster punch from Mormeck and the same against Carl Thompson, but both times as a dangerously weight drained Cruiser.

By the same logic I suppose Manny Pacquaio is glass jawed too, lets face it he was pole axed by a couple of nobodies a few years back.

He got up and battered Mormeck which to me shows not a bad chin but a great heart, and his corner pulled the plug on him against Thompson because they knew how badly drained he was.

TBH i think the same people in here who dislike Haye tend to dislike most British boxers for some reason:rolleyes:. I didn't see too much commentary after the Ruiz fight from the people who were so sure Haye would be KO'd. They were wrong then and are going to be proved wrong again.

If you want to talk about bad chins then look no further than Wlad. Haye could demolish him inside a round. Vitali was battered by Chris Byrd, not exactly a hall of fame candidate.

The Klits are big predictable lumps and we've already seen how Haye deals with big predictable lumps. The sooner a deal is done to fight them then the sooner we'll see a unified HW champ.

Which will be really painful for the anti brit brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I reckon he could take Wladimir but Vitali ?

I reckon it would be tough going for Haye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

id love to see him beat them. Hes an arrogant little bollix who will either fall flat on his face or unify the division. They would certainly make for good fights. Id like to see him take Wlad out first then aim for Vitali. Imagine the build up to the second fight. The trash talk from Haye would be unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭mr.mayo

Hard to say, I certainly believe Haye can beat the Klitschko's but whether he will or not is an entirely different question. Personally I think he would have a better chance against Wlad than he would against Vitali. He would have to use completely different tactics in each fight, against Wlad he would have to get try to in close and nail his chin with as many shots as possible. That would then leave him open and he could very well get caught but it's a risk that must be taken. If he were to stands back and trys to outbox Wlad, he'd be eating that famous jab all night long but if he is able to get inside and hit him with the power we all know he has, there is a good chance of Wald being Knocked Out.

Vitali is a completely different animal altogether, he has a granite chin and serious power. If Haye were to try and get close to him like I suggested against Wlad, he would almost certainly find himself on the canvas being counted out. That gameplan is simply not an option, to beat Vitali Haye would have to be on his toes and constantly moving for 12 rounds. It would be somewhat like the gameplan he deployed against Valuev but obviously Vitali is a lot better fighter than he was. Based on his last few fights, Vitali doesn't seem to be as quick as he once was but is still 10X better than that lumbering Russian giant and still very much the favourite against Haye.

Anyway, if we're doing this on percentages then I'd give Haye a 35-40% chance of beating Wlad and a 25-30% chance of beating Vitali

Daroxtar wrote: »
    TBH i think the same people in here who dislike Haye tend to dislike most British boxers for some reason:rolleyes:. I didn't see too much commentary after the Ruiz fight from the people who were so sure Haye would be KO'd. They were wrong then and are going to be proved wrong again.

I dont think there is much hate for Haye in here and im no fan of England but as a boxing fan do still like watching good english boxers, i was a fan of Naz, Hatton, even Bruno to a degree!
    the fact that he {haye} is terrified to get hit is a good indicator that his chin is not all that!

The Klits are big predictable lumps and we've already seen how Haye deals with big predictable lumps. The sooner a deal is done to fight them then the sooner we'll see a unified HW champ.

They are predictable, and everyone is predicting a beat down on Haye, he wont land a glove on either if they fight and they will put him away at will, probably play with him for a few rounds 1st, Wlad might play with him for the full 12 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

cowzerp wrote: »
    the fact that he {haye} is terrified to get hit is a good indicator that his chin is not all that!

+1 i dont think his chin is bad because he went down from good shots in the past, what makes me think he is chinny is the way he reacted to ruiz when he was on the offence, even barret and eno had him rocked a bit with average shots. Basically if he is in with wlad he will fight a little bit like audley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Where the hell do people get this sh!te from about Haye's chin being that bad? I mean seriously lads, he was put down by a monster punch from Mormeck and the same against Carl Thompson, but both times as a dangerously weight drained Cruiser.

By the same logic I suppose Manny Pacquaio is glass jawed too, lets face it he was pole axed by a couple of nobodies a few years back.

He got up and battered Mormeck which to me shows not a bad chin but a great heart, and his corner pulled the plug on him against Thompson because they knew how badly drained he was.

If you want to talk about bad chins then look no further than Wlad. Haye could demolish him inside a round. Vitali was battered by Chris Byrd, not exactly a hall of fame candidate.

Battered by Chris Byrd? Go rewatch that fight. Vitali was miles ahead after nine rounds, one judge had it at 89-82 and the other judges had it scored at 88-83 when Vitali pulled out of the fight with a torn rotator cuff.

As for Haye's chin, well I don't see how saying that the Klitschko's have the power to knock Haye out is the same as saying Haye has a bad chin.

Haye would have a puncher's chance against the brothers, but that's about it imho. It does not mean that Haye is crap or anything stupid because he is British, it just means my opinion is that both Vitali and Wlad should beat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Haye was floored and badly hurt by Super-Middleweight Lolenga Mock, although it was a cracking punch. He often alludes to the fact that he's regarded as having a questionable chin and doesn't dispute it while doing so.

I think Haye's chin is probably a little better than he's given credit for, and better than he probably believes himself. He does panic at times at Heavyweight when his opponent gets close.

I think Haye stands a decent chance in both fights. Contrary to what many believe I think he should(nor would) try and blitz Wlad early. I think he'd try and counter Wlad's jabs with big lead rights and I'd give him a decent chance of being able to catch Wlad and catch him hard with a shot like that.

Wlad is the one who needs to be aggressive against Haye, if he just tries to push Haye back with the jab and occasional right hand he could find himself in trouble. Haye closes the range very quickly and can jump in and land big shots. I think the reason Manny Steward was getting so upset against Eddie Chambers and Wlad's lack of trying to put him away was he saw that Eddie had some of the characteristics of Haye(in terms of being able to avoid punches). But what Haye also has is the ability to land big counter shots, being taller than Chambers and having a greater reach would give him a great chance at being able to do just that if he avoid Wlad's shots.
    I reckon Steward would like Haye out of there as quick as possible if they were to meet because the longer they're in the ring together the better chance Haye has of nailing him.

Vitali fight I'd give Haye a chance in aswell but it'd be much tougher. Vitali isn't the same fighter he once was, he's slowing and his reflexes have diminished. I remember when Corrie Sanders handspeed and power gave Vitali real problems early in their fight years ago. Sanders then ran out of stamina and took a hammering before being stopped on his feet. Haye as suggested earlier in the thread would probably apply the same tactics he did in the Valuev fight and while Vitali has a great chin I wouldn't rule Haye out from being able to hurt him. Unlike against Wladamir however he'd probably need to hurt him time and time again to finish him, but a points win wouldn't be out of the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

http://www.rte.ie/sport/boxing/2010/0412/klitschkow_hayed.html
    Klitschko issues Haye challenge

Wladimir Klitschko has laid down the gauntlet to David Haye by warning his fellow world heavyweight champion: 'You can't run away from me forever.'

WBA title holder Haye withdrew from a fight with IBF and WBO champion Klitschko due to injury last summer before walking away from negotiations with his brother Vitali, the WBC king, in order to challenge Nikolay Valuev instead.The Englishman still publicly craves a crack at both siblings in what would be blockbuster events but talks have yet to reopen. In a video message posted online and released to the media, Wladimir said: 'I want to send this message to boxing fans and directly to David Haye.

'David, you've bitched out on fighting both Klitschko brothers twice already and now is the time to make it happen. 'On behalf of the boxing fans around the world, I am officially calling you out to fight me.'You can't run away from me forever and you need to follow through with this fight to get respect. I'm ready.'What are you waiting for?'

On 3 April Haye impressed in his first defence of the WBA belt he took from Valuev, destroying tough American John Ruiz in nine rounds in Manchester. The Londoner is the most marketable fighter in the heavyweight division alongside the charismatic German-based brothers, who have spent recent years treading water against poor opposition. While Vitali faces London-based Pole Albert Sosnowski next month, Wladimir knocked out Eddie Chambers in March in the 12th round of a sterile contest.

Ye might found out sooner than ye thought.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Klitschko/285530825204?v=wall

quality, real call out..

David-its in your court now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Klitschko/285530825204?v=wall
    quality, real call out.. David-its in your court now.

didn mean to usurp you. was in the process of embedding when I saw ur post.;) This really puts it up to David Haye. . hard for him to avoid fighting one of them now. Just hope if they get it on that it's at least a bit more entertaining than their previous fights..

Balls actually in Povetkin's court now, all he has to do is step aside.
    I'm assuming with a bit of cash and (maybe)a guarantee to face the winner he'll do just that. Povetkin's team don't think he's ready for Wlad it's why that fight hasn't happened yet despite Povetkin being mandatory for ages(although injury was a factor at times too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

I think he has a great chance against both, i just think he has the speed, the mobility and the ability with his team to work to a game plan. I think Haye is improving all the time at heavyweight. Hes got a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Dougalicious

magma69 wrote: »
    He has a very slim puncher's chance against Wlad and I cannot see him beating Vitali (not any time soon anyhow).

Haye's chin is just too bad. For him to get past their jab (which is powerful enough to hurt him) he has to take a few shots. There is no possible way for Haye to outbox them. Wlad's chin isn't granite so if Haye lands one he will hurt him. I just can't see him getting past the jab without getting hurt. Also, Wlad says he will KO him but I have no doubt in my mind he will be extra cautious because he knows if he is reckless he could end up on his bum.

I give him a 10% chance against Wlad. 5% chance against Vitali. Haye looks good against average opposition, people are overrating him because of this. I hope the fight is made soon. Haye needs to back up all his thrash talk.
    You say Haye has looked good against average opposition, well while that may be true the brothers look boring against poorer opposition where even if the fight were close they would get as they always fight in Germany(practically home). He would hammer Wlad, Vitali would be tougher!! I hope he beats them both as the heavyweight division ias a laughing stock!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭whaaames

I hope he beats them both as the heavyweight division ias a laughing stock!!

Genuinely hasn't been worth watching for a decade...although i still do

whaaames wrote: »
    Genuinely hasn't been worth watching for a decade...although i still do

Lewis did only retire 7 years ago and the division was certainly still worth watching during his reign.

Since then we've had Vitali vs Corrie Sanders, Danny Williams beating Mike Tyson, Wladamir vs Sam Peter, Lamon Brewster vs Sergei Lyakhovich, Oleg Maskaev vs Hasim Rahman II, and a guy like Arreola who although isn't a top notch fighter created excitement with his fights(particularly vs Travis Walker and Brian Minto). David Haye's fights at Heavyweight bar the Valuev match have been good to watch aswell.

So okay it hasn't been great, but to say it's not been worth watching is a little harsh. It's not that long ago we had Tyson, Holyfield, Bowe, Lewis, Golota dominating the division and you can't expect that to last forever. After the amazing 70's there was the dreadful 80's(where things were as bad if not worse than now), until Tyson came on the scene.
    At least with this generation, there has been two quality heavyweights(the Klitschko's) during its poor era. Unfortunately they're not the most exciting Heavyweights around but you can't blame them too much for that, if someone was more competitive with them their fights would be better.

That's where David Haye comes in...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

No.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Since then we've had Vitali vs Corrie Sanders, Danny Williams beating Mike Tyson, Wladamir vs Sam Peter, Lamon Brewster vs Sergei Lyakhovich, Oleg Maskaev vs Hasim Rahman II, and a guy like Arreola who although isn't a top notch fighter created excitement with his fights(particularly vs Travis Walker and Brian Minto). David Haye's fights at Heavyweight bar the Valuev match have been good to watch aswell

In fairness thats's fairly slim pickings man, the slimmest of all being the danny williams win over tyson. anyon who watched that fight knew Tyson wasnt the slightest bit interested, in fact he couldnt have cared less...

But if ya look at the amount of remarkable fights between 1990 and 1999, compared to 2000 - 2009. theres no comparison....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

At the moment Wlad is 34, Vitali is 38 and Haye is 29. Haye will wait a few years till the Klits are shot and then fight them.

On The Button...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,445 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I seen the op's question and haven't read any of the thread but basically what I believe is that David Haye would have a punchers chance against Wlad because of his dodgy jaw and no chance against Vitaly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

haye wouldnt know what to do with a klit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

x PyRo wrote: »
    I think he'll beat both to be honest. He'll only improve too and has a sick amount of power.

Rob113 wrote: »
    id love to see him beat them. Hes an arrogant little bollix who will either fall flat on his face or unify the division. They would certainly make for good fights. Id like to see him take Wlad out first then aim for Vitali. Imagine the build up to the second fight. The trash talk from Haye would be unreal.

Agree with all the above.
    They are predictable, and everyone is predicting a beat down on Haye, he wont land a glove on either if they fight and they will put him away at will, probably play with him for a few rounds 1st, Wlad might play with him for the full 12 though.

But the uselessly slow but powerful Sam Peter managed it with Wlad? And would've beaten him if he'd been able to sustain it. So why wouldn't Haye?