Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you feel in your swimming togs?

• 09-04-2010 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭

I try and go swimming as much as I can as I think its the best exercise one can get. When Im in the water Im like a duck to water,splishing,splashing and sploshing like im in my natural element.

However, I always feel very uncomfortable walking to and from the dressing room and when Im fully exposed in the sauna or steam room.

I was in the UL pool yesterday and while walking out of the steam room a group of lad's shouted at me to 'get a tan'. I'd like to say this is a isolated incident from an isolated group of people but its happened to me more than once,where a group of people in the pool have openly commented on parts of my body. After that you feel like everyone is scrutinising what your body looks like and your relaxing dip in the pool makes you worry about people looking at your wobbly thighs and cellulite.

I'm just wondering If others feel the same discomfort when heading for a dip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

I can kinda know how to swim (once I'm beside the safetly bar!!) and I probably would be better if I went more often but to tell the truth its because I am mortified in my swimming costime, thighs, tummy, arms.... everything out there that I normally hide is a massive no-no for me!! :o

Also, that is horrendous what those people were doing to you! No-one is perfect and therefore they have no right to comment on you and make you feel that way!

*hugs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

wtf, thats awful! how old were they?! id be complaining about them to whoever runs the pool, you should be free to get to/from the pool without being shouted at!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭mollymascara

Love swimming but I've not been in years. I get so uncomfortable with having to walk to and from the dressing rooms, regardless of whether anyone is even looking my way. Any body insecurity fully on display....emmm...no thank you :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

That's just nasty, panda!

I like swimming but I'm way too self conscious. I also don't have a proper swim suit. I briefly worked in a gym and would look at the pool every day with longing, but I'd hardly have the nerve to actually use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

shivvyban wrote: »
    I can kinda know how to swim (once I'm beside the safetly bar!!) and I probably would be better if I went more often but to tell the truth its because I am mortified in my swimming costime, thighs, tummy, arms.... everything out there that I normally hide is a massive no-no for me!! :o

Also, that is horrendous what those people were doing to you! No-one is perfect and therefore they have no right to comment on you and make you feel that way!

*hugs*

Oh no I'm grand,I'm well used to people shouting stuff at me at this stage without it having any effect! It made me think though how many women (and men) don't get to enjoy a fabulous pastme such as swimmming beacuse they are ashamed to be so fully exposed,despite the face that female nudity is pretty much everywhere.

Last year,I was trying to get a load of my friends to go to the National Aquatic centre to go on the slides.
    My best friend didnt want to go as she hates wearing a swimming suit,though she's from Singapore so I thought it might be a cultural thing. However, I noticed that the larger women in my group of friends, all who are great fun and would have loved the slides, didn't want to go. A few weeks later one of them confessed to me that she hates being seen in a swimming suit as she feels everyone is staring at her. I thought it was so sad, as swimming really is great exercise,yet many women are too ashamed to be seen only in their togs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Gah, swimming togs, my most loathed thought at the moment.

I have no problem going swimming here, I just hold in my stomach walking to pool and back! But I'm going to Vegas in 7 weeks and have yet to start a proper diet, last time I was there it was cruel sitting around the pool with all these bronzed toned beauties passing by, no way in hell am I going through that again!

I carry any extra weight on my tummy and boobies, so it's fine here to just suck in my gut and let the boobies distract but it's not a long term solution is it??! I hate how pale I am too, but can't help that though so I try not to let that bit bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 freeatlast

I haven't been swimming in 20 years because I am mortified about my body. I know this is pathetic but I just can't get past it. However, I think it's brilliant that women can now wear shorts and other more modest outfits. Those eighties high leg, arse out suits were a NIGHTMARE. I would just love to get swimming again but can't see it ever happening unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Wow, I can't believe how many people are so ashamed of their bodies. I think it's really, really sad. :(
    I wouldn't let how I feel in a swim suit stop me from going swimming, but I have to admit that I also wouldn't be too enthusiastic about the whole thing. I dunno, it's the walk to the pool where you're just thinking, "My god, are my legs actually blue? Ah, how do I discreetly de-wedgie myself?! I wish I looked like her, I'm never going to eat chocolate again" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I feel way better in a bikini then a one piece so thats why I am not a big fan of public pools, you can't really wear a bikini in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Lux23 wrote: »
    I feel way better in a bikini then a one piece so thats why I am not a big fan of public pools, you can't really wear a bikini in them.

Can you wear a bikini to a public pool?
    I wore a bikini once to UL and it was like I had a third leg or something, I was completely stared out of it,particularly by the lifeguards! I do not have a bikini body as I enjoy my chocolate and wine far too much,and I hadn't shaved in weeks so I thought that maybe I wasn't allowed to wear it as noone else had a bikini on? I find it better in a bikini when using the steam rooms and sauna as my tummy rarely gets exposed and the steam is good for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

Of course you can wear a bikini in a public pool! I used to always wear a bikini... but I found an awesome one-peice which I feel and prolly look better in anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

They were just little muppets Panda but I know its hard not to take things like that to heart.

For me personally, I am comfortable enough in my swimwear now. I wore bikini's the whole time I was on holidays last year and I will do the same this year. I wear a one piece when I go swimming. I got a really nice one last year in Tesco of all places. Its a flattering cut, nice colour and has reinforced bits so it sucks everything in. I have recently lost a lot of weight as well and I am now about a size 10 but when I was heavier I would usually have my toddler at the pool and could use him to hide any wobbly bits :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Honestly, the price of going for a swim would be more likely to put me off than what other people think of me in my togs. I do have a preference for the more sporty type of swimsuit though, the type that's relatively good at holding stuff in anyway. If someone's got a problem with my pasty pale legs or anything wobbly, screw them, I'm there for a swim, not to look pretty for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

I walk around trying to suck my stomach in as best i can. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Novella wrote: »
    I dunno, it's the walk to the pool where you're just thinking, "My god, are my legs actually blue? Ah, how do I discreetly de-wedgie myself?!"

Haha, I lol'd at that !

As a guy I wouldn't have the same worries as woman but I have some things that made me uncomfortable in the past. I'm a pretty hairy guy all over, shoulder, lower back etc and it made me uncomfortable if people, even my friends, commented on it. I'm used to it these days and actually like my hair.

And as rainbow Kirby said, it's not about looking pretty. It's all about the swim !

I really wanna go swimming now.. Who's in ?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

I'd love to go swimming. Thoroughly enjoy it [from what I remember] once I am in the pool, but getting in and getting out makes me panic. I can't do it. I'm a size 16 and would feel super self conscious, even around friends. It's almost like a phobia now. I couldn't even been seen in my swimsuit/get into the pool in Italy last year. Some day :(

I just can't do it. I can't go for a swim because I am so self conscious about my body :(

Dreading the wedding I have in Italy in ten weeks time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I just can't do it. I can't go for a swim because I am so self conscious about my body :(

Dreading the wedding I have in Italy in ten weeks time :rolleyes:

Ten weeks is a good bit of time to try do something about your body if you're not happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I don't mind how I look in my swimwear. I'm a little fuzzy in parts where I'd rather not be fuzzy, but whaddyagonna do? *shrug*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I too am of the swimwear-phobe brigade. It makes me so sad :(

I go to the gym quite a bit and many times I've been in there and thought 'I should really start using the pool,' and that thought is immediately interrupted by horrifying imagery of me edging my way around the pool area in my togs, darting through the dressing room when no-one's looking and then ruining my swim by immediately fearing having to get out the second I get in.

It's such a pity because I used to love swimming as a kid.

What I find weird is the fact that I am completely comfortable walking semi naked around the ladies changing room, don't give a second thought to the fact that everything is on show and anyone could be having a gawk...yet have nightmares about walking about freely in a pair of togs!

I don't think I've ever been comfortable wearing swimwear in public since I became a teenager, and I've been both chubby and pretty skinny. And I work out a lot so it's a pretty sorry state of affairs that it will probably never change

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Ten weeks is a good bit of time to try do something about your body if you're not happy with it.

I'll never be happy with it. I'm a woman don't ya know :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭StandardAngel

I hate my legs and wish i could wear shorts in the pool!!
    I also hate changing in the open changing area, i would much rather seperate changing cubicles but unfortunately my gym doesnt have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

i used to love swimming as a kid, went to 6 weeks of classes in a row one summer out of sheer love of swimming. was fairly daycent at it too.
    then the oul puberty kicked in and i realised i was a lil on the chunky side and wimmins werent over awed by my bod so i stopped going.
    im now mid twenties and got fed up carrying the same reservations about being semi nude in public. ive lost some weight, ive a david hasslehoff rug of a chest and am by no means mister muscle, but the way i look at it is simple.- this is my bod, if ya are offended by it look away because ive as much right to strut my stuff to and from the pool as much as anybody else.
    i couldnt give a flying fedelma what people think of my bod anymore to be honest, theres no such thing as the perfect bod as far as im concerned, everybodys got hangups, if people spent less time worrying about what other people think, and more time concentrating on all the good things that they have in their lives (health, happiness,life,family,friends etc) the better off we will all be at the end of the day.

phew!time go step off this soap box!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Been meaning to go back swimming. Have a belly to get rid first.

As for dewedging yourself, pull the sides of the swimsuit at the arse area outwards, to do so. Annoying as hell, so it is.

Oh, and I find the swim hat comical, as I have a shaved head, an epic beard, and a heairy back. But the one part of my body where the hair is shaved off: I must a wear a swimming cap over it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

panda100 wrote: »
    I was in the UL pool yesterday and while walking out of the steam room a group of lad's shouted at me to 'get a tan'.
    Heh, I'd make sure to come back even paler the next time if that comment was shouted at me. :)

The harshest critics of our bods are ourselves...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Yes of course you can, just be careful if you are diving in;)
    I wore a bikini once to UL and it was like I had a third leg or something, I was completely stared out of it,particularly by the lifeguards!
    It's just unusual to see a woman in bikini wear at a pool:)
    I hate my legs and wish i could wear shorts in the pool!!
    You can!:) During my lifeguard training this year, we had three women who wore mens swimming shorts over their swimsuit (board shorts more than anything) because they had issues showing their legs/ghetto booty<<their words not mine:D to other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

'Get a tan' What? In Ireland? Did they use fake tan themselves or something?

I feel a bit self conscious, but I reckon everyone else does so I don't let it bother me that much. Actually, after reading this thread, I didn't realise it was such an issue for many that they would never go swimming. That sucks.

Stick it on and delude yourself that you are a curvy Amazon strutting around being stared in looks of adoration rather than disgust ;)

On another note, I notice whenever I use steam rooms, saunas, jacuzzis etc, they are full of guys. I guess that's where all the lads hang out, if you are looking for them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭eevyhayes

I have been a swimmer for years, was part of a dublin swimming team and all that. I have been swimming all my life with guys and girls. I think because im a confident and good swimmer and am used to swimming with lads ands ladies, this really has helped with my confidence in my swimming suit. Im happy with my body and im not afraid of walking down the pool bank. If anything the people around me should feel embarrassed that they look ridiculous trying to swim!! No but seriously ladies....be body confident!!! I am very shocked at how many woman are embarrassed by their bodies in a swimsuit. I couldnt care less!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

I've always been uncomfortable in water (hate it, it's all cold and wet and unstable) and the togs only made me feel more vulnerable, all exposed and blah! It was part of the reason why I never learnt to swim!

But in Febuary of this year my OH booked out a pool a couple of times for us so I could learn to swim in peace and quiet with no one around. He taught me and now, though still not a fan of swimming I can comfortably say I can swim :D
    Still hate the togs though hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Like a joint of pork wrapped in clingfilm :o I don't really go swimming all that much these days!

It always kinda felt like I was walking around in my underwear with a bunch of strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

I always feel self-conscious too although I wouldn't say i'm hideous! Although the older I'm getting the less I'm caring. Look all you want lads! Take it or leave it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If we could only spray on an airbrushing substance... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

Niamho! wrote: »
    I walk around trying to suck my stomach in as best i can. :)
    shame i can't suck in me arse :mad:

i hate swimming togs as well i did wear a tankini over in lanzarotte last year, i'm a big lass and i felt so exposed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I love swimming, been at it since an early age and have long gotten over any hang-ups I had. Once you're in the water nobody can really see you anyway, it's just the walk to the edge that's a bit daunting. Don't think many people are staring or making notes on your body.

Really think anyone shouting abuse in a public pool should be thrown out though OP.

One thing that does bother me though is mothers that bring boys of about ten or so into the changing rooms with them. I'm paying a fortune for a really swanky gym now and don't want a ten or twelve year old staring at me changing. There's one snickering little brat who seems to be always there with his friend, they're about twelve.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

OP thats terrible. How could someone be so immature? Im sure they were far from perfect.
    Me? Ive swam for years even through my awkward (read puberty) years and as a result I just suck my tummy in when walking to the pool. As far as Im concerned, anyone there to actually swim is paying no attention to what I look like and anyone who is looking at you is a poser trying to bring other people down. Noone looks their best in a swim suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭lemon_sherbert

I feel the same way, self conscious etc. To be honest, I find the whole experience a lot easier just by wearing a light toweling robe to and from the pool. Something the likes of this
    151010862480?$ProdLarge$

Except mine is light blue and has shorter sleeves. It may not be super stylish, but at least I know the wobbly bits (i.e. all the bits:)) are covered up and safe from roaming eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭Fluffybums

Rather sad that so many people, I suspect it is mainly women in the general population, don't take advantage of a great form of exercise, it can be especially good for the slightly less svelt bodies as you can get a good cardio-workout with out hammering your knees (will ignore the damage caused by years of swimming whip kick with breaststorke).

In the last few years I have slapped on the weight and i was never small to start with. I am now about a size 18, should wear a 42" cossie, but generally wear a 40" to keep the boobs under control and because I think Speedo do the best cossies it is a bu**er to find anything bigger than a 40". As you can imagine it is not a pretty site:eek:. To and insult to injury, due to a playful kitten my legs look like I'm big into self harming. My feeling is that I am embarrassed to walk around in my cossie (and I have been tempted not to swim as a result) but if I let that get in the way I would be size 20 before to long and feel even worse. Also I want to be smaller and fitter so I just swallow my pride and get on with it. The good thing is I probable have better stroke techniques than 90+% of the people in the pool which helps my confidence a bit.
    I guess what I'd like to say to anyone who is bothered, swallow it and enjoy your swim. The people who make comments have the problem not you, ignorant sods! I spent 15 years working part time as a life guard and all shapes and sizes go swimming - a few wobbly bits is nothing and it could always be worse. I met one lady, when working as a lifeguard, who had very severe psoriasis, she felt she had to tell me that the red patches was psoriasis in case I or a member of the public thought it was contaigous. The thing was that she found the chlorinated water in the pool actually helped the condition.

In my efforts to get fit, I've started a bit of running and what really annoys me is going to buy running gear the sizes only go up to a small 16:mad:. What do people think, fat people shouldn't train, then how the hell do we get thin and fit - run in the nude!!! Even at my thinest some of the stuff would struggle as I am somewhat more than flat chested - are women with boobs not supposed to run!!!!:mad::mad::mad:

Rant over.

Ladies no matter what you think you look like GO FOR IT, as an ugly girl we all have our plus points and in our own way we are all wonderful (in my case you definately have to look past the surface). Swimming is a great exercise and one you can do no matter how old and what shape and size you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 menorcababy

I feel exposed, very very exposed and tell that group to go look in the dressing room mirrors, they are hardly perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Fluffybums wrote: »
    In my efforts to get fit, I've started a bit of running and what really annoys me is going to buy running gear the sizes only go up to a small 16:mad:. What do people think, fat people shouldn't train, then how the hell do we get thin and fit - run in the nude!!! Even at my thinest some of the stuff would struggle as I am somewhat more than flat chested - are women with boobs not supposed to run!!!!:mad::mad::mad:
    If you're willing to order online, a lot of US-based stores will stock your size in running gear(equivalent to a US size 14) - try the US Nike store, UnderArmour or SkirtSports. Also, M&S has a very broad size range for sports bras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

How do you feel in your swimming togs?

Disgusting :o

My parents used to make me go swimming when I was a young teenager and I was self-conscious then, even though i was only about a size 10. Now at about two sizes bigger there is no way in hell I would go to a public pool in swimming togs. It's bad enough being on a pool holiday! At least you can cover up with kaftans and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭planetX

Horrible horrible, I HATE going to the pool. Worst of all is that I have to take my kiddie, which means standing in knee deep water, so ya can't even hide underwater very well. Plus it gets cold just standing so I gradually turn an attractive shade of purple. I wear a bikini (need the underwires!), and board shorts and a tankini on top! And I still hate it!!!!!!!!!!

I wore a bikini once to UL and it was like I had a third leg or something, I was completely stared out of it,particularly by the lifeguards! I do not have a bikini body as I enjoy my chocolate and wine far too much,and I hadn't shaved in weeks so I thought that maybe I wasn't allowed to wear it as noone else had a bikini on? I find it better in a bikini when using the steam rooms and sauna as my tummy rarely gets exposed and the steam is good for it.

The lifeguards in ul are usually sports science students. Having met you, I imagine they were just being sleazy.
    There is a horrible atmosphere in that particular gym. I used to do aerobics there, and men come especially to use the running track as a leering gallery for the classes.
    I also got snarky comments a few times, for daring to cross into the sacrosanct weight sections. From the type of people who use the machines as resting places, to leer at made up women bouncing along on the treadmills.

I look like I'm smuggling a sack of spuds in swimtogs. Seriously.
    I avoid being too exposed, I prefer all in ones or tankini's.
    But I never feel uncomfortable in the pool or sauna, and I have never had comments. Feck it, swimming is fun and life is short.
    When I was learning, there was a woman, who came 100 miles to use a pool. Where she definitely wouldn't meet someone she knew. And still wore an oversized t-shirt and shorts.
    She was a perfectly average bodied 40 something.

It really saddened me, that someone her age, could be so hung up on other peoples opinions.
    It is not like your imperfections make their eyes bleed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

Moonbaby wrote: »
    When I was learning, there was a woman, who came 100 miles to use a pool. Where she definitely wouldn't meet someone she knew. And still wore an oversized t-shirt and shorts.
    She was a perfectly average bodied 40 something.

It really saddened me, that someone her age, could be so hung up on other peoples opinions.
    It is not like your imperfections make their eyes bleed.

My goodness! 100 miles?!?! At some point, it can't be worth all that effort! (Or maybe it's just me, and I'm too lazy.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I used to panic about what I looked like until one day I was freaking there was this hot dude in the jacuzzi and I was having a major panic attacked and slipped into the pool! Now I just dont give a feck :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

On holidays in Lanzarote, my then 12 year old niece (who has been swimming on a weekly basis since a young child) was nervous about going around the pool in a swimsuit because she had a "fat" tummy. The reality was she was (and is) slim. On day 3, my sister pointed out to her a forty-something woman, who was a bit overweight and had, by the looks of it, at least several children, wearing only the skimpiest of bikini bottoms. Image problem solved.

I'm wondering, are the women who are sensitive about body image around the pool worried about being seen by men or by women or both? I strongly suspect its about being seen by women. However, there are quiet times when there are only a few people about and indeed some pools and gyms offer women-only sessions (men only sessions are rarer) or alternatively, there a re busy times, where you can lose yourself in the crowd. :)

If you aren't enthusiastic about walking around in your swimsuit, invest in a lightweight over-sized towel that you can wrap around yourself. http://www.arus.com/womens_bath_wrap_womens.html Also a pair of goggle can do wonders for confidence in the water - you can get a decent pair for €5-10.

Finally, I was at the pool about six months ago. I got chatting to a woman in the shallow end (I don't swim enough and was out of breath, she was a regular but had been injured and out of practice), but didn't pay too much attention. Later that day, I was chatting to another woman about body image type stuff and I mentioned the woman at the pool. Specifically I said I was surprised at the size of her hips when I saw her (fully clothed) leaving the building. I was given out to for judging her. :) But I hadn't judged her - I merely observed her. And the specific observation I made was that the swimsuit better flattered her body shape than the smart skirt and blouse she wore later.

I don't know if that was a typical male reaction of seeing lots of flesh and just being grateful or not. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Victor wrote: »
    Also a pair of goggle can do wonders for confidence in the water - you can get a decent pair for €5-10.
    Personally, goggles are most epic. For those of us who are half blind, you can get prescription goggles.

If you do buy a pair of goggles, the best test is to put them over your eyes, with the strap to the back of your head. If the goggles fall off instantly, don't buy them. If they stay on your face for 10 or so seconds before falling off, it means that there is a good vacuum caused. This in turn means that when you are wearing them in the pool, no water will seep through.

Finally, and this is most bizarre, the best way to ensure that the goggles don't steam up, is to wipe the insides with a bit of your own spit before putting them on. Found this out from one of the lads, and strangely, it works a charm.

=-=

One of the main benefits of goggles is that you don't get sore eyes (caused by a mix of chlorine and piss in a pool), which can put some people off. Another benefit is that you can clearly see where you are going, and help you be more aware of your surroundings.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ArtSmart, another post like that and you're banned from here. Post deleted

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Assets Model

[QUOTE=WindSock;65331063 Actually, after reading this thread, I didn't realise it was such an issue for many that they would never go swimming. That sucks.

S[/QUOTE]

Yeah me too i'm shocked I can't imagine not wanting to go swimming because I don't like how I look. Swimsuits are pretty unflattering so i'd always wear a bikini I much prefer them. My stomach isn't washboard but it's grand and I always wear fake tan so that isn't an issue. I don't particularly like swimming as i'm **** at it and the chlorine makes my skin feel itchy and dry afterwards so I don't go swimming. I'd be grand wearing a bikini on hols in the summer. What do people do on sun hols if they never wear swimsuits? Just never go to the beach ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

What do people do on sun hols if they never wear swimsuits? Just never go to the beach ever?

Not that I get holidays but when Im away I will always wear a bikini - my local pool isnt the place for bikinis but I love being on holidays and wearing one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

The last time I was in a pool was when I was on a Medetteranian cruise two years ago. For 3 days, I kept getting pestered by my mother and her friends to join them in the Jacuzzi and although I had two flattering swimsuits (onetummy-tucking one-piece and a two-piece tankini with shorts), I felt so mortified getting into the pool.

It wasn't because of my belly, though. I don't really have any qualms about showing my muffin top as myself, mother and her female friends are all a bit on the larger side and thus, it's nothing they haven't already seen before.

No, I was more mortified over them passing comment about the scarring on my thighs, legs and ankles. Thankfully, no-one said anything and after a while, I managed to relax.