Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/H goes sideways

• 08-04-2010 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭

Is it just me or does any one else thing that A/H has taken a side step into the chat realm? im still a newbee, however, i have noticed the threads have gone kinda facebookie imo,

feel free to roast me over this, its just an observation on my part :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

It hasn't.You're wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Wot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Is it just me or does any one else thing that A/H has taken a side step into the chat realm? im still a newbee, however, i have noticed the threads have gone kinda facebookie imo,

Right lads who is up for this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

nice1franko liked this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

lonad wrote: »
    Right lads who is up for this

Can we high five during it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

So, how are you Bolag? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yup. Needs to be restored to it's former glory. I thought private forums were for this sort of thing?

Rosco1982 wrote: »
    Can we high five during it ?

If it's the done thing , hell why not

Down with that sort of thing!

WindSock wrote: »
    Yup. Needs to be restored to it's former glory. I thought private forums were for this sort of thing?

But how does one get into the private fora without having proved one's flirt-worthiness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

If it's the done thing , hell why not

I'm in.

But at no point should our eyes meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

WindSock wrote: »

What former glory?

"Are polish woman better looking then Irish?"

"Nigerian ayslum seekers get free cars!!1111"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I think a lot of posters go through phases of liking/disliking AH, then there's the core "clique" who're always there, and they're the ones who chat/flirt/make tasteless jokes in threads about tragic events etc. The "thanks" whores.

Personally I (and I think an awful lot of other people, from the impression I've got) get really, really sick of AH after a week or two and go off it completely for awhile, then come back, rinse, repeat. Sort of seasonal thing I suppose. It's great for reading some interesting, oddball stories and some of the posters should legitimately be comedians. But other times it's very closed off and alienating and sometimes downright a bit sick; a lot of threads go way too far.

The duality of it is pretty annoying, too.. can't make jokes in certain threads but in others with the same level of tragic background you can, then posters saying "oh AH isn't cliquey at all!" when they're blatantly part of the clique. Not going to bother to name names.. but I'm sure most regulars know who I'm on about.

It's basically just a humour and chat forum. I don't know what it was before, I haven't been around long enough. But of course it'll be a bit facebooky... the regulars have their domain so they chat like friends while people like me drift in and out.

Mods (or at least one in particular) have become quite a bit more heavy-handed lately.. and (no offense guys, but) not always about the right things.

No point trying to say anything about it though, there won't be any changes. Might as well just float on. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,467 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Quiet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

liah wrote: »
    I think a lot of posters go through phases of liking/disliking AH, then there's the core "clique" who're always there, and they're the ones who chat/flirt/make tasteless jokes in threads about tragic events etc. The "thanks" whores.

Personally I (and I think an awful lot of other people, from the impression I've got) get really, really sick of AH after a week or two and go off it completely for awhile, then come back, rinse, repeat. Sort of seasonal thing I suppose. It's great for reading some interesting, oddball stories and some of the posters should legitimately be comedians. But other times it's very closed off and alienating and sometimes downright a bit sick; a lot of threads go way too far.

The duality of it is pretty annoying, too.. can't make jokes in certain threads but in others with the same level of tragic background you can, then posters saying "oh AH isn't cliquey at all!" when they're blatantly part of the clique. Not going to bother to name names.. but I'm sure most regulars know who I'm on about.

It's basically just a humour and chat forum. I don't know what it was before, I haven't been around long enough. But of course it'll be a bit facebooky... the regulars have their domain so they chat like friends while people like me drift in and out.

Mods (or at least one in particular) have become quite a bit more heavy-handed lately.. and (no offense guys, but) not always about the right things.

No point trying to say anything about it though, there won't be any changes. Might as well just float on. :)

thats what i ment, thank you liah, i didnt have the eloquence to phrase it the way you did,:)

I don't understand why people would be getting worked up by this. granted I am a noob , sort of , it doesn't bother me that there are groups of people who have been here along time and have clicked and it shows in their banter. Pretty much the same as any congregation of people ,some will mix well, others will try and others will just float in and out.

Granted some of the threads are dragged screaming into flirtville but it can also be a bit of craic , not something to get hetup about.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

People need to lighten up. If you don't like AH, don't read it. There are plenty of other forums. AH hasn't gone sideways, there's no right or wrong way that AH can go, it is the way it is, and I like it because it's humorous and light-hearted and in general a good read.

Also, it's usually where I hear news first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,540 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Ahahaahahahhaahahaahahaaahahaha

AH was ridiculous in 01 and still is the same.
    You are like the balillionth person to bemoan the funneh'ier times back in 01/02/03/04/05/06/07/08/09/10

Now 00, let me tell you about that...

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Any hot guys wanna chat?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Is it just me or does any one else thing that A/H has taken a side step
    You should see my tango!

Any hot guys wanna chat?

http://www.grimmemennesker.dk/ugly-people-555.htm

He does. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A/S/L?

AH has always been chatty. It's the free-for-all-within-reason forum.
    You should have seen it back in the day (pretty much same as now).

Postcount +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭nehpets10

I don't understand why people would be getting worked up by this. granted I am a noob , sort of , it doesn't bother me that there are groups of people who have been here along time and have clicked and it shows in their banter. Pretty much the same as any congregation of people ,some will mix well, others will try and others will just float in and out.

Granted some of the threads are dragged screaming into flirtville but it can also be a bit of craic , not something to get hetup about.

nehpets10 wrote: »

Came back in 2009 , was off saving the world. :P

3 years sabbatical , I didn't miss much:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Actually I've found it kind of depressing in the last couple of days. Usually it makes me laugh & I always enjoy the serious threads in AH.

'It is what it is.', as the philosopher Galtieri said.
    I too enjoy reading the flirting some of the time. It can be quite hilarious. When it gets too much for me, I stop reading the thread. Problem solved.
    There seems to be occasional waves of this negative introspection. Two threads today on chatting/flirting and accusations in 3 threads (twins/cannibals/Martina) of sick jokes and suddenly there are choruses of 'AH isn't what it used to be', 'Standards, these days, in AH are deplorable'.
    If it's too sick, the mods are always there to sort it out or there's always one of the omnipresents who'll have a go at the offending poster.
    Then the wave suddenly passes and life goes on as normal...and they all lived happily ever after.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Actually I've found it kind of depressing in the last couple of days.

It's all the threads about being single and stuff. They're waaaaaaay too deep for After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

It hasn't. You're wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,467 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Is this thread about crabs?

/scratches head & crotch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

For me, AH is far less chatty now than it was when I joined (only a year ago). It definitely seems to have been clamped-down on, and I haven't noticed in-thread chat/flirting that actually ran for more than a few posts without a mod warning, except for the April Fools/Love/Matchmaking merged thread(s)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The ludicrously flirty, off-topic threads always seem to get closed though.

I personally think "thanks whores" are a figment of the imagination most of the time - if you think of something sharp, why not post it? Isn't the best comedy the quickest-timed? If it's not funny, nobody will thank it anyway. How many times does the reminder have to be driven home that this is that kind of forum?
    And yeah, the clique isn't a deliberate policy of exclusion, it's just regular posters getting to know each other - the norm in any such situation.

As for humour on tragedy threads: I think the line is when it slips from light-hearted/good-natured to just nasty and not funny... I appreciate these are subjective, but some people here can be very po-faced - e.g. the thread about the conjoined twins. There was a jokey remark about their names - and not only was it deemed a cruel ill wish towards the babies, but also racist. It was neither, but some people just leaped at the opportunity to be outraged and see only badness in people. One of the most black-humored people I know, who would wholeheartedly endorse the comment on that thread, worked for several months in Chernobyl with sick children. It's presumptuous in the extreme to cast aspersions on a person's character based on a light-hearted internet joke...

The humour thing is a difficult one though - if, say, the Omagh bombing happened today, I personally wouldn't be able to stomach any humorous comments at all, which makes me hypocritical I know, but it just goes to show you humour is a very subjective, personal thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I like the chat. It's what I, and many many people, come to AH for. Not everyone likes it, but hey such is life! Nobody's gonna like everything about everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Came back in 2009 , was off saving the world. :P

3 years sabbatical , I didn't miss much:)

You motherF*cker if you haven't noticed you've left the world in a pretty bad state since you went about saving it :rolleyes:

everything was fine and dandy in 2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

I just hate the way people think they can do actions on posts like

/ goes to make a cup of tea while jumping up and down and other actions that can be done by the magical /

bazmaiden wrote: »
    You motherF*cker if you haven't noticed you've left the world in a preety bad state since you went about saving it :rolleyes:

everything was fine and dandy in 2006

I didn't fecking say I was successful but it sure opened my mind ;)

Yes 2006 was a good year . AH was hardcore and jokes were jokes , boys flirted with girls , girls with boys , boys with boys , girls with girls .:rolleyes:

Racism was funny in context , conjoined twins with foreign names were unheard of in good old catholic Ireland.

Then boom all fcuking gone , no more pub 7 nights a week where AH would curl up and die . It was back to the keyboard and some company with like-minded people.

I haven't been to the Christianity thread yet :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Most of the threads that appear here could appear in other 'serious' forums like News & Media, Personal Issues, Politics etc.
    But the reason they are brought here is for the craic. Is it not meant to be like a pub? Pub conversations flow and ebb and thankfully we have moderators to keep them on topic, which they usually do when it gets sidetracked.
    The fact is when people post here for a while they get a feel for others personalities and thats how these chats can occour. It's a natural resultt of familiarity.
    And as for the flirting, can be cringey and I'm more guilty than anyone but feck it, it's spring time and I blame the admins for their matchmaking on valentines day!

I haven't been posting here long enough to know what it was like 'before' but in my experience people have a habbit of looking through rose tinted glasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭nucking futs

@ Bolag_the_2nd: No they haven't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Vain wrote: »

/ goes to make a cup of tea while jumping up and down and other actions that can be done by the magical /

yeah man high five... 0/

I didn't fecking say I was successful but it sure opened my mind ;)

Yes 2006 was a good year . AH was hardcore and jokes were jokes , boys flirted with girls , girls with boys , boys with boys , girls with girls .:rolleyes:

wish I was around then

bazmaiden wrote: »

wish I was around then

It may be that I am remembering it with rose tinted glasses as Slasher says. I enjoy it today and love the idea that people come in here and get upset about some posts.

If you don't like it take it to the multitude of other places that make up Boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I think your post is pretty spot on.

It was always a general discussion and humour forum. Though you did used to get more robust discussions in here. It seems they have faded away a lot of late. As have a lot of the funnier threads. That's just an opinion mind, AH often goes through bad patches but lately it feels like it's been on an extended break from the funny. I genuinely can't remember the last thread that had me laughing in AH. It feels to me like this kinda coincided with the whole logins thing, maybe some people decided not to come back.

Vain wrote: »

/ puts Vain on ignore.......

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Ya this one was pretty horrific alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

What I find pretty funny is how quickly threads soon turn into delicious black humour resources.

We're a miserable bunch but I love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It's not the humour I have a problem with. It's the lack of. People should be striving to be funnier to impress us all (me) instead of a select few of their mates. And no, I am not jealous of people's friendships on here, but I think that sort of thing can be taken somewhere else. I don't see why almost every bloomin' thread has a few posters jabbering back and forth. Granted a few posts here and there to each other is fair enough. But not pages and pages of.....snore.

I also agree that the love/hate relationship with AH comes and goes in waves, and there does seem to have been a significant brain drain when Boards was hacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Duggy747 wrote: »
    What I find pretty funny is how quickly threads soon turn into delicious black humour resources.

We're a miserable bunch but I love it.

Speak for yourself.
    Personally, I'm a really upbeat person who jumps out of bed to greet the day.

This jumping out of bed usually occurs around two o'clock in the afternoon...but nobody is perfect...

But then again...being miserable might actually work towards teh funny.
    Tommy Tiernan has been depressed for years and he's quite the funny fcuker.