Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People overtaking in the bus lane.

• 08-04-2010 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭

Is there anything more annoying when someone gets into the bus lane to overtake you from there?
    This happened to me twice today.

I was driving along normally probably slightly above the speed limit which was 60kmph on the road when some tool thought I was too slow for him and decided to overtake me from the left by taking the bus lane.

Why can't people be just a little bit more patient?
    Especially when I caught up with the tool at the traffic lights. Wondering what exactly did he manage to get by overtaking me...

That and vans tailgating you. Another thing I'm sick of. Everytime I travel on that Nangor road, whenever I look into my rear view mirror, all I end up seeing is the front grill of a Ford Transit or some other van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

may i reccomend the ranting and raving forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

That would be undertaking. I hate it too, that nangor rd can be a coont for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

Is there anything more annoying when someone gets into the bus lane to overtake you from there?

I was driving along normally probably slightly above the speed limit which was 60kmph on the road when some tool thought I was too slow for him and decided to overtake me from the left by taking the bus lane.

Especially when I caught up with the tool at the traffic lights. Wondering what exactly did he manage to get by overtaking me...

That and vans tailgating you. Another thing I'm sick of. Everytime I travel on that Nangor road, whenever I look into my rear view mirror, all I end up seeing is the front grill of a Ford Transit or some other van.

i know what you mean it can be pointless and reckless on a similar note tho say you were driving ridiculously slow30-40 and the bus lane was not in use e.g out of the 7am-7pm hours of operations would it be legal to undertake in the bus lane if you were not to break the speed limit? but your right some people can be tools they undertake in the bus lane then you catch upto them while theyre trying to merge back into lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Oh. . . . . . . Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh oh . . . . Dont get me started!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

That and vans tailgating you. Another thing I'm sick of. Everytime I travel on that Nangor road, whenever I look into my rear view mirror, all I end up seeing is the front grill of a Ford Transit or some other van

Im laughing here sorry op im thinking about the top gear episode where they were being white van men for the day:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Too many pointless 24 hour bus lanes means that people sticking to the speed limit are intimidated and pestered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

if the bus lane is out of service then it usually reverts to a normal driving lane, which means you should be using it as the leftmost lane, so in effect you were in the wrong by not using it and forcing people to undertake you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

A combination of a sack of enforcement, and a culture of not taking rules seriously. Also a lack of complaining when they put stupid rules in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

BostonB wrote: »
    A combination of a sack of enforcement....

full of rocks is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

if people would do the speed permitted there'd be no reason for undertaking but because of so many SLOW drivers in the middle of rush hour!! ARGH!!!:mad:

But every one of us have done it admit it or not. And for good reason I might add.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

if the bus lane is out of service then it usually reverts to a normal driving lane, which means you should be using it as the leftmost lane, so in effect you were in the wrong by not using it and forcing people to undertake you.

A lot of assumptions there now is it!
    It was mid day today and a lot of busses go on that route.

And I also did mention the speed limit was 60kmph and I was going slightly above it. Do all motorists expect you to do 80kmph when the speed limit is 60 and 120 when the limit is 100kmph?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Hal1 wrote: »
    That would be undertaking
    no it wouldn't, but it's a common misconception. THIS would be undertaking (you get the idea). :)

it's "overtaking on the near side" or "overtaking on the left". and yes i'm feeling particularly pedantic this evening, thanks for asking. :p

just don't start me on roundabout ROTR whatever you do! :mad:

okay, back on topic....I'm not saying that either of you was right or wrong in this particular case, but a lot of the time it isn't the speed someone is doing when someone else overtakes them on the left, it's usually a culmination of everything they've done up to that point.

not accelerating fast enough out of the lights, erratic braking, lack of signalling appropriately and a dozen other things that just gives you an irrational hatred of the person that is effectively blocking you. it's particularly frustrating when you know a particular road very well and know that the progression of traffic lights are just that tiny bit out of sync that if you don't go that little bit faster that it will make the difference between catching all the green lights and catching all the reds one after another.

i don't know the nangor road that well, but the Navan road coming in and out of Dublin used to be an absolute cnvt for that and one person dawdling along just that little bit too slow can make 10-15 minutes difference to your journey time over the length of the road for the sake of just adjusting their driving style a little bit.

i'm not saying that's what happened this time, but it could have been something like that.

or he could have been rushing home to watch the afternoon show, who knows. :pac:

Define "not fast enough" and "bit too slow" ? in say a 60 zone...

I need to get the idle control valve fixed on my car (which I'm gonna do tomorrow) and so the car gets all erratic and tends to cut off everytime the revs drop below 1000rpm.
    Maybe the guy noticed I wasn't driving as smoothly as I'ld normally do because of this and so he wanted to get ahead...

My car cut out atleast 10 times today while I was driving. Everytime I got my foot off the accelerator to press to brake to stop at traffic lights, the moment the revs fell below 1000rpm, the engine cut off and I had to start my engine again (giving it a good loads of gas to keep it from clonking out again) while putting up with impatient people honking from behind... Though maybe not his fault as he didn't know I had a genuine problem with the car and wasn't a **** driver.

Then later, I got bored of driving at the speed limit and put my foot down on the 100kmph road. I was making good use of the Puma's 1.4l engine and short gear ratios. Even then I had some bloke in a Fiesta trying to get ahead of me. He obviously couldn't cuz I was faster than him. Till I came to the round about and got back into "proper driving" mode where I slowed down to shift into 3rd, getting in the right land and all while the Fiesta guy went straight across it. So well...

But still, I've only recently got my first car and have been driving since then and I have to say the driving attitudes of people here is pretty poor. No one has any sense of patience.

Though still probably comparing to some other countries, its not too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

I often use the bus lane when it's not in service. What harm is it or do you just find it annoying?

If people keep overtaking you and you keep seeing the grills of vans in your back mirror ... maybe you're going a smidgeon slow?

I need to get the idle control valve fixed on my car (which I'm gonna do tomorrow) and so the car gets all erratic and tends to cut off everytime the revs drop below 1000rpm.
    Maybe the guy noticed I wasn't driving as smoothly as I'ld normally do because of this and so he wanted to get ahead...

My car cut out atleast 10 times today while I was driving. Everytime I got my foot off the accelerator to press to brake to stop at traffic lights, the moment the revs fell below 1000rpm, the engine cut off and I had to start my engine again (giving it a good loads of gas to keep it from clonking out again) while putting up with impatient people honking from behind... Though maybe not his fault as he didn't know I had a genuine problem with the car and wasn't a **** driver.

Then later, I got bored of driving at the speed limit and put my foot down on the 100kmph road. I was making good use of the Puma's 1.4l engine and short gear ratios. Even then I had some bloke in a Fiesta trying to get ahead of me. He obviously couldn't cuz I was faster than him. Till I came to the round about and got back into "proper driving" mode where I slowed down to shift into 3rd, getting in the right land and all while the Fiesta guy went straight across it. So well...

But still, I've only recently got my first car and have been driving since then and I have to say the driving attitudes of people here is pretty poor. No one has any sense of patience.

Though still probably comparing to some other countries, its not too bad.

There are a lot of dangerously impatient drivers around, but regardless of that. The full story is now a little different from what you posted in your first comment.If you have a mechanical problem, you shouldn't keep driving around with it. Thats dangerous in itself. Also there is no good reason to hold people up. You are not the police. If someone wants to go faster than you, let them past. Its make no sense to hold them up, if its possible to pull over and let them past. Holding people up, is an accident waiting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Yeah so it turns out your a new driver and that's why he passed you in the bus lane ;)

I'm not advocating speeding but drive safely at all times and progress with the flow of traffic, stop trying to be a pacecar

There are a lot of dangerously impatient drivers around, but regardless of that. The full story is now a little different from what you posted in your first comment.If you have a mechanical problem, you shouldn't keep driving around with it. Thats dangerous in itself. Also there is no good reason to hold people up. You are not the police. If someone wants to go faster than you, let them past. Its make no sense to hold them up, if its possible to pull over and let them past. Holding people up, is an accident waiting to happen.

Wasn't really holding back anyone though.
    As I said, I was doing around 60-65 on a 60kmph road.
    Its only on that road, everyone wants you to be doing atleast 80kmph...
    So I either break the speed limit and do 80kmph or stick to the speed limit and have people trying to overtake me.

And I usually let people pass. Just today I was getting a little sick of people being impatient and wanted to check out how well the engine was running with the new timing belt so was opening up the throttle freely.

And about the problem, well the problem only arised today after I got the timing belt done on the car. First it only used to make noises but wouldn't cut out at low revs. I'm gonna take it to the garage anyway tomorrow to get it fixed so shouldn't be a problem after that...

So knowing from past experience, traffic is fast on that road, you made a concious decision to test your car on it, and at a slower speed, knowing it would get a reaction. Objective achieved so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

this happened me yesterday driving into dunshauglin on the dublin side. traffic is all nicely lined up in the driving lane creeping slowly through the town,everyone doing nicely. there is a 24 hour bus lane coming into the town. this was at about 5.45pm yesterday evening. then as i look in my rear view mirror i see something moving in to the bus lane. this eejit of a woman drives up the entire bus lane right to where the two lanes merge and then indicates to get back into the single lane, she is to my left at this stage. i have watched her drive all the way up and she thinks she can just cut us all up??? :mad::mad::mad: no i did not let her in, i looked at her with a look of bewilderment (to suggest to her that she was in the wrong) and all i got back was a look of surprise as if she had done nothing wrong??? at least 4 cars did not let her back in. but the cheek to try and do it and think nothing of it just shows the lack of consideration on her part for other drivers. seen a jeep do it once, drove up the entire bus lane and then when he got to the top a truck would not let him out. infact the truck blocked his movement for about 10 mins and then let the others who had been q-ing over take him and left the jeep sitting there. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭marious

what annoying me more is that before each crossroads theres a bit of bus lane becoming "normal" and after this crossroads is another bit of "normal" lane for people joining from left.
    So plenty of cars taking that piece of lane before the lights ,passing a lot of traffic, and once they've passed crossroads, they're putting indicator(or not) and trying get back to lane because bus lane starts again.

burger1979 wrote: »
    this happened me yesterday driving into dunshauglin on the dublin side. traffic is all nicely lined up in the driving lane creeping slowly through the town,everyone doing nicely. there is a 24 hour bus lane coming into the town. this was at about 5.45pm yesterday evening. then as i look in my rear view mirror i see something moving in to the bus lane. this eejit of a woman drives up the entire bus lane right to where the two lanes merge and then indicates to get back into the single lane, she is to my left at this stage. i have watched her drive all the way up and she thinks she can just cut us all up??? :mad::mad::mad: no i did not let her in, i looked at her with a look of bewilderment (to suggest to her that she was in the wrong) and all i got back was a look of surprise as if she had done nothing wrong??? at least 4 cars did not let her back in. but the cheek to try and do it and think nothing of it just shows the lack of consideration on her part for other drivers. seen a jeep do it once, drove up the entire bus lane and then when he got to the top a truck would not let him out. infact the truck blocked his movement for about 10 mins and then let the others who had been q-ing over take him and left the jeep sitting there. :D:D

typical, some drivers'll do it to pass even 2-3 cars, maybe makes them feel better? Thats why in that situation always looking at the mirrors, don't get fooled :)

Define "not fast enough" and "bit too slow" ? in say a 60 zone...
    that's not what I said and you know it, you're just being confrontational for the sake of it.
    marious wrote: »
    what annoying me more is that before each crossroads theres a bit of bus lane becoming "normal" and after this crossroads is another bit of "normal" lane for people joining from left.
    So plenty of cars taking that piece of lane before the lights ,passing a lot of traffic, and once they've passed crossroads, they're putting indicator(or not) and trying get back to lane because bus lane starts again.
    that's actually called "obeying the rules of the road". and I seem to remember telling people not to get me started on roundabouts ffs, now this will never end!!! :mad:

the big problem with roundabouts with bus lanes approaching and leading off of them is that there is a difference between what makes common sense and what the ROTR says AND what the people designing bus lane road markings are implementing.

following the ROTR strictly, if you are leaving a roundabout that has two entrance and exit lanes and you are going to leave the roundabout anything up to halfway around it (i.e. left or straight through) you should be in the left hand lane entering and leaving it and if you are going to be going anything further than halfway round it, you should be in the right hand lane unless either the road markings or a garda tells you otherwise. if there are no road markings indicating which lane you need to be in, this is the way you *should* do it.

the irish ROTR book is slight ambiguous about this which has lead to confusion in the past, but the rules are the same as in every other european country and most of the rest of the world and THEY don't leave any room for mis-interpretation.

unfortunately, all this doesn't take into account that in ireland, "mr road marking painter man" has a habit of putting the bus lanes almost up to the roundabouts leaving no room for people to get into the correct lane if there is traffic.

add to that that only about half (or less) of irish drivers seem to understand the proper ROTR in this regard due to the aforementioned ambiguity and that even some driving instructors getting it wrong, plus the feeling of common sense makes you want to do it differently if you don't know any better and chaos is almost guaranteed.

add to that a decent amount of traffic and it's a recipe for disaster imho that really needs looking at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

its annoying alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

As I said, I was doing around 60-65 on a 60kmph road.
    Its only on that road, everyone wants you to be doing atleast 80kmph...
    So I either break the speed limit and do 80kmph or stick to the speed limit and have people trying to overtake me.

And I usually let people pass. Just today I was getting a little sick of people being impatient and wanted to check out how well the engine was running with the new timing belt so was opening up the throttle freely.

And about the problem, well the problem only arised today after I got the timing belt done on the car. First it only used to make noises but wouldn't cut out at low revs. I'm gonna take it to the garage anyway tomorrow to get it fixed so shouldn't be a problem after that...

To be honest regardless of your speed if someone can see that the line of cars in front of you is progressing faster then you regardless of there speed people will get pissed off and try to get around you.

If people see that a large gap has formed between you and the traffic in front the will automatically think you could be going faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

You're one of these angry affairs that flashes the headlights and shakes the fist and weaves about the road when somebody overtakes them. Admit it - aren't ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Try ringing Joe Duffey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

vibe666 wrote: »
    that's not what I said and you know it, you're just being confrontational for the sake of it.
    that's actually called "obeying the rules of the road". and I seem to remember telling people not to get me started on roundabouts ffs, now this will never end!!! :mad:

the big problem with roundabouts with bus lanes approaching and leading off of them is that there is a difference between what makes common sense and what the ROTR says AND what the people designing bus lane road markings are implementing.

following the ROTR strictly, if you are leaving a roundabout that has two entrance and exit lanes and you are going to leave the roundabout anything up to halfway around it (i.e. left or straight through) you should be in the left hand lane entering and leaving it and if you are going to be going anything further than halfway round it, you should be in the right hand lane unless either the road markings or a garda tells you otherwise. if there are no road markings indicating which lane you need to be in, this is the way you *should* do it.

the irish ROTR book is slight ambiguous about this which has lead to confusion in the past, but the rules are the same as in every other european country and most of the rest of the world and THEY don't leave any room for mis-interpretation.

unfortunately, all this doesn't take into account that in ireland, "mr road marking painter man" has a habit of putting the bus lanes almost up to the roundabouts leaving no room for people to get into the correct lane if there is traffic.

add to that that only about half (or less) of irish drivers seem to understand the proper ROTR in this regard due to the aforementioned ambiguity and that even some driving instructors getting it wrong, plus the feeling of common sense makes you want to do it differently if you don't know any better and chaos is almost guaranteed.

add to that a decent amount of traffic and it's a recipe for disaster imho that really needs looking at.

Where did marious mention roundabouts?! :rolleyes: The situation they discuss at crossroads wrecks my head also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I was on the Quays in Dublin today by the Morrison, sitting in traffic tutting at people using the bus lane(Non Dub person here) and then I noticed the fvcking time's on the bus lane.

In I went. Score!! 7-10 & 12-something :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

vibe666 wrote: »
    I remember telling people not to get me started on roundabouts ffs, now this will never end!!! :mad:

huh?

he's talking about people pulling into a lane that's meant to be for turning left at a cross road, but going straight through it and forcing their way back in line with traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Further on the crossroad issue: I wonder why the pre-junction left lane is not designated "Left Turn Only (except buses and bicycles)"

Where did marious mention roundabouts?! :rolleyes: The situation they discuss at crossroads wrecks my head also.
    i just wanted to vent about roundabouts, it was bound to happen! :D
    Further on the crossroad issue: I wonder why the pre-junction left lane is not designated "Left Turn Only (except buses and bicycles)"
    not to mention that whenever junctions have road markings differing from the regular ROTR ones, the only arrow painted on the road is right under where the first car is so unless you're the first one there you'll never know what lane you need to be in until it's too late to change lanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I was getting a little sick of people being impatient and wanted to check out how well the engine was running with the new timing belt so was opening up the throttle freely[/B][/B].

haven't laughed so much in ages at this quote :D:D

you would not notice the diffrence in a belt change in a car lol, who ever installed the belt would have turned it over by hand to make sure it was all ok

you have 2 problems, you know nothing about how an engine runs and you were going too slow, that is why you were undertaken

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

I often use the bus lane on the n2 Finglas dual carriageway after 7 because I know how the lights work and know where and how fast I need to be going to make all greens. On top of that the amount of drivers who do 50kph is ridiculous. It's also amazing to see a big line of traffic in the right hand lane and none in the bus lane when coming to red lights so I'l nip into the bus lane and pass everything and get ahead of all the hold ups. Once the bus lane is no longer in operation it becomes a regular driving lane and turns the road into a proper dual carriageway and cars should be in the left lane and only use the right lane to overtake. It just points to the lack of driver education in Ireland along with not using roundabouts correctly, front fog lights on, incorrect lights on in general for the conditions, motorway driving etc etc etc. The government need to scrap Religion in schools and introduce a driver education class. It will lead to less accidents and deaths on our roads in the long run.

its like you're trying your car after putting new seat covers :)

LFCFan wrote: »
    I often use the bus lane on the n2 Finglas dual carriageway after 7 because I know how the lights work and know where and how fast I need to be going to make all greens. On top of that the amount of drivers who do 50kph is ridiculous. It's also amazing to see a big line of traffic in the right hand lane and none in the bus lane when coming to red lights so I'l nip into the bus lane and pass everything and get ahead of all the hold ups. Once the bus lane is no longer in operation it becomes a regular driving lane and turns the road into a proper dual carriageway and cars should be in the left lane and only use the right lane to overtake. It just points to the lack of driver education in Ireland along with not using roundabouts correctly, front fog lights on, incorrect lights on in general for the conditions, motorway driving etc etc etc. The government need to scrap Religion in schools and introduce a driver education class. It will lead to less accidents and deaths on our roads in the long run.

when the bus lane is not in operation is a different story :) or no story at all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

when the bus lane is not in operation is a different story :) or no story at all :)
    ?
    The bus lane, out of hours, should become the driving lane as its the innermost left lane. The normal lane (during bus lane operation) should only be an overtaking lane out of hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Maybe his wife was giving birth and he was rushing to the hospital? Or her kid got sick on a mates birthday party and had to be collected asap? The fact that you're not in the hurry, driving slowly and whistling happily doesn't mean that everyone should be the same.

Using your language a "tool" for me is a moron (sometimes 2 morons) who drive 60km/h on the motorway blocking both lanes or (usually turning left) slows down to 0,001km/h causing danger and traffic jams. That often pisses people off and also causes (not direct) danger.

Another safely driving "tool" I saw yesterday.. Indicated left and just before the turn bounced to the right, like he was driving fecking 18-wheel truck instead of Micra. But he was driving 40km/h so it MUST be safe for Gods sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Tell you what I find very annoying, people moving into lane for a left turn too early so they drive up the hard shoulder instead of paying attention to the road markings.

Happened the other day in backed up traffic and there was actually a que on the hard shoulder, I ended up not being able to move in because I had driven to where the white lines guide in. I ended up having to go straight instead of being able to go left. Very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Ush1 wrote: »
    Tell you what I find very annoying, people moving into lane for a left turn too early so they drive up the hard shoulder instead of paying attention to the road markings.

Happened the other day in backed up traffic and there was actually a que on the hard shoulder, I ended up not being able to move in because I had driven to where the white lines guide in. I ended up having to go straight instead of being able to go left. Very annoying.
    I had a shouting match with a scumbag in a Transit over something like that. Except not only did he move left before the HS became an actual lane, he then sped up to block me from getting into the lane at the correct point.

Driving in the hard shoulder, ignoring road markings and attempting to overtake a left turning vehicle on the left - pr1ck.

you would not notice the diffrence in a belt change in a car lol, who ever installed the belt would have turned it over by hand to make sure it was all ok

you have 2 problems, you know nothing about how an engine runs and you were going too slow, that is why you were undertaken

In fairness I had a belt change at a main dealer once, and the car sounded like a tractor afterwards. They hadn't fitted it correctly, and it took a visit to another dealer to get it sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭OVERTONE69

Fantastic way to piss off tailgaters is braking hard. Then speeding up.

My driving instructor done it too some knackers a while back.

Hit his break twice from the passenger twice.

The van drivers were had these mad cocky grins. They dropped so fast.

Beat lesson I ever got. Just be sure not too brake too hard and cause a crash. Alhough even if they did, it'd be they're fault because they didn't leave room for braking.

No, before the engine was knocking slightly and used to sound like a bad diesel sometimes.
    Now it sounds much smoother and revs faster. There is a change.

And yes, I'll accept it that I've only been driving for a while so I don't know that much about engines and all. Though I do know quite well all the mechanics of how cars work. I have a big interest in designing cars and know quite well all the parts that are in the car and how they work.

And I wasn't driving too slow. I've been taught to not care about other drivers and obey the rules. And that's how I drive. Always drive slightly above the speed limit, if the conditions are right and don't let other drivers pressure you to go faster and break the rules. Take all corners in 2nd gear, get in the right gear, right lane and indicate correctly at roundabouts, cover your brakes while approaching traffic lights, slow down when its amber (instead of speed to get past the lights before they turn red) and all of that.

And I know once someone passes their driving test all these rules go out the window!! Apparently once you get the full license means you're among the elitist of drivers and can do whatever you want with no regards to the rules of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

No, before the engine was knocking slightly and used to sound like a bad diesel sometimes.
    Now it sounds much smoother and revs faster. There is a change.

And yes, I'll accept it that I've only been driving for a while so I don't know that much about engines and all. Though I do know quite well all the mechanics of how cars work. I have a big interest in designing cars and know quite well all the parts that are in the car and how they work.

And I wasn't driving too slow. I've been taught to not care about other drivers and obey the rules. And that's how I drive. Always drive slightly above the speed limit, if the conditions are right and don't let other drivers pressure you to go faster and break the rules. Take all corners in 2nd gear, get in the right gear, right lane and indicate correctly at roundabouts, cover your brakes while approaching traffic lights, slow down when its amber (instead of speed to get past the lights before they turn red) and all of that.

And I know once someone passes their driving test all these rules go out the window!! Apparently once you get the full license means you're among the elitist of drivers and can do whatever you want with no regards to the rules of the road.
    Stillorgan dualler? Black Audi 80? There was one nutbag fitting your description around lunch time weaving between all three lanes to overtake. Was travelling about 130/140?

Tbh I really don't mind people driving in bus lanes outside the permitted hours. So long as they don't cut me off or take the pis$ it's cool.

What really wrecks me is taxi drivers driving under the limit and slowing down/stopping without indication in the bus lane to pick up or look for fares.

Dr_Phil wrote: »
    Maybe his wife was giving birth and he was rushing to the hospital? Or her kid got sick on a mates birthday party and had to be collected asap? The fact that you're not in the hurry, driving slowly and whistling happily doesn't mean that everyone should be the same.

I agree, everybody might be in one of those situations in a lifetime but nobody s gonna convince me that all of those drivers doing that are in these situations, I'd say none or 1% at most ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

OVERTONE69 wrote: »

Beat lesson I ever got. Just be sure not too brake too hard and cause a crash. Alhough even if they did, it'd be they're fault because they didn't leave room for braking.
    wow,that is so awesome

OVERTONE69 wrote: »

Your increasing the possibity of a crash. That's dangerous driving in my book. If there is crash and someone sees you do that you'd be in trouble. And rightly so.

I find slowing down gradually works. They'll either pass you or drop back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Your increasing the possibity of a crash. That's dangerous driving in my book. If there is crash and someone sees you do that you'd be in trouble. And rightly so.

I find slowing down gradually works. They'll either pass you or drop back.

Have to say i agree with you more than overtone. Still though i would love to have seen the face on the pikeys:D:D

I do this whenever possible.

Why does it annoy you?

because everybody waits, even though some people are in rush, queue is queue.
    Do what You want but don't count on me letting You in front of me :-)