Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork vs. Mayo

• 08-04-2010 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

Teams coming tonight, evidently Tyrone/Dublin is on TV instead of this. Will be up in Pairc ui Chaiomh on Sunday for it.

I'd fancy Cork by a fair few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

Will be a bit of a strange game given they are likely to be meeting again in the final so a lot of fringe players likely to be included I would guess although Mayo may not be able to take that chance in case Dublin surprise Tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Good to see Kevin MacMahon back, not good to see Kieran O'Connor back.

Cork Team vs Mayo

Alan Quirke Valley Rovers
    Eoin Cotter Douglas
    Michael Shields St. Finbarr's
    Anthony Lynch Naomh Aban
    Kieran O'Connor Aghada
    Ger Spillane Ballygarvan
    Graham Canty Bantry
    Aidan Walsh Kanturk
    Derek Kavanagh Nemo Rangers
    Fintan Goold Macroom
    Donncha O'Connor Ballydesmond
    Kevin McMahon Carbery Rangers
    Colm O'Neill Ballyclough
    Ciaran Sheehan Eire Og
    John Hayes Carbery Rangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

am looking for the mayo team to post it cant seem to fimd it thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

naughto wrote: »
    am looking for the mayo team to post it cant seem to fimd it thought

Team is not going to be named until an hour before throw in on Sunday Kev.

ah i see there waiting on late fitness tests i think will nick it tho by a point or 2 mayo that is :D:D:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I would have preferred an extra few fringe players to be honest. That said you cannot beat a winning feeling, Cork by3

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I would have preferred an extra few fringe players to be honest. That said you cannot beat a winning feeling, Cork by3

Kieran O'Connor and Ger Spillane are two too many frankly. ;)

Annoyed this isn't on in the Flower Lodge on Saturday night, always good fun.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

One of them are bankers for MOTM so!!
    I have seen both on occasions and believe they will get on alright. It's a long season - end of September hopefully, so I'm glad the 'best 15' are not on display. Also I hope he uses the full compliment of subs as this is a great opportunity to give some of the others game time against a good team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Orizio wrote: »
    Good to see Kevin MacMahon back, not good to see Kieran O'Connor back.

Cork Team vs Mayo

Alan Quirke Valley Rovers
    Eoin Cotter Douglas
    Michael Shields St. Finbarr's
    Anthony Lynch Naomh Aban
    Kieran O'Connor Aghada
    Ger Spillane Ballygarvan
    Graham Canty Bantry
    Aidan Walsh Kanturk
    Derek Kavanagh Nemo Rangers
    Fintan Goold Macroom
    Donncha O'Connor Ballydesmond
    Kevin McMahon Carbery Rangers
    Colm O'Neill Ballyclough
    Ciaran Sheehan Eire Og
    John Hayes Carbery Rangers

Have these guys not sufficently proved yet that they are just not good enough to be on this Cork team anymore?

Ian_K wrote: »
    Have these guys not sufficently proved yet that they are just not good enough to be on this Cork team anymore?

You do realise you've after highlighting Anthony Lynch and Kevin MacMahon don't you?

I am well aware of who i highlighted, and as i said i just dont think they are good enough anymore

Lynch has been a fantastic servant to Cork football and one i the best corner backs i have ever seen play but he has been roasted on one too many occasions and he'd be better off going out on a high and calling it a day inter-county-wise

McMahon is a very good player but just doesn't have a realistic chance of starting this year ahead of the likes of Kerrigan, Kelly, O'Connor, Gould or Sheehan

Ian_K wrote: »
    I am well aware of who i highlighted, and as i said i just dont think they are good enough anymore

Lynch has been a fantastic servant to Cork football and one i the best corner backs i have ever seen play but he has been roasted on one too many occasions and he'd be better off going out on a high and calling it a day inter-county-wise

McMahon is a very good player but just doesn't have a realistic chance of starting this year ahead of the likes of Kerrigan, Kelly, O'Connor, Gould or Sheehan

Only one of whom is guaranteed to start wing forward come championship, and thats Kelly. That isn't O'Connor's position while Sheehan has been favoured at full forward by Counihan so far. If MacMahon gets back to his form of a couple of years back that he wouldn't be far off the likes of Kerrigan (ideally a corner forward imo) or Goold (ideally a midfielder imo), very tidy and athletic player who would be a more then a useful option for the remaining wing forward position.

That's a big if there but ok maybe he deserves a chance, how old is he now btw?

Don't know if there is a space up for grabs tho,
    imo definite starters would be;
    Kelly
    P O'Neill (might be moved to midfield though)
    Kerrigan
    Goulding
    C O'Neill

That leaves one or two places for Goold, O'Connor, Sheehan, McMahon and whoever else might mae a breakthrough
    It'll take some big performances for McMahon to make it imo

O'Connor is a definite starter imo, more so then Kerrigan, who is very flawed at wing forward. Plus there is also O'Flynn for the wing forward spot. O'Neill hopefully to midfield where he is more needed.

Anyway, my point isn't that MacMahon should be starting - he is only just back - but once he is up to speed again he will be as good as a lot of the players we currently have.

TBH I'd give something like this a crack for Munster:

Quirke

Carey Cadogan Lynch

Kissane Shields Walsh

Canty O'Neill

Kelly D O'Connor Sheehan

Kerrigan C.O'Neill Goulding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Kevin Macmahon never impressed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Should be a close enough game, either side could take it but if I would have to favour Cork for the win.

Hopefully Tyrone will do us a favour and Draw with or Beat Dublin, but I would not rely on that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Suprised Cork did not throw in a few more panel players at this stage. Cork are definatley favourites but with Mayo you just never know what will turn-up. Cork will have their hands full against a fully tuned in Mayo. Cork by 4 or 5

I think Cork will be better this year than last but could probably do with a few more lads getting a run out.

As for Anthony Lynch. Injury free he could be vital. At this stage the world and his mother know he is a top drawer defender and I would be saving him for bigger days during the championship.

LeoB wrote: »
    Suprised Cork did not throw in a few more panel players at this stage. Cork are definatley favourites but with Mayo you just never know what will turn-up. Cork will have their hands full against a fully tuned in Mayo. Cork by 4 or 5

I think Cork will be better this year than last but could probably do with a few more lads getting a run out.

As for Anthony Lynch. Injury free he could be vital. At this stage the world and his mother know he is a top drawer defender and I would be saving him for bigger days during the championship.

Do you know how many players we've used in the league this year?!? 25+ at least, and more after Sunday.

I'm suprised I haven't gotten a run out yet. ;)

Evidently Conor Counihan tortured the lads over on Bere Island last weekend with a military style boot camp, 5 hours of sleep per night, mounting climbing, lake wading and 45km running along with club matches on the Monday back. (info courtesy of RebelGAA)

One thinks Conor still hasn't excused them for last years All-Ireland final. ;)

Do you know how many players we've used in the league this year?!? 25+ at least, and more after Sunday.

I'm suprised I haven't gotten a run out yet. ;)

Yeah thats all fine but with Cork in such a good position its a good oppertunity to give others a little more game time.

Maybe tho' Couinahan knows his starting championship 14;) and the 15th man being yourself of course.
    I d say you would give a mighty speech in Croke Park, Connolly, Mussen, Daly, Downey and Paidi all rolled into 1

I was wrong - apparently we've used 36 players in the league, more then enough really. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭miseeire

Teams coming tonight, evidently Tyrone/Dublin is on TV instead of this. Will be up in Pairc ui Chaiomh on Sunday for it.

Long for the day when Setanta are resurrected again in some shape or form and we exiles can see more of the one true sport-G.A.A.

I was wrong

More than once in this thread:

Blackjack wrote: »
    More than once in this thread:

Classy. ;)

We'll win easy in the league final, when we actually give a ****, break a sweat and have more then 5 of our first team playing. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Classy. ;)

We'll win easy in the league final, when we actually give a ****, break a sweat and have more then 5 of our first team playing. :p

Famous last words.

Remember that Cork are playing the team that came FIRST in the league, a team that defeated Cork, Kerry and Tyrone away from home. You guys have no idea what's in store

when we actually give a ****, break a sweat and have more then 5 of our first team playing. :p

Lollers. All the best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

As a Corkman i'm looking forward to the final and meeting up with my good Mayo friend from Bangor Erris for a good session of drink and the craic! May the best team win!

You guys have no idea what's in store

****ing hell, I'm scared! :eek:

dartbhoy wrote: »
    As a Corkman i'm looking forward to the final and meeting up with my good Mayo friend from Bangor Erris for a good session of drink and the craic! May the best team win!

Yeah, should be a good game, two proper footballing teams. With the two-thirds of our first team back and the lads not half dead before they went out on to the pitch I'd imagine we would push Mayo fairly close. ;)

Goold, Nic Murphy and Canty are the only Cork's players who played anywhere near their usual standard. Kavanagh is in no way a full-back, Aidan O'Shea destroyed him - the latter is the one player we need to stop in two weeks, Mayo were average enough otherwise.

Looked like a team that was knackered from the training pitch, no intensity of any kind. Even the pre-match drills were lazy and half assed.

Yeah, should be a good game, two proper footballing teams. With the two-thirds of our first team back and the lads not half dead before they went out on to the pitch I'd imagine we would push Mayo fairly close. ;)

Goold, Nic Murphy and Canty are the only Cork's players who played anywhere near their usual standard. Kavanagh is in no way a full-back, Aidan O'Shea destroyed him - the latter is the one player we need to stop in two weeks, Mayo were average enough otherwise.

Looked like a team that was knackered from the training pitch, no intensity of any kind. Even the pre-match drills were lazy and half assed.

No chance that like yourself they thought that they had it in the bag and would cruise it "by a fair few"?.

Blackjack wrote: »
    No chance that like yourself they thought that they had it in the bag and would cruise it "by a fair few"?.

Nope, they've come off some extremely hard training (as I already said, Bere Island and all that) and only had about 5-6 first team players. Cork simply didn't give a ****, as everyone at the match would have noted, the Mayo players and management included. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Famous last words.

Remember that Cork are playing the team that came FIRST in the league, a team that defeated Cork, Kerry and Tyrone away from home. You guys have no idea what's in store

A league final where 1st team plays the 3rd team...only in the GAA and only in Ireland as a friend of mine said.:rolleyes:

Disappointed for us not to make it but I'm glad this backfired on the GAA.For far too long they have been arsing and flutering around with the rules that it now has bit them in the ass financially and cost them €600,000+.

Now as for the league final,what I am expecting is a combined wides tally of 40, little to no atmosphere,plenty of yellow cards and an attendance of 27,000 between 4 counties (of which 2 will have no impact in the championship) and a lot of hype surrounding Cork/Mayo before the championship.We've seen it all before,Mayo will probably lose the league without actually losing the league..if you get my drift.

Luckily I will be on a beach flaked out as I knew that these rules would effectively cost Dublin.I knew I could count on the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

blackbelt wrote: »
    A league final where 1st team plays the 3rd team...only in the GAA and only in Ireland as a friend of mine said.:rolleyes:

Disappointed for us not to make it but I'm glad this backfired on the GAA.For far too long they have been arsing and flutering around with the rules that it now has bit them in the ass financially and cost them €600,000+.

Now as for the league final,what I am expecting is a combined wides tally of 40, little to no atmosphere,plenty of yellow cards and an attendance of 27,000 between 4 counties (of which 2 will have no impact in the championship) and a lot of hype surrounding Cork/Mayo before the championship.We've seen it all before,Mayo will probably lose the league without actually losing the league..if you get my drift.

Luckily I will be on a beach flaked out as I knew that these rules would effectively cost Dublin.I knew I could count on the GAA.

The sort of comments us Mayo folk have come to expect from yourselves, if you get my drift.:rolleyes:

"Yourselves"?...as in the rest of the country?

This is a load of bollocks BB, no offense. ;)

Mayo/Cork were the two best teams in the league, and are now in the league final. Simples.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Stupid for sure that 1st will be 3rd, daft fukn rules and its funny that it falls on its ass for the GAA

As for the other comments, is it any wonder....if you get my drift

yop wrote: »
    Stupid for sure that 1st will be 3rd, daft fukn rules and its funny that it falls on its ass for the GAA

It isn't at all - the two best teams are in the final, and if Cork treated today's game seriously then they wouldn't have slipped to third.

Its absurd to argue that the final would have been Dublin/Mayo if the system was different...if the system was different then Cork would have treated today's game differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

"Yourselves"?...as in the rest of the country?

Dublin supporters and your continuous moaning, the rest of the country is grand.

as long as we dont go around saying that well bring home sam when and hers hoping that we beat cork in the final i think we have a very gud chance.
    mayo have to beat croke park first then they have to beat cork that is the difference between us

This is a load of bollocks BB, no offense. ;)

Mayo/Cork were the two best teams in the league, and are now in the league final. Simples.

No it isn't as simple as that.Cork and Dublin both lost two games,Mayo lost one game thus meaning Mayo should be league winners.In the premier league,if Chelsea and Man Utd finish level on points and Man Utd have a better goal difference,they win the title despite the fact they may have lost to Chelsea.It has been the same in all other years and why have the GAA suddenly changed it without informing managers and teams?It should be Mayo-Dublin.Fact is,Dublin scored more points/goals and conceded less goals/points than Cork did.

Regardless of the above points on the above matter,this idea of a playoff for the "league" is ridiculous and defeats the purpose of the format of the competition.Why do Mayo have to play Cork again to win the "league"?I think our Mayo friends are jumping the gun at me when I say Mayo can lose the league without losing the league.It is stupid.

Dublin supporters and your continuous moaning, the rest of the country is grand.

Continous moaning about what exactly?

At least Dublin supporters (the real ones) know the limitations of their own team unlike supporters like yourself who get offended when the reality of your county's weaknesses are alluded to.

No it isn't as simple as that.Cork and Dublin both lost two games,Mayo lost one game thus meaning Mayo should be league winners.

...and the reason Cork lost two games is because of the RULES - we were already in the final today and so didn't take the game seriously. If today's game mattered we wouldn't have put our reserves out, they wouldn't have been strolling around the pitch not giving a ****, and we would have won.

Moreover, Cork and Mayo were the two most consistent teams in the league, and actually play gaelic football, as opposed to the disgusting 12 men behind the ball tactics Dublin have adopted. Thank christ we have two proper footballing teams in the final.

Rules are rules and Cork are in the final. But really where the fcuk would you see a team finishing in 3rd qualify ahead of team finishing 2nd? Good luck to ye in the final.

As for happyoutscan, Dublin are not moaning here this just backfired on the G.A.A fact. As for the rest of the country, yes they laugh at Mayo when they get to Croke Park, just like they laughed at us for the past few years when we got heavy beatings in August in Croker.

Anyway move on to the final now. Will Mayo get such an easy ride the next day? Dont think so. But who knows, they have the players and as naughto say they have to beat this Croke Pk thing, I thought they overcame it when they beat Dublin in Semi-final.

b.t.w. There are also quite a few who would like to Mayo win a national title, even in Dublin;)

yop wrote: »

It just defeats the purpose of having a league.Why is it that Cork and Mayo have to meet in the final round of the league with Cork playing with the attitude of nothing to lose and then maybe win the league after being beaten in the final round to finish in 3rd place and win the league in a playoff.It just wreaks of hypocrisy the whole idea.

Maybe my comments on the games itself is a bit brash but if they have to have these games after the league proper is finished,the least they could do is play it among two teams that finished in 1st and 2nd.Anyway,I am not too bothered.ts the same in the hurling between Cork,Galway and Waterford.It doesn't make sense.

I think it is fair to say that having seen Cork throughout the league, today the foot was certainly not on the pedal. Conor I am sure wanted to play Mayo in Croker rather than the Dubs. I mean if Cork won why would they have to play the Dubs again? A team they had recently tore apart! I am sure Cork are not too put out about losing today, the next time Cork play Mayo I expect a very different Cork team, a very different Cork performance and a different result! Only time will tell.

...and the reason Cork lost two games is because of the RULES - we were already in the final today and so didn't take the game seriously. If today's game mattered we wouldn't have put our reserves out, they wouldn't have been strolling around the pitch not giving a ****, and we would have won.

Moreover, Cork and Mayo were the two most consistent teams in the league, and actually play gaelic football, as opposed to the disgusting 12 men behind the ball tactics Dublin have adopted. Thank christ we have two proper footballing teams in the final.

I dont think Dublin have adopted this at all, did you see any of todays game or are you basing this on the match in Cork, which most Dublin followers say was the worst display from a Dublin team in years. Dublin have tried that game and it didnt work in fact their football for the most part has been fairly direct

Its as good as the basketball some teams are playing!!

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I think it is fair to say that having seen Cork throughout the league, today the foot was certainly not on the pedal. Conor I am sure wanted to play Mayo in Croker rather than the Dubs. I mean if Cork won why would they have to play the Dubs again? A team they had recently tore apart! I am sure Cork are not too put out about losing today, the next time Cork play Mayo I expect a very different Cork team, a very different Cork performance and a different result! Only time will tell.

Stop using Blackbelt's nonsense logic against him ShamoBuc, it just isn't nice. ;)

Leo, I'm basing the remark of the 3-4 games I've seen of Dublin this year (I didn't see today's match), not just the Cork game.

Rules are rules and Cork are in the final. But really where the fcuk would you see a team finishing in 3rd qualify ahead of team finishing 2nd? Good luck to ye in the final.

If the rules were the same as last year, we wouldn't have finished third - thats the point people seem to want to gloss over.

I dont think Dublin have adopted this at all, did you see any of todays game or are you basing this on the match in Cork, which most Dublin followers say was the worst display from a Dublin team in years.

I would have thought that was the Kerry one last year!!:)

Stop using Blackbelt's nonsense logic against him ShamoBuc, it just isn't nice. ;)

Leo, I'm basing the remark of the 3-4 games I've seen of Dublin this year (I didn't see today's match), not just the Cork game.

On my point fair enough. You made the point before a while back. In fairness tho I think Dublin are a little more direct than that muck of 12 behind the ball but it can be argued they play a defensive game. This has spead up somewhat recently but we wont know how effective it is until July, provided we are still playing then. I cant understand why any team sit back and invite the opposition on to them (especially come latter stage of championship when there are so many good forwards out there who will punish you.

On shamoBuc THO', he might have a point. I think Cork will be happy to play Mayo again. I.M.O Cork would have a better chance/or feel they have a better chance of beating Mayo at this stage than Dublin, taking into account the Croke Pk factor that seems to haunt Mayo, Cork like us have their nightmares there also but this is an exceptionally good Cork squad. Dublin would fill Croke Park for a joust with Cork whereas Cork v Mayo might get 40,000 if its a double header. Cork will want a win in Croke Pk before they play championship there and Counihan MIGHT just not want Dublin at this stage.