Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mullaghmore Tri

• 06-04-2010 11:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

I just heard that this opened up at 6am this morning, although it was advertised to open at midday.
    I'm not able to find it on active global, and I was wondering if this means it's sold out?
    So disappointed if so :(

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 10 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    90%
    BambaataHardyEustaceMurraythreeEl DirectorConman1ir666DaveR1Huff n Puffpauric1 9 votes
    3 stars (average)
    10%
    k_d 1 vote
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Murraythree

4 stars (good)
    Looks like it has sold out. I registered at ten this morning. Luckily I checked the website as had also expected registartion to open at twelve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Huff n Puff

4 stars (good)
    I made the same mistake with registration times today too. I was supposed to register 3 of us but it looks like I am going to be killed now instead. Ah well......

I much preferred triathlon when they weren't seen as the cool thing to be doing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

4 stars (good)
    ok lads here....i really hope this works for ye!

http://www.activeglobal.com/MiniSearch/index.cfm?AC=home&searchKey=mullaghmore+triathlon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Huff n Puff

4 stars (good)
    Thanks El Director...looks like I am not going to get killed after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

4 stars (good)
    so many here doing this on Saturday coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Bambaata wrote: »
    so many here doing this on Saturday coming?
    part of a relay , know a good few doin it , you get any email on it ?

4 stars (good)
    not since the original conformation. their site has the race briefing and the times for registration, waves etc. Says details of waves will be available from Friday evening at the sailing club so it seems there probably wont be an email with wave details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭DaveR1

4 stars (good)
    And you'd have thought going up to the wild north west athlantic would give lovely clean water........ Very disappointing

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0614/breaking27.html

4 stars (good)
    thats disappointing. that said i was up there only a few weeks back and it seemed very clean!?

4 stars (good)
    Haha. Its not a swimming pool you were in where you can actually see the s**t... Also the taste and smell of salt will make the chemicals and ....:confused:... even more invisable!

4 stars (good)
    i was more paddling than swimming so didnt really notice tbh

4 stars (good)
    Doing this too, it'll be good to meet some of ye and looking forward to it despite the water quality issue!

4 stars (good)
    Seems the water is fine :D
    Mullaghmore Beach in Co Sligo lost its flag because lifeguards had not been stationed by Sligo County Council.

In order to qualify for Blue Flag quality status, a beach must have an adequate number of lifeguards and life-saving equipment.
    so at least its not yucky water

The long-running issue of cattle roaming on the beach was cited as a key factor in Mullaghmore losing its long-standing Blue Flag status.

A spokesperson for the council confirmed that it had not appointed lifeguards to Mullaghmore Beach for the summer season because it felt grazing cattle on the beach posed an ongoing danger to the public and lifeguards if they were posted there.

The spokesperson added: "The water is up to the quality. The issue is the cattle. The danger relating to cattle on the beach is still there. There was a bull in the area.

"That is a danger to people, including lifeguards. This is a health and safety issue."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/top-beaches-fail-to-retain-blue-flag-despite-8364300m-investment-2220666.html

4 stars (good)
    Haha!!! Thats the craziest thing i've ever heard. Cows on a beach, so no lifeguards can work there!

Once the cows aren't getting in the way at the weekend should be a gr8 race!

4 stars (good)
    forecast is still good! Could be a cracker of a day!
    It'll continue mainly dry and settled over next weekend with further warm sunshine and winds will be generally light. Daytime temperatures will reach the high teens and will climb into the twenties inland.

4 stars (good)
    Just wondering if anyone has done this one before? What is it like? Hilly/flat? Technical bike course etc....?

4 stars (good)
    From memory the swim last year was a run to the water from the beach. Transition is on a grass area which seeing as its dry out should be fine. the initial part of the bike has a slight climb just before the main road. The main road is fairly flat with only minor rolling climbs and the way back is the same. some of the road is quite rough in parts but I cant recall seeing many potholes. I think the run is slightly short and has some short sharp climbs but isn't too difficult overall.

I really enjoyed it last year and with the weather forecast looking promising I'm sure this year will be great too. There was also hot food afterwards in the village in one of the hotels which i hope is part of it this year as there isn't much else there.

Cant wait for it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

Just wondering if anyone has done this one before? What is it like? Hilly/flat? Technical bike course etc....?

Ya I did it last year. Swim is nice, starts off on the beach and you swim out to a buoy then on into the harbour. Run up a slight hill into transition.
    Transition can be quite packed as it s a big triathlon so get their early to get a good spot. Oh ya it is broken into waves for the start. First waves for elite males, then females and then males again. Its depends on what swim time you put down on registration. id say anything under 13 mins would be wave one.

Cycle route starts off coming out of the village then up a slight hill on to the main Sligo Bundoran road, few small hills up and down but nothing major. However it can be quite windy at times on this route, so the weather can determine how tough it is. Towards the end of the cycle thier is a nice downhill and then flat for about 2 miles back into transition.

The run around the head can be very tough for some people as its very hilly. Once you leave the village the hils start. Their is some downhill aswell obviously. If you are a strong runner you will do well on this part. I passed about 20 people on it last year.

Best of luck

4 stars (good)
    Thanks Bambaata and Cool Running, looking forward to it now. Might even get to meet ye....blue/white giant TT bike and blue/white aero helmet == me! The very best of luck to everyone here doing it!

4 stars (good)
    ill be in the belpark trisuit but not until just before the off (it gets ripped to shreds wearing anything over it!! looks like its 10yrs old eventhough ive only used it 3 times!). ill be on my white/red cervelo P2C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭MayoRoadRunner

Hi all, the Gods were looking after us today!! Such a cracker in Sligo!!
    Swim was hard going til the first buoy and lots of lads were pretty 'eager'. Bike was nice and flat for the most part but strong headwind on the way back. Run was hard going for the first 2k but scenery was out of this world.
    Finished in 1.08 but no clue about splits. Nothing up on red tag either. Anyone have access to a file they can post up here?
    Really well ran event. Can't fault it in any way. Mullaghmore really shone today and the atmosphere was savage!
    Well done to all who finished and the organisers and marshalls!

4 stars (good)
    Hi all, the Gods were looking after us today!! Such a cracker in Sligo!!
    Swim was hard going til the first buoy and lots of lads were pretty 'eager'. Bike was nice and flat for the most part but strong headwind on the way back. Run was hard going for the first 2k but scenery was out of this world.
    Finished in 1.08 but no clue about splits. Nothing up on red tag either. Anyone have access to a file they can post up here?
    Really well ran event. Can't fault it in any way. Mullaghmore really shone today and the atmosphere was savage!
    Well done to all who finished and the organisers and marshalls!

So impressed today with the running of this event. Cannot praise MSC TRi and the local people enough. Made sure I got to thank a few of them. Great day and terrific atmosphere. Think I just snuck in ahead of you MayoRR, 1:07:xx, close one :)

4 stars (good)
    Bambaata wrote: »
    ill be in the belpark trisuit but not until just before the off (it gets ripped to shreds wearing anything over it!! looks like its 10yrs old eventhough ive only used it 3 times!). ill be on my white/red cervelo P2C.

Dude spotted you not far from me in transition put as I went over to say hello you disappeared! Didn't see you after that. How did it go for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭MayoRoadRunner

So impressed today with the running of this event. Cannot praise MSC TRi and the local people enough. Made sure I got to thank a few of them. Great day and terrific atmosphere. Think I just snuck in ahead of you MayoRR, 1:07:xx, close one :)

Fair play El Director - not sure of my exact time but hopefully someone will post results shortly. Well done again!

4 stars (good)
    here we go .....

http://www.redtagtiming.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭ir666

4 stars (good)
    ED,

thanks for that link.

Yesterday was an epic day out.

I should have brought a camera on the run. ;)

My 2nd Tri . Finished just over 1:14

4 stars (good)
    Great day for racing! I really like the Mullaghmore course and weather couldn't have been much better (maybe a little less windy :p )

This is the first race this year that I'm able to compare to last year so i was interested to see how I'd get on. In the end i was about 4 mins faster than i was last year but I think there were faster conditions too.

Swim:
    The swim was "interesting". It was quite shallow for the first 50 - 80m so i dived a lot of the way out. In doing that though i displaced my goggles and had to briefly stop to adjust while it still wasn't too deep. I tried going for feet and managed it catch some a few times. Felt good though even in the swell and exited in 11:19 (25th). There seemed to be a strong enough current towards the beach which i think helped the swim time. I sighted well for once though so was pleased with that.

T1:
    Took too long getting the wetsuit off and exited in 01:21

Bike:
    As usual i started passing plenty on the bike straight out of transition. No matter how much i neglect the bike i always seem to do well. One guy passed me on the climb towards the main road and i decided i wasn't gonna let him go. I stayed back about 10 -12m and used him to keep me steady. Once we turned around i realised we'd be going back slightly into the wind. I also noticed a fair amount of drafting going on (including some of the top 15!) and wasn't too pleased with that. Off the main road i passed the guy I was tracking as he slowed up too much at a tight corner and got enough ground on him to make sure we wouldn't start jostling for position. Finished the bike in 32:16 (6th).

T2:
    Fast enough out of T2 (0:49) and i was looking forward to catching those ahead.

Run:
    The run course at Mullaghmore is one of the best. I really enjoy it. Its fairly lumpy to the half way point and has some serious sights. I caught three ahead fairly quick and decided id test what they were made of. We were running into a strong wind so i decided that if i couldn't break convincingly from them that id settle in behind and let them break the wind. 1 guy pulled up straight away and so it was 3 of us. I took a shot at them, got about 5m ahead but decided the wind was too strong and decided id pull back. I sat in behind them for the first km. They each seemed to have a go breaking and i chased them down each time. Then the guy i passed on the latter stages of the bike came storming past. I kept with him for about 200m but couldn't maintain his speed up the climbs so dropped back to the other two again. On the second half of the run each of the two guys tried a break again but i had plenty in the tank and scuffed those attempts. One of them seemed to like to break on the descents so I blocked him by tightening up the space with the other guy here and there. At one stage we ran shoulder to shoulder 3 in a line, they seemed to realise I had benefited from sitting out of the wind so nobody was gona let anyone get that advantage again :D So we hit the 4km mark and two of us dropped one of the guys. We turned the corner to come back up the final 800m and again i decided id let the guy in front block the wind for me (we had turned back straight into it). I decided id let him break it to the top of a climb and then take him on. In slowing up the 3rd guy caught us again and so I just sat behind them two as they ran shoulder to shoulder. I was expecting a sprint finish and i was very confident id have it if it came to that. Still I didn't want to leave anything to chance and wanted to be the first to sprint and so with about 450-500m i sprinted past on the inside ensuring I had at least 20 - 30m before checking how i was getting on. Neither seemed to have a kick and in the end i came through comfortably in 17:57 (12th). The run is slightly short. I think my garmin had it at 4.8km (ill check later) but it is a challenging run course and thus I was delighted to post that especially considering i held back a little. I really enjoyed the run race we had.

So i finished in 01:03:42 which i was very happy with. It was good enough for 8th (1 relay ahead) and before the race i had said to myself top 10 and id be happy.

Enjoyed flaking out in the sun and taking in the sights. Its a beautiful spot and MSC tri put on one of the best events. The grub after is probably the best on offer at any event ive done.

Pity i disappeared El D! Would have been great to meet you but sure im sure there'll be plenty of other opportunities!

4 stars (good)
    ir666 wrote: »
    ED,

thanks for that link.

Yesterday was an epic day out.

I should have brought a camera on the run. ;)

My 2nd Tri . Finished just over 1:14

Thats a great time dude for only your second tri! well done man!

4 stars (good)
    Great stuf Bambaata. Nice reading your thoughts, I've learned a thing or two reading that report, especially regarding the run. Well done man and I'm sure we will bump into each other again perhaps even in Kilkee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

great report, great result bambaata , from readin your report you seemed to really have enjoyed the run part , did the run as part of a relay myself , very tough and definitely was short , read 4.77km on my garmin , i think someone told me they thought 5km was 3miles , so allowing for a different of .03km in the garmin that would seem logical , it would also explain why we went in and around that cone in the estate half way thru the race ?!

well done all and to MSC Tri , great day

oh thanks to that person who cheered me on at the start of the race , obviously a boards users !

4 stars (good)
    Crowd were great too. there was a great atmosphere all round the place.