Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hi lads anyone got any advice on buying a keverneland 7510 bale wrapper

• 04-04-2010 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49

also what type of mower for cutting for a round baler in the 1200eu price bracket i would be greatful for any advice i just bought a krone 130s chopper baler:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Its hard to get a good keverneland 7510 as they are an old machine. If they give trouble with the cut and tie they will break your heart and you could end up coming off the tractor to cut and tie every bale yourself. If the turntable is warped the weight of the bale will snap the cut and tie rod back every few turns, more so on sloping ground. If you see one make sure you see it working with a heavy silage bale on it while on sloping ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 baler

iv just bought the keverneland and the cutter is not working hope to fit a new one

i have just bought the dam wrapper and the plastic cutter is broken hope to get a new one fitted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Have a 7510. It worked very well since about 1996 and last year the cut and tie started to break our heart. I stripped it down, and found that where the table was welded to the centre bearing had all but sheared off and the table was about to part company with the rest of the wrapper. It is now in 1000 pieces in the workshop, but it will be back in commission by June, welded, with all new bearings and if I feel like it, a coat of paint.

Overall it is a well built wrapper, and the auto cut and tie works well for the most part.

does anybody know where i could buy a cut and tie unit for the 7510 are they complicated

do u think it would be a big job to recondition the auto cut myself

baler wrote: »
    does anybody know where i could buy a cut and tie unit for the 7510 are they complicated
    I was told that a mchale cut and tie could be used on the 7510 as I bought a 7510 last year and the cut and tie worked perfect in a dry run but was a different story when I put a bale up on it. The mchale cut and tie would probably cost more than the 7510 wrapper. Another thing is that when the arm springs back to cut the plastic and hold it for the next bale it doesn't hold the plastic for the next bale. I also noticed that the plastic now is a lot weaker and lighter than plastic used during the nineties and that is after using a lot of different brands last year. When this cut and tie system was designed the plastic was stronger.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I also noticed that the plastic now is a lot weaker and lighter than plastic used during the nineties and that is after using a lot of different brands last year. When this cut and tie system was designed the plastic was stronger.

I don't agree with that. Our 7510 can catch and hold any plastic. I don't think new plastic is any worse, and probably better if anything. 10 years ago we used to only buy Volac plastic as some stuff could break your heart, now most brands are quite good.

Try and find out what is wrong with the auto cut and tie. Does it not open out or not snap closed?

maidhc wrote: »
    I don't agree with that. Our 7510 can catch and hold any plastic. I don't think new plastic is any worse, and probably better if anything. 10 years ago we used to only buy Volac plastic as some stuff could break your heart, now most brands are quite good.

Try and find out what is wrong with the auto cut and tie. Does it not open out or not snap closed?
    It will open on level ground only. When I first used it I noticed that the knurled roller at the end of the rod was seized so I freed it out with wd40 and elbow grease but that still didn't solve the problem of not holding the plastic. When I tip the table and the rod trips it snaps very fast I was thinking that the spring is adjusted too tight and that if it was slackened it might close easier and hold the plastic. I also have a 7550 mounted wrapper that has the same turntable (but no cut and tie) that could be switched to the 7510. I know how hard it is to change the turntable as I had to switch gears from the 7550 for the garage to put them in the 7510. There is also timing for the cut and tie that has to be adjusted for it to work so that would make it more awkward to switch the turntable.

What brand of plastic do you use as any brand I used last year was very light?

also what type of mower for cutting for a round baler in the 1200eu price bracket i would be greatful for any advice i just bought a krone 130s chopper baler:)
    Try donedeal for a mower here
    http://www.donedeal.ie/find/machinery/for-sale/Ireland/mower
    I use an 8' mounted disc mower that I bought new.

guys im as useless with the computer as i am with the wrapper so guess im in for a hard year ahead is the auto cut a complicated device would it be possible to still buy parts for the wrapper do ye think and where woul i find them thanks a million guys

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

guys im as useless with the computer as i am with the wrapper so guess im in for a hard year ahead is the auto cut a complicated device would it be possible to still buy parts for the wrapper do ye think and where woul i find them thanks a million guys

Yes i Would say you could get parts...Any Kvernland Taarup dealers would get them for you!

What part of the country are you from?

im from limerick have u experience of the keverneland 7510 wrapper

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

im from limerick have u experience of the keverneland 7510 wrapper
    http://www.nfm.ie/news.php -Nunan Farm Machinery are Kvernland Dealers,You should give them a ring....

Kindof
    I did my t.y work experience in a Main N.H dealers....A 7510 was traded in for a new McHale HS2000..The 7510 seems to be quite similar to a McHale 991

You can get kverneland parts from Lynch & McCarthy little island Cork. You could also try Clarke machinery they are based in Kells, New Inn and Cavan. Clarke's are cheaper than any main dealer.

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/machinery/1183294
    Here is a Morro 7' disc mower for €1300 put your arrow over the blue writing and click for details. Surely if you are using this site you must have basic knowledge of computers?

pajero12 wrote: »
    http://www.nfm.ie/news.php -Nunan Farm Machinery are Kvernland Dealers,You should give them a ring....

Kindof
    I did my t.y work experience in a Main N.H dealers....A 7510 was traded in for a new McHale HS2000..The 7510 seems to be quite similar to a McHale 991

Rather the other way around, the McHale is a clone of the 7510, which was one of the first successful modern silage wrappers and originally patented by Underhaug (hence most Kv wrappers being prefixed to this day by "UN").

@Sam Kade: I actually forget what plastic we used last year, but it wasn't a well known brand or anything.

@baler: You probably don't need any parts for the autocut and tie, just a bit of fettling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭powerfarmer

On the plastic cut and hold unit make sure all the linkages are free to move smoothly, and check the springs they stretch with age and get a bit banjaxed. Are you sure the cut/hold unit isnt bent or strained? it might have got a slap of a bale in the wrong place. Mind your fingers !!the cut knife is v sharp.. used to use a KV 7515 or 14 cant remember which

i really appreciate all the advice i am looking at a 7 ft pz rotary mower near me today for 1000 eu it has a conditioner on it what do ye think

thanks maidhc ye are all being such a help with ter invaluable advice

i really appreciate all the advice i am looking at a 7 ft pz rotary mower near me today for 1000 eu it has a conditioner on it what do ye think
    Secondhand rotary mowers are a hit and miss. I bought one from new years ago and would never go back to them.

hi sam what did dislike about the rotaey mower the one ibouht is a p z with a conditioner fitted have to fit new bearings in the saucers im a glutten for punishment icon12.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

hi sam what did dislike about the rotaey mower the one ibouht is a p z with a conditioner fitted have to fit new bearings in the saucers im a glutten for punishment icon12.gif

the rotar mower is ok if you land is flat with no rough spots but it cant be lifted at the headlands like a disc mower so you could have some precision chop silage. are you sure its just bearings the saucers need ?

im hoping its only a bearing there doesnt appear to be any damage to the saucers just a bit of play so heres hoping do you have much experience of the p z mower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭mossfort

im hoping its only a bearing there doesnt appear to be any damage to the saucers just a bit of play so heres hoping do you have much experience of the p z mower

we used to hav a pz 165 years ago but changed to a disc mower.
    we used to have to remove the saucers to hammer out little dents caused by stones . just undo the allen bolt and lever the saucer evenly from either side with two levers. we never had to replace bearings in the saucers but if the mower has a conditioner it could have put a bit of extra strain on the bearings.

i hope you are right about the bearings mine are held on with nut type bolts instead of allen key bolts it was a dutch import so fingers crossed:)

HI GUYS IM JUST AFTER BUYING AN INTERNATIONAL 956 2WD ARE THEY ANY GOOD WHAT ARE THE PROBLEMS ITS A 6 CYL I PROBABLY NEED MY HEAD EXAMINED WOULD APPRECIATE ANY ADVICEicon12.gif