Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PASSAT 2.0 TDI 170 BHP

• 04-04-2010 8:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭

Hello i am buying one of these to replace my wifes 1.9 105 bhp its a 07 passat. Does the 170 bhp engine give any trouble over the 105. Someone told me they give turbo bother. If they do is their anything i can do to ensure a trouble free engine.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

SARASON wrote: »
    Hello i am buying one of these to replace my wifes 1.9 105 bhp its a 07 passat. Does the 170 bhp engine give any trouble over the 105. Someone told me they give turbo bother. If they do is their anything i can do to ensure a trouble free engine.
    The 2.0 TDI engine has very serious design problems. The two major issues are the engine cylinder head which cracks (they do tend to take some time to crack which extends beyond the warranty period) and then there is the oil pump drive system failure (if that happens, the engine usually blows within a minute due to oil starvation). I am sure they improved the design lately, but anyway the 1.9 engines were a lot better. It just shows how much they cut on design and engineering today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

i owned a passat 1.9tdi. The engines are great seriously I reckon it would do 300k no problm but its the rest of the car which had the problems.
    It had a leak when it rained water came in the to the footwell leaving big puddles in the morning. The ECU underneath!! ...
    Regulators that constantly break also.
    They're just two problems I can think of off the top of my head.

VW have this name for being reliable which for me really wasnt the case and the posts above about the newer versions dont fill me with hope either.

I know drive an Alfa GT. Considering the name Alfa has I was slightly worried to say the least.
    That said I've had way less problems with it in the first 3 months of ownership than I did of the first 3 months ownership of the passat.

now that I've said that I'll be riddled with problems :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Seweryn wrote: »
    The 2.0 TDI engine has very serious design problems. The two major issues are the engine cylinder head which cracks (they do tend to take some time to crack which extends beyond the warranty period) and then there is the oil pump drive system failure (if that happens, the engine usually blows within a minute due to oil starvation). I am sure they improved the design lately, but anyway the 1.9 engines were a lot better. It just shows how much they cut on design and engineering today...

Thats good to hear!!! I am amazed though because i have just visited castrols website and it says the oil in the 170bhp is to be changed every 30k kms but the 1.9tdi every 15k kms even though its the very same oil. If i use a different air filter will this lengthen my turbo life

Anyone with any ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Are you buying a new Passat? I think they have the new common-rail diesel engine, not sure if they would have the same problems.

Its a 07 2.0 tdi 170bhp they are scarce in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Its a 07 2.0 tdi 170bhp they are scarce in this country

Yeah, it's weird over here in the UK they're ten-a-penny yet in Ireland they are hard to find :)

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Yeah, it's weird over here in the UK they're ten-a-penny yet in Ireland they are hard to find :)

I would say it was first day price my 1.9 cost 33k new in 07 the 2.0 was 3 grand extra and the 170 was 5 grand more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Lots of steering column issues also. Can be an expensive fix too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

cadaliac wrote: »
    Lots of steering column issues also. Can be an expensive fix too.

specifically on the 170 or Passats in general?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

colm_mcm wrote: »
    passats in general - I don't know if the steering rack issue is limited to any of the engine types. Unless they have a different rack of course.

colm_mcm wrote: »

On the 170 colm please;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Anyone with any ideas

Personally I think the engine is too new to get with a car just yet. Its no where near as tried and tested as previous TDI's, not because the 1.9 has been around for a gazillion years but because the previous generation of TDI (the PD) has been around for 10 years in whatever engine size. The common rails are yet to win me over.

Having said that, its gonna be a very long time before I could afford a new car so I can happily say what I said lol

If your wife needs the power then you can do some serious research on it, but if she needs a decent run around then look into the 1.9 and 2.0 PD's after 2008. Im not too familiar with them but still, its a good engine for the most part.

EDIT:

Damn I should read the whole thread. A 2007 170hp TDI? First I have heard of that. Ill shush up now :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

The 170 isn't exactly 10 a penny in the UK either, and they can be around 3k sterling more expensive than a 140, not worth it!!
    The reason they were more expensive by an unreasonable margin here was they were only available in Highline. So the entry 140bhp was Comfortline, and it was 5k more for a 170 Highline, (no 170 comfort), but a 140 highline versus a 170 highline was only a grand or less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Never drive/fly/sail the "A" model of anything. :D

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    The 170 isn't exactly 10 a penny in the UK either, and they can be around 3k sterling more expensive than a 140, not worth it!!
    The reason they were more expensive by an unreasonable margin here was they were only available in Highline. So the entry 140bhp was Comfortline, and it was 5k more for a 170 Highline, (no 170 comfort), but a 140 highline versus a 170 highline was only a grand or less.

Yes i would say you are right i think i will have to try a vw specific forum as these cars are very scarce

Fishtits wrote: »
    Never drive/fly/sail the "A" model of anything. :D

:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭flamegrill

I bought a new Superb 170bhp in Jan this year. Not had 1 ounce of trouble with it. This _should_ be the same Comon Rail engine. It's been in the A4 for some time now and I guess they're about 3 years old and I've not heard of "lots of trouble"

If it has less than 60k miles on it take it but ensure that the timing belt has been done. After that you'll get another 60k miles out of it with ease. My 2006 passat had a few electrical issues but all of these were resolved under warrant including a steering wheel locking issue (not fun when it locks going round a round about!).

The electronic brake in them can be a bit of a pain the arse aswell so just know that and you can probably live with it. The 170bhp engine is very smooth and quite quick.

Paul

Cheers paul.

I have a 07 105 already from new but its wrote off so im just getting another 07. Thankfully we had no bother with the 105 i was going to go for a 10 but waiting 10 weeks is a complete no no...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭flamegrill

Cheers paul.

I have a 07 105 already from new but its wrote off so im just getting another 07. Thankfully we had no bother with the 105 i was going to go for a 10 but waiting 10 weeks is a complete no no...

Garage may be able to give you a loaner while you wait? If you look hard enough (push your sales rep), you may find the car you want is already in the country. The superb I got (elegance 170 model) was ordered in as a demo/show model by Skoda Ireland. My dealer got it to his place when he found it on their order system and had it in a few days, I bought it there and then. Picked it up in Jan then as a 2010 reg.

Paul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The 2007 Passat 2.0 TDi 140bhp and 170bhp were both PD engines, these engines have been around since 2004, nowhere near as reliable as the old 1.9 TDi.

The 2.0 TDi CR engines were only introduced in the new model A4 from 2008 and only reached the Passat last year. The Octavia and new model Superb got them last year too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

OP would you not go for the 140 bhp, I think the 140 bhp is fairly reliable, the 170 has a DPF which causes issues. You can remap the 140 up to 170 anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Why would anyone buy an '07 diesel???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

value for money on purchase price
    06 and 07 diesels are underpriced because of the tax change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

We do have a couple of 170bhp Passat's on Fleet, and a good few 140's.

Wouldn't say they are any less reliable than the 1.9's, but that's not saying much anyway. We've had A4 2.0TDI PD's come back with over 200,000km on the clock and by far the best thing about those cars was the engine. They were only the 140 versions, but I'd guess it's the same block.

Always found a bit more lag on the 170 than the 140, which can be a bit dangerous when you are not used to it and trying to get on to a busy roundabout, but once the turbo kicks in, the kick of torque in the back is rather nice.

value for money on purchase price
    06 and 07 diesels are underpriced because of the tax change.

Oh yes, think of the present and not the future. They're going to be worthless when moving to sell in a few years.

testicle wrote: »
    Oh yes, think of the present and not the future. They're going to be worthless when moving to sell in a few years.

Thanks ror for your helpful post. I wish everyone else would read my first post like you did as opposed to giving out about the year of car.

flamegrill wrote: »
    Garage may be able to give you a loaner while you wait? If you look hard enough (push your sales rep), you may find the car you want is already in the country. The superb I got (elegance 170 model) was ordered in as a demo/show model by Skoda Ireland. My dealer got it to his place when he found it on their order system and had it in a few days, I bought it there and then. Picked it up in Jan then as a 2010 reg.

Paul

Thanks paul i bought the 170 passat anyway as she needs a replacment car this week as the hired car is being taken back by the insurance company. I have gone from a 1.9 to 2.0 tdi and 5 grand in my back pocket so it will pay for 2 weeks in vegas;)

Thanks ror for your helpful post. I wish everyone else would read my first post like you did as opposed to giving out about the year of car.

I did read it. Its quite unclear, due to bad grammar and punctuation, which Passat is the 07 one.

testicle wrote: »
    I did read it. Its quite unclear, due to bad grammar and punctuation, which Passat is the 07 one.
    Why are you leaving replys on a forum that you havent a clue about go troll somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

testicle & SARASON, you might both take a deep breath and moderate your tone a little. Neither the grammar police nor accusations of trolling are welcome around here.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

Thanks paul i bought the 170 passat anyway as she needs a replacment car this week as the hired car is being taken back by the insurance company. I have gone from a 1.9 to 2.0 tdi and 5 grand in my back pocket so it will pay for 2 weeks in vegas;)

There will be some torque from that engine.I have the 140bhp and it's is very responsive.I know a guy who has the same engine in an A4 and he told me he has to replace the front tyres every 14k miles!
    Enjoy they are a lovely car to drive on the open motorway

Moanin wrote: »
    There will be some torque from that engine.I have the 140bhp and it's is very responsive.I know a guy who has the same engine in an A4 and he told me he has to replace the front tyres every 14k miles!

Cheers;) I had the 105 bhp so it will be different. Herself will be driving it all the time so she will mind it. Actually the 105 was very hard on tyres as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 05passat

Hi am new here,
    Am thinking of buying a new shap passat 05 , 06 or 07 tdi and just wondering would that be a good either or do they give problems?

05passat wrote: »
    Hi am new here,
    Am thinking of buying a new shap passat 05 , 06 or 07 tdi and just wondering would that be a good either or do they give problems?

The 05 and 06 new shape Passat's are about the least reliable cars in that size, and I'd advise everyone to avoid them like the plague.

The 07's don't seem to be as bad, but they still aren't great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

R.O.R wrote: »
    The 07's don't seem to be as bad, but they still aren't great.

Explain that to the turbo and oil pump in the 07 2.0TDi DSG that I was driving a few weeks ago left behind over in Liffey Valley. :mad:

Obviously driver error and the full cost will be recharged :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Obviously driver error and the full cost will be recharged :pac::pac::pac:

Just as well - it happened outside VW HQ :P

Ha ha was that yours ha ha? I was driving passed sometime ago and i think i might have seen it packed there because i was asking my self that i wonder what was wrong with that car to be left there. So what tdi car would anyone advise to get as i live in dublin but work in carlow so am on the road monday to friday.

You won't go far wrong with a Mondeo diesel. Comfy to drive, pretty good on fuel, reliable and even if they do break they are fairly cheap to fix. Look for a 115ps or 130ps model with a full service history. Clutch and Flywheel will need replacing around 120,000km so factor that in - but that seems to be the case with all modern diesels.

Alternatively, the Skoda Octavia is a good work horse. Despite sharing a lot of parts with the Passat, they don't give anywhere near as much trouble. I'd still take a Mondeo instead though.

I was thinking of a Mondeo diesel my self before but you see the problem i have is i am someone who like to have a flashy looking car and something from 04 up am still a young man and the mondeo look is what put me away and also the money i don't wont to go over makes it hard.

About the Skoda Octavia i will look into that more thanks.

What about the FSI passats? What is the deal with them are they any good i know they are petro but would they be more reliable than the tdis?

05passat wrote: »
    I was thinking of a Mondeo diesel my self before but you see the problem i have is i am someone who like to have a flashy looking car and something from 04 up am still a young man and the mondeo look is what put me away and also the money i don't wont to go over makes it hard.

About the Skoda Octavia i will look into that more thanks.

What about the FSI passats? What is the deal with them are they any good i know they are petro but would they be more reliable than the tdis?

You want a flashy looking car and have a thing for Passat's? Beauty is in the eye of the beholder they say.......................

Ha ha ah no i dont mean that big flashy just something that looks the business and a strong engineen and i have being told the passat are good but am just worried if ity would cost me problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Moanin wrote: »
    The hunger for tyres is down to poor chassis design, and not torque. The appetite for tyres is unreal on the VAG diesels.