Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Archbishop of Canterbury unhappy with Irish Church

• 03-04-2010 12:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭

"The Archbishop of Canterbury has said the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland has lost "all credibility" over the way it had dealt with paedophile priests."

Fair play to Dr. Williams, a least somebody has got his head out of the sand.
    A bit more of this and we may get the Catholic Church to do something.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8601381.stm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Meh! So he joined the queue...
    At least what he said was accurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Some discredited cleric has just hit back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Didn't that Archbishop cause enough trouble in 1170? Still at it I see.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

Hi Mike - Happy Easter

Ya I can see the RCC fighting back, but Dr. Williams made so good points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

gbee wrote: »

You're an honour to Irish historical memory! 1155.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I actually do think Rowan Atkinson Williams should keep quiet as it offers the RCC the chance to be rallied round by fools who will view this as Perfidious Albion up to something or other.

Winty wrote: »
    "The Archbishop of Canterbury has said the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland has lost "all credibility" over the way it had dealt with paedophile priests."

Now, for Diarmuid Martin's proposal for a full investigation into every diocese in the country to be made a reality. He's the only person who is actively working to make some sort of amends from the establishment of an all-Ireland truth commission of sorts.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/martin-full-probe-only-way-to-get-abuse-truth-2101278.html

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2010/0317/ireland/archbishop-martin-country-wide-inquiry-may-be-only-way-forward-450277.html

The rest of them are either keeping their heads down or rallying around in defence of the behemoth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

well he told the truth they didnt do anything... so no wonder he is saying this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭cyberhog

Should the Church of England not be more concerned with condemning and investigating “decades” of child abuse within its own ranks?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1566826/C-of-E-child-abuse-was-ignored-for-decades.html

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/6594439.stm

cyberhog wrote: »
    Should the Church of England not be more concerned with condemning and investigating “decades” of child abuse within its own ranks?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1566826/C-of-E-child-abuse-was-ignored-for-decades.html

Interesting. Never knew about that.

cyberhog wrote: »

well shouldn't all churches do this then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

All he's going to do is make the god squad, flanders, hand wringing joe duffy callers close ranks. "Dem feckin prods" mentality is gonna rear its ugly head now.

Interestingly, I never knew there was an abuse cover up in the C of E, but then again with RTE and Independent newspapers, you'd be under the impression only Irish people were immoral.

All he's going to do is make the god squad, flanders, hand wringing joe duffy callers close ranks. "Dem feckin prods" mentality is gonna rear its ugly head now.

Interestingly, I never knew there was an abuse cover up in the C of E, but then again with RTE and Independent newspapers, you'd be under the impression only Irish people were immoral.

yea ano this is the next thing.. all this crap about religion in ni and all will start to come out.. when in england they dont give a crud about religion... i have a couple of english people in my class and they said that they are fed up with this religious crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Rowan is just bitter that conservative Anglicans feel more in tune with Rome than what people like Rowan Williams has to offer as in "God bless them, I certainly don't."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

now there is someone they might listen to
    he will shame them into it
    there is alot of firing to be done in the catholic church

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

That Bishop of Canterbury is never happy. He can **** off IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Heh, people would boycott businesses and products over relatively meaningless things but yet they'll still listen to what this "organised" group have to say about each and every one of us.

There is no word fit enough to describe the shower of sick fùcks who did what they did and those who tried hiding it. It's gotten so bad when there's so many stories a week on paedo priests and cover-ups that you shrug your shoulders and go "oh, another one."

They burn churches in Scandinavia for much less :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Whither our own Government on the matter? But no, that would take a pair....or at least one.....

That Bishop of Canterbury is never happy. He can **** off IMO

lol and your just against him because he is the head of the church of england which is protestant... TYPICAL!:rolleyes:

owenc wrote: »
    lol and your just against him because he is the head of the church of england which is protestant... TYPICAL!:rolleyes:

Feckin Brits, I hate 'em!!
    Man Utd just lost 2-1 to Chelsea, bah!.........oh well, back to Sky One

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

owenc wrote: »
    yea ano this is the next thing.. all this crap about religion in ni and all will start to come out.. when in england they dont give a crud about religion... i have a couple of english people in my class and they said that they are fed up with this religious crap.

You know 'a couple' of English children/young adults (?).

Hardly an accurate way to judge the mindset of a whole nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

- Anyone who's not English/unionist attacking catholic church in Ireland: thumbs up
    - English/unionist person attacking catholic church in Ireland: Sectarian!!! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I think fair play to him, the Vatican are the worst example of Christians around!
    If I believed in God I'd want to be part of the Archie's church I think. He looks like a nice beardy jolly type.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I see Diarmuid Martin has responded to the remarks with this gem.

Speaking on the Marian Finucane programme on RTÉ Radio One, Dr Martin said he was stunned by the remarks and that they have done untold damage to the goodwill of a lot of Catholics in Ireland.

Dr Martin said he would be writing a letter to Dr Williams, and would publish the reply if necessary.

And here I was thinking that the damage was done by decades of raping little children:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

RonMexico wrote: »
    I see Diarmuid Martin has responded to the remarks with this gem.

Speaking on the Marian Finucane programme on RTÉ Radio One, Dr Martin said he was stunned by the remarks and that they have done untold damage to the goodwill of a lot of Catholics in Ireland.

Dr Martin said he would be writing a letter to Dr Williams, and would publish the reply if necessary.

And here I was thinking that the damage was done by decades of raping little children:rolleyes:

Yeah, pretty fúckin amazing that. Just heard it myself. I think he has his priorities askew there. Reminds me of how fianna failers (especially cowen) get so uppidity when they are rightly accused of screwing the country over! Ya really do need a brass neck to get to the top of these organisations.

brummytom wrote: »
    You know 'a couple' of English children/young adults (?).

Hardly an accurate way to judge the mindset of a whole nation.

actually theres probably about 100 people who are english in my school... loads of english people in ni... about 20 in my primary school aswell.. theres more english people here than irish infact ive yet to meet an irish person!:P im serious i have never met an irish person in northern ireland going by the accent.. never heard that accent were they say tree for three.. and as for churches they should join up all the christian churches and join up the rules to make up one church...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Duggy747 wrote: »

Its a good thing that spoiler contains an American-owned and a Russian-owned team, and an TV network owned by an Australian or someone might think you were being sarcastic :pac:

Duggy747 wrote: »
    not nice to say that of the brits, one of them is now speaking up for us and you still put them down, i hope he come out some more and ask for heads to roll

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

How is the Irish church dude "stunned" at being told they've lost credibility, has he not been paying attention to whats been hapening? Or is it just that it was their competitor in the UK church market saying it that upset him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Clerical Error.

Why don't these church rulers get their god to come in and do a bit of b*tchslapping?

The archbishop of Canterbury said "all credibility", I didn't see that in a packed church yesterday, surely the churches would have been empty if they had lost all credibility.

Just Rowan Williams trying to take attention away from the ordination of a lesbian bishop in LA.....and the troubles his church is in.

goat2 wrote: »
    the irish church did and does not give a s--t about anything but cash, they have not shown that they are ashamed or embarrissed, it is only when another church starts to speak out that they speak, they did not care what you and i thought, once we put our money in the box every week

I know what you mean, after the tsunami they raised over €16 million to help the victims of the disaster, recently had a collection for Haiti, they only care about money......

Min wrote: »
    The archbishop of Canterbury said "all credibility", I didn't see that in a packed church yesterday, surely the churches would have been empty if they had lost all credibility.

Just Rowan Williams trying to take attention away from the ordination of a lesbian bishop in LA.....and the troubles his church is in.
    were the churches packed yesterday

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

...once we put our money in the box every week

As long as it's not any of my money.

were the churches packed yesterday

Yes, they were packed like every Good Friday, I didn't see any drop off in numbers for the same service in the same church as other years.

Reporting from Limerick, RTE said the churches there were pretty full for Holy Thursday as they interviewed people about the drinking being allowed in the city for Good Friday.

they have lost 4 in my house, they lost us,
    but we did not lose God

Who lost what now? :confused:

not nice to say that of the brits, one of them is now speaking up for us and you still put them down, i hope he come out some more and ask for heads to roll

Heh heh, I think your sarcasm detector is on the blink. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

well tbf...to say that a priest can't walk down a street in Ireland is a pure f'in joke...anybody who's been here 5 minutes could tell you that...oh wait...the comment was by someone who hasn't been here? fancy that :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

well tbf...to say that a priest can't walk down a street in Ireland is a pure f'in joke...anybody who's been here 5 minutes could tell you that...oh wait...the comment was by someone who hasn't been here? fancy that :rolleyes:

Who exactly was that comment made by? The Archbishop of Canterbury or his Irish friend?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

That's odd as Good Friday is the one day of the year that masses are not held.

The church is dying in Ireland- and they have only themselves to blame for that. Good riddance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What we want is an inter-denominational celebrity archbishop death-match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Sounds like he needs a good ride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

Whilst I am vehemently critical of the Catholic Church here and the child abuse scandal, something about a leader of the Church of England pontificating about what goes on in our country - which I doubt he has much direct experience of - gets up right up my nose.

He should butt out and be concerned about what goes on in his own backyard, I don’t think his agenda offers anything to help the victims over here and smacks of the Old Empire mentality combined with a bit of revenge for so many Church of England ministers joining the Catholic church after they allowed women priests.

The Anglican Church lost all credibility in Ireland when it openly colluded in the subjugation of Irish Catholics and Presbyterians, not to mention offering soup to starving people if they converted to their version of Christianity.

Then there is the current religious discrimination against Catholics advocated by the Head of the Church of England - the Queen - whereby a royal cannot ascend to the throne if they marry a Catholic.

As far as I am concerned it is the pot calling the kettle black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

gbee wrote: »

I think it's a different guy now.

JupiterKid wrote: »
    That's odd as Good Friday is the one day of the year that masses are not held.

The church is dying in Ireland- and they have only themselves to blame for that. Good riddance.

The last Red C poll showed mass attendance was up.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/1102/1224257901174.html

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Thanks for the reminder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

I'm glad we are having the discussion about homosexuality in Anglicanism, and the role it plays within the church. It's very open about what challenges it faces. I like that, although I would be conservative on moral and church issues. It's always better than burying it under the carpet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

The last Red C poll showed mass attendance was up.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/1102/1224257901174.html

And Red C polls are how accurate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

I don't understand these replies are you all saying you agree with what he said but you don't like who said it or what?

And Red C polls are how accurate?

Very unaccurate there's only one priest now for whole of coleraine... I goto Presbyterian churches too it seems they are rising small bit but most churches are dropping