Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is no booze driving you insane today?

• 02-04-2010 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭

Myself, yes it is.
    I had to procur it by "other means" today (yes i know i should have bought it yesterday). I think its because most people associate a day off with going on the p!ss, hence a day off + no booze doesn't equate to a "real" day off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

no its one day in the year won't kill me..........unless im an alcoholic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

I'd like to think that no booze on any day would never drive me insane. If it gets to that, i'd personally be very worried!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

no. i've just continued, you know, living my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

People get Good Friday off? Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I wouldn't normally be in the pub at 4 in the afternoon anyway.

And i've plenty of sauce in the gaff should The Thirst catch up with me later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

manlad wrote: »
    no its one day in the year won't kill me..........unless im an alcoholic

is it not 3 days?

Good Friday, Easter Sunday and Christmas Day. Over here Anzac Day is part of it from midnight to 1pm. Forced early closure the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

no, i can suprisingly go a few days, even a week beleive it or not without a drink, people are only going nuts because someone else says they cant have it for one day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Myself, yes it is.
    I had to procur it by "other means" today (yes i know i should have bought it yesterday). I think its because most people associate a day off with going on the p!ss, hence a day off + no booze doesn't equate to a "real" day off...

If most people associate a day off with going on the piss I find that sad and I worry for the the state of things in the future.

A day off with no booze is no day off??? You need help my friend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Easter Sunday pubs open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i bought 40 bottles of budweiser for 30 quid yesterday.

Im getting full tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I'm starting to get the shakes already from withdrawal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I sometimes go weeks without a drink. I can handle Good Friday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Nope. I have a few bottles in the fridge, but not even bothered. I might drink one, or I might not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Nope....

I stocked up. Anyone who didn't has only themselves to blame. Here's to you, Jesus Carlsberg..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Its a long weekend, people often forget to stock up for BBQ and parties. For that reason, I can understand the panic. But if you're just a casual drinker, I find it funny how some stock up like its the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Plenty of booze here !!

It's amazing that a country that comes across as being run my a bunch of narrow minded, right-wing, bible bashing, fundamanetalists but I can still get a drink any day that I want.

I think it's time that Ireland 'cuts the cord' from the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭MrMojoRising

irish-stew wrote: »
    no, i can suprisingly go a few days, even a week beleive it or not without a drink, people are only going nuts because someone else says they cant have it for one day

I thing you're right. Its the whole "you can't have it" that makes me want it even more. If there was no ban, I probably wouldn't be bothered at all. Strange eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Nope I bought some yesterday. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭AARRRRGH

Who cares whether you get a drink or not. Nobody cares any other Friday.
    And its not like you dont know its coming and can buy a few cans if you absolutely have to have a drink. I think people exaggerate the pain of Good Friday a bit too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Im in Limerick :D

Theta wrote: »
    If most people associate a day off with going on the piss I find that sad and I worry for the the state of things in the future.

A day off with no booze is no day off??? You need help my friend!

Save your help for the likes of Snyper. I was just throwing the question/perception of it out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭AARRRRGH

Plenty of booze here !!

It's amazing that a country that comes across as being run my a bunch of narrow minded, right-wing, bible bashing, fundamanetalists but I can still get a drink any day that I want.

I like my day off. And if people (not me) have to go to mass for me to get it, they can keep going. Fair play to them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Not a bit! I rarey end up drinking on a Friday anyway tbh.

The fact that i can't buy any drink, and the reasons behind this, now thats p*ssing me off!

Dartz wrote: »
    Here's to you, Jesus Carlsberg..

lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

no because i got tired of drinking for the sake of it and now I rarely drink anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

greetings wrote: »
    I'm starting to get the shakes already from withdrawal.

Strawberry or Vanilla?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Nope, it's actually the booze that I had last night that is driving me insane today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭jethrothe2nd

Can't last one without booze? It's pathetic, really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Save your help for the likes of Snyper. I was just throwing the question/perception of it out there.

i wasnt aware i needed help because i plan on having drinks tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Well i haven't drank since last Saturday so another day wont kill me,my mind may change came 8ish tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭rich1874

Myself, yes it is.

are you completely cracked? Would you normally have been drinking before 4 o clock on a friday? I can't help but think you're messing a bit, or esle you just have a massive problem.

Anyway my real question is, how did you 'procur it by 'other means'' if you didn't have any actual alcohol at your disposal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 stvincent

lack of drinks isn't killing me. I very rarely drink anyway. But what is killing me is the knowledge that a pedophile ring is dictating that I can't.

Down with that sort of thing.

stvincent wrote: »
    lack of drinks isn't killing me. I very rarely drink anyway. But what is killing me is the knowledge that a pedophile ring is dictating that I can't.

Down with that sort of thing.

Completely agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Plenty of booze here !!

US huh? Take for instance Minnesota, where you can't buy drink on ANY Sunday. Or any number of counties and towns across the US, where you can't buy alcohol at all. Yup, your country does come across how you described it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

A friday without drink? I dont think it will kill me, I usually meet the lads in the pub every friday after work and then again on Saturday nights. If I cant survive one day without a drink its a sad comment on my will power.

Personally when I got home from work today, instead of dropping the car off and going straight to the local I actually sat down and talked to my wife with no TV or drink in the situation but this time I really listened to her.

With no alcholol to numb the senses for the first time in years I found myself really listening to her, her hopes and fears, what she goes through at work everyday, how her life has panned out compared to how she tought it would. I have gotten insights into emotions and feelings I didnt know she had and I feel we have connected more in one day then over our 5 year marriage combined. During the 45 mins since I arrived home from work I have connected with her in a way I didnt think possible and feel closer to her now more than I ever have before.

JESUS CHRIST!!! HOW LONGER IS DAY GOING TO LAST? THIS IS UNBEARABLE, I NEED A F***ING DRINK SOON. I WONDER DOES THE LOCAL HAVE A CCTV SYSTEM IN PLACE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Nope, but I'm going to the pub later. :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

yes, hungover to bits here and no chance of hair of dog. Would murder a few tins. Argh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭dave 27

Risteard wrote: »
    Nope, but I'm going to the pub later. :cool:

me too :D the joys of being a munster fan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

I can't understand why the pubs being closed today drives people crazy!! I don't get it at all! It's like these people drink 7 days a week!

There is another 363 days a year you can get alcohol and the two days you can't people say they are going insane! :-/

Well not Christmas because everyone stocks up for that anyway. Just go on a bender on the Thursday night and then recover Friday and back at it again Saturday! Problem solved. Or just get over it.

no because i got tired of drinking for the sake of it and now I rarely drink anymore.

Sucks to be you!

Drink is king!!

gamblitis wrote: »
    I can't understand why the pubs being closed today drives people crazy!! I don't get it at all! It's like these people drink 7 days a week!

There is another 363 days a year you can get alcohol and the two days you can't people say they are going insane! :-/

Well not Christmas because everyone stocks up for that anyway. Just go on a bender on the Thursday night and then recover Friday and back at it again Saturday! Problem solved. Or just get over it.

That's what i'm getting at. I think its the whole "you can't have a drink on good friday" syndrome that makes holy thursday the busiest time of the year for off licenses. Like I say, if there was no ban on it today, I actually woudn't even think about having a drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

No, the babby Jesus has given me all the strength I need to withstand the allure of the cursed devil drink on this most holy day.

/sarcasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Sucks to be you!

Drink is king!!

oh my God you're right! what was i thinking!! **reaches for the nearest bottle of Kronenburg** :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Too much from last night is driving me insane...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A friday without drink? I dont think it will kill me, I usually meet the lads in the pub every friday after work and then again on Saturday nights. If I cant survive one day without a drink its a sad comment on my will power.

Personally when I got home from work today, instead of dropping the car off and going straight to the local I actually sat down and talked to my wife with no TV or drink in the situation but this time I really listened to her.

With no alcholol to numb the senses for the first time in years I found myself really listening to her, her hopes and fears, what she goes through at work everyday, how her life has panned out compared to how she tought it would. I have gotten insights into emotions and feelings I didnt know she had and I feel we have connected more in one day then over our 5 year marriage combined. During the 45 mins since I arrived home from work I have connected with her in a way I didnt think possible and feel closer to her now more than I ever have before.

JESUS CHRIST!!! HOW LONGER IS DAY GOING TO LAST? THIS IS UNBEARABLE, I NEED A F***ING DRINK SOON. I WONDER DOES THE LOCAL HAVE A CCTV SYSTEM IN PLACE.

Are you sure you weren't hallucinating? It's quite possible that you never got married. That's what the demon drink does to you, seeing rats climbing up the walls and talking to yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

The amount of babies crawling on the ceiling in this thread? What's up with that?

No booze = No biggie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

I don't see the fascination that some have when it comes to alcohol. It's just a drug addiction some have the way they want it today, thinking they are being rebels.
    The people who want it today are likely people who have or will have an alcohol problem if they can't go without, if they think they are great going against the system then its just pathetic.

As for the title of the thread, I agree with no booze driving.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

No I'm grown up so I can manage one day without some drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

no beer and no meat make recylingbin something something