Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

A/R/T Swim, Cycle Run Challenge 2010 March Summary

• 02-04-2010 12:55AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Here is an update of on the challenge so far. Thank you to Izoard for joining the challenge this month and its nice to have another IM on board :)

Amazingly a gold target hit in March :eek:
    interested - swimming

doubtful if anyone will hit a gold target in April making this even more impressive!

green targets hit in Feb
    TFBubendorfer - running
    showry - cycling
    shotgunmcos - swimming

likely to sow up the green target in April? ... hmmm maybe the IM lads in cycling, Catweazle in running and nomadic in swimming... GO FOR IT!

The Stats

Swimming
    Total by all challengers 1,185,160mts
    Average total swimming per challenger 37,036mts (37% of green target) (18.5% of gold target)
    Jan avg: 13,748mts
    Feb avg: 7,720mts
    Mar avg: 16,608mts

Cycling
    Total by all challengers 22,851kms
    Average total cycling per challenger 652.9km (32.6% of green target) (16.3% of gold target)
    Jan avg: 185km
    Feb avg: 254km
    Mar avg: 213.9km

Running
    Total by all challengers kms 10,048.6km
    Average total running per challenger 271.6km (27.2% of green target) (13.6% of gold target)
    Jan avg: 103km
    Feb avg: 69.7km
    Mar avg: 98.9km

Strangely enough there was lots of swimming going on and less cycling than February? Running is proving to be the toughest targets. Anyone want to predict how many gold targets we will see achieved in this challenge in 2010?!

The discipline leaders
    Swimming - interested by miles. Gold target achieved and is now putting the bike miles in. A contender for sure for the overall spot.

Cycling - cunavalos is hanging in there but showry is closing the gap and the IM lads are starting to show too!

Running - TFBubendorfer is the man. If it were on sheer calories burned, I'm sure he would be out of sight. Catweazle really surging in second place by himself though!

How is the overall standing for the challenge?
    1 new entry

March|Since Feb|Name|overall points
    1|no move|shotgunmcos(OLY)|13
    2|no move|n-dawg(HIM)|18
    3|new entry!|Izoard(IM)|19 nice entry!
    4|up 3|nomadic(SP)|29
    5|down 2|Catweazle(HIM)|31
    5|up 1|tridying(IM)|31
    7|down 1|TFBubendorfer(SP)|32
    7|up 9!|Bambaata(OLY)|32 highest climber
    9|down 1|MrCreosote(OLY)|34
    10|down 1|interested(X)(IM)|35
    11|down 4|pgibbo(OLY)|38
    12|up 2|RedB (HIM)|39
    13|down 2|kevin7(OLY)|41
    14|down 2|Raging_Hull(OLY)|44
    15|down 2|cunavalos(X)(SP)|48
    15|down 1|showry(X)|48
    16|no move|El Director(HIM)|52
    17|up 2|DustyBin(SP)|53
    17|up 3|NeedsTraining(SP)|53
    17|up 8!|Macanri(OLY)|53
    20|up 1|toomuchdetail (SP)|55
    21|up 1|Mainah(OLY)|59
    22|down 13!|EC1000 (OLY)|60 biggest drop
    23|down 5|DAVE_K(IM)|63
    23|up 1|dare2be(SP)|63
    25|down 2|RacoonQueen(X)|67
    26|no move|Tagoona(OLY)|77
    27|no move|makker(OLY)|78
    28|up 3|Causeway(AR)|83
    29|no move|tunney (X)|85
    30|down 2|Ladytri (OLY)|92
    30|no move|bagus(OLY)|92
    30|up 2|jonnyfingers(SP)|92
    33|no move|barongreen(SP)|94
    34|up 1|Redgraffle (X)(OLY)|98
    35|up 1|Delboyfagan(IM)|100
    36|up 1|Airscotty(OLY)|103
    37|up 1|theo4130(OLY)|104
    38|down 4|Jasonbourme.cs(X)|105

Based on some close battles on the table April is going to see you paired or grouped with somone. The idea is to finish the month higher up than your partners. If you are already higher... stay there! Let the chase commence :)

Redgraffle vs johnnyfingers
    Causeway vs makker can the AR catch?
    dare2be vs EC1000 climber vs slider
    Mainah vs Macrani OLY vs OLY
    Dusty vs needstraining vs toomuchdetail battle of the climbing sprinters
    El Director vs Raging Hull
    Cunavalos vs showry this one should be interesting!
    RedB vs Kevin7 the buddies battle
    Mr Creosote vs pgibbo Kerry vs Galway!
    interested vs tridying IM vs IM
    Bambaata vs TFBubendorfer high end triathlete vs ultra man
    Catweazle vs Nomadic nothing separating these 2
    Izoard vs N-Dawg February's highest new entry earned a stiff challenge here

Hopefully in April we will see a return of the AWOL lot and welcome a few more challengers who lurk here.

Train happy y'all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭Bambaata

god work mcos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Thanks for that Shotgun

I had a feeling I would get Nomadic, especially when the entrants for Swinford came up. Have you any exams this month nomadic???? Dont go slacking on them doing well in college is more important than ever in these recessionary times :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

catweazle wrote: »
    Thanks for that Shotgun

I had a feeling I would get Nomadic, especially when the entrants for Swinford came up. Have you any exams this month nomadic???? Dont go slacking on them doing well in college is more important than ever in these recessionary times :D
    Nope not until may. I better make use of these easter holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Great stuff!

With the taper and then recovery from Connemara coming this months, the odds in the challenge are stacked against me!

Or maybe I'll take the opportunity to add more cross training ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Bambaata wrote: »
    god work mcos.

Freudian slip there Bambaata??
    Like the guy is good, but should we start offering sacrifices?

Happy enough with position above considering no real swimming and zero cycling in March - off to the aquathlon in Greystones now, hopefully can remember how to swim :rolleyes:

Heavy end of marathon training is gonna make it hard to make any real progress this month me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Cheers for that mcos. Another Galway v Kerry encounter. Let's hope this one turns out better than the last few Championship games - from a Galway perspective anyway! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Thanks for the summary shotgunmcos and the pairing.
    Those pints that Kevin7 was plying me with last night have to be viewed in a different light today! No run yet and the match looming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭Bambaata

DustyBin wrote: »
    Freudian slip there Bambaata??
    Like the guy is good, but should we start offering sacrifices?

must be the day thats in it ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

pgibbo wrote: »
    Cheers for that mcos. Another Galway v Kerry encounter. Let's hope this one turns out better than the last few Championship games - from a Galway perspective anyway! :D

April is looking poor for me already (getting the excuses in early!). Anyway us Kerrymen only raise our game for the Dubs!

Good work MCOS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Cheers MCOS, Now who is this Mainah guy? I want to see a log! Damn this competitive streak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

Emmm, competition time!!!!!

Right, what are these two dudes like? Why do I have to take on 2 :D

Bad enough coming 2/2 but 3/3 is a whole different story.

Happy April training folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

I'm confused..... and not at all bitter (yeah right!)

I'm this months biggest faller in the rankings despite my swimming being roughly equal to last month (19km February vs 21km March) and my cycling going from 128km in Feb up to 189km in March. (Ok I know my running stats make for shameful reading but that what the rest of the summer is for!)

Anyhow, I'm just wondering what is the secret formula for calculating our scores and why am I this months biggest loser!!

Its your running stats that are killing you alright, 8th in swimming, 27th in cycling and 33 in running = 60 points. If you do a bit of extra running + cycling you are fairly likely to be next months biggest winner as you will fly up the rankings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Agree, although 8+27+33 = 68 ;)

If you look at the 5 directly above you in the table, they were all out there running in March ;)

From your averages there you were above the avg swimming totals in March and just under the cycling avg. I'm guessing the running was well shy of the avg 99km though?!

The key to this challenge is working on all 3! Hence why cunavalos and showry, despite their cycling and running prowess, will never be better than mid table if they don't get wet :D

Maths was never my strong point :(

While most of the tri guys are looking at this page I will take advantage, I am looking for a 1/2 Ironman Training plan for Swinford.

Preferably a 9 week one if such a thing is possible :D

I presume I will get away with taking a 12 or 16 week plan by skipping the first few weeks until after Connemara. I am looking for a decent enough one with a heavy schedule if I am to have any chance against that young whippet Nomadic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

Right, what are these two dudes like? Why do I have to take on 2 :D

With taper for Conn half and cramming for Nenagh Tri (a months swimming/bike in a week!!) This should be a walk over for you guys .

Could this come down to hand to hand combat ! Its the meath man in me!

With taper for Conn half and cramming for Nenagh Tri (a months swimming/bike in a week!!) This should be a walk over for you guys .

Could this come down to hand to hand combat ! Its the meath man in me!

Not only do I have to take Toomuchdetail on in the April challenge, I now find out I am up against him in Nenagh too.
    Any chance of a head start in Nenagh? :D

NeedsTraining , you have nothing to worry about , wont be out of the pool in Nenagh in under 16mins unless they drain the poolt or I go down for the third time ! Looking forward to it.

16 mins for the swim? If only I could manage that. Aiming for 17 min swim, 37 min bike and 20 min run.
    Will I be looking at your heels or be alongside you?

16 mins for the swim? If only I could manage that. Aiming for 17 min swim, 37 min bike and 20 min run.
    Will I be looking at your heels or be alongside you?

Cool :Just found a benchmark :even if it is beyond me , Never cycled under 40m for 20k and never ran better than 21:40 for 5k never mind 5.3k .
    Hope your transitions are around 5mins each ? :D

No movement here - both no shows
    Yes the adventure racer is catching the triathlete! Great stuff
    The gap is closing, EC1000 run man RUN!
    Mainah closing the gap!
    needstraining really taking charge of this battle!
    raging hull maintaining the significant lead but El Director putting in the work
    Cunavalos ahead by a wheel, a swim could seal it.....
    RedB making the move to separate this dynamic duo!
    Kerry looking strong, come on Gibbo on yer bike!
    tridying slipped while interested made hay, this one just got interesting! The IMers are all looking good actually...
    Bambaata by a nose but both climbing
    Nomadic edging it
    He's not only meeting the challenge but vying for the lead!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭dare2be

No movement here - both no shows
    Yes the adventure racer is catching the triathlete! Great stuff
    The gap is closing, EC1000 run man RUN!
    Mainah closing the gap!
    needstraining really taking charge of this battle!
    raging hull maintaining the significant lead but El Director putting in the work
    Cunavalos ahead by a wheel, a swim could seal it.....
    RedB making the move to separate this dynamic duo!
    tridying slipped while interested made hay, this one just got interesting! The IMers are all looking good actually...
    Bambaata by a nose but both climbing
    Nomadic edging it
    He's not only meeting the challenge but vying for the lead!!

Feck!!

Wedding plans hitting my training at the mo.Long weekend of training ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Jaysus, there aren't enough hours in the day. My OH will burst me if I'm gone more than I am already. Time to rethink and look possibly at some early morning cycles! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

dare2be wrote: »
    Feck!!

Wedding plans hitting my training at the mo.Long weekend of training ahead

Your wedding plans may be an issue now but I'll be dealing with a divorce if I try to up my training any more! I may have to sacrifice pool time for a bit of running - this may become tactical:)

(Note to self - must focus on actual races, not virtual ones!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

EC1000 wrote: »

Too true.

My main concern is that there are OLYs and Sprints way ahead of me in each category...
    I can only hope they are working to an IM plan by mistake:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭dare2be

EC1000 wrote: »
    Your wedding plans may be an issue now but I'll be dealing with a divorce if I try to up my training any more! I may have to sacrifice pool time for a bit of running - this may become tactical:)

It may well do but my 3wks in the US on honeymoon may make for some pool time.

We'll go hell for leather if you get divorced and i don't get hitched! Deal??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Really surprised by the bike totals, i know the weather has been kack but even still. i never cycled until last summer but when i did id do 100km per week or more. i know you tri guys have to fit swimming and running in, but there defo seems to be alot more swimming and running going on.

i guess the long evenings will see the totals go up. I think i ll get the bike out this weekend and join in for some motivation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,079 ✭✭✭griffin100

Are turbo sessions being counted for the bike and if so what kms per hour is the standard? I average around 30kph on the bike on the road, so could I take 25kph as my turbo equivalents?

If anyone (MCOS?) starts talking about wattage output and perceived effort being used to calculate equivalents then I'm gonna cry:)

griffin100 wrote: »
    Are turbo sessions being counted for the bike and if so what kms per hour is the standard? I average around 30kph on the bike on the road, so could I take 25kph as my turbo equivalents?

If anyone (MCOS?) starts talking about wattage output and perceived effort being used to calculate equivalents then I'm gonna cry:)

Yeah if you take say 60 mins at Z4 at percieved 80% hr max and holding at leas 40 mins of it at the threshold 20min TT watt avg , then you could convert this by multiplying the..... LOL**

Feic it yes the turbo counts so just stick in a rolling average. On group spins we would generally be tipping along at 30kph so if I'd no screen on my turbo I'd just put that in for an hour on the turbo. Maybe 35 if I did the hour all out and had a canary at the end of the hour and 25 if I was having a nap on it... :D

**just checking to see if you'd well up

kennyb3 at 100k a week cycling you would do well as long as you include your running stats and take an odd dip once in a while too!

The more the merrior... we just have to put some cut off on it to stop the likes of hunnymonster swanning in at the last hour and winning the challenge outright!

Just wondering what happened to

tunney, DAVE_K, Jasonbourme.cs, Delboyfagan, theo4130, Airscotty, bagus, Ladytri etc... ??