Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Norris on running marathons...

• 01-04-2010 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭

Here is Politician David Norris talking about running marathons ....

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0331/1224267399962.html

I particularly like his comment ”I think the whole key to is, if you can do a little bit of training. Then you’re supposed to eat some pasta the night before” ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Sure the ploiticians know fcuk all about politics, would you expect anything less really? <mod edit - removing the personal abuse>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

LOL, they cant even run a country, let alone a Marathon, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭crispsandwiches

david norris = national treature.

he is only offering his tupence in jest, no way he would ever run a marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Sure the ploiticians know fcuk all about politics, would you expect anything less really? snip

:eek: Gasp .... no need for that now !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

david norris = national treature.

he is only offering his tupence in jest, no way he would ever run a marathon.

Article says he 'ran' 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Lex Luther

mloc123 wrote: »
    Article says he 'ran' 3?
    Hey I have a GREAT idea .....why dont we start a debate as to whether completing a marathon in 5 and 3/4 hours on no training is an achievement..............then again ....maybe not:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Sure the ploiticians know fcuk all about politics, would you expect anything less really? snip

David Norris is a gentleman...and an all 'round good-egg to boot. He's intelligent, witty, generous and politically brave. The fact that he's as camp as Butlins means that people sometimes underestimate his other qualities. I'll grant you that if I knew very little about, lets say James Joyce for instance, I'd be slow to talk to a newspaper about him, but then again I doubt in David went looking for this interview himself and was probably only answering questions to help someone out.

A good egg...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

I think (as crispsandwiches is suggesting) this may be an 'interview' for the day that's in it. You know... *cough*.. *April*... *cough*..*1st*....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

Mick Rice wrote: »
    David Norris is a gentleman...and an all 'round good-egg to boot. He's intelligent, witty, generous and politically brave. The fact that he's as camp as Butlins means that people sometimes underestimate his other qualities. I'll grant you that if I knew very little about, lets say James Joyce for instance, I'd be slow to talk to a newspaper about him, but then again I doubt in David went looking for this interview himself and was probably only answering questions to help someone out.

A good egg...!

Completely agree, the guy's a legend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

I think (as crispsandwiches is suggesting) this may be an 'interview' for the day that's in it. You know... *cough*.. *April*... *cough*..*1st*....
    David Norris ran a marathon in a slow time 20 years ago before he started to suffer from arthritis.
    Ha, ha -- got you there!

If this was the best the Irish Times could come up with as an April Fool's prank, their sense of humour must be really challenged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

The Kerry FG TD Jimmy Dinihan (sp) is running the marathon this year. I understand he's done it before. He's aiming to go under 5 hrs. He's appealing for other members of the Oireachtas to join him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

The Kerry FG TD Jimmy Dinihan (sp) is running the marathon this year. I understand he's done it before. He's aiming to go under 5 hrs. He's appealing for other members of the Oireachtas to join him.

Think they are organising their own race. Its called the NAMArathon. We pay for all the entry fees and organisation, and they get a bonus at the end whether they finish or not. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Mick Rice wrote: »

A good egg...!

Meh, I would not have the the same high opinion of him. I don't know him as a person but he always comes across as a bit of an eejit to me - his Newstalk radio show being a fine example.

Great article in latest Phoenix - talks to his Joycean credentials (or lack thereof) and his huge self publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭crispsandwiches

Pman, take that back, his newstalk show was just a relaxed conversation with interesting folk, no more no less. I would advise anyone to download the podcasts as they are a great listen and I for one was dispappointed that the show didn't continue.

David Norris for President!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

David Norris for President!

David Norris rocks

The guy's in the seanad, but still is better known than most of the fellas in the Dail
    Would get my vote for the Oireachtas anyway, at least he'd give the place a decent makeover
    The man oozes charisma and style, and appears always up for a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

DustyBin wrote: »
    David Norris rocks

The guy's in the seanad, but still is better known than most of the fellas in the Dail
    Would get my vote for the Oireachtas anyway, at least he'd give the place a decent makeover
    The man oozes charisma and style, and appears always up for a laugh

Sad state of affairs if these are the measures of a good politician. All style no substance, it's not Big Brother (yet).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Sad state of affairs if these are the measures of a good politician. And style not substance, it's not Big Brother (yet).

In fairness to Norris, there's quite a bit of substance to him that doesn't usually come across when he's doing his jolly-media-man thing - check out http://www.senatordavidnorris.ie/blogger/ for his well-informed contributions on non-marathon issues.

There was a guy standing in Dublin in the 1980s, I think it was for FG, and on his election literature it gave the precise time in which he completed the Dublin marathon as if that would get him a few more votes. Who knows, maybe it did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭mitresize5

Sad state of affairs if these are the measures of a good politician. And style not substance, it's not Big Brother (yet).

well if its him or the Dumcondra knacker going for president I know where my vote is going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

There was a guy standing in Dublin in the 1980s, I think it was for FG, and on his election literature it gave the precise time in which he completed the Dublin marathon as if that would get him a few more votes. Who knows, maybe it did!

Having read the autobiography of a certain Drumcondra-based politician, I'm surprised, given his substantial list of "achievements", that a sub-2:30 marathon doesn't feature.

Peckham wrote: »
    Having read the autobiography of a certain Drumcondra-based politician, I'm surprised, given his substantial list of "achievements", that a sub-2:30 marathon doesn't feature.

His brother has a 2:37 PB, and 12 sub 3 marathons AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

Many years ago when I knew David better, he was a supporter of the Peace Train movement, as I was myself when I lived in Dublin. For those who don't remember, the Peace Train was involved in running special trains on the Dublin-Belfast line with the aim of showing that no matter how often the IRA wanted to bomb the line, or just ring in bomb threats from their bar stools, that ordinary people would insist on their right to travel between the two towns.

This, as you might expect, annoyed the heck out of Sinn Fein and the provos, who did their level best to make the man feel personally threatened. As I remember, he was advised at one stage by the police to vary the route he took to work each day as they felt he might be a target for certain political elements. Living as he does on North Great George's Street and working in Trinity College he didn't have many options and he just laughed off the advice saying that walking over one bridge rather than the other would hardly fool anyone, even the provos.

Shortly afterwards, I think it was at Easter time, the Sinners re-routed one of their marches, from Parnell Square down North Great George's Street and stopped their pseudo-military band directly outside his house to play loud tunes. The mesage was clear - we know where you live and we havn't forgotten your politics. He was meant to be intimidated and afraid. To his eternal credit, instead of sitting inside and worrying about the implied threat, he emerged onto his balcony in full 'high camp' mode and proceeded to conduct the band which was playing below. With one gesture he turned the threat on its head and I can guess that some of the Sinners were quite uncomfortable about being part of David's little joke.

After a little while they got bored being made fun of and slunk off down the road realising that the tables had been turned.

The man's got style and I can forgive him a good few dodgy radio shows on the back of the good stuff he's done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Peckham wrote: »

He coluld have at least faked a marathon PB in a similar vain to his third level education. Having said that he is to be Prof Bertie soon enough :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Sad state of affairs if these are the measures of a good politician. All style no substance, it's not Big Brother (yet).

Jebus Talon Future Hitchhiker, lighten up a little bit maybe? You'll cause yourself awful headaches being so serious all the time.
    Point is the guy is an absolute legend, as with most larger than life type people not everyone likes him. I happen to think that the guy is brilliant, he's extremely vivacious and seems like a bit of craic. He has had to put up with a huge amount of crap and small minded thinking in his time and he grew up in a very different world to what 20 & 30 year olds have to grow up in today. And does he sit around giving out and lamenting about it all? Not at all, he's out there living life to the full enjoying every momment ignoring people picking away at the smaller stuff. We could all do with taking a leaf out of his book and getting on and enjoying life. Who knows, maybe I would actually vote for him for President

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

His brother has a 2:37 PB, and 12 sub 3 marathons AFAIK.
    So do you know if he did indeed run three marathons, or was it an April fools piece?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Not for the first time Mick Rice talks a lot of sense. Senator Norris wouldn't remember me but we met quite a few times at various functions when I worked in TCD and he was always extremely charming and sociable. More importantly, he was genuinely interested in what people were saying to him which is a huge character attribute in my book. I don't know anything about him running marathons but if he was to, I think it would be great. The more people we can see in the public eye (not sports people) dabbling in running and taking on a fitness agenda, the better for the nations health.

mod note: I've had to edit out a couple of personal abuse type comments. If anyone needs time to refresh their memory of the charter, I'll be happy to provide a ban for some "personal reflection"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

So do you know if he did indeed run three marathons, or was it an April fools piece?

Well unless the IT does April Fools a day early, it was a real piece - based on the link it was in Wednesday's paper, not Thursday's...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

He helped promote and I think ran/too part in the St. James 6.5k last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I'm another one who used to know David a while back. The worst thing I can say about him is that he tends to have an opinion on everything, and its often a self-centered, limelight-hugging, opinion, which can be infuriating. However, his list of achievements, and his wit, charm, and hospitality, far, far outweigh this, so he's a good egg in my book.

On his marathon running, I used to live on Nth Gt Georges St, and well remember him running up that hill during training, huffing and puffing, wearing bright pink shorts and greedily licking from an ice cream, long before Eddie Izzard made it popular and profitable.

Are you asking about my comment or the original post? My comment is true. Bertie's brother Maurice did several marathons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

For what its worth I am a David Norris fan for the simple reason is that for a man in public office at whatever level he has what all of these guys lack and thats integrity ! its in short supply and most people in public office seem to think its an 8 letter word in the Irish Times crossword:
    Been able to run , walk or talk sh*te on a radio station wont remove that or dilute it . Integrity is where its at :
    Rarely agree with him in full but respect him fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭jcunniffe

.... integrity ! its in short supply and most people in public office seem to think its an 8 letter word in the Irish Times crossword.

Come on! That's a bit harsh. A good few of them would realise that it was a NINE letter word in the IT crossword.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

jcunniffe wrote: »
    Come on! That's a bit harsh. A good few of them would realise that it was a NINE letter word in the IT crossword.

To even make it worse I counted this twice last night before I posted : pints/posts dont really work well together.