Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NAMA April Fool

• 01-04-2010 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭

'April Fool!' Yells Lenihan Over Multi-Billion Euro Bail Out
    Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan described as “absolutely hilarious” people’s reaction to his April Fool’s joke about the €50bn cost of bailing out the banks.

Tuesday’s announcement that the overall cost of the Nama project would effectively cripple the country for decades was today revealed as an elaborate prank on the part of the government..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Pyridine

LOL!!! If only though!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

"And poor Seanie here had to go along with a fake arrest by the Gardaí – just to keep up the ruse! All I can say is, fair ****s to ya boy. You’ve got a great sense of humour all the same.”

Best part of it all. Poor Seanie my arse...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"the fools, the fools, the fools, they have left us our patriot debts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Here's the REAL RTE April fools joke...

Anglo directors will be pursued 'vigorously'
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0401/banks.html

Yeah, as if!!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Ah jaysis, you have to laugh though...
    “I can’t believe you all fell for it! ….Fifty billion! Can you imagine? Ha-ha! That was fucking gas, I’m telling ya…”

Doubled over in mirth, Mr Lenihan struggled to regain his composure as shocked journalists looked on in confusion.

“Relax people, it was all a joke,” said he finally, as it dawned on reporters what was going on and they began to demand an explanation.

“Did you all really think all of that Nama stuff was real? A fifty billion euro bill for the taxpayer? Jaysis! Sure that would have destroyed the country’s future! What d’ya think we are, traitors or something?

“We really had yis going though, didn’t we?” he said, wiping the tears of laughter from his eyes.

At this point, Mr Lenihan turned and said: “Alright lads, you can come out now.”

On cue, from behind a curtain emerged a laughing Brian Cowen, Central Bank governor Patrick Honohan and ex-chairman of Anglo-Irish Bank Sean FitzPatrick.

As all four men linked arms, the Taoiseach said: “We’ve been planning this practical joke for ages now, and I tell ya, it was well worth it, wasn’t it lads? I’ve never laughed so hard in me life.

“And poor Seanie here had to go along with a fake arrest by the Gardaí – just to keep up the ruse! All I can say is, fair fucks to ya boy. You’ve got a great sense of humour all the same.”
    Its better than crying I guess...

It's all under control lads

RTE News

Leprechauns to bail out Government

The Leprechaun community is to give its pots of gold to the Government to help cover the cost of recapitalising the banks.

The financial crisis is expected to cost billions so Taoiseach Brian Cowen and Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan have been looking for ways to ease the burden on taxpayers.

The two men travelled to the ends of the rainbow to persuade Leprechaun leaders to invest in the country's future.

In return for donating the pots of gold to the State coffers, Leprechaun leaders have asked for land in west Clare to create their own reserve.

The final deal was brokered on St Patrick's Day when US President Barack Obama invited Leprechaun leaders to the White House for talks.

UN Leprechaun Ambassador Bono, who is partial to a good cause, was also present at the talks, where he called for the rights of Leprechauns to be fully recognised by the State.

There was once a larger Leprechaun population in Ireland but they were culled by Oliver Cromwell in the 1640s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

April fool's day is stupid. :mad:

April fools are stupid. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

hows this for an April Fools joke. Fianna Fail know how to get the country out of this mess...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

April fool's day is stupid. :mad:

just beacuse you got yourself in the match making service . . .:D