Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A short ode to 25 of my all-time favourite films

• 31-03-2010 8:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭

Alright, it's not a poem and, as a whole, isn't too short, though the individual segments are. So, a bit of a misleading title. Still, here's what began as me trying to make a top five films list, which quickly ballooned to top 10, 15, 20, 30 before being trimmed to 25. Instead of just listing them all from least-best to best, I wanted to do something a little bit more meaningful.

This is by no means a critical analysis of these films, but merely my thoughts, opinions and general reasons for why I love them. Essentially, this is a collection of short, almost, love-letters, to my favourite films, something I encourage ye give a go yourselves (and remember, don't just list them, write about them! :D).

Oh, and no, I don't have a blog or anywhere else more suitable to post this crap, so enjoy! :P

12 Angry Men
    - What better place to start than with an all-time classic. To me, 12 Angry Men is one of those rare films that manages to achieve total perfection but what gets me every time, is the modest manner in which it does so. It's almost entirely set in the one room with no fancy tricks, be they camera, narrative or otherwise; it's simply a work of tight scripting, compelling acting and masterful directing that come together to make one of most riveting and consistently enjoyable films in cinematic history.

Amadeus
    - Out of the hundreds of films I've seen, it's a hard thing to pick just one to call my favourite, but if forced to do so, nine times out of ten I'll answer 'Amadeus'. I have a thing for atmosphere and Amadeus has it in spades. The set designs are amazing with an 18th Century Vienna that combines a visual vibrancy with an attention to detail that hits that perfect note between fantasy and reality making Mozart and Salieri's world compelling enough to draw you in on visuals alone. Couple that with an amazing score, courtesy of the Academy of St Martin in the Fields Orchestra and the titular maestro himself, and two amazing performances from F. Murray Abraham and Tom Hulce, you have a very fine film worthy of, arguably, the greatest composer in history.

American History X
    - When a large part of a film is focused on conveying a message, in my opinion, no matter how good the message, it's only as good as how the filmmakers present it. American History X is one of the best examples of the filmmakers getting it right. This film largely rests on Edward Norton's character; a big responsibility for Norton but he and director Tony Kaye manage to present an immensely interesting character capable of both shocking the audience and leading them to empathise with him. Norton does a terrific job of presenting the character's journey but he, and of course, the film, also benefit from an incredibly strong supporting cast, particularly Edward Furlong who gives a career-best performance. Racism may be an old theme, but American History X treats it's perspective on the topic with such an insight and deftness that it comes off completely fresh, even 12 years on.

Back to the Future
    - Not only a monument of '80s pop culture, but one goddamn entertaining movie too! What more can you really say about this movie? Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd are wonderful in the lead roles, particularly Lloyd who truly epitomises the 'mad-scientist' character, and you can tell he has a lot of fun doing so, but every character here is given a chance to shine. The film itself is, of course, funny as hell but it's also very cleverly, and tightly, scripted. Not a second of screen time is wasted in pushing the story forward; everything moves along naturally without disturbing the momentum of the humour and a lot of fun is had with the ideas and paradoxes presented. It's simply one of those movies you enjoy nowadays as much as you did when you were a kid (maybe even more!).

The Big Lebowski
    - Here's a great character movie. Backed up by a hilariously unhinged John Goodman and an ever-endearing Steve Buscemi, the film follows the pace of it's main character, The Dude, a laidback slacker played brilliantly by Jeff Bridges who infuses more cool into the character than one would think physically possible, as he goes on a quest in search of restitution for his ruined rug (which really tied the room together, man). My summary does it no justice whatsoever, but that's okay. Just sit back, chill out and enjoy it.

Citizen Kane
    - An absolute marvel of cinematic excellence. It may be a bit of cliché, but every time I watch Citizen Kane I am genuinely blown away by it. What I love most about it is the cinematography. Forget being good for 1941, some of the shots are still amazing even by today's standards (or some would argue lack thereof). Even after the massive influence it's had over the years, it still remains so fresh and interesting. Not only are the shots visually beautiful but they work to create such a dense atmosphere while retaining the grand scale of the story of Charles Foster Kane. A common complaint, however, is that the story takes a backseat to the technical brilliance on show. To that, all I have to say is reconsider the acting, particularly that of Orson Welles himself. Welles gives such a powerhouse performance here; he infuses the character with such power and intrigue that you can't help but watch. Greatest film of all time? Probably not, but, without a doubt, a definite contender.

City of God (Cidade de Deus)
    - On the surface, City of God seems to tell the now standard 'boys in the hood' story of two boys growing up in the slums, this time set in Rio de Janeiro, with one trying to escape and make a good life for himself and the other succumbing to a dog-eat-dog world of drugs and violence. However, City of God also tells a greater story: that of the slum itself and a generation moving through it. The two leads serve as anchor points connecting the stories of a rich array of characters that serve to draw us into a world full of life and soul, even as many of it's residents die before the age of 25. The film itself is beautifully shot and director Fernando Meirelles gets some great performances out of his cast, many of whom were recruited from the favelas themselves.

Clerks
    - It's all about the dialogue, and Kevin Smith has a knack for it like few others. I'll come right out and say I'm a huge fan of his movies, but with a list so short (seriously, if I had my way, and the time, this list could be at least twice as long), it was hard to pick just one out of the bunch. In the end, it can only be his first film, Clerks, (in)famously shot on a budget of only $27,000. Clerks proves that you don't need any elaborate setups or zany, over-the-top characters to make a damn funny movie. For a film based almost entirely on dialogue, Smith does a great job of never making it apparent that you're just watching two guys in a convenience store talking, which is basically what the film is and it's never been funnier or more enjoyable. All I can say is: hail to the king of slacker movies.

The Dark Knight
    - Now here's one that'll only be garnering more controversy as time passes before it starts to dissipate. It's been dissected every which way you can think, so I'm just going to say why I like it, nay, love it. First and foremost, The Dark Knight is one goddamn good thriller. The story of Gotham is told brilliantly through it's agents of change, namely, Batman, Harvey Dent, Joker et al, for that's what it ultimately is, the story of one city and the struggle of those fighting to change it, for better or for worse. The film itself is beautifully woven together with a compelling and intricate story backed up by some solid, even genius acting (Ledger - clichés be damned), and a powerful score, which can be fairly subtle at times, at least in relation to the action on screen. Christopher Nolan has proven to be a remarkably solid director considering his prolificacy. This is the second time I've described The Dark Knight as 'solid', but that's the thing, it's component elements are all individually very strong, though by no means as groundbreaking as hype would let you believe, but when it all comes together, The Dark Knight is truly a product greater than sum of it's parts.

Dazed and Confused
    - Alright, I was born nowhere near the '70s, but that's the beauty of the movie - it just builds this idyllic, yet believable, vision of the time period, almost as an afterthought, without forcing it down your throat. The film itself takes it's time and ends up as laidback as some of it's principle characters, yet it is by no means boring. Filled with already classic scenes and quotes, Dazed and Confused is just a fun movie to watch. There are no overt messages or themes, no lessons to be learned or political agendas being being pushed; it simply shows a bunch of kids on the last day of school, and that's something that's relatable no matter what the time period or location. It's actually a pretty hard movie to put into words, it has that certain je ne sais quoi that just makes it so enjoyable, even, or perhaps particularly, on repeat viewings; so just 'take it easy', and have a 'slow ride on me'.

Fight Club
    - Here's Ed Norton's second appearance on this list, and well-deserved at that too. What can I say that hasn't already been said; it's one of those films that defines an entire generation. In the first half, Fight Club steps outside of popular culture, picking it apart with equal parts fun and malice before stepping back in to give it a swift blow to the chops in the second half. Ironically enough, Fight Club itself has become apart of modern pop culture, particularly due to Brad Pitt's fantastic Tyler Durden, definitely one of the most memorable characters of recent years. David Fincher's past as a music video director comes out very strongly here as he gives us one hell of a stylised film that's equal parts a treat for the eyes and punishment for the senses (in a good way). Not to mention the story which expertly tests our own modern morals and values. I may have broken the first two rules of Fight Club, but this is one fight that can't, and shouldn't, be avoided.

Forrest Gump
    - I love this movie. Put it on any day of the week and I'll sit down to watch it through - work, school or other responsibilities be damned. One of my biggest measures of a film's worth is it's re-watachability, and I consider Forrest Gump to be one of the greatest in that regard. Sure, it can be fairly cheesy, and even a bit silly, in parts, but like it's titular hero, there's just something wonderfully special about it. I love the concept, the recounting of the major events and social changes in latter 20th century America as seen through, or perhaps, despite, the perspective of it's lead character, played fantastically by the ever-charming Tom Hanks. Forrest Gump is, in essence, just a feel good movie, through and through, and simply one of my best good favourites at that.

Ghostbusters
    - Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis - what more can I say? Oh yeah, Ivan Reitman, Slimer, Rick Moranis, Ernie Hudson, Zuul(!), Mr. Stay-Puft, proton packs, Gatekeeper, Keymaster, ectoplasmic residue, Ray Parker Jr and did I mention Bill Murray? It's a crazy movie, but it works brilliantly and always comes out funny as hell, even as the years and decades roll by.

Infernal Affairs (Mou gaan dou)
    - Forget the Scorsese remake, nothing can top the original. Infernal Affairs is a slick, stylish, tense and complex thriller unlike any other Chinese, or indeed, Western movie of it's kind. Andy Lau and Tony Leung are absolutely perfect as the cold, calculating Triad mole and the tormented undercover cop, respectively, involved in an ever-intensifying game of cat-and-mouse as they set out to discover one another's identity. I'm a sucker for good cinematography, but this really is a visually fantastic movie - the outdoor scenes, in particular, are all beautifully shot. Although part of a trilogy, this film stands incredibly strong on it's own, with the following prequel and sequel enhancing it greatly, though not being a totally necessity; they're highly enjoyable films in their own right, regardless.

Jaws
    - Three words: Robert. Fucking. Shaw. We all know how great and suspenseful the film itself is but it's Robert Shaw's bone-chilling soliloquy about the tragic sinking of the USS Indianapolis that gets me every time. Spielberg's direction is masterful here as he seamlessly moves the light-hearted atmosphere from the three drunken leads singing and sharing stories about scars into much darker territory as Shaw delivers one of the greatest and most harrowing monologues in cinematic history and then, after lowering the tone so far, ramps the suspense right back up with a shark attack. All in the one scene. Say what you will about Spielberg's directing skills and motivations nowadays, his work on Jaws is one of the absolute finest I can think of.

Jurassic Park
    - Another Spielberg one here. This choice contains a hell of a lot of nostalgia, but in this case, I think that's a good thing. Jurassic Park is one of those films that, watching nowadays, still fills me with the sheer wonder I felt when first watching it as a child. Two scenes will always be stuck vividly in my mind; the first being the helicopters approach to the island early on - there's nothing like the combining of beautiful scenery with one of the most awe-inspiring pieces of music John Williams has ever composed, hearing three seconds of which is enough to make me want to go watch all 127 minutes of the film, to get you excited for all the palaeontological fun to come. The second one is the Brachiosaurus scene shortly after where we get our first glimpse of a "living, breathing dinosaur" - no matter how many times I watch this scene, it always causes my hair to stand on end. Absolute magic.

The Last Emperor
    - Over the years, there's been a small handful of films that have left me sitting in stunned silence throughout the entire credits. The Last Emperor is one of them. Telling the tale of Puyi, China's last 'Lord of Ten Thousand Years', The Last Emperor is a spectacular feat of visual and narrative wonder. The early scenes, detailing Puyi's childhood as he becomes emperor at the age of two, are filled with such vibrancy and colour which contrast greatly with the scenes of a grown-up Puyi in prison as a war criminal, recounting his life up until that point. I'm not usually affected emotionally by films, but to me, the final scene is one of the most powerful and moving ones I have ever seen. A true epic.

Lost in Translation
    - I reckon everyone feels lost and alone at some point in their lives. Lost in Translation tells the story of two such people as they meet in a land that exemplifies their emotional states superbly, Japan. One is Bob Harris, a 70s action star who is in Tokyo to film a whiskey commerical, played superbly by Bill Murray who perfectly infuses both his trademark humour and an equal melancholy into the character. The other is Charlotte, a young newlywed, played by the ever-talented Scarlett Johansson, who has accompanied her photographer husband on a work trip. Charlotte has no idea where her life is going and Bob has no idea where his has led. It's a simple, almost non-story, but the characterisation is both beautiful and touching. The cultural clash and confusion they experience provide great metaphors for what they are feeling and as the two, through each other, learn to deal with their lives and experiences, a kind of love develops. I know I probably sound like a big-girl's-blouse right now, but trust me, if there's ever a time you feel alone or stuck in a rut, give this film a try.

Oldboy
    - The second in director Chan-Wook Park's 'Vengeance trilogy', and in my opinion, the best. The story follows Oh Dae-Su, a man who, after being imprisoned for 15 years for no apparent reason, is given five days to find his captor. The plot sounds simple, but therein lies the beauty. Oldboy is both complex and entertaining, challenging and rewarding, sickening and darkly humerous, and at all times, immensely enjoyable. While the average viewer may find some of the concepts disturbing and some of the violence overly brutal, I still consider Oldboy a film deserving to be seen by all film fans, casual and critical alike.

Pulp Fiction
    - Simply one of the best. Tarantino at the top of his game with a razor-sharp script and some peak performances from a great ensemble cast. It's hard to articulate my feelings towards this film much farther than that. Cool dialogue, cool characters, cool music; just one cool motherfuckin' movie. I'll end this here before I wind up shooting Marvin in the fac- ...shit.

The Shawshank Redemption
    - As I said earlier, one of the biggest criteria by which I measure films is that of re-watchability. The Shawshank Redemption is another of those films that I can watch over and over. If I come across it on TV, I'll instantly start watching it right through to end, no matter what point in the film it's at, such is it engrained into my memory at this stage. It's a film you can't help but love. Of course, the obvious theme of 'hope' can speak to almost anyone, and only the most stone-hearted (or critically stubborn) can't help but be uplifted by the ending, but it's the smaller bits and pieces of the movie that make it one of my favourites. From Morgan Freeman's often parodied, but no less great, narration to the authenticity and attention to detail of the time period; from the nuances of Andy and Red's friendship to the care and depth given to characterisation of Warden Norton and Captain Hadley, elevating them far above the one-note, story-serving characters they could have ended up as. The Shawshank Redemption is a great film, both technically and narratively, and will always be a true classic.

The Silence of the Lambs
    - Again, here's another I could watch over and over again. In fact, I have done, several times, back-to-back. Hannibal Lecter is not only one of the greatest villains in cinematic history, but also one of the most intriguing characters in general, despite only having roughly 20 minutes of screen time. Johnathon Demme creates a wonderfully tenses and suspenseful atmosphere which Anthony Hopkins plays into brilliantly. Hopkins skill at manipulating the audience is nothing less than exceptional. We know the character to be a psychotic cannibal, the film even explicitly shows us this, but Hopkins is able to intrigue, and even charm, the audience much the same as the character does in the film. We know we should be revolted by this character, yet we can't help but be fascinated. The interplay between Hopkins and Jodie Foster, is an obvious highlight and there are some fantastically tenses moments in the climax. A true gem of both the horror and thriller genres.

Star Wars Trilogy
    - I just can't break these up into separate films. Star Wars is more than a single film, it's a saga, though we'll ignore the prequels for the minute, it's an epic, a universe - it's a frickin' way of life! Yes, I'm a fanboy, maybe not as overt or hardcore as some, but there are few things I love more than the 'Wars. From the time I saw the 1997 special editions in the cinema as a kid, Star Wars has captured my imagination like no other series. Of course, it's not perfect and a lot of it is ripe for parody, but that's what I love about it - there's just a certain magic to it that makes me love it all. Looking at the films themselves, it's easy to see why. They take some of the most traditional story conventions, such as good vs. evil, corruption, redemption, both the outer and inner journeys of the hero, the overcoming of impossible odds by the underdog, love, family, friendship - it's all there and it's all in space with robots, battle stations and laser swords. It explains itself, really.

Terminator 2: Judgment Day (Spoilers)
    - The most perfectly perfect action movie of all time. Great story, great characters, great set pieces and action sequences beyond belief. Of course, some will complain about Arnold's acting - but can you think of a better role for him than an ass-kicking cyborg? Others will complain that the ending was overly cheesy - I've never cried during a movie but watching Arnie being lowered into the molten metal and shaping his hand into a 'thumbs up', I damn near came close to crying every time when I first watched it all those years ago. Admittedly, I was around 7 or 8 at the time, but damnit, the point stands. Besides those two critiques, and time-travel paradoxes aside, the film simply can't be criticised in any meaningful manner. Of course, the action isn't the sole reason for the film's greatness. The film presents the vision of James Cameron perfectly, and a hell of a vision it is. As with most of his work, Cameron knew exactly what he was doing when crafting this movie. The shots, effects, everything that went into it served the story and his vision perfectly. Even now, nearly 20 years later, the film still looks great and the special effects not in the least outdated. It's hard to do justice to such a masterpiece, but rest assured, it will always have a special place in my heart.

Trainspotting (Spoilers)
    - And here we are, last one on the list. It's odd, but for a film about heroin addicts, Trainspotting has always been one I'd throw on if in need of a bit of cheering up. I've always found the ending to be so uplifting. You see Renton, excellently played by Ewan McGregor, after going through all the crap (literally) he experienced, finally escaping his old life, as he was hinting at throughout the film, and setting off to make a new one for himself. You should hate him for betraying his friends and making off with the cash, but after everything that's come before, you can't help but smile and route for the bugger. McGregor's narration is fantastic; as he guides us along, he doesn't attempt to moralise or explain anything away, he remains engaging, and often times humerous, while presenting things just as they are. For me, it's a great film that mixes drama, humour, fun and tragedy all in a very gritty yet stylish manner and all set to a great soundtrack that not only suits the mood and era, but you know the characters would love it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I would write something like you did but it would take me all night to write up and nobody would read it :pac:

Yours was an interesting read, though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Excellent list. There's about 5 of them that I haven't seen. I will now search and see. Thanks! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I would write something like you did but it would take me all night to write up and nobody would read it :pac:

Yours was an interesting read, though!

Yeah, I was working on it the other night and then the following day - it's great what you can do when threatened with the prospect of getting some actual work done :pac: Twenty-five isn't a required amount though, do as much or as little as you want; I'm interested in seeing which films other people post up and their take on them.
    Excellent list. There's about 5 of them that I haven't seen. I will now search and see. Thanks! :)
    Thanks for reading :)