Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rear View Mirror

• 30-03-2010 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭

No, not the Pearl Jam best of album, but possibly something for those getting regularly run off the road by Dublin Bus's finest on the N11 etc

LINK

As expensive as a HD helmet cam (!) but pretty much guaranteed to catch all the relevant vehicle info (so long as the lens doesn't get covered in road cr@p...)

Actually - this doesnt require it's own thread - mods feel free to move it to Broomwagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

The true power of the Cerevellum lies in the head unit computer which, in the event of an accident records the video footage leading up to the incident.

That's it's unique selling point? Jaysus, what kind of a negative attitude to your riding would you need to have in order to want this? If you're just waiting for accidents to happen you might as well stay safe indoors.

I wonder if this will really emerge as a product - it's been floating around the web for a couple of years now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Morgan wrote: »
    That's it's unique selling point? Jaysus, what kind of a negative attitude to your riding would you need to have in order to want this? If you're just waiting for accidents to happen you might as well stay safe indoors.

That Scottish doctor dude who manages to have more near misses and accidents than Jonah, he'd love it.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

That's it's unique selling point? Jaysus, what kind of a negative attitude to your riding would you need to have in order to want this?
    This guy for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭short circuit

I wonder if this will really emerge as a product - it's been floating around the web for a couple of years now.

Its the same as having CCTV or alarm in your house ... no one sees that as negative attitude waiting to get robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Its the same as having CCTV or alarm in your house ... no one sees that as negative attitude waiting to get robbed.

Good example.

Who has CCTV in their house? Not me. If I lived somewhere where I felt that recording my own death by burglar would be likely, I'd just move.

I only have a house alarm because the insurance requires it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Do you lock your bike?

BostonB wrote: »
    Do you lock your bike?

Maybe. How is that relevant to carrying a video camera on your bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Do you lock your bike?

The purpose of a bike lock is to (hopefully) prevent your bike from being stolen. Similarly a house alarm might reduce the risk of burgalry.

However, this product isn't being touted as something which will keep you safer on the road - it's true power is it's ability to record the carnage as it happens (which might be even more likely if you're more focused on the little screen on your bars than on what's going on around you)

However, this product isn't being touted as something which will keep you safer on the road - it's true power is it's ability to record the carnage as it happens.

Indeed, a feature which will never get used if you ride your bike properly.

If I get run over by an anarchist dublin bus driver, the least I can leave behind is 30secs of quality carnage entertainment

Lumen wrote: »
    Maybe. How is that relevant to carrying a video camera on your bike?

You should guess I'd say this...

Why not move to somewhere where your bike won't get nicked? :D

Unfortunately not everything is within your control. Theres a slim chance a camera would prove useful. Personally I think the odds of this camera catching something useful for the individual are slim to none. But not impossible. That said it can be used to share experiences, and that perhaps might be useful to lobby for something useful for cyclists.

I thought of recording my route only to demonstrate how doable it is, and its a nice route so that it might encourage others.

Theres a slim chance a camera would prove useful. Personally I think the odds of this camera catching something useful for the individual are slim to none. But not impossible.

Of course. Unless you commute on the N11, in which case you are likely to record homicidal bus drivers on a daily basis, apparently.

Where does it end? The cyclists will record the bus drivers being homicidal. The car drivers will record the cyclists salmoning and RLJing. The pedestrians will record other pedestrians bumping into each other because their vision is restricted by headcams.

Do you lock your bike?
    I lock my bike but don't have CCTV on it. Same with my house :)

Of course. Unless you commute on the N11, in which case you are likely to record homicidal bus drivers on a daily basis, apparently.

Where does it end? The cyclists will record the bus drivers being homicidal. The car drivers will record the cyclists salmoning and RLJing. The pedestrians will record other pedestrians bumping into each other because their vision is restricted by headcams.

If people have a problem distinguishing the impact of pedestrians bumping into each other and a bus bumping into a cyclist, its time to check whats in the water bottle.

blorg wrote: »

Lumen reckons you should move...

If people have a problem distinguishing the impact of pedestrians bumping into each other and a bus bumping into a cyclist, its time to check whats in the water bottle.
    Lumen reckons you should move...

What on earth are you on about?

Sorry I thought your solution to crime prevention was to move away from it.

Crime prevention? This thread is about putting a video camera on a bike. The only way that video recording on a bike counts as crime prevention is if you wear a big sign saying "I AM RECORDING EVERYTHING", or if a significant number of cyclists start recording their cycles, to the point where other road users can expect to be recorded routinely.

Which are you proposing?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

There's a certain motorist here if you all recall said he'd taken to routinely videoing cyclists.

Lumen, you jump from one thing to the next like a courier changing lanes, do you know that? With respect, I don't think your disproportionate comparisions are useful in proving any point.
    Crime prevention? This thread is about putting a video camera on a bike. The only way that video recording on a bike counts as crime prevention is if you wear a big sign saying "I AM RECORDING EVERYTHING", or if a significant number of cyclists start recording their cycles, to the point where other road users can expect to be recorded routinely.

Which are you proposing?

The only thing? That Scotish Doc shouts, out hes recording, which I think has stopped one or two from thumping him. Just because he brings it on himself (Some of the time) doesn't mean everyone does. CCTV awareness is a chicken and egg situation. You can't make people aware of it, if they never see it.

That said I don't think a camera is even remotely as effective as experience, cycling defensively, or enforcement by guards. I dunno if its even useful in court, and thus useful for paying for medical bills after the fact. It probably isn't. You'd need to establish that first.

Lumen, you jump from one thing to the next like a courier changing lanes, do you know that? With respect, I don't think your disproportionate comparisions are useful in proving any point.

OK, but ShortCircuit started it with "Its the same as having CCTV or alarm in your house".

My point is that people who feel the need to routinely record other peoples behaviour as some kind of defensive or offensive strategy need to think about both their own competence and the possible end games.

There are lots of people who cycle around for years without accident or incident. Therefore those who have sufficient accidents/incidents to merit the routine use of recording equipment are incompetent. Or perhaps ought to join the Gardai, if they feel such a compelling need to collect evidence on behalf of the State.

And I'm not using "incompetent" in a perjorative sense.

You don't love your bike and I don't know how you can live with this

Hey ... stop blaming it on me ... its function foremost is as a rear view mirror ... if it also serves as evidence to prosecute the drunk driver who runs me down .. I am all for it ... though you will never see me spending 300USD on it ... I can see the point.

I see no difference between that and CCTV cameras in a shop or Dublin bus. Why do you reckon there is a camera running on Dublin bus .... not because of lack of faith in humanity, but just in case something untoward happens.

In the same way as having CCTV cameras everywhere like Big Brother is not a solution to problems .... leaving everything upto individuals and their ability and desire to do the right thing is not going to solve any problems either.
    OK, but ShortCircuit started it with "Its the same as having CCTV or alarm in your house".

My point is that people who feel the need to routinely record other peoples behaviour as some kind of defensive or offensive strategy need to think about both their own competence and the possible end games.

There are lots of people who cycle around for years without accident or incident. Therefore those who have sufficient accidents/incidents to merit the routine use of recording equipment are incompetent. Or perhaps ought to join the Gardai, if they feel such a compelling need to collect evidence on behalf of the State.

And I'm not using "incompetent" in a perjorative sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Hmmm, wow this thing's gotten involved since I left it :eek:.

Originally posted it as an interesting piece of tech (whose merits are what you make of it) that just passed my line of sight and given the amount of activity on the 'Should I Call the Guards' (or whatever) thread at the time thought it might be of even passing interest to those apparently having regular issues on the N11 etc.

Whether or not it has use as a defensive or offensive utility for riders that may or may not be accident prone, it stuck me as novel in the sense that it's only retrospectively useful being something like the bike equivalent of a black box recorder.

Now operating pilots don't usually have poor flying ability, or a long meandering history of crashing (seeing as they're still in a job) so a black box is a just-in-case-the-sh!t-hit-the-fan device and someone wants to figure out what happened after the fact.

It sounds like what this cerevellum device is also meant for I guess, and I'm not entirely sure that deciding to use one is an automatic indictment of being a poor cyclist. I'd agree to paraniod perhaps or maybe just looking for a bit more assurance of police action in the event of an accident happening while out on a cycle* , but not necessarily that they must be a clueless bumper magnet with a lousy cycling history.

Personally, I wouldn't rail on someone who cycles a busy urban route with heavy traffic on it for using one of these, as Short Circuit says 'just in case something untoward happens'. I'd spend my $300 on a Vholdr HD so I can record mountain biking trips n stuff n stuff...

*I'd agree with captured video being questionable as evidence in a court (a witness would be preferred I'm sure) but the 'your word vs theirs' argument at the time of reporting could be put to bed pretty lively and maybe the cop would follow things up with a greater sense of seriousness

Crashes in aviation are generally more serious than on a bike. Hence the black box, the idea is to learn from disasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭buzzingnoise

DIY bicycle mounted steadicam!!
    check it out
    http://www.instructables.com/id/Updated-Bicycle-mounted-steadicam/
    For the first ever documentary about the cyclist-bus driver feud...C.S.I.-N11 by Lance Spielberg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Crashes in aviation are generally more serious than on a bike. Hence the black box, the idea is to learn from disasters.

Yes, all true. But if someone happened to be clipped buy one of Dublin Bus's finest I'm pretty sure they'd take it plenty serious and a product such as that posted would allow them to learn exactly what happened - what they do with that info would be up to them then