Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Targeting the chest

• 30-03-2010 2:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43

Hi guys,

I've been doing bench presses for a few weeks, incline, decline and flat, both wide grip and medium grip.

I've notice the difference in my arms and can feel the strain in them. I'm trying to target my chest though and nothing I do seems to work. I simply don't get that same 'workout feeling' as I do with my arms. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

oneintotwo wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I've been doing bench presses for a few weeks, incline, decline and flat, both wide grip and medium grip.

I've notice the difference in my arms and can feel the strain in them. I'm trying to target my chest though and nothing I do seems to work. I simply don't get that same 'workout feeling' as I do with my arms. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?
    what is your current bench and your height and weight?

Lay out your whole program and goals also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 oneintotwo

Transform wrote: »
    what is your current bench and your height and weight?

Lay out your whole program and goals also

I'm not very good with systematic routine, so this is approximate. I've only just started so I'm still working on back, abs and legs routines, but here's my arms/ chest routine:

20kg barbell:
    2 sets 10-12 reps - Flat bench press wide grip
    1 set 10-12 reps -Flat bench press medium group
    2 sets 10-12 reps - Incline bench press wide grip
    1 sets 10-12 reps - Incline bench press mediumgrip

15kg dumbbell (each):
    3 sets 10-12 reps - bicep curls

25kg barbell:
    ... Repeat barbell routine until I can do no more.

1 minute rest between sets.

I'll be incorporating flyes and forearm exercises soon too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

I'm a big fan of 4exercises/4 sets (12,10,8,6) for compound.

Weird that you can curl with one hand almost the same as you bench with 2... If this is correct It shows a lack of development in all your push movements. I'm sure with time you'll correct this, maybe take a strength program after you learn the form at the low weights.

Benching is the greatest for chest development but there are a few things you need to be aware of: make sure to squeeze your shoulder blades back to get the extra stretch. And this is one exercise where the mind-muscle connection come in.

I'm sure to get a lot of criticism for the next statement:
    This is one area where I think the pec-deck owns, it isolates/stretchs the chest and does not rely on tired arms, also gives the inner chest some definition.
    I wish I had a pec-deck at the gym but they have none ^ ^ so I make do with flys, but I miss the constant tension from the deck....maybe I just haven't gotten my flys down well enough, but I definately prefer the constant tension from cables in this area.

Your workout looks good and I would introduce flys also as a finisher. Concentrate on upping the weight because a big chest pushes big weight.

My chest workout atm is:

Incline DB press 4 sets (12,10,8,6)
    BB press 4 sets (12,10,8,6)
    Pullovers 4 sets (12,10,8,6)
    Incline DB flys 4 sets (12,10,8,6)
    Cable Crossovers (12,10,8,6)

I also do angled dips on triceps day, this hits the lower chest pretty good also.

I also work my biceps on chest day so snap there ^ ^.

When I'm finished my chest is noticably bigger (or so I think anyway ^ ^)
    It's always nice to see the extra inches after a workout, makes you work harder to get it like that permanently.:D

If I had a pec-deck I would certainly definately use it as a finisher.

Thanks for the advice. Just one thing, do you increase the weight with each set when you're doing 12/10/8/6?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Hypertrophy

oneintotwo wrote: »
    Thanks for the advice. Just one thing, do you increase the weight with each set when you're doing 12/10/8/6?

Yeah you go heavier each set

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Em, if you're not feeling anything 'hitting' your chest, it's because you're only benching a 20kg bar. Do you even feel any resistance doing that?

Weird that you can curl with one hand almost the same as you bench with 2... If this is correct It shows a lack of development in all your push movements. I'm sure with time you'll correct this, maybe take a strength program after you learn the form at the low weights.

Benching is the greatest for chest development but there are a few things you need to be aware of: make sure to squeeze your shoulder blades back to get the extra stretch. And this is one exercise where the mind-muscle connection come in.

This is one area where I think the pec-deck owns, it isolates/stretchs the chest and does not rely on tired arms, also gives the inner chest some definition.
    I wish I had a pec-deck at the gym but they have none ^ ^ so I make do with flys, but I miss the constant tension from the deck....maybe I just haven't gotten my flys down well enough, but I definately prefer the constant tension from cables in this area.

Your workout looks good and I would introduce flys also as a finisher. Concentrate on upping the weight because a big chest pushes big weight.

My chest workout atm is:

I also do angled dips on triceps day, this hits the lower chest pretty good also.

It's always nice to see the extra inches after a workout, makes you work harder to get it like that permanently.:D

where exactly is the inner chest?

All i know is that any guy with a 100kg or more bench has no issue with INNER chest.

Mostly i would say that for the OP you are very weak and need to work on increasing the weights and NOT adding in more exercises. If say 4 exercises for the chest is not working what will? 5-6 exercises?

I would imagine you are not doing any proper back/leg work also and what weight/height are you? I am sorry to say this but most of my female clients would bench more than you right now so do your very best to put on more muscle (eat more clean foods) and use a properly rounded full body program.

BTW how long of a break are you taking between the 4 different chest exercises?

Its not how big it is its what you do with it - the chest i mean.

All i know is that any guy with a 100kg or more bench has no issue with INNER chest.

SHOVE your caps where the sun don't shine!
    Inner pecs are a target area of flys or didn't you know.
    Do me a favor and lay off, if you have an issue with my advice that's one thing but, this aint the english forum last time I checked, Oh and spelling leave off on that too!

Steve here knows what I'm on about.

http://ezinearticles.com/?Inner-Chest-Workout---3-Exercises-To-Build-Inner-Pecs-For-That-Sculpture-Inner-Pec-Look&id=1165910

yep the reason as you SO helpfully pointed out YOURSELF, is that your 100Kg mate is just benching! I notice you don't mention your own bench!

And lay off calling the OP weak! he's not competing with you......or me!
    Its 10KG ->22pounds (possibly on each side) + the 45 pounds for the olympic bar not strong but at least he's trying and asking honest questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Do me a favor and lay off, if you have an issue with my advice that's one thing but, this aint the english forum last time I checked, Oh and spelling leave off on that too!

yep the reason as you SO helpfully pointed out YOURSELF, is that your 100Kg mate is just benching! I notice you don't mention your own bench!

not a great plan to try to call out the most well known and respected trainer on this site, yes he was a bit assertive, but its what works when your getting your point across. Transform has been a member of this site for years and doesnt tire of answering questions that have been asked day in and day out.

I'm quite aware of who he is thanks. I also stand by my comments.

Yeah you go heavier each set

The trick is to pick a weight you can just manage the reps with. You shouldn't be going up during the exercise if you are using the correct weight to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭mrkf1984

thought boards was about getting everyones views or else we could jus set up an 'ask transform' forum. could be a good idea as he has lots of quality advice, especially on stretching, but to take his word as the definitive on everything is a bit much. question was on chest- transform has great shape, but not very much size or width(my opinion) on his(I'm assuming its you that stars in your videos, if not feel free to correct). So this is where everyone with first hand experiece actually doing the workouts themselves, not instructing others would be in a better position to answer the op. Just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

mrkf1984 wrote: »
    thought boards was about getting everyones views or else we could jus set up an 'ask transform' forum. could be a good idea as he has lots of quality advice, especially on stretching, but to take his word as the definitive on everything is a bit much. question was on chest- transform has great shape, but not very much size or width(my opinion) on his(I'm assuming its you that stars in your videos, if not feel free to correct). So this is where everyone with first hand experiece actually doing the workouts themselves, not instructing others would be in a better position to answer the op. Just my opinion.

i wasnt really saying what transform said was right or wrong, i just didnt like shootermags aggressive attitude.

fair point. btw have been snoopin through ur log since i joined too. impressive stuff and i'm not easily impressed-oh look a yellow car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

To be fair Shooter is telling an out and out novice (strength wise) to go off fapping about with rep ranges and isolation movements when as Transform said he should be concentrating on shifting big weight with compound movements.

Not that Transform need any of us to back him up.

To be fair Shooter is telling an out and out novice (strength wise) to go off fapping about with rep ranges and isolation movements when as Transform said he should be concentrating on shifting big weight with compound movements.

Not that Transform need any of us to back him up.

never sed shooter was right either. dont always need big weight to develop chest-but safely say need more than 20kg! think we can agree on that.

Mostly i would say that for the OP you are very weak and need to work on increasing the weights and NOT adding in more exercises. If say 4 exercises for the chest is not working what will? 5-6 exercises?

I would imagine you are not doing any proper back/leg work also and what weight/height are you? I am sorry to say this but most of my female clients would bench more than you right now so do your very best to put on more muscle (eat more clean foods) and use a properly rounded full body program.

BTW how long of a break are you taking between the 4 different chest exercises?

Its not how big it is its what you do with it - the chest i mean.

OP here, didn't mean to start this ruckus!

I wasn't offended by what Transform said, I came on here knowing full well that I'm starting from a low level and don't mind a kick up the arse.

Transform, the routine with the 20kg & 25kg is basically rep-to-failure point for me. What I was saying is that my arms are getting noticeably bigger and I feel the strain on it the next day, but barely in my chest. If I'm trying to up the weights should I be doing less sets with more weight?

To answer your questions I'm taking a minute between the chest exercises. I'm 6'0, 220 pounds at the moment, very little muscle. Doing calorie restriction at the moment and working a cleaner diet into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Man as soon as I saw this thread I knew this was going to be your reply. Do you not have any questions for the op about goals, technique, training facilities, form, exercise selection? I'm not saying a bigger bench won't have some effect, but how's the op supposed to get from point a to point b?

Yep I agree I didn't mean to fly off the handle, just thought T was being a bit condescending. Apologies for the outburst.
    Although I still say the pec deck is a great piece of kit if used correctly.
    I used to get a serious pump when using this to finish, flys aren't as good IMO, cables provide constant tension whereas for me flys don't allow the full range of motion at a constant tension, I also think cable crossovers are great for the very same reason. That's how I train I try to keep constant tension unless it's the last few reps and I need a quick break to squeeze more out.

This would also suit the OP because he may be a bit light in the triceps, at least compared to his biceps.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

My chest workout atm is:

I don't think a complete novice like the OP needs to be doing 5 chest excercises. He needs to work on getting stronger first and foremost.

OP, progression is the key with weights. Every session you should be looking to add weight or reps. Make sure you're working your back, shoulders and legs as much as your chest.

I was going to give you more advice, but you could google starting strength instead.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Steve here knows what I'm on about.

http://ezinearticles.com/?Inner-Chest-Workout---3-Exercises-To-Build-Inner-Pecs-For-That-Sculpture-Inner-Pec-Look&id=1165910

Its 10KG ->22pounds (possibly on each side) + the 45 pounds for the olympic bar not strong but at least he's trying and asking honest questions.
    i never mentioned spelling at all so no idea what you are takin about?

If you need to use a post by someone else to explain your advice then its not a good sign.

I still stand by my comments also

jesus man i could give a hoot how wide i am just that i am possibly pound for pound stronger, fitter and in better shape than 99% of people out there.

Wow i need to look at my physique and check what needs pumping up - gosh i am paraniod now!

However all of this does not matter as what really matters is that i work with lots of clients day in day out and you get to see what works and what does not.

i never mentioned spelling at all so no idea what you are takin about?

If you need to use a post by someone else to explain your advice then its not a good sign.

I still stand by my comments also

Would that be irony?

they/them/theirs

Would that be irony?
    it would indeed,

on another point brian - there are quite a few of my clients that have fitness logs here so my advice would be to have a look at what they are doing so see what direction i take for their programming.

However, none of them are pure beginners (which OP is) so i recommend he does some press ups to begin with as he is going to get more bang for his buck off them than doing 20kg bench, especially ay 220lbs and 6ft. They might not hit the inner upper/lower chest but hey call me mad for suggesting it.

it would indeed,

on another point brian - there are quite a few of my clients that have fitness logs here so my advice would be to have a look at what they are doing so see what direction i take for their programming.

However, none of them are pure beginners (which OP is) so i recommend he does some press ups to begin with as he is going to get more bang for his buck off them than doing 20kg bench, especially ay 220lbs and 6ft. They might not hit the inner upper/lower chest but hey call me mad for suggesting it.

You're dead right about the pressups, as usual.

The reason I said for the OP to google starting strength was that it explains the concept of strength training extremely well. Also, after a lay off of about 3 months squatting up to mid January I gave it a go myself about a month ago and find it great. Its easy to follow and works.

There's nothing better at hitting the pesky inner chest than adding weight to your bench once or twice a week.

they/them/theirs

that i am possibly pound for pound stronger, 99% of people out there.

go on, examples...

nothin like a bit of self praise. lots of peolpe with pigeon chests like to think there in good shape, that will never change.

go on, examples...

nothin like a bit of self praise. lots of peolpe with pigeon chests like to think there in good shape, that will never change.

catinternet.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

go on, examples...

Who are you again?

Hanley wrote: »
    Who are you again?

Please bench more than Hanley, Please bench more than Hanley, Please Bench more than Hanley :pac: :P

Who are you again?

Never said

Please bench more than Hanley, Please bench more than Hanley, Please Bench more than Hanley :pac: :P

probably about the same as his last days max but no shirt.up to u whether u believe me.(although i'm sure u wont)

This is happening a lot recently. Go on so... I'll bite.

Squat, bench, deadlift, age, weight, clean/drug free?

This is happening a lot recently. Go on so... I'll bite.

Squat, bench, deadlift, age, weight, clean/drug free?

Hanley u hardly expect if i wasn't clean to air it here?-hypothetically speaking.e

Don't worry, ur records will never be challenged by me- different age, weight class and fed.

Although ur one year older now and if u ever decide to put on five stone, then who knows?

Anyhow not interested in i can do this and that bla bla...

Jus dont like the way any new members say something with a different view to trans and they get almost 'internet molested' by his band of merry men.

Anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

lots of peolpe with pigeon chests like to think there in good shape, that will never change.
    Don't worry, ur records will never be challenged by me- different age, weight class and fed.

Although ur one year older now and if u ever decide to put on five stone, then who knows?

InternetToughGuy.jpg

I dont wear glasses.

Hanley u hardly expect if i wasn't clean to air it here?-hypothetically speaking.e

Jus dont like the way any new members say something with a different view to trans and they get almost 'internet molested' by his band of merry men.

Anyway...

Only when he people feel he's right..

and there's some wildly different views on this site when it comes to different aspects of training.

Well you're the one who started talking about bench strength, well L did, but he's special, most know not to listen to him. And I'm gonna assume your'e 130kg and not drug free from your posts. So pressing 200ish kg raw isn't that unbelievable!!

Anyway...

Is it really that surprising tho? The amount of idiots who post her that can't tell their arse from their elbow and start giving out advice is unreal. People are gonna be skeptical of advice from guys who haven't "proved" themself, either thru posts, pics, vids or reputation.

He works with a massive variety of clients, he generally knows what's up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭Danye

InternetToughGuy.jpg

One of the best replies EVER!!

wildly different views.

That's an understatement. then the thread goes of the ops subject like now with tit for tat.

catinternet.jpg
    man that was sooo funny!!

Well you're the one who started talking about bench strength, well L did, but he's special, most know not to listen to him. And I'm gonna assume your'e 130kg and not drug free from your posts. So pressing 200ish kg raw isn't that unbelievable!!

Is it really that surprising tho? The amount of idiots who post her that can't tell their arse from their elbow and start giving out advice is unreal. People are gonna be skeptical of advice from guys who haven't "proved" themself, either thru posts, pics, vids or reputation.

He works with a massive variety of clients, he generally knows what's up.

thats alot of assuming- did u not see trevors post.

true he knows his stuff, but...let him make the arguments himself, he's well able to. then it might actually turn into a worth while discussion with good points on both sides. not jus a pointless free for all. But i suppose there is a group of ye here that have been posting a while so obviously yer gonna back each other up...but i must say this hanley -a 60kg return from a shirt. quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

Gem posted this a while ago, but I think it's apt
    group-hug.jpg
    Lets all get along and if you wish to debate do so in a dignified manner

Danye wrote: »
    One of the best replies EVER!!
    EVER!!

All valid assumptions considering the information you gave tho no?
    but i must say this hanley -a 60kg return from a shirt. quality.

Thanks, but I really should be able to pull more out of it.

All valid assumptions considering the information you have tho no?

Thanks, but I really should be able to pull more out of it.

As he said though easy to be anything from a keyboard.
    Has to be post of the day.
    Hanley ur a good lifter and know your stuff.
    Are u retiring from power lifting?

true he knows his stuff, but...let him make the arguments himself, he's well able to. then it might actually turn into a worth while discussion with good points on both sides. not jus a pointless free for all. But i suppose there is a group of ye here that have been posting a while so obviously yer gonna back each other up...but i must say this hanley -a 60kg return from a shirt. quality.
    for the record man (and i have said this before) I COULDN'T GIVE A TOSS about my inner chest, outer chest, possible pigeon chest or overall appeal to a bodybuilder as i am NOT never have and never want to be seen as a bodybuilder.

I will man up and post pics, vids anything you want (there are a range to pick from as is) so long as you post first!

There is actually a useful discussion here already and has been comments from posters like your good self that draged it into a 'big mickey' contest.

Find me a BEGINNER (I work with tons every single bloody day) that at 6ft and 220lbs that will NOT be challenged by press ups, body weight squats, lunges, inverted rows, swiss ball leg curls, overhead press (start pressing that 20kg bar), core work etc

Overall i can state as a fact that the OP is NOT working anywhere near hard enough and needs to train with a bit more intensity and either follow advice here or put some weight on the bar. I can only make this judgement based NOT on MY training but the people i have worked with - that is what any true advice i give is always based on NOT my own training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

man i gotta start taking the internet off people....or at least approving who i give it to....:P

I'm waaay too tired to figure out what's going on here...

Probably won't spend any time doing any full meets for the next year or two anyway. Might do a few bench comps here and there, tho that's not really powerlifting is it? Raw comp could happen too...

I really want to make a good go at weightlifting tho. I've been postponing it for years now to keep pushing PL.

i think trevor was referring to you NOT me as i know trevor quite well.

i know he was, still pretty funny though.