Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great value Races

• 30-03-2010 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

Now that Im back doing a run or two.
    I see a massive cost difference between some races. So instead of people giving out about high entry frees. Lets point out some really good races at a fair cost.

Ballcotton 10 mile €15- chip time
    Dunboyne 4 mile €13 – chip time

Great races , both ran by locals for locals and others!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Great idea for a thread rdunne.

Any of the IMRA races, €7 a pop. Fantastic value for money, made possible by a good volunteer philosophy (you should endeavour to help at least 1 in 10 races you run).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Carney 2 lisadell 10k in Sligo - €10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

I hope that's not considered an attempt by rdunne to shill ;) ....

...but seriously, the BHAA series of races is probably as good a value as you're going to get out there. Not only does it provide great races, but the social scene around it is excellent and you can't beat the scone and coffee in a warm clubhouse watching the video replay of the wet and cold XC race that you've just finished..

Calendar of races here. If you haven't been to one, you should try it out. Always plenty of boardsies (and boards lurkers!) to chat to before/afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Low price, high quality races!

LeCheile 5k €10

IMRA Races - €7 (+€10 annual membership)
    BHAA Races - €15 per race or €10 per race (+€15 annual membership)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Sub430

Low price, high quality races!

Ballcotton 10 mile : €15 - chip time
    Dunboyne 4 mile : €13 – chip time
    LeCheile 5k : €10
    Portlaoise 5k : €10 - St Patrick's Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

Simon Cumbers Memorial 6k, Navan, €10.00, chip timing, 14th May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Dunshaughlin 10k (26th June) €12 (chip timing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Peckham wrote: »
    you can't beat the scone and coffee in a warm clubhouse

That was well and truely beaten by Dunboyne the last day. Tray after tray of fresh sandwiches and doughnuts kept coming at us. Tea/coffee and orange squash to drink... Oh, nearly forgot about the lady who was walking around with a chocolate cake offering slices... sooooo much food. Every race should be held in Dunboyne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I can comment on the Wicklow Fit4Life - €5, 3 prizes in each category (I'm already the proud owner of a yoga mat, a bath towel and an easter egg :)), all the fruit, biscuits and buns you can eat, plus very well organised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I can comment on the Wicklow Fit4Life - €5, 3 prizes in each category (I'm already the proud owner of a yoga mat, a bath towel and an easter egg :)), all the fruit, biscuits and buns you can eat, plus very well organised.

Same in any of the Raheny Shamrocks Winter / Summer / Fit4Life Leagues, €20 for 6 - 8 races or €5 each. Tea / coffee and biscuits to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

The Galway 5k series at 25 quid for 6 races and chip timing and t-shirt is not too shabby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

rdunne wrote: »
    Now that Im back doing a run or two.
    I see a massive cost difference between some races. So instead of people giving out about high entry frees. Lets point out some really good races at a fair cost.

Great races , both ran by locals for locals and others!!

This is great idea for thread, thanks rdunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

BTW Can ye stick the dates in, please

LeCheile 5k €10 (Sat. May 8th, 11am, Leixlip)
    Carney 2 lisadell 10k in Sligo - €10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Ballycotton Summer 5 Mile series - €5 per race, €6 for last one - and the extra €1 goes to charity, with the charity presentation on the night.

Cork BHAA races - €8 unregistered or €5 registered (+ €10 annual registration) - 18 races (+ Cork to Cobh = €20)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭rdunne

Peckham wrote: »
    I hope that's not considered an attempt by rdunne to shill ;) ....

...but seriously, the BHAA series of races is probably as good a value as you're going to get out there..

A Shill . me? never, but do tell me more about this bhaa thing. did you say something about a race in Raheny on the 10th of APR. €10 for members €15 for any one esle....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Definitely a good idea for a thread, keeping a list of the bargain, but quality, events on around the country.
    rdunne wrote: »
    A Shill . me? never, but do tell me more about this bhaa thing. did you say something about a race in Raheny on the 10th of APR. €10 for members €15 for any one esle....

Nice try, but nobody believes you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

On the bigger, larger, out there races, i find the dublin lifestyle 5,10 and half great value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭annieee

LeCheile 5k €10 (Sat. May 8th, 11am, Leixlip)
    Carney 2 lisadell 10k in Sligo (Monday 5th April) - €10

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

ULstudent wrote: »
    On the bigger, larger, out there races, i find the dublin lifestyle 5,10 and half great value for money.

Agree with that, once you enter the series they do become a pretty good deal for a more major set of races. On the verge of being too big an event for list list maybe?

ULstudent wrote: »

How much was it to enter all three last year? €45? I think they were €20 each individually ( i couldn't do the 10 miler).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

menoscemo wrote: »
    How much was it to enter all three last year? €45? I think they were €20 each individually ( i couldn't do the 10 miler).

i just registered for the frank duffy ten and half together and it was around 30e for the two combined. good value in my books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Jnealon

The BHAA are great value, I'm surprised that they don't get a bigger turn out.
    Looking forward to the Smurfit 10k in the K Club, disappointed to see some races dropped
    Some races local to me would be the LeCheile 5k and Lucan 5k.
    The Streets of Galway is always good fun and worth the trip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭cphowlin

Would recommend Omagh Half Marathon after doing it last weekend. Was only £17.50 or about €20 for the half and there was a 4 mile fun run that was really cheap too.

So for 20 euro we got the race, chip timing, a cotton t-shirt, a very nice glass plaque (usually medals but was 21st anniversay of race), sports drink water and Gronola bar at finish followed by sandwiches, tea, coffee and scones in the sports centre!

Bit of a trek up from Dublin (2 and a half hours) and start was a shambles with most walkers starting from the front but def great value for anyone in that part of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

cphowlin wrote: »
    start was a shambles with most walkers starting from the front

So not that dissimilar to many of the larger field races in the Republic then?! :rolleyes:

I Guess you would have to include the Dublin Half Marathon in any list of great value races. For the same price as the Omagh Half (€20) you get chip timing, waved starts, a techical t-shirt and a great goodie bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

The race series 5,10, half this year are 20 each, but if you do more than one the subsequent ones are 15 each. 50 quid for all three is pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

This race cost:-
    Strawberry Half marathon runners: €45 (€40 before 31/01/10)
    Relay: €90 per team (3 runners x €30)
    Strawberry 15K walkers: €35

For this you got:
    a great, well organised race with a good atmosphere and support around the route. Accurately marked and signed for miles and kilometres.
    free parking
    Chip timing
    nice tech t-shirt
    Pacers (courtesy of Boards runners)
    Very good prizes. €1K for 1st place man and woman etc.
    Start and finish outside of hotel which welcomed runners before and after
    Free tea and coffee before race
    Voucher for free tea/coffee and sandwich or pastry (hmmm) after race
    Water
    Banana
    Strawberries (yum)
    Strawberry nutrigrain bar
    Mug
    Pen and key ring with coin for shopping trolleys

Pretty damned good really.