Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CCTV. Is It Right For Home Use?

• 29-03-2010 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys

Talking with a guy recently about investing in CCTV. for the Home. Over the years burgled twice, just might feel more safer as I do be away a fair bit, wife on her own sometimes. someone might rob my Laurel & Hardy DVDs etc....

I'm nearly sold on the idea,
    but, thinking of some of the neighbours, What would be their reaction be?

Would they think their privacy is being infringed on?

What are the legal issues on the installation of a CCTV ?

I have been assured everything is above board and legal?

Any advice, what would you think if it were next door to you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I have CCTV installed in my toilet. Not bathroom. Toilet.

Giggidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

A friend of mine has a camera at the front door. It's mainly cos he has a bar in the back and you can't hear the door.

But I would say just cover your own property with it and not your neighbours and there wouldn't be an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

I wouldn't have a problem with it, at least at the front of the house. The back might be a different story.

But, really, couldn't you constrain the camera's field of view so it just saw your front and back, for example? No need for the view to encompass the neighbours, you can angle the cameras to watch just the relevant points on your property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've CCTV covering the front, back and side of my home and couldn't give a rats arse about the legalities of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

How do you think it is going to stop someone from stealing from you again? Does it call the cops for you?

Waste of money if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

My mate's house has them and infared cameras.
    Between me and him, there's literally thousends of euro worth of musical gear in his house, not to mention all the rest of the contents.
    My stuff spends a lot of time there and when ever I'm away for a week or two I throw the majority of my guitars/amps, ect. into his house.

I get piece of mind know they have the security systems in place, I'm sure that's the same reason his dad installed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

FearDark wrote: »
    I have CCTV installed in my toilet. Not bathroom. Toilet.

Giggidy.
    That must have been you on chatroulette so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

El Weirdo wrote: »
    How do you think it is going to stop someone from stealing from you again? Does it call the cops for you?

If my understanding of current CCTV technology is correct I believe it shoots lasers at the working class, thus allowing us middle-classers to relax on our beanbags stuffed with money safe in the knowledge that not only burglars but also Sinn Fein canvassers are being kept away from our mansion doors.

You have video images of the people that stoll from you.
    You can get car regs, faces, the clothes they were wearing, ect. from this, along with the time they were taken.

This is all very usefull information to give to the Gaurds.
    Also, if people see you have camera's/an alarm installed, they'll generally be less likely to break into your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I've CCTV covering the front, back and side of my home and couldn't give a rats arse about the legalities of it.

people would pay to see an argument between you and a neighbour over that. based solely on you being a moderator of self defence and martial arts.

For me its not, if I hear a sound outside I turn over to the CCTV and let the dogs out to sort out the disturbance.

If I seen someone armed, then the choices are easier again - I've the option of arming myself with something bigger and heavier.

For me its not, if I hear a sound outside I turn over to the CCTV and let the dogs out to sort out the disturbance.

If I seen someone armed, then the choices are easier again - I've the option of arming myself with something bigger and heavier.

This post is worthless with out pics.

CianRyan wrote: »
    You have video images of the people that stoll from you.
    You can get car regs, faces, the clothes they were wearing, ect. from this, along with the time they were taken.

This is all very usefull information to give to the Gaurds.
    Also, if people see you have camera's/an alarm installed, they'll generally be less likely to break into your house.
    Not quite the same as home CCTV but it doesn't seem to have helped the professionals much.

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/article-23412867-tens-of-thousands-of-cctv-cameras-yet-80-of-crime-unsolved.do

Two words - Avatar/sigpic :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

He arms himself with one of those huge fist dildos you get in German sex shops. Intruders don't know whether they're going to be battered or sodomised

Uugh, I've to sign out to see... Right! haha

Edit: I think your arm is about the size of my head, my dog is well better though... If a lot smaller!:rolleyes:

Overkill?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

It's fairly common and common sense. Watched a yun' fella rob the torch out of my car last year (on CCTV). Then watched the same yun' fella rob my neighbours smokes out of his car on his CCTV.

Not quite the same as home CCTV but it doesn't seem to have helped the professionals much.

http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/news/article-23412867-tens-of-thousands-of-cctv-cameras-yet-80-of-crime-unsolved.do

The people breaking into houses would more than likely be repeat offenders that are known to the Gaurds, a little different to a pick pocketer.

I know what you mean though, they don't guarantee anything. I like having that extra piece of mind tough. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Seems a bit far-fetched, in my opinion - unless you have a lot of valuables or live in an environment where there's a high risk of break-in.

How effective is it anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

The law of averages mean some of the people on the net teLly are marshal arty pitbullthrowing gun trained gentlemen

may I present Mairt

The people breaking into houses would more than likely be repeat offenders that are known to the Gaurds, a little different to a pick pocketer.

I know what you mean though, they don't guarantee anything. I like having that extra piece of mind tough. :)

I've worked in security (CCTV alarms etc)for ages. That just goes to show what ejits put in and call CCTV. The top of your head isn't so recognisable. Also a grainy face from forty feet away same. Check what you're paying for, before you pay for it.

Overkill?:p

Overkill underkill wandering free the warmkills of wimbilbon common are we

Dudess wrote: »
    Seems a bit far-fetched, in my opinion - unless you have a lot of valuables or live in an environment where there's a high risk of break-in.

How effective is it anyway?

Imagine attaching a video camera to your house so you can see what's going on outside, or see who took your stuff.
    About that effective.
    I think it's about affect than effect.

squod wrote: »
    I've worked in security (CCTV alarms etc)for ages. That just goes to show what ejits put in and call CCTV. The top of your head isn't so recognisable. Also a grainy face from forty feet away same. Check what you're paying for, before you pay for it.

Sorry, but did you just call me an eejit?

I'd never buy anything if I didn't think it would help, and in this instance, I haven't bought anything.
    The part of the person you see, depends almost entirely on the possition of the camera.
    If you have it hidden at a low level, you can get a pretty clean face shot with the right kind of thinking, working in security, you should really know this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Imagine attaching a video camera to your house so you can see what's going on outside, or see who took your stuff.
    About that effective.
    I think it's about affect than effect.
    As a deterrant though?

Dudess wrote: »
    As a deterrant though?

Put it this way.

Two houses, as far as you know, they have roughly the same stuff in them and you're just looking for something to rob so you can sort out your next fix.

One house has an alarm and security cameras, the other has neither.
    Which one are you going to break into?

I don't have statistics, but if I was the junkie, I'd go for the easier/less likely to get caught option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Tigger wrote: »
    The law of averages mean some of the people on the net teLly are marshal arty pitbullthrowing gun trained gentlemen

may I present Mairt

He's a gent alright, but I still wouldn't like to be seen by him on his CCTV.:pac:

If I could afford CCTV I would get it in a heartbeat.

I got robbed awhile ago
    cop goes do you have cameras I go no
    he goes well ok bye now

it's adeterrent not to have the tickers

Sorry, but did you (1)just call me an eejit?

I'd never buy anything if I didn't think it would help, and in this instance, I haven't bought anything.
    The part of the person you see, depends almost entirely on the possition of the camera.
    If you have it hidden at a low level, you can get a pretty clean face shot with the right kind of thinking, working in security, (2)you should really know this.

(1) No and (2) I just said I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Depends how you use it.

This Galway landlord set up video surveillance in the ceilings and walls of his tenents.
    A Galway city landlord who hid miniature cameras in the ceilings of his tenant's bedroom and bathroom was sentenced to a total of 16 months in prison at Galway District Court yesterday.

Hugh O'Donnell (31), Glendara, Rahoon, pleaded guilty to harassing the woman between March 1st and 9th last year at his address.

He also pleaded guilty to having in his possession computer images of male and female children engaging in explicit sexual activity.

The accused spied on people he shared his house with over a two to three-year period before he was caught by one observant tenant who noticed the hidden cameras and made a complaint to gardaí.

In all, 49 women and 14 men, who had stayed in the rental house over the preceding years, were captured on 19 videos and CDs seized by gardaí.

Passing sentence, Judge John Garavan said O'Donnell had engaged in voyeuristic and obsessive behaviour. The young woman who had been spied on was absolutely devastated.

It would be many years before she would recover from such degradation.

"The rights of every individual to their privacy and self-respect will have to be protected," he said, before sentencing O'Donnell to nine months for harassing the tenant and a further seven months on the child pornography charge.

He's a gent alright, but I still wouldn't like to be seen by him on his CCTV.:pac:

If I could afford CCTV I would get it in a heartbeat.

But that's the point without the cameras whe mairt goes for a walk with the puppys the house is just a house
    with CCTV the house is a house that's gonna tell on you

(1) No and (2) I just said I do.

Well that's fair enough then but you might want to make your posts a little clearler, so as to avoid this kind of thing in the future.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Just to clear up a few points! The guy who fits the system came round and gave me a demo. IE connected a color camera up to the TV, the picture was brilliant so crisp n' clear.

He recommends 3 cameras front/back/and side, No intrusion on neighbours property at all, side of house extends onto a small green area where lout's gather. video recorder with sensor monitoring on cameras. Cameras are vandal resistant?

If I robbed somewhere with that system I'd rib the recorder also
    a good sys records off site and has remote access

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I'll be installing cctv at home once they bring out a model that can see through hoodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Tigger wrote: »
    But that's the point without the cameras whe mairt goes for a walk with the puppys the house is just a house
    with CCTV the house is a house that's gonna tell on you

I know, I didn't say anything negative about it.
    I'd love to have CCTV as I said.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Depends how you use it.

This Galway landlord set up video surveillance in the ceilings and walls of his tenents.

I wonder if the judge said "pics or gtfo" at some time during the hearing?

I know, I didn't say anything negative about it.
    I'd love to have CCTV as I said.:pac:

It's cool the lack of body language o n here can stunt a persons Inate abality to communicate
    I never thaougt you were being neg I was expanding for the groups all good

Just to clear up a few points! The guy who fits the system came round and gave me a demo. IE connected a color camera up to the TV, the picture was brilliant so crisp n' clear.

He recommends 3 cameras front/back/and side, No intrusion on neighbours property at all, side of house extends onto a small green area where lout's gather. video recorder with sensor monitoring on cameras. Cameras are vandal resistant?

Sounds fine. You'll get a better impression of how good the thing is after a few weeks of use. The local guards (as posted before) can really help if you get a good face shot of the intruder. Good luck with it.

Some are vanldal resistant. There's examples here.
    http://www.cctvireland.ie/catalog/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1_7&products_id=56

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Is he also a part time barber?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I wonder if the judge said "pics or gtfo" at some time during the hearing?

It would seem that this would be almost impossible to caught doing.

Wonder how many other Landords out there have buried cctv into their ceilings and walls.

I remmeber when this story came out and my landlord was fitting some of those spot lights that run flush with the ceiling.

He went of and left one open as he said he needed a special seal fo it and couldn't get one for a week.

I was convinced he had something up there.

Was shining my cigarette lighter and everything in the hole to see if I could spot a few VCR's and a couple of mini-cams or something :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

OutlawPete wrote: »
    It would seem that this would be almost impossible to caught doing.

Wonder how many other Landords out there have buried cctv into their ceilings and walls.

I remmeber when this story came out and my landlord was fitting some of those spot lights that run flush with the ceiling.

He went of and left one open as he said he needed a special seal fo it and couldn't get one for a week.

I was convinced he had something up there.

Was shining my cigarette lighter and everything in the hole to see if I could spot a few VCR's and a couple of mini-cams or something :cool:

Was that when you lived in the Big Brother house?

lol there was a bloke in sligo e=with cameras in all his sun tanning rooms
    he didn't getr jail tho

Was that when you lived in the Big Brother house?

You know who I really am?? :eek:

Spiral here, how's it goin .. what's the story bud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

We have a 4 camera system and its pretty decent. If some junkie is walking down a row of houses I think he may skip the one with CCTV and go to the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I've always been told the best theft prevention you can get is a dog.

I don't know about CCTV. It could be a deterrent, or it could just make you look like you've got something worth stealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

No just on a corner site, exposed a bit on two sides. I'd really be exposed on blind side of house. I planted bushes and trees a couple of years ago and there well up.. it's just a little bit of extra security, thats all..

anyway if I see the mother-in-law driving down the road I won't have to answer the door when she calls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

I'll be installing cctv at home once they bring out a model that can see through hoodies.
    Every chance that police will be able to recognize local serial offenders based on clothes and build alone. There's also the option of covert cameras at eye level instead of/in addition to the visible overhead cams.

OP, lots of people would be delighted if a neighbor's cameras overlooked their front yard. Ask them - if they aren't happy about the idea, assure them that the cameras won't overlook their property, and that you'll demonstrate same once the install is done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Denmark101

Once it's facing into your front and rear garden I can't imagine your neighbours will mind. You can get discrete looking cameras. I think having them in your home is a bit much though.