Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Movies that bring a tear to your eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Cry Freedom

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0092804/

Very sad film.
    Real reason it gets to me is because it's a true story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Was doped up on medication with an muscle infection a few years back and watched 'What Dreams May Come' and teared up.

:|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I cried like a baby at the end of Terminator 2...with the thumb....I can do emotional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭KaiserMc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,180 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Dear Zachary..

.. I was in absolute bits. Was just too real for me!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Brokeback Mountain.
    At the end. When he finds the bloody shirt.

Sobbed my heart out.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Giselle wrote: »
    Brokeback Mountain. At the end. When he finds the bloody shirt.

Sobbed my heart out.:o
    oh thanks. I guess one of them dies then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Marley & me

Brought back memories of my dearly beloved pooch :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind

and i teared up at Ned Kelly ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

seanybiker wrote: »
    oh thanks.

Sorry Seany, spoilered it.

Didn't occur to me there was anyone left who hadn't seen it.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

+1 on Terminator 2.

The Lion King-
    When Mufassa died I cried a river.

Blow- T
    he scene where George leaves a message to his soon to be dead father reminiscing about life. Also, the end is incredibly sad.
    For a drug/gangster movie it is incredibly moving.

The Never Ending Story-
    When I was a kid I always choked up when Atreyu's horse dies in the swamps.

Into The Wild- Although I didn't weep I was moved by it immensely.

I am sure there are more but I can't think right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

+1 on Dear Zachary.

Absolutely heart wrenching stuff, but a beautifully moving tribute.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Pride & Prejudice (2005) starring Keira Knightley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Lol I thought I was the only wimp who cried for T2. I was devestated after it.

I can't really remember any other film to be honest, even lion king as a kid I remember being ok.

Actually, although not a film the only ever thing that upset me is when Brendan fraizer dies in scrubs. The music and how the scene panned out was heart breaking.

Giselle wrote: »
    Sorry Seany, spoilered it.

Didn't occur to me there was anyone left who hadn't seen it.:o
    ha ha your grand. Just never got around to it.

ziedth wrote: »

Actually, although not a film the only ever thing that upset me is when Brendan fraizer dies in scrubs. The music and how the scene panned out was heart breaking.
    Ah jaysus. I was the exact same. Seeing poor Perry upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

First time I saw ET. I was in floods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

My missus refuses to watch The pursuit of happyiness ever again because she thought it was so sad. I thought it was pretty uplifting to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

The usual stuff like The Notebook and Ps, I love you make me well up.

T2 with the thumb at the end of course and that film where the 2 dogs and cat get lost while the family are moving home? cant think of the name of it now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

E.T and The Green Mile. They only 2 movies to make me cry. They still do :(

Melion wrote: »
    The Green Mile.
    I wasnt upset at the end of green mile. I was fupping furious. How could ye ye heartless bastids.

I cried at one part of Wild things but that was tears of happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,180 ✭✭✭✭Basq

seanybiker wrote: »
    I cried at one part of Wild things but that was tears of happiness.
    The thread title says "eye", not "jap's eye"! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Wow, can't believe no one has mentioned Bambi yet... Or even The Fox And The Hound. Even to this very day, I still get a little bit teary eyed whenever I watch these two films. Kids movies, but incredibly emotional at times.

Also, The Green Mile had me in floods at the scene
    in which John Coffey is executed
    . But also, the scene in which Tom Hanks asks John Coffey if he would take him out of the prison and let him go. Hanks puts so much into that one scene and I found it just heart-wrenching as he
    asks John Coffey what will he say to God on the day of his judgement when he asks 'Why did I kill one of his true miracles'
    . Powerful and deeply moving film and one of the best out there.

Schindler's List also had several scenes where I was in floods. While I've never been to Auschwitz (and I've no intention of ever visiting there; I don't think I'd be able to handle something like that) or any concentration camp site, I was in Anne Frank's house in Holland. All through the time I was there, the music from the film was playing in my head. I was in tears by the time we were leaving...

Saving Private Ryan, the heroism, selflessness and bravery of so many of the men in the Allied Armed Forces was so brilliantly captured in this film. It was reported that actual D-Day veterans who were invited to a special screening of the film were crying and weeping, so realistic was the opening scenes of the beaches at Normandy. And they were not alone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

When Apollo 13 was released back in 1995, took a half day from school to watch it. Only 6 people in the cinema. You knew the ending but it was well done and brought a tear to the eye.

I've also welled up but not cried to Angela's Ashes (close to the bone) and Saving Private Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

The Champ

ET

Almost Famous, specifically the Tiny Dancer scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

La vita è bella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

gotta put the wrestler out there and +1 to whoever said marley and me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭hitlersson666

The Boy in the striped pyjamas nearly had me in bits :eek: Even though I read the book I was hoping the would change the ending but at the end I was like ''Oh noooooooooo'' Thing is I never cry at movies except for that and Hachi :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

The end of Terminator 2 definately, just recently pulled it out of my DVD collection and still cried like 15 years after I first seen it.

Another one that really got me, was the end of Gran Torino. The whole scene and the music playing was really emotional, especially the muisc on the credits. I won't describe what happens coz I don't wanna spoil it for people but I'll post the vids if u wanna take a look. (It gives away the end of the movies if you watch)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YQN-3p2HqPA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOVdBPyjMlg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

The ending of Milk was a bit sad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

Pay it forward anyone? You know what I'm talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I completely don't get people being upset at the end of t2. Et is another one that left me completely cold. I havent seen that in years but I think now i'd be rooting for the cops to be honest. The english patient had a very wobbly bit towards the end (exiting the cave).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Frisbee wrote: »
    First time I saw ET. I was in floods.

The first time I saw ET, I hid behind the couch absolutely petrified!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

火垂るの墓 (Grave of the fireflies), both the animated and the made-for-TV movie (in which the 6-year-old female lead acts rings around the rest of the cast, including seasoned adult actors).

For those who haven't heard of it, it tells the story of two children orphaned by the firebombing of Japan during WWII trying to survive on their own.
    It doesn't end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

The Lion Knig gets me going more now than when I was a kid:o!!
    Also, Titanic, the band playing Nearer My God To Thee and that scene, all I have to do is think about it and I'm in bits!!
    The pursuit of Happyness is another one!!
    Gran Torino another!!
    Marley and Me
    Oh and the end of Con Air:o!!

I wasn't always so feckin soft!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭bladespin

It's a wondeful life - never fails. Love that movie.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Life is Beautiful, Italian movie:(!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Seven pounds
    The green mile
    Titanic

This one is kinda weird but I found the end of unbreakable kinda sad:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,320 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Titanic -
    When Rose dies at the end
    Feck it, I'm such a girl! :o

As much as I hated the movie, the end of Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Ditto Forrest Gump

Oh yeah, that reminds me...Ghost aswell :o

The end of Dark Victory, the Bette Davis movie always moves me aswell.

Oh god...Bright Eyes is playing on the radio now :( *sniff*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wobblyknees

Titanic - When the ship sinks
    Feck it, I'm such a girl! :o

Ah come on, some of us haven't seen it yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

The Road recently, teary ending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭hitlersson666

FruitLover wrote: »
    火垂るの墓 (Grave of the fireflies), both the animated and the made-for-TV movie (in which the 6-year-old female lead acts rings around the rest of the cast, including seasoned adult actors).

For those who haven't heard of it, it tells the story of two children orphaned by the firebombing of Japan during WWII trying to survive on their own.
    It doesn't end well.

That movie also gets to me :( I love it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭Purple Lemons

Romeo and Juliet
    Song for a Raggy Boy
    The Green Mile
    The Notebook
    The Blind Side
    I Am Sam
    The Other Sister
    Love and Basketball
    A Walk to Remember

I've cried to all of these and many more :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

+1 Life is Beautiful

Also, Marley and Me had me in bits but Hachiko: A Dogs Story nearly killed me.....
    True story too.
    I know both films are dog related but what can I say.
    Oh yeah also, Watership Down... still can't listen to that bloody At Garfunkel song without welling up

HB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Titanic -
    As much as I hated the movie, the end of Curious Case of Benjamin Button

I forgot this, I started to get a VERY sore throat when
    his father dies on the pier as the sun comes up. The fact that he forgives his father for abandoning him when he was born, but makes amends had me. I must admit there was a tear or two
    , but I was after a few pints and was feeling "emotional" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

There are a lot of movies that make me cry, but Rabbit-Proof Fence stands out in my mind -- it also made me incredibly, unspeakably angry.

The other night I saw Up, which made me laugh and cry. It was lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Scout Finch

I'm usually tough as nails when it comes to sad movies - but The Green Mile and Schindler's List have me in bits everytime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

magma69 wrote: »
    The Never Ending Story-
    When I was a kid I always choked up when Atreyu's horse dies in the swamps.

I used to bawl my eyes out at that bit!
    DazMarz wrote: »
    Wow, can't believe no one has mentioned The Fox And The Hound.

Oh God yes :(

"When you're the best of friends
    Having so much fun together
    You're not even aware, you're such a funny pair
    You're the best of friends..."

*blubs*

If I even hum a bit of that song to my 22 year old brother he goes, "F*ck off! Don't you dare!" and leaves the room! Only movie that makes him cry like a girl