Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vince McMahon: the best heel ever? *spoilers*

• 26-03-2010 11:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,601 ✭✭✭✭

Watching the build up to Wrestlemania and yet again 'Mr. McMahon' is the main heel. He really just epitomises the heel demeanor and has been consistently the heel since I started watching wrestling.

His feuds with Stone Cold and then DX were two of the best storylines that I've ever seen and his recent feud with Donald Trump was hilarious to say the least. Now he's back with Bret Hart as the face and had Stone Cold doing the contract signing as a double throwback to the previous era.

well what does everyone think? Have there been any better heels than 'Mr. McMahon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Hes a really good shout and ticks all the boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

He's the best non-wrestling heel of all time. He's had a few matches over the years sure, but nobody would call him a wrestler.

Ted DiBiase is the best heel of all time.

He's the best non-wrestling heel of all time. He's had a few matches over the years sure, but nobody would call him a wrestler.

Ted DiBiase is the best heel of all time.

The Million Dolar man was basically Mr McMahon though.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

He's most certainly in the top 3 for sure..
    When i think of McMahon its definitely not his matches i'd really remember him for. But its the little things he does in them, like against Hogan at Wrestlemania 19

wrestlemaniaxix_mcmahon.jpg

Thats why he's so good, the way he sells certain things..

His facial expressions at times are just out of this world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Exactly nobody sell's things like Vince does.. Even the way he used to sell the stunner was unreal..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

I cant answer that,there have been so many great heels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

Different eras and all and in many ways comparing apples and oranges but I don't think I couldn't rate him higher than the old school heels that'd pretty much have lynch mobs after them. With the "Mr. McMahon" character I tend to think pantomime villain, and he's great at it. Love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

No doubt about it in my mind... not only the greatest heel of all time but probably the greatest character also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

He's just as good a heel in real life too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

He's certainly one of the best heels of all time imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Cactus Colm

If not the greatest heel ever, then he most certainly is right up there. His wrestling skills may not be the best, however on those occassions where he's stepped into the ring he has generally been smart enough to build the matches around others, or to play to his strengths.

His match at Wrestlemania 17 with Shane McMahon goes to prove just how effective in the ring he can be. When two "non-wrestlers" can put on a match that is as entertaining a match as this, one that holds up well against other matches on the card (which include TLC 2, Benoit v Angle, 'Taker v Triple H, and Austin v Rock).
    However, there is a bit too much of a tendancy to try to reply his Stone Cold feud with others a bit too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Vince : One of the best heels of all time (my mate steve would say the best ever) but i'd say best non-wrestler heel of all time easy.

Best heel i'd probably say Hollywood Hogan. I'm tempted to say Triple H but i hated him as a person rather than his character.

Million Dollar Man was an amazing heel. Of current times, JBL, Chris Jericho, Vickie Guerrero and CM Punk is amassing white-hot heat; but he'd have to do it for another year to be classified as a great heel for 'all the times' :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Million Dollar Man was an amazing heel. Of current times, JBL, Chris Jericho, Vickie Guerrero and CM Punk is amassing white-hot heat; but he'd have to do it for another year to be classified as a great heel for 'all the times' :)

For Vickie, I find her not to be a heel so much as flat out annoying as hell. Punk is doing a good job, but I agree he needs to have it running on a fair bit longer to be a great one. Like JBL was heel for several years, I didn't think much of him as a wrestler, but he was a good heel, getting plenty of heat (I remember when he did the whole hunting immigrants on the US-Mexico border angle)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

Vince : One of the best heels of all time (my mate steve would say the best ever) but i'd say best non-wrestler heel of all time easy.

Easily ahead of Heenan? I'd have to put Bobby ahead of Vince myself. He was another level in my opinion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

It would be between Bobby Heenan & Vince. Both were so great at selling things & getting you to hate them.

Money Inc also come to mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Have to give this guy a mention aswell. Bore the arse of me as a face during the 80's but his heel character was f*cking hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Vince is an awesome heel,go to 1:39 in this vid,sounds so believable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Willie Stroker

Has to be one of the best of course , Triple H and JBL were brilliant too though !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

flair4.jpg

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Vince McMahons 'over-acting' is ridiculous to say the least, and is aimed purely at the kids audience.
    Good heel yes, but tone down the expressions acting etc imo.

Jolt2007 wrote: »
    Easily ahead of Heenan? I'd have to put Bobby ahead of Vince myself. He was another level in my opinion.

Heenan's an amazing heel and one of the best ever (my favourite announcer/manager) but Vince was a serious, cut-throat heel. He commanded much more respect and power so I'd have to give him the nod.

I haven't enjoyed Vince's work in a long time, I'm just a bit bored of his character. (although his stuff with Bret has been hilarious super-villain stuff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Heenan was brilliant alright. For me though I can remember thinking Roddy Piper was the most evil b*stard ever, he used to literally put the heebies up me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHh9Wb--J0M

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZbZseTuQ1I

Sorry I don't know how to embed them etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

Heenan's an amazing heel and one of the best ever (my favourite announcer/manager) but Vince was a serious, cut-throat heel. He commanded much more respect and power so I'd have to give him the nod.

Heenan was much more serious in the AWA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

He's just as good a heel in real life too

And your personal experiences are?

davrho wrote: »

Same as yours! You know how Vince is portrayed by every wrestling book, dirtsheet and almost every current and ex-employee of Vince's.

Acclaimed wrestling magazine PowerSlam have a great new section called "McMahon Quarterly Report"...not the most shining endorsement of the Genetic Jackhammer.

Same as yours!
    Exactly, feck all. I aint the eejit running my mouth all about situations i know nothing about..........

Your argument can easily be countered by all the legends who sign up for the the HOF and say that Vince made their lifes?

Exactly, feck all. I aint the eejit running my mouth all about situations i know nothing about..........

Your argument can easily be countered by all the legends who sign up for the the HOF and say that Vince made their lifes?
    So its OK to praise him without actually knowing him but not criticise him? LOL.

Nobody said everything he does is heel-like in real life. But there is sufficient evidence out there to suggest that he has done quite a few less than praise-worthy things in his time, to go with the good he has also done.

Certainly, suggesting one needs to know the man personally in order to make such an assertion is ludicrous. And calling someone an eegit for saying so is out of order as well.

flahavaj wrote: »
    So its OK to praise him without actually knowing him but not criticise him? LOL.

Nobody said everything he does is heel-like in real life. But there is sufficient evidence out there to suggest that he has done quite a few less than praise-worthy things in his time, to go with the good he has also done.

Certainly, suggesting one needs to know the man personally in order to make such an assertion is ludicrous. And calling someone an eegit for saying so is out of order as well.

Well i retract the eeejit remark
    With the sufficient evidence how many court cases has McMahon lost?

Well i retract the eeejit remark
    With the sufficient evidence how many court cases has McMahon lost?

Court cases are hardly the only way to determine a person's character.:confused:

He was called a real life heel not a criminal.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Court cases are hardly the only way to determine a person's character.:confused:

He was called a real life heel not a criminal.

So whats a real life heel?

I took him to mean that he thinks Mc Mahon has done some bad things in real life.

Nothing to do with court cases and certainly things you wouldn't need to know the man personally to comment upon.

I also agree to a certain extent.

In a strange sort of way we are in agreement again Flahavaj.

Sometimes i feel that folk cant seperate wrestling from life and maybe i jumped on the wrong horse here. The post you done the other week ,which i thanked ye for, sums up my wrestling attitude.

I think i have went off on a tangent in this thread and apologise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

Million Dollar Man was an amazing heel, I also remember Rikishi as a heel, just because you never expected it to happen

I think that Vince is a good performer - in what other company would you get to beat up the boss on a nightly basis lol

I think Shane McMahon should come back and wrestle a bit more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I think Shane McMahon should come back and wrestle a bit more

Legacy will be shaking in their boots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,601 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

He has shown again how good he is at being the bad guy,
    will be missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I still think Vince will show up every now and again. I dont think he will ever fully retire only when he dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I still think Vince will show up every now and again. I dont think he will ever fully retire only when he dies.

Yeah me too, we surely haven't seen the last of him on TV, but it may be a couple of years before we do see him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,515 ✭✭✭✭briany

Terrific, terrific heel. Probably the greatest, most believable heel of the last 20 years or so and his character was involved in several of the marquee feuds in the attitude era and beyond. As good as he was/is, he's still underrated and underappreciated because he was a fixture for so long you could almost take him for granted. His character is a timeless one that will always be relevant and will always be a draw. Also, he was a good, if slightly bombastic, announcer back in the day, doing the play by play role quite well.

Unfortunately, I fear that Punk's words will ring true. What will happen after Vince with the WWE being run by HHH and Steph? As much as I respect what HHH has done in the ring etc., I don't ever see his mind having the scope of Vince's and decision making acumen. He's just coming from a different place and that's true of Stephanie as well. Though they're both capable but maybe not of the same magic and innovation.