Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valero bates up anudder bhurds! The shame!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

At least he's kept his 100% KO ratio. :P

All jokes aside, he has lost a fan in me. I didn't realise he had done this before either. Fuck him and the horse he rode in on. He really could have been a popular star too. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

magma69 wrote: »
    At least he's kept his 100% KO ratio. :P

All jokes aside, he has lost a fan in me. I didn't realise he had done this before either. Fuck him and the horse he rode in on. He really could have been a popular star too. :mad:

innocent until proven guilty?

playing Beelzebub Barrister of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

yeah he's lost another fan here. i hope his wife isn't one of these women who convinces herself that it was somehow her fault and that he actually really loves her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Low life ****ing turd....

Anyway, let us hope that it gives the likes of Bradley, Khan, Pacquiao and others the urge to really lay a beating on this dog.

I don't rate the guy at all. Crude and messy, and obvioulsy a ****ing bully.

walshb wrote: »
    Crude and messy, and obvioulsy a ****ing bully.

Yeah but that = exciting and enjoyable to watch in my book Bren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭mr.mayo

Valero looked really accomplished in his last performance, obviously with his KO record he has serious power but he also showed good footwork, movement etc and fought a very smart fight. I really thought he had a good chance of making it as a big name fighter, people love fighters like him where you're guaranteed non-stop action but he looks to have pissed that all away now with this story. It's a shame. I know the fight would probably never have happened but I always wanted to see him smash Amir Khan's glass chin into a thousand little pieces, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

maybe she was "hitting on" him ....oh wait ...this isnt after hours !!

meh ... he deserves to have his hands tied together and put in a room of proper boxers.

mr.mayo wrote: »
    Valero looked really accomplished in his last performance, obviously with his KO record he has serious power but he also showed good footwork, movement etc and fought a very smart fight. I really thought he had a good chance of making it as a big name fighter, people love fighters like him where you're guaranteed non-stop action but he looks to have pissed that all away now with this story. It's a shame. I know the fight would probably never have happened but I always wanted to see him smash Amir Khan's glass chin into a thousand little pieces, lol

Well, I don't want to see this turd beating anyone; Khan will cream this ****er as long as he boxes clever.

BTW, Valero is a blown up super feather, LW now. I am not sold on that power when he meets a real JWW, like say Bradley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

God , Yeah he's a freak that guy .

These thugs always make the news , and give boxing a really bad reputation .
    I'm a life long fan of boxing , but almost always keep it to myself ..... people think ur probably a thug yourself for following the sport .

These guys always get their com-uppance eventually .
    And as a dog-lover , I rejoice at seeing Gerald mcCellan feel a lesser level of life than the animals he killed .

Put Valero in that bracket now too .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

Disappointed in Valero,
    Anyone who does that is scum and should face the punishment,
    I'm not trying condone this but I mean he is not the only Boxer to ever do this, Mayweather jr. assaulted the mother of his children in a car park in vegas, Diego Corrales as done it, as has Mike Tyson seemingly, Evander Holyfield, Arturo Gatti, Nate Campbell, As has Paulie Malignaggi and thats just off the top of my head.
    Unforunately a lot of boxers do this.
    I for one, Have lost respect for him as a man but I will continue to watch his fights

Disappointed in Valero,
    Anyone who does that is scum and should face the punishment,
    I'm not trying condone this but I mean he is not the only Boxer to ever do this, Mayweather jr. assaulted the mother of his children in a car park in vegas, Diego Corrales as done it, as has Mike Tyson seemingly, Evander Holyfield, Arturo Gatti, Nate Campbell, As has Paulie Malignaggi and thats just off the top of my head.
    Unforunately a lot of boxers do this.
    I for one, Have lost respect for him as a man but I will continue to watch his fights

And you are forgetting a boxer a lot closer to home.

Monzon too was an awful brute

And as a dog-lover , I rejoice at seeing Gerald mcCellan feel a lesser level of life than the animals he killed .

And tortured before he killed.

And you are forgetting a boxer a lot closer to home.

Monzon too was an awful brute

Is it Steve Collins you are referring to?

No doubt about it, there are some scummy characters in boxing.

magma69 wrote: »
    Is it Steve Collins you are referring to?

No doubt about it, there are some scummy characters in boxing.

That's the man.

Valero-familia.jpg

Yeah he always got his kids in the ring afterwards , and thats his 23 year old missus on the right .

Aparently she got shot in the leg outside her gaff last April too !!?
    http://www.myboxingfans.com/2009/04/valeros-wife-ok/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭mr.mayo

Breaking News: Valero's wife has refused to file assault charges so Valero is in the clear
    She is maintaining that she merely fell down a flight of stairs and that Edwin done nothing wrong

Valero-familia.jpg

how long ago was that photo?

mr.mayo wrote: »
    Breaking News: Valero's wife has refused to file assault charges so Valero is in the clear
    She is maintaining that she merely fell down a flight of stairs and that Edwin done nothing wrong

Well, it just goes to prove that these women are part of the problem.

Two-division world champion Edwin Valero has been sent to a psychiatric hospital for six months in Venezuela. According to El Universal, his wife, Jennifer Viera de Valero, was admitted to a hospital in the city of Merida with bruises and a broken rib that penetrated her lung, the same hospital she was treated at twice before for similar lesions. She claimed she sustained the injuries from falling down a flight of stairs. Valero reportedly caused a ruckus at the hosptial, and doctors called the police. On Sunday morning, Valero was taken before a judge where he confessed to being an alcoholic. The judge sent him for six months to San Juan de Dios Hospital for rehab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Woah there, think you need to clarify that.

It's very very hard for someone who's been the victim of what looks to be systematic abuse, to overcome the fear they are in to stand up to the abuser.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

You need to learn more about how abuse affects victims.

spurious wrote: »
    You need to learn more about how abuse affects victims.

Wrong forum mate, anyway, if there are options for this woman, or any other woman, they need to use them. There is alternatives to a life of violence in many cases.

joker77 wrote: »
    Woah there, think you need to clarify that.

It's very very hard for someone who's been the victim of what looks to be systematic abuse, to overcome the fear they are in to stand up to the abuser.

I never said it was easy; but far too many times, women in abusive relationships fail to act when there are chances to act. Now, whether they like it or not, it is part of the problem.

The abuser is a scumbag, but he/she will only get away with what they are allowed to get
    away with. I guess it is why we are advised to not intervene between a man and a woman
    involved in a struggle; we end up getting attacked by both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I never said it was easy; but far too many times, women in abusive relationships fail to act when there are chances to act. Now, whether they like it or not, it is part of the problem.

The abuser is a scumbag, but he/she will only get away with what they are allowed to get
    away with. I guess it is why we are advised to not intervene between a man and a woman
    involved in a struggle; we end up getting attacked by both.
    Fair enough, just thought your comment was a little on the glib side.

jesus i hope we don't end up reading about her death by his hands in the future. while it is a difficult thing to do, she needs to avail of the resoucres that are there to help abuse victims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

jesus i hope we don't end up reading about her death by his hands in the future. while it is a difficult thing to do, she needs to avail of the resoucres that are there to help abuse victims

I have to question would those resources really be there in Venezuela ?
    I sympathise with the women, and while I can understand what Walshb is saying I'm not sure you can really blame the woman for not being able to get herself out of that situation.

Big Ears wrote: »
    I sympathise with the women, and while I can understand what Walshb is saying I'm not sure you can really blame the woman for not being able to get herself out of that situation.

well, apparently it's an improving situation but still a lot of abuse is unreported according to amnesty. so you're probably right. i guess if you are mentally broken down and living in absolute fear of someone it's not an easy thing to do to reach out and break the cycle of abuse even if you know there are support structures to help you.

Absolutely , sometimes the victims are mentally broken by the bully . they simply cave in and accept the abuse in submission .
    not all are mentally strong enough to flee such a situation !

anyway , it took a judge to direct him to rehab .
    it would have been more genuine if he volunteered to go !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

She fell down the stairs.... hmmm

well, apparently it's an improving situation but still a lot of abuse is unreported according to amnesty. so you're probably right. i guess if you are mentally broken down and living in absolute fear of someone it's not an easy thing to do to reach out and break the cycle of abuse even if you know there are support structures to help you.

Nacho, how the feck do you know what the level of support for victims of spousal abuse is in a country like Venezula?? Yer some man!

i was basing my opinion on what amnesty and other groups have said.

Another chapter in the never ending saga.

Valero involved in police chase :eek:Drink driving. Fled the scene of the accident.

I hope this guy gets help soon. He is a fully fledged nut job.

http://www.fightnews.com/?p=42373

yep , you can forget about Valero from now on .
    Even if he does fight , you can expect a short an erratic career .
    Sounds like a Scott Harison scenario

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

yep , you can forget about Valero from now on .
    Even if he does fight , you can expect a short an erratic career .
    Sounds like a Scott Harison scenario
    my vida loca johhny tapia comes to mind :)
    What a nutter :D

I did read a while ago about his alcoholism , but didnt know if it was rumour or factual.
    Well , its turns out he's got a drug problem too ???

He's finished then , they never have the ability to make weight or train with discipline . sponsors and promoters wont back him due to unreliability and he'll vanish from the news pages and internet .

You got to feel sorry for his wife/kids , who have subscribed for a life long partnership .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

every sport has the odd successful nutjob, so ye never know. i've never read about him not makin the weight etc. But not being able to fight in america legally (bar texas maybe?) is his biggest obstacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭deisedelight

guy is a lunatic. love watching him though

http://www.fightnews.com/?p=43230

Valero arrested on suspicion of murdering his wife !

Obviously innocent until proven guilty, but this is very sad :(, the guy is a headcase and needs help badly. Should he be found guilty his boxing career will certainly be over, but there's more important things to worry about than boxing at times and someone's life is definitely one of them.

http://www.fightnews.com/?p=43230

Valero arrested on suspicion of murdering his wife !

Obviously innocent until proven guilty, but this is very sad :(, the guy is a headcase and needs help badly. Should he be found guilty his boxing career will certainly be over, but there's more important things to worry about than boxing at times and someone's life is definitely one of them.

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

[QUOTE=Big Ears;65461539:(, the guy is a headcase and needs help badly. .[/QUOTE]

Don't you mean that he needs ****ing locking up?

Was gonna write that, but that would be presuming guilt.
    Where as if he hasn't committed such a horrible act, he'd certainly need 'psychiatric care' anyway.

One way or another he shouldn't be left to his own devices, or alone with his children.

Okey doke, Big!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭deisedelight

cant believe this news

what a loss to boxing. really thought he was real deal.

game over now

a very unwell man

He's like Scott Harrison x2 !!!, he's more ****ed up than the likes of Tyson, Etienne or even 'The President', Ike Ibeabuchi.

That's if he is guilty, actually even if he isn't he's probably worse than those.
    Up there with Carlos Monzón tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

He's like Scott Harrison x2 !!!, he's more ****ed up than the likes of Tyson, Etienne or even 'The President', Ike Ibeabuchi.

That's if he is guilty, actually even if he isn't he's probably worse than those.
    Up there with Carlos Monzón tbh.

damn right. curtains unfortunately...

According to the news reports, he went downstairs to the reception of the hotel to confess to what he had just committed. :( This is awful. The maddening thing is that it could have been avoided. Poor kids. Horrible, just horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Such a fecking shame. The eejit.

:(

why didn't she press charges against him the last time he attacked her:(:(
    now the kids have lost both parents in effect.

she got shot a few years ago in their front garden ...... the wavy finger wanded past valero , but not charged .

he needs to be locked up to a life of punishment .

Calling him sick or unwell .... he's a murderer , and know the difference between right and wrong. grrrrr.

sympathy to the kids who lost their parents , and to the wife who lost everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

My first thought was I was shocked to hear it but if you look at his past it was a disaster waiting to happen... poor kids...