Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THE MASTERS VS THE OPEN

• 25-03-2010 12:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭

WHO YA GOT?

which has more prestige?

they couldnt be more different;

ones a prestine supermodel, clipped & mowed to perfection. almost unreal, untouchable, etheral. but jaysus lads, serious high maintanance issues... so much so she's only open for playtime once a year. but god is it a weekend to remember. Ah the Masters.

the other is wild, but cultivated. an untameable sort with natural beauty in abundance, who stirs a passion and rivalry unlike any other. it takes a certain intelligence to come to grips with this she-wolf, but she will not be conquered. she roams free, plays by her own rules. but if its particularly breezy... ( and i say this not meaning to cause any disrespect..!!! ) its like shes got golf course Pmt... she'll howl, she'll blow, she'll rain down on you with the weight of the heavens... but treat her with respect, understand her, refrain from ungentlemanly conduct ( like, god forbid, spitting or cantankerous behavior on tee boxes ) and she just might let the clouds open for a moment and sun shine on your shoulders come the end. Ah... the Open.

If you win the masters... your are The Daddy, for a year all others must bow down in the shadow cast by your enlarged hubris. Plus you get pretty suspect green jacket thrown in for good measure. but thankfully they keep it for you so no matter how lapse youve been with your laundry.. you'll never have to wear it out for a pint.

But if you win the Open... You carry a aura of serene triumph with you for all eternity. Your Elrond off lordoftherings. no jacket here but a tiny replica trophy for those moments when rain has delayed play and the lads take out the tours monopoly and you get to be the claret jug... que gazes of godlike awe & wonder.

anyhow, which has more status, kudos and standing in the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

I like them both why do we have to choose,variety is the spice of life.................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

soundsham wrote: »
    I like them both why do we have to choose,variety is the spice of life.................

good point!.... hmph... well that was a waste of time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

I'm more partial to The Open. Maybe it because Harington won it. :)

isnt that the kinda mindset that got that eejit tiger into trouble.

ah go on.... pick one.... you will you will you will you will....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Daithio9

Epic fail, like trying to compare chalk with cheese, if you must then at least compare like with like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Daithio9 wrote: »
    Epic fail, like trying to compare chalk with cheese, if you must then at least compare like with like.

Eh, they're both just major golf tournaments?

Personally I don't think you can beat watchin the Friday night masters on the couch, giving the clubs their first proper clean of the year, with the first Medal of the season the next morning.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

This time of the year I'm going to say The Masters but later on I'll change my mind and say The Open.
    As sheet said, The Masters heralds the arrival of the season and it's usually fantastic viewing but the whole day in front of the telly for the first couple of days of The Open is perfection when it comes to watching golf... though I'm really looking forward to pebble beach this year too... this is a comfortable fence.

Daithio9 wrote: »

Fine....like with like it is....

lets compare the masters with.... eh... hmmm... em.... tough one that.

Ok, well... what about comparing the open with..... eh... with... whats like the open?.... hmmm.... em....

well youve got me.... there totally different! but isnt that the point i was making?

maybe i didnt make my point clear.... my question was which has more prestige... or to put it simply... which is bigger?

the masters fascinates me... but the open, for me theres something tangibly more significant about it...... maybe because its older. but i do love the masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

i see what your trying to do here blackwaterfish:D
    i think its a great thread.
    i would say most golfers have mulled over this one at one time or another,
    i hate the snobbery involved with the masters, but jesus its a great few days viewing, amen corner what can i say.
    but i would go for the open every time, i love the tradition, love links golf, and for the most part it chews up the yanks:D
    cant stay and chat off for a game now ta ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

As a fan The Open will always be my number 1.

1. The Open
    2. U.S Open
    3. Masters
    4. U.S.P.G.A

As an 18 handicapper i doubt i'll ever be giving my opinion from a playing point of view :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

the masters for me. Its more pleasurable watching the golf at night on the box than during the day.....I love the coverage. strange but true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Be honest its hard call and major is a major at end of day.

I go Masters because it's just I prefer (or play better) on Parkland courses and soemthing about it that if you were play there it seems so peaceful and quite and it looks stunning on TV. Amen corner are best three holes in row in golf also imo.

However the Open is something different you need to use your imagination that bit more in Open then any other of 3 majors.

Funny how the USPGA is always the fourth choice major for everyone. Its always a toss between British and US Open along with Masters for peoples favourite major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Funny how the USPGA is always the fourth choice major for everyone. Its always a toss between British and US Open along with Masters for peoples favourite major.

Good point about the USPGA especially when you consider it always has the strongest field. The Masters would actually have the weakest field really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭CaptainPendulum

The Open for me. Like the Masters but it's a bit refined. Nothing like watching the best in the world (wall to wall on the Beeb) putting up with 4 seaons-in-1-day golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

It has to be the Masters - where else do they have a roaring open fire in going when it's 28°C outside!! :pac:

There's a lot to be said for the tradition of The Open, but as a spectacle I would go for the Masters. I'm not a fan of links courses, and with the weather thrown in it sometimes makes a joke of The Open. Give me Amen corner anyday.

The Open for me. Like the Masters but it's a bit refined. Nothing like watching the best in the world (wall to wall on the Beeb) putting up with 4 seaons-in-1-day golf.

listening to peter alliss rambling on is a wonderful bonus... in fairness to the beeb they produce a superior product. they just hit the right tone nail on the head.

theres something about the "sound" of the masters tho.... it just has a unique resonance.

im rapidly disappearing up my own a**e here but, the masters sounds great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

sweetswing wrote: »
    i see what your trying to do here blackwaterfish:D
    i think its a great thread.
    i would say most golfers have mulled over this one at one time or another,
    i hate the snobbery involved with the masters, but jesus its a great few days viewing, amen corner what can i say.
    but i would go for the open every time, i love the tradition, love links golf, and for the most part it chews up the yanks:D
    cant stay and chat off for a game now ta ta.

cant be that hard for the yanks when curtis and hamilton both won

yanks won 11 since 1995 ok tiger got em 3 but only for padraig europe would have paul lawrie,
    remember when he won the first how many guys like westwood,casey,stenson etc said it would open the door for the europeans to go on to win majors......

also but for the exceptional golfers of faldo and seve, europe would have really struggled

anyway have a peep yourself, http://golf.about.com/cs/historyofgolf/a/britwinners.htm

record for last 15 years
    11 u.s. wins
    3 eur wins
    1 s.a. (how ernie only has 1 is beyond me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

cant be that hard for the yanks when curtis and hamilton both won

yanks won 11 since 1995 ok tiger got em 3 but only for padraig europe would have paul lawrie,
    remember when he won the first how many guys like westwood,casey,stenson etc said it would open the door for the europeans to go on to win majors......

also but for the exceptional golfers of faldo and seve, europe would have really struggled

anyway have a peep yourself, http://golf.about.com/cs/historyofgolf/a/britwinners.htm

record for last 15 years
    11 u.s. wins
    3 eur wins
    1 s.a. (how ernie only has 1 is beyond me)
    cant argue with facts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ant043

Masters every single time.

ant043 wrote: »
    Masters every single time.

cool. care to say why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Couldn't choose between them, both brilliant in their own right.

As previously stated , the Masters really heralds the beginning of the new season, and there's no doubting Augusta is a magical place. I love the fact it's played on the same course and you really get to know the holes over the years.

The Open is brilliant in it's own right, golf in it's purest form on links turf, open to all the elements British weather has to throw at it. Lets' face it, we all love to see them suffer sometimes (Carnoustie). Tiger's win in Hoylake wasn't my cup of tea, perfect weather and running fairways meant he could play irons on almost every hole and still shoot -18 over 4 days. I wouldn't be the same either without Peter Allis spouting on about Maureen from Dorset with the best scones in England!

cool. care to say why?

As other posters have said Augusta just has that bit of mystique about it. The closed nature of the tournament just makes it more appealing and enticing. Plus sitting down in the evening and watching the action unfold on amen corner is one of my favourite tv experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Good point about the USPGA especially when you consider it always has the strongest field. The Masters would actually have the weakest field really.

Good point I forgot to mention that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Legwinski

Masters for me.

I've been to the open thrice though and St.Andrews in particular is epic.

Late night golf is my kind of thing :D

Mickelson for Masters and Woods for Open 2010....with Harrington also very possibly winning both :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

Augusta is a horrible course. It resembles an astro turfed disney adventure park.
    Too manicured, too pompous and utterly over the top.

Give me a windswept links with salty air and a natural surrounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Augusta is a horrible course. It resembles an astro turfed disney adventure park.
    Too manicured, too pompous and utterly over the top.

Give me a windswept links with salty air and a natural surrounds.
    Ah stumpy your only jealous cause you cant get the courses you work on to look like that! :D

There both brilliant in their own unique way. The BBC's coverage is top class, not bias unlike the yanks. But there’s something special about Augusta, added to the fact that’s its late night golf when your more likely to be at home than during the day when the open is on. Cant pick one though.

Like picking your favourite child….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭useurename

i'd love to sit down for the four days and watch the british open but i'm always working or can't get near the t.v.i love the open because it throws up rank outsiders and it is very unpredictable. i also enjoy the masters but i prefer the wild links courses and watching the best golfers in the world being happy with pars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

jimjo wrote: »
    Ah stumpy your only jealous cause you cant get the courses you work on to look like that! :D

There both brilliant in their own unique way. The BBC's coverage is top class, not bias unlike the yanks. But there’s something special about Augusta, added to the fact that’s its late night golf when your more likely to be at home than during the day when the open is on. Cant pick one though.

Like picking your favourite child….

:D Well if we had 250 mexicans working around the clock I'm sure we'd run them close.

Then it'd piss down and the whole job would be ruined.

Seriously, I just don't like the extremes they go to but I guess thats part of its heritage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭ipitydafool

Love them both equally.As mentioned earlier, you cant beat watching the sunday night of the masters on tv but then the open, particluarly when the weather plays up really tests the pro's to the best of their abilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Masters - no other tournament comes close.

it is the ultimate title in the world of golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Augusta is a horrible course.

It's so good it doesn't even need a trophy. That green jacket has to be the most coveted prize in golf.