Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you had only €100 in the morning....

• 24-03-2010 2:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭

saw a question elsewhere (american forum) about what poeple would do if they were down to their last €100 i.e. what they'd do to generate cash to feed family/pay rent etc.....(premise is no assets other then the €100)

Best idea gets, well, kudos!!

There's a guy who comes around my area about once every 2 months on a saturday and calls to wash cars - charges a €10 and he does a crackin job in about 20 mins. Asked him before why he didnt come more often and is answer "too busy in other areas" so I guess I'd undercut him and be there more often!!!!

• Company Representative Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭TheCostumeShop.ie: Ronan

Good question,

For me straight down to an internet cafe and i'd go into affiliate marketing, it means i'd have some income and profit by the end of the day. It can be such a lucrative business if you know the terrain. Then once i had make a few quid i'd go traveling back packer style - No assets = no responsibilities. Always stopping in internet cafe's to keep an income, while looking around for new idea's to start a new business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

I have been at that level a few times now..

many years ago, I was down to my last £100 (punt) or so, I looked around the house, saw I had a hoover, extension lead, buckets, sponges, etc.. so I went out and bought some car cleaning materials, went round to local car dealers asking if they wanted any cars valeting, I got plenty of work.... it kept me in a good income for at least 18 months.... doubt valeting would work now due to the current economy.

another time I was really hard up (late 1990's), I printed off some leaflets on my printer advertising computer repairs, put them up in local shops and within no time I had work coming in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

Good question,

For me straight down to an internet cafe and i'd go into affiliate marketing, it means i'd have some income and profit by the end of the day. It can be such a lucrative business if you know the terrain. Then once i had make a few quid i'd go traveling back packer style - No assets = no responsibilities. Always stopping in internet cafe's to keep an income, while looking around for new idea's to start a new business.

with no money to promote affiliate marketing, you cannot really make a decent income, you might make small amounts and they you have to wait months for the money to come in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Good question,

have you tried affiliate marketing? you wouldnt get far with 100euro and you wouldnt get far in one day

i reckon i would buy a crap load of glow sticks or ponchos and head to oxygen or electric picnic and flog them then rinse and repeat for the duration of the festival i imagine if you had a steady flow of product every time you needed it you could easily come out with a a grand over the two or 3 days.

now start a thread asking what you would do with the 1000euro :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

PeakOutput wrote: »
    have you tried affiliate marketing? you wouldnt get far with 100euro and you wouldnt get far in one day

i reckon i would buy a crap load of glow sticks or ponchos and head to oxygen or electric picnic and flog them then rinse and repeat for the duration of the festival i imagine if you had a steady flow of product every time you needed it you could easily come out with a a grand over the two or 3 days.

now start a thread asking what you would do with the 1000euro :p

and what are ya gonna live on between now and oxygen??

PeakOutput wrote: »
    have you tried affiliate marketing? you wouldnt get far with 100euro and you wouldn't get far in one day

Yep, from both sides, I regularly write checks to affiliates who promote my business's and have in the past made a few quid from promoting others. I didn't say it's easy but my background is in e-commerce and i'm a specialist in the areas that affiliate marketing needs.

Ps. Glow sticks aren't allowed into most festivals anymore because of some dodgy chinese glow sticks poisoned some kid who took drugs and decided to chew on them until he swallowed the toxins.

almost 100% certain all glow sticks, if ingested, are poisonous, to a pretty high degree. We use them on the small boats at night if we're just in the harbour, gotta watch the kids though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭LavaLamp

I'd go and buy 100 lottery tickets, or 100 magic beans, or maybe 50 of each to be on the safe side :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Eddie durkin

LavaLamp wrote: »
    I'd go and buy 100 lottery tickets, or 100 magic beans, or maybe 50 of each to be on the safe side :D

I wouldn't take a chance with the lottery tickets. Best just to get 100 beans to be on the safe side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Yep, from both sides, I regularly write checks to affiliates who promote my business's and have in the past made a few quid from promoting others. I didn't say it's easy but my background is in e-commerce and i'm a specialist in the areas that affiliate marketing needs.

ye thats fair enough i guess it wasnt stipulated that it was a new venture

gotta love legislating to try and stop evolution
    and what are ya gonna live on between now and oxygen??

ok if i had to do something today to have money for tomorrow, hmmmmmmm. i would probably offer to build every club and society in my college a website that is better than their current one for 50euro(each site would probably take one day as the standard is pretty poor)

if it had to be something were i had to invest my 100euro then i would speak to a local club, guarantee them a full house on an off night, if they can give me one drink at a cut price for every person in the door and as long as i cant take everything from the door

spend 100euro on ink and paper for my printer and do up a rake of posters and flyers charge 3 euro in and tell all my mates they get in free if they bring 2 people with them

i imagine i could get 100 people paying in that way which would triple my investment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Its very difficult to make any money out of affiliate marketing.

You might make a wee bit if you have a website that attracts huge traffic, but apart from that.....

Its very difficult to make any money out of affiliate marketing.

You might make a wee bit if you have a website that attracts huge traffic, but apart from that.....

As I mentioned before I have a certain skill set and back ground in this area, which is why I would have chosen that route. That and to facilitate other goals such as no assets = no responsibilities, so get some fun and travel in.

Seems a bit pointed and presumptuous for you to assume that you know someones income limitations and industry knowledge.

That's one of the worst traits about us Irish, everyone has an attitude of if they can't do it it can't be done. Compared to the US attitude of anyone can make it. My business announced recently our next two industries we'll be entering into and I got the same response, from the same people that said the last three industries we took on were impossible for us to break into and would be the end of us. Mini rant over :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Absolutely agree Ronan, I think the mindsight is very negative.

An awful lot of people are extremely risk adverse making it mentally hard for a person with a would be startup (everyone telling you that you are an eejit etc).

While some advice needs to be heeded, you really do need a thick skin and a lot of confidence in both yourself and your business plan.

Best of luck with the two new companies btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 albacete

shoutman wrote: »
    Absolutely agree Ronan, I think the mindsight is very negative.

An awful lot of people are extremely risk adverse making it mentally hard for a person with a would be startup (everyone telling you that you are an eejit etc).

While some advice needs to be heeded, you really do need a thick skin and a lot of confidence in both yourself and your business plan.

Best of luck with the two new companies btw.

Yeah, Id like to echo that, Irish people seem to be fairly negative and anyone who breaks out of that should be commended. Good luck with it anyway.
    HOWever, having said that, I think the point of this thread might have been missed. I dont think the OP was asking who here has special skillsets and can use them lucratively. Basically its hard to beat Bernie Madoff on that one...end of story!
    Affiliate Marketing Im sure is a great way to make money but it IS a special skillset and like any special skillsets its taken for granted that it will make money. I think the OPs idea (?) was to hear intersting stuff that just requires a clever brain not special skillsets. For example, I once met a guy who used to go to garages and take their old car batteries from them, take some part of the battery (not sure which!) and sell it to some Japanese company. He seemed to do very well, of course he could have been just takin the p'ss but its a good story!

albacete wrote: »
    I think the point of this thread might have been missed.

I don't really think so, OP didn't stipulate you woke up with 100 quid and couldnt remember your name. Everyone has their own unique skill set because no-ones lives are exactly the same. Be it a better strategy to serve a table in a restaurant that enhances customer enjoyment or cleaning someone house twice as fast as they would have done themselves.

I guarantee that anyone in Ireland motivated enough and with the right mind set could wake up in the morning and end up with more in their pocket than they started with when they went to bed.

Other things that I could have considered:

1. Dog walking business - Easy to start, If people can trust you and you collect their dog half way through their work day and exercise 3/4 dogs at a time. Motivation for this is probably that I wish I could get more exercise into my day at the moment and I love animals.

2. "A Modern Butler" - I'd freaken love one of these and wouldnt mind being one either I think for variety sake if I needed some cash. Kind of like an EA or VA (executive assistant or virtual assistant) - but for your personal life on a call when you need basis. And no this isn't a personal assistant, they too have a line they don't cross. I'm talking about someone who you can call on and off load time wasting tasks that aren't fun or when you've too much on your plate, without being judged or risking a HR nightmare. If you want someone to pop into town to get something specific in a shop, go get your car NCT'd / change tyres, call out to my mother to give her a hand doing some painstaking dull chore that I really couldn't be bothered doing, let the builders / other work people into the house during the work day and hang around to make sure everything is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I'd buy a new shirt for fifty euro and head to the bank for a small bussuness loan, I'd spend the other fifty on 10 cent ice pops and sell them
    on o'connell bridge for a euro each!

They next day I'd buy a new suit and try a different bank : )

I'd buy a new shirt for fifty euro and head to the bank for a small bussuness loan, I'd spend the other fifty on 10 cent ice pops and sell them
    on o'connell bridge for a euro each!

They next day I'd buy a new suit and try a different bank : )

So within a few weeks you'd have sold lots of ice pops and giving the bank situation - 80% loan approval rate, but with so much red tape you can't draw down a single euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭fergalfrog

Other things that I could have considered:

1. Dog walking business - Easy to start, If people can trust you and you collect their dog half way through their work day and exercise 3/4 dogs at a time. Motivation for this is probably that I wish I could get more exercise into my day at the moment and I love animals.

2. "A Modern Butler" - I'd freaken love one of these and wouldnt mind being one either I think for variety sake if I needed some cash. Kind of like an EA or VA (executive assistant or virtual assistant) - but for your personal life on a call when you need basis. And no this isn't a personal assistant, they too have a line they don't cross. I'm talking about someone who you can call on and off load time wasting tasks that aren't fun or when you've too much on your plate, without being judged or risking a HR nightmare. If you want someone to pop into town to get something specific in a shop, go get your car NCT'd / change tyres, call out to my mother to give her a hand doing some painstaking dull chore that I really couldn't be bothered doing, let the builders / other work people into the house during the work day and hang around to make sure everything is ok.

Ronan - both of these aren't bad ideas - the first is being done quiet a bit and there are people who do this full time (or combined with dog grooming).

I like the second idea but the only thing to consider is that it will be minimum wage or less. Virtual assitants do exist too but many of these are based in India - I recently saw an Irish company looking for someone to do this and they were paying €3 an hour.

@fergalfrog Yup I use VA's and for some very basic basic tasks around $5-7 USD would be a very good wage for a guy in India / Philippines. For a little more you can get really smart and highly educated people, around $13 - 17 and you get people with masters in your required field. What I'd was aiming at was the local hands on version. IE if you value your time at €25 euro per hour, then you might be willing to pay someone 12.5 Euro per hour to accomplish the same tasks when your busy, and free up a few hours of your week.

To be honest I was half thinking about running with that idea when I wrote it cause it has a ton of potential. Anyone who wants to have a go with it feel free. (HINT: Anyone running a struggling taxi firm, you probably have the staff and could do a one hour job in half an hour since you might have someone in the area etc and can leverage up!).

How handy would it be to have a person on call who would collect you AND your car after a night out, so you didn't have to get up the next day and spend an hour bring your car home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭rainbowdash

I would go into selling bars, sweets and cans of coke at matches. I will never forget a guy one time at a match and it was a sweltering day, he had his Coke refrigerator hooked upto a generator at the side of the road and he was doing a roaring trade. With a novel approach there is money to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭digiology

I figured now would be a good time to bump this thread.

I have 150 left in my credit card and need to survive the summer (although luckily I don't have rent to worry about).

Keep 'em coming. I recently read "Things I wish i knew when I was twenty", its hard to find excuses to be broke after reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lmao_Man

I really agree with Ronan.

I got into abit of affiliate marketing in the past 2 years/maybe abit less.

What I love about affiliate marketing is,you can start out with NOTHING and try and make some money.

I haven't made a fortune with AM,but at my age I'm happy with what I've made.

Edit - I have an idea kind of got to do with AM,but at the moment I can't do it.I think it's a growing sector imo.Ronan probs knows what I'm talking about - pm
    Me if you don't Ronan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

I actually stumbled upon a site recently that offers a "Modern Butler" service in the Dublin area:

http://www.oddjob.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Chet Zar

I actually stumbled upon a site recently that offers a "Modern Butler" service in the Dublin area:

http://www.oddjob.ie/

Very interesting...wonder how the guys are doing with the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

Ronan, I think, given your skill set, that if you woke up in the morning and only had €100 left it would probably mean that your skills at affiliate marketing were not actually working so you might want to consider spending your last €100 a bit more carefully.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

digiology wrote: »
    I figured now would be a good time to bump this thread.

I have 150 left in my credit card and need to survive the summer (although luckily I don't have rent to worry about).

Keep 'em coming. I recently read "Things I wish i knew when I was twenty", its hard to find excuses to be broke after reading that.
    Have you a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭digiology

Yup: http://www.amazon.com/What-Wish-Knew-When-Was/dp/0061735191

Its not really that great but it thought me to think opportunistically as if everything is a puzzle with a solution already built in. Its a pretty effective mindset.

You'll probably get something out of Tina Seelig's google talk: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ux353AFnhVs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭dunkindonuts

Why not become a distributor for <affiliate link removed>
    Mod edit. Do not post affiliate links to bost your own profits. Also, that Marketing Genie stuff is a Pyramid Scheme. Other users have been banned from this site for spamming that crap, don't do it again.
    I know it works as my friends are doing it and made afe thousand last month.

I know alot of people would say it's fake but to be honest try it to believe it and that's what I've done. It's only €165 nothing to lose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Best Price Accessories

interesting post! how to make a profit with 100 quid. I'd probably buy jars of sweets and sell them in bags at Fairyhouse or another market.......

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Why not become a distributor for <link removed>

I know it works as my friends are doing it and made afe thousand last month.

I know alot of people would say it's fake but to be honest try it to believe it and that's what I've done. It's only €165 nothing to lose

1. Is that your own affiliate link you are trying to sell on here?? I would hope not.
    2. The point of the thread is you have €100, if it costs €165 then it doesnt apply to the thread.
    3. If it costs €165 then you obviously have something to lose, €165.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

I'd put it into a credit union account and use it to obtain 150-200€ (they'll only let you borrow 1.5-2 times the value if you just open an account). And how would I use this money? Come on here and read the suggestions ;)

Id buy €100 worth of bottled water from Aldi and sell it at Oxygen.

You can get 6 x 750ml bottles for €2.50

I'd sell each bottle for €2.

Therefore turning every €2.50 spent into €12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭suey71

With €100 I would buy 9 packets of 12 condoms (108 condoms) at a cost of €94.41. (€10.49 per box of 12 @Tesco).

With the €5.59 left over I would make my way into town on the bus and sell the condoms 2 for €5 to the horny revellers after the night clubs finish, (Friday night).

I would make €270 - €100 = €170

Then with the €170 I would go to a 24 hour Tesco and buy another 16 packets and sell the 192 condoms and make €480 - €170 = €310.

And then I would go back in the following night and do it all again.

Sex sells :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Esse85 wrote: »
    Id buy €100 worth of bottled water from Aldi and sell it at Oxygen.

You can get 6 x 750ml bottles for €2.50

I'd sell each bottle for €2.

Therefore turning every €2.50 spent into €12.

And it would only cost you about 10 grand to get a pitch at oxygen to sell it from.

So you'd lose €9,520 in 3 days.

Exclusing of course the expense of hiring a van to transport the 240 bottles of water to oxygen and all the other expenses like insurance. Of course you'd also have to be vat registered to allow them to let you buy that pitch in the first place, which means company formation costs, accounting costs etc. So you'd most likely lose closer to €12,000 in 3 days

On the plus side you would get to hear free music though.

Hammertime wrote: »
    And it would only cost you about 10 grand to get a pitch at oxygen to sell it from.

So you'd lose €9,520 in 3 days.

Exclusing of course the expense of hiring a van to transport the 240 bottles of water to oxygen and all the other expenses like insurance. Of course you'd also have to be vat registered to allow them to let you buy that pitch in the first place, which means company formation costs, accounting costs etc. So you'd most likely lose closer to €12,000 in 3 days

On the plus side you would get to hear free music though.
    You've way too much time on your hands. I have contacts with the security firm running oxygen, i could easily get in for free with my car. Very easy load the car up with bottles of water. I would store the water in my car. Take about a dozen bottles with me at a time, sell these, come back to the car, stock up and repeat, job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

You've way too much time on your hands. I have contacts with the security firm running oxygen, i could easily get in for free with my car. Very easy load the car up with bottles of water. I would store the water in my car. Take about a dozen bottles with me at a time, sell these, come back to the car, stock up and repeat, job done.

Wow thats a lot of laws to break in one day.

If I was down to my last €100 and had bills to pay, including buying food for my family then laws wouldnt even come into it.

What would you do?

Lol you guys mustn't go festivals. This happens all the time.

lighten up there chief. Life is too short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

suey71 wrote: »
    With €100 I would buy 9 packets of 12 condoms (108 condoms) at a cost of €94.41. (€10.49 per box of 12 @Tesco).

With the €5.59 left over I would make my way into town on the bus and sell the condoms 2 for €5 to the horny revellers after the night clubs finish, (Friday night).

I would make €270 - €100 = €170

Then with the €170 I would go to a 24 hour Tesco and buy another 16 packets and sell the 192 condoms and make €480 - €170 = €310.

And then I would go back in the following night and do it all again.

Sex sells :D.

If somebody could have done that 25 years ago, I'd have gotten a lot more .... ah ... never mind.

Hammertime wrote: »
    lighten up there chief. Life is too short

Remember that before you try and be smart again.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Remember that before you try and be smart again.

You forgot about petrol for the car so thats a few quid and no one would want to buy water in this heat that wasnt ice cold anyways :D

Axwell wrote: »
    You forgot about petrol for the car so thats a few quid and no one would want to buy water in this heat that wasnt ice cold anyways :D
    I could be living 5 mins from the festival for all you know, so work that out.

People would buy water if they were thirsty enough, the serious negativity and pesimistic attitude of people on this thread is sad, I come on here and make a suggestion and clowns come on and bash the idea without making a suggestion in return.

Great business people these.

People would buy water if they were thirsty enough, the serious negativity and pesimistic attitude of people on this thread is sad, I come on here and make a suggestion and clowns come on and bash the idea without making a suggestion in return.

I stand chastened and corrected.

all these people are doing are pointing out potential flaws in your idea, the only reason they are doing this is because you failed to mention all these points such as you could be living 5 minutes from the festival. if you had stated every possible fact about the idea and people were just shooting you down, then yeah, I see where your coming from. But as I said, these people are finding the potential problems and costs that you didn't mention, so as you said yourself, they are good business people.

Also, people would indeed buy water if they are thirsty enough, but if there is ice cold water near buy for not much dearer than yours (which at this point seems to not be ice cold) then the vast majority of people would buy the ice cold water. Granted if it's bad weather and they just need a drink then that's not a problem, but on a hot day, Ice'd water wins hands down, no question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭flash harry

Have to say my original post was meant to just see ingenuity(spell?) of people - didnt expect critique of peoples business plans!

Friend was at Kiss concert couple of months ago in Point (O2, whatever) - big cue as he came down the quays - 2 girls, black make up, white make up - painting the "Kiss" make up on face €5 a go.

(FYI I dont care if they didn't have a traders license, great bit of entrepreneurial spirit!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 albacete

Have to say my original post was meant to just see ingenuity(spell?) of people - didnt expect critique of peoples business plans!

Friend was at Kiss concert couple of months ago in Point (O2, whatever) - big cue as he came down the quays - 2 girls, black make up, white make up - painting the "Kiss" make up on face €5 a go.

(FYI I dont care if they didn't have a traders license, great bit of entrepreneurial spirit!)

From my reading of your post thats exactly what I thought you were looking for...clever ideas basically. Disappointed with the responses so far? I am.
    The idea of the OP was to look at ingenuity, not skillsets or illegal habits that we already have. What the ordinary guy on the street can do without breaking the law. Otherwise its a silly question. Eg. I have in demand IT skills, so I would offer them over the net and make lots of money. Thats kinda obvious. Buying stuff in bulk in supermarkets and selling it at concerts or on the streets has been done for decades, nothing new there. Dont mean to insult you esse85 but your idea is just too simplistic, and when people criticise your idea, you just throw in new factors to make it seem like a better idea. Fortunate for you if you live close to the concert, willing to sell illegally, but wouldnt it be even better if your Dad was the concert organiser with his own cooling facilities on site, then it would be the best idea on the forum, eh? You are entirely missing the point, as far as I can see. It might seem like a good idea to you, but it doesnt make fascinating reading to the ppl here, its just the same oul same oul.
    The idea about the face painter, well ok its probably illegal, but for what it lacks in legality, it makes up for in ingenuity, and might inspire somebody here to come up with a good idea that makes them a mint. I think that was the idea of the OP (correct me if Im wrong) and makes for more interesting reading. Nobody wants to read how a doctor or engineer can make money, we already know that, its more interesting reading clever ideas.
    Unfortunately there are very few real good ideas out there (well being shared anyway ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 820 ✭✭✭Newsite

albacete wrote: »
    From my reading of your post thats exactly what I thought you were looking for...clever ideas basically. Disappointed with the responses so far? I am.
    The idea of the OP was to look at ingenuity, not skillsets or illegal habits that we already have. What the ordinary guy on the street can do without breaking the law. Otherwise its a silly question. Eg. I have in demand IT skills, so I would offer them over the net and make lots of money. Thats kinda obvious. Buying stuff in bulk in supermarkets and selling it at concerts or on the streets has been done for decades, nothing new there. Dont mean to insult you esse85 but your idea is just too simplistic, and when people criticise your idea, you just throw in new factors to make it seem like a better idea. Fortunate for you if you live close to the concert, willing to sell illegally, but wouldnt it be even better if your Dad was the concert organiser with his own cooling facilities on site, then it would be the best idea on the forum, eh? You are entirely missing the point, as far as I can see. It might seem like a good idea to you, but it doesnt make fascinating reading to the ppl here, its just the same oul same oul.
    The idea about the face painter, well ok its probably illegal, but for what it lacks in legality, it makes up for in ingenuity, and might inspire somebody here to come up with a good idea that makes them a mint. I think that was the idea of the OP (correct me if Im wrong) and makes for more interesting reading. Nobody wants to read how a doctor or engineer can make money, we already know that, its more interesting reading clever ideas.
    Unfortunately there are very few real good ideas out there (well being shared anyway ;) )

Very fair point!

There's a great saying: 'scarcity builds clarity'. If we all woke up with just 100 quid to our name in the morning, we might have a level of clarity and a sudden rush of ideas that we would otherwise never get..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

I read this post and decided to take on the challenge as I wanted to try something new. I was already considering my options but kept this in mind.

I done a bit of research in what is a popular item to sell, when I found what I thought would sell I done more research to find the cheapest wholesale price.

4 weeks ago I bought 10 items from a supplier in China for €46.80, took 2 weeks to get here and customs charged me €15.30. €62.10 in total so each item cost me €6.10. They are selling in the markets for between €20 and €25, I have sold 8 of them for €20 and wont have the last 2 for long. So €200 - €62.10 = €137.9, there are some ebay charges too so without checking Ive made about €130 out of €46.80 and I have ordered another batch of ten along with some other items.

My plan is to keep going to expand the stock to eventually have enough to go selling in the markets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

2qk4u wrote: »
    I read this post and decided to take on the challenge as I wanted to try something new. I was already considering my options but kept this in mind.

I done a bit of research in what is a popular item to sell, when I found what I thought would sell I done more research to find the cheapest wholesale price.

4 weeks ago I bought 10 items from a supplier in China for €46.80, took 2 weeks to get here and customs charged me €15.30. €62.10 in total so each item cost me €6.10. They are selling in the markets for between €20 and €25, I have sold 8 of them for €20 and wont have the last 2 for long. So €200 - €62.10 = €137.9, there are some ebay charges too so without checking Ive made about €130 out of €46.80 and I have ordered another batch of ten along with some other items.

My plan is to keep going to expand the stock to eventually have enough to go selling in the markets.

But how much of that will be going to the tax man?